DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated September 3, 2026.
Status of claims
Claims 6 - 24 are pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/03/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Objections and/or Rejections and Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments, filed on September 3, 2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated (Maintained Objections and/or Rejections) or newly applied (New Objections and/or Rejections, Necessitated by Amendment or New Objections and/or Rejections, NOT Necessitated by Amendment). They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Maintained Objections and/or Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 - 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 8,748,453 B2, hereinafter Zhang) in view of Heigener et al (The Oncologist 2015;20:1167–1174, hereinafter Heigener).
Regarding claims 6, 9, 10, 18 and 19 - 24, drawn to a method for treating a non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC), characterized by a presence of a rare EGFR mutation such as L861Q, G719X, or S768I, or any combination thereof, comprising: administering to a subject in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of a compound (E)-N-(3-cyano-7- ethoxyl-4-(3-ethynylphenylamino)quinoline-6-yl)-4-(dimethylamino)but-2-enamide (
(specification page 3, [0012])) maleate, or a solvate thereof. The compound, shown above, can be also taken in the form of a hemihydrate or monohydrate. Additionally, the said method is useful for treatment of non-small cell lung cancer where the rare EGFR mutation further comprises an additional rare EGFR mutations such as an EGFR exon 20 mutation of S768I or T790M, and where the additional rare EGFR mutations is other than exon 19 deletion and L858R mutation. The compound of instant claims acts as tyrosine kinase inhibitor (EGFR-TKI).
Zhang teaches methods for treating or preventing an EGFR and/or ErbB2 mediated disorder or treating neoplasia, comprising administering to a mammalian subject in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of (C)
and where the neoplasia is a non-small cell lung cancer (column 8, line 46). The method, taught by Zhang, utilizes compound (C) in the form of pharmaceutically acceptable salt, wherein the salt is formed by reacting the free base form of the compound with a pharmaceutically acceptable organic acid, such as maleic acid (column 10, lines 19 – 23) (Examiner notes: salt of maleic acid is called maleate), as well as in the form of a solvate (column 8, lines 7 – 12). Similarly, the compound (C) can be taken in the forms of hemi- or monohydrate of the compounds, salts and derivatives thereof (column 10, lines 57 – 59).
Zhang teaches method for treating non-small cell lung cancer, where the compound (C) irreversibly inhibits a number of mutants of tyrosine kinase epidermal growth factor receptors (column 8, lines 63 – 65), and is useful in treatment of any tumor or cancers having one or more mutations in EGFR (column 14, lines 1 - 2). Zhang represents experimental data of effectiveness of compound (C) on NCI-H1975 cell line (lung adenocarcinoma), expressing the EGFR mutant L858R and T790M (column 33, lines 61 – 62). Thus, the method, taught by Zhang is applicable for treatment of EGFR mutation-mediated non-small cell lung cancer, where cancer has one or more mutations in EGFR gene, and where the drug (Sutetinib), used in said method, inhibits a number of mutants of tyrosine kinase epidermal growth factor receptors (e.g., erbB1, erbB2, erbB3 and erbB4).
Zhang does not explicitly teach the method for treatment of non-small cell lung cancer characterized by a presence of L861Q, G719X, or S768I EGFR mutations, or any combination thereof, or additional EGFR mutation, such as exon 20 mutations (e.g. S768I or T790M).
However, Heigener teaches a method for treatment of non-small cell lung cancer patients with uncommon EGFR mutations, using irreversible ErbB family (ErbB1 (EGFR), ErbB2 (HER2) and ErbB4) blocker afatinib (page 1167, summary). The patients with uncommon EGFR mutations carried: T790M mutations (T790M alone, T790M plus exon 19, T790M plus exon 21) G719X mutations ( G719A, G719C, G719S, G719A plus E709A, G719C plus E709A, G719C plus L861Q), L861Q mutations (alone, plus T790M and each one plus G719C or L858M), E709X mutations (E709K plus L858R, E709A plus G719X), and insertions in exon 20. Further mutations included A702S, A750V, deletion and insertion (delins) exon 19, G753S, point mutation exon 19, S768I plus V769L, R776H plus L858R, L858M, L858M plus L861Q, G857E, and G861L plus T790M (page 1168, “Uncommon EGFR Mutations” and page 1170, Fig. 1). The study demonstrated that afatinib is clinically active in patients with NSCLC harboring uncommon EGFR mutations. Afatinib features acrylamide group in the molecule, which group allows afatinib to irreversibly bind specific residues in EGFR, in contrast to gefitinib and erlotinib. Afatinib is a structural analog of instantly claimed Sutetinib.
Thus, since Zhang teaches a method for treatment non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) mediated by one or more mutations in EGFR with a compound (C) (Sutetinib), where the compound (C) inhibits a number of mutants of tyrosine kinase epidermal growth factor receptors, and since Heigener teaches a method for treatment of patients suffering from non-small cell lung cancer, harboring uncommon EGFR mutations, such as G719X, L861Q, and S768I or combination thereof with structural analog afatinib, where afatinib demonstrated efficacy in treatment of patients with uncommon mutations, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to try to apply a known in the art drug, acting as irreversible EGFR-TKI, and useful in treatment of NSCLC with one or more mutation in EGFR to the method of treatment of patients suffering from NSCLC with rare EGFR mutations, since the prior art teaches its known structural analog is an effective agent in targeted therapy of non-small cell lung cancer patients with uncommon EGFR mutations. The one of ordinary skills would be motivated to do so in search of an effective method for treatment of patients harboring rare EGFR mutations with the reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 7, 8 and 11 – 17, drawn to a method, where the therapeutically effective amount is from 50 to 250 mg per day; or wherein the therapeutically effective amount is about 100 mg per day; wherein the therapeutically effective amount is daily dose/body weight from 0.01 to 500 mg/kg; or wherein the therapeutically effective amount is daily dose/body weight from 0.01 to 50 mg/kg; or wherein the therapeutically effective amount is daily dose/body weight from 0.01 to 30 mg/kg or daily dose/body weight from 0.01 to 10 mg/kg or daily dose/body weight from 0.5 to 3 mg/kg, and wherein the administering comprises administering about 100 mg of the compound or the solvate thereof daily, for 28 days.
The method, taught by Zhang, proposes the daily dose of about 0.01 to 500 mg/kg, advantageously between about 0.01 and about 50 mg/kg, more advantageously about 0.01 and about 30 mg/kg, even more advantageously between about 0.1 and about 10 mg/kg, and even more advantageously between about 0.25 and about 1 mg/kg body weight. The daily dose can be administered in one to four doses per day (column 15, lines 43 – 51), wherein formulations for oral administration such us tablets or capsules contain an amount of active ingredient from about 1 to 2000 mg, advantageously from about 1 to 500 mg, and typically from about 5 to 150 mg (column 17, lines 33 – 41). All the dosages of instant claims are within the ranges or overlapping with dosages, taught by Zhang. MPEP 2144.05 states: In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
With regards to the limitation claimed in instant claim 17 which claims administering about 100 mg of the compound or the solvate thereof daily, for 28 days. Zhang does not specifically teach the exact duration of administration of the drug claimed in instant claim 17. However, it would be within the skill of an ordinary artisan to be able to modify the duration of drug administration in order to obtain the desirable therapeutic effect. It is noted that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Therefore, taking all together, taught by prior art, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made,
as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues:
- Zhang discloses: (i) no enzymatic, cellular, or in vivo data for Compound C involving L861Q, G719X, or S768I uncommon mutations; (ii) no in vivo tumor-efficacy data for Compound C in any model; and (iii) no clinical data. The uncommon mutations recited in the present claims are entirely absent from the disclosure in Zhang.
- Heigener reports clinical experience with Afatinib, a unique molecule with its own mutation-specific potency, pharmacokinetic properties, pharmacodynamic properties, selectivity profile, and therapeutic window. Heigener does not evaluate Compound C. Nor does Heigener suggest that clinical efficacy observed with Afatinib can reliably be extrapolated to other compounds merely because the compounds are also characterized as irreversible EGFR or ErbB inhibitors.
- Sutetinib is structurally different from Afatinib (vide supra, Section I). Thus, clinical success of Afatinib does not create a reasonable expectation that Sutetinib would succeed in the same indication. Sutetinib and Afatinib belong to two different heterocycles and have at least three distinguishing structural differences. Compound C in Zhang is a 3-cyanoquinoline irreversible ErbB/EGFR inhibitor bearing a 4-(dimethylamino)but-2-enamide Michael-acceptor moiety.
- Office's rejection's only bridge from Afatinib to Sutetinib is the shared class label, and the art demonstrates that this label is not predictive of efficacy against L861Q, G719X, or S768I, because same-class inhibitors diverge and invert across those mutations. The Office's rejection rationale silently assumes that efficacy against G719X, L861Q, and/or S768I is a class property of irreversible ErbB inhibitors, and that class property can be transmitted from one class member to another.
- Because the class characteristic on which the office's rejections rely is not predictive of the claimed efficacy, neither Afatinib's clinical success nor Sutetinib's preclinical, classical-mutation-limited data would have supplied a person of ordinary skills in the art ("POSA") with reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention.
- Heigener demonstrates that the preclinical activity of an irreversible ErbB inhibitor against a particular mutant EGFR (e.g., T790M mutation) can provide a basis for testing the compound clinically, but does not provide a reasonable prediction that the compound will be successful in treating patients harboring the same mutant EGFR (e.g., T790M mutation), let alone providing a reasonable prediction to treat a different mutant EGFR in patients (e.g., uncommon mutations).
- Due to unpredictability of the art, the Office's premise that without clinical data against uncommon mutations, POSA can extend clinical efficacy from one tested molecule (e.g., Afatinib) to another untested molecule (e.g., Sutetinib).
- claims 7-24 are not obvious over Zhang in view of Heigener for at least the reason that these claims depend from and include all of the elements of claim 6.
Examiner’s response:
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because: as set forth above, Zhang teaches the method for treatment of NCSLC, mediated by mutations in EGFR with the drug Sutetinib, acting as EGFR-TKI, where the drug is effective against a number of mutants of tyrosine kinase epidermal growth factor receptors. Thus, Zhang not only teaches Sutetinib as a member of the class of irreversible ErbB inhibitors, but as an agent effectively treating NCSLC, mediated by mutations in EGFR. Heigener teaches a method for treatment of patients suffering from non-small cell lung cancer, harboring uncommon EGFR mutations, such as G719X, L861Q, and S768I or combination thereof with afatinib, where afatinib is an EGFR-TK inhibitor, irreversibly binding to ErbB1 (EGFR), ErbB2 (HER2) and is a structural analog of instantly claimed sutetinib. Although sutetinib itself was not previously tried on uncommon EGFR mutations, since sutetinib is a known active agent against multiple common mutations in EGFR, and it is known that its structural analog afatinib is effective against common and uncommon (e.g. G719X, L861Q, and S768I) mutations in EGFR according to preclinical and clinical studies, it would give to the skilled artisan reasonable expectation of success to try the effectiveness of sutetinib against certain identified mutants in EGFR. MPEP 2145.X(B): An "obvious to try" rationale may support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious where one skilled in the art is choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. " [A] person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Regarding the argument about molecular structures of afatinib and sutetinib, it is not persuasive, because the two compounds share significant portion of the molecule (see the circled):
. Furthermore, the molecular structure of afatinib is the closest to the structure of “Compound C” amongst other drug structures discussed in “Remarks” and prior art references (e.g. erlotinib, gefitinib, nazartinib etc.). Moreover, both molecules have a structural feature 4-(dimethylamino)but-2-enamide Michael-acceptor moiety, which is a crucial structural feature to irreversibly bind ErbB1 (EGFR), ErbB2 (HER2) and ErbB4 (Heigener, page 1168, left column, 1st paragraph). Thus, the reference of Heigener, which teaches afatinib as an effective agent against NSCLC mediated by uncommon mutations in EGFR, is the closest prior art reference.
Hence, teachings of prior art clearly support “obvious to try” rational since there are: two comparable, known, structurally analogous drugs, suitable in the method of treatment of EGFR mediated NSCLC, where both drugs have similar mechanism of action and effective against common EGFR mutations, where one of them (afatinib) has been also clinically proven to treat NSCLC mediated by uncommon mutations in EGFR, it is obvious to try another drug (sutetinib) to treat NSCLC mediated by the same uncommon mutations in EGFR with the reasonable expectation of success, since its structural analog demonstrated efficacy in treating patients suffering from NSCLC mediated by uncommon EGFR mutations. In fact, it is a well-established practice in pharmaceutical research. Examiner emphases that “reasonable expectation of success” does not constitute a guarantee or a mere hope, but rather an expectation of obtaining similar properties based on the performance of analogous agents under comparable conditions (see MPEP 2144.08.II, In re O’Farrell, 853 F.2d 894, 903, 7 USPQ2d 1673, 1681 (Fed. Cir. 1988). In the instant case, substituting equivalents, namely irreversible ErbB inhibitors effectively treating NCSLC, mediated by mutations in EGFR, motivated by the reasonable expectation that the respective species will behave in a comparable manner or even provide comparable results in related circumstances, is prima facie obvious (see In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958)). See also MPEP 2144.06.II: Smith v. Hayashi, 209 USPQ 754 (Bd. of Pat. Inter. 1980) (The mere fact that phthalocyanine and selenium function as equivalent photoconductors in the claimed environment was not sufficient to establish that one would have been obvious over the other. However, there was evidence that both phthalocyanine and selenium were known photoconductors in the art of electrophotography. "This, in our view, presents strong evidence of obviousness in substituting one for the other in an electrophotographic environment as a photoconductor." 209 USPQ at 759.). Moreover, the express suggestion to substitute one equivalent for another need not be present to render the substitution obvious, see In re Font 213 USPQ 532.
Regarding the argument about absence of clinical data in Zhang, it is not persuasive because instant claims are directed to a method of treatment of NSCLC, characterized by a presence of a rare EGFR mutations, such as L861Q, G719X, or S768I and do not recite any specific clinical metrics. Because the claims broadly cover a “method of treatment” by “administering the drug”, the prior art does not need to provide the clinical efficacy to establish a reasonable expectation of success. The evidence of pharmacological activity of the drug (like in vitro data) is legally sufficient (see MPEP 2107.03). Moreover, as stated in MPEP 2145.VI: although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices, Inc., 848 F.2d 1560, 1571-72, 7 USPQ2d 1057, 1064-1065 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 892 (1988) (Various limitations on which appellant relied were not stated in the claims; the specification did not provide evidence indicating these limitations must be read into the claims to give meaning to the disputed terms).
- Claims 7-24 are obvious over Zhang and Heigener because they are dependent on the rejected claim 6.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection of claims 6 - 24 as obvious over teachings of Zhang and Heigener is maintained.
.
Conclusion
Claims 6 - 24 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to ELENA V VISHNYAKOVA whose telephone number is (571)272-3781. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30am - 5pm ET.
/E.V.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/SAVITHA M RAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691