DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/02/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 14, 15, and 19 have been amended. Claims 3-5, 7, 8, 10-13, 16-18, and 20 are in the original/previously presented form. Thus, claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Specification
The amendments to the specification were received on 06/02/2026. Applicant addressed all previous objections. The specification is acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: Both the claims state “a needle assembly having a needle and/or a cannula”. Using “and/or” widens the scope of the claims and does not clearly define the specific bounds of the claim limitation. For the purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the claims to read as a needle alone, a cannula alone, or a needle and a cannula. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“the drive mechanism adapted to” in claims 1 and 14. However, paragraph [0039] of the specification provides corresponding structure for “drive mechanism” that includes “any number of components and/or sub-components to drive, urge, and/or exert a force on the plunger 34 to cause the drug or medicament 38 stored therein to be dispensed therefrom and to operate the needle assembly 70”. These components may be drive fluid, such as compressed CO2 gas or compressed liquid, a hydro-pneumatic actuation system, or springs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the at least one chamber body" in the second and fifth lines of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, for purposes of examination, the examiner interprets that claim 6 depends from amended claim 1 to provide proper antecedent basis for “the at least one chamber body”.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the at least one chamber body" in the second line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Therefore, for purposes of examination, the examiner interprets that claim 19 depends from amended claim 14 to provide proper antecedent basis for “the at least one chamber body”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0354555 A1; herein, Gibson), and further in view of Suzaka (United States Patent No. 4,334,783 A), and Lake (United States Patent No. US 6,062,722 A).
Regarding claim 1, Gibson discloses a drug delivery device (FIG. 9, drug delivery system 300) comprising:
a housing defining an inner volume (FIG. 9, housing 302 defining interior space 314);
a container at least partially disposed within the housing (FIG. 9, reservoir 340), the container containing a medicament ([0050] “the reservoir 340 may correspond to the reservoir 102”, [0036] “The reservoir 102 is adapted to contain a drug.”);
a drive mechanism (a drive mechanism is interpreted under 112f - see above - to include components and sub-components that exert force on a plunger) at least partially disposed within the housing (FIG. 9, drive 342), the drive mechanism adapted to exert a force to urge the medicament out the container ([0051], plunger 366 forces “drug out of the reservoir 340” and “the movement of the plunger 366 may be caused by the operation of the drive 342”);
a needle assembly having a needle and/or a cannula to deliver the medicament (FIG. 9, [0056], needle 344);
a fluid flow path fluidically connecting the container and the needle assembly (FIG. 9 shows a tube-like structure which connects from the reservoir 340, through the lock 454, to the needle 344, [0037] “a fluid flow path (e.g., tubing) that connects the reservoir 102 to the drug delivery device 104”, [0050] “the reservoir 340 may correspond to the reservoir 102, while the drive 342, needle 344, and the injector 346 may correspond to the drug delivery device 104”).
Gibson does not disclose a vortex flow adapter disposed within or defining at least a portion of the fluid flow path, the vortex flow adapter adapted to urge the medicament to flow in a vortex pattern, wherein the vortex flow adapter comprises: at least one chamber body including a first end having an inlet, a second end having an outlet, and a longitudinal length extending between the inlet and the outlet, the at least one chamber body defining a channel extending between the inlet and the outlet, wherein the channel, the inlet, and the outlet are disposed on a common longitudinal axis of the at least one chamber body; and at least one disc adapted to be disposed within the channel, the at least one disc including a disc body extending along a longitudinal length, the disc body including an outer surface and at least one groove extending along the outer surface in a first direction.
However, Suzaka teaches a vortex flow adapter disposed within or defining at least a portion of the fluid flow path (Fig. 2A, apparatus 20), the vortex flow adapter adapted to urge the medicament to flow in a vortex pattern (col. 3 lines 60-65, “vortex which occurs in the neighborhood of the outlet of the orifice portion” and col. 5 lines 31-35 “uniform mixing can be effected due to the vibration, vortex and rotation actions at the orifice portion”), wherein the vortex flow adapter comprises: at least one chamber body (Fig. 2A, mixing device 22) including a first end having an inlet (Annotated on Fig. 2A below), a second end having an outlet (Annotated on Fig. 2A below), and a longitudinal length extending between the inlet and the outlet (Fig. 2A, longitudinal length extending through mixing device 22 from inlet to outlet), the at least one chamber body defining a channel extending between the inlet and the outlet (Fig. 2A, channel exist to move material from an annular passage in the adapter 21, to the mixing devices 22 and 22'), wherein the channel, the inlet, and the outlet are disposed on a common longitudinal axis of the at least one chamber body (Fig. 2A, mixing device 22 has arranged on a common longitudinal axis a compression zone 26 (inlet), an orifice portion 27 (channel), and a diffusion zone 28 (outlet)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to incorporate a vortex flow adapter with chamber bodies and passageways between the bodies as taught by Suzaka in order to effectively mix components of a medicament having poor compatibility (col. 4 line 66 – col. 5 line 30). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to have the inlet, outlet, and channel arranged on a common longitudinal axis as taught by Suzaka in order to obtain a more uniform mixture through the series arrangement (col. 4 lines 23-31).
Gibson in view of Suzaka still does not disclose at least one disc adapted to be disposed within the channel, the at least one disc including a disc body extending along a longitudinal length, the disc body including an outer surface and at least one groove extending along the outer surface in a first direction.
However, Lake teaches at least one disc adapted to be disposed within the channel (Fig. 1, helix 33), the at least one disc including a disc body extending along a longitudinal length (Fig. 1, helix 33 within mixing passageway 16), and the disc body including an outer surface and at least one groove extending along the outer surface in a first direction (annotated on Fig. 1 below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the channel as taught by Suzaka as part of the modified fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to include a grooved disc as taught by Lake in order to fully mix the medicament as each fluid passes over one of the helixes (col. 3 lines 49 56) by changing the flow direction due to the groove design (col. 4 lines 7-13).
Regarding claim 2, in the modified device of Gibson, Gibson does not disclose the at least one groove of the disc body is adapted to urge the medicament flowing through the channel in the vortex pattern. However, Lake teaches the at least one groove of the disc body (annotated on Fig. 1 above) is adapted to urge the medicament flowing through the channel in the vortex pattern (shape of the helixes 31-34 would naturally cause the fluid to mix in a spiraling flow manner similar to that of a vortex). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the channel taught by Suzaka as part of the modified fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to include a grooved disc adapted to urge the medicament in a vortex pattern as taught by Lake in order to fully mix the medicament as each fluid passes over one of the helixes (col. 3 lines 49 56) by changing the flow direction due to the groove design (col. 4 lines 7-13).
Regarding claim 3, in the modified device of Gibson, Gibson does not disclose the at least one chamber body further includes at least one vortex chamber formed by the channel. However, Suzaka teaches the at least one chamber body further includes at least one vortex chamber formed by the channel (Fig. 2A, compression zone 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to include at least one vortex chamber formed by the channel as taught by Suzaka in order to begin sufficiently mixing the medicament by elongating masses within the medicament using the compression force derived from the gradual decrease in the cross-sectional area (col. 2 lines 53-58, col. 4 lines 5-11).
Regarding claim 4, in the modified device of Gibson, Gibson does not disclose the at least one vortex chamber comprises a tapered region having a varying cross sectional area along the longitudinal length of the chamber body. However, Suzaka teaches the at least one vortex chamber comprises a tapered region having a varying cross-sectional area along the longitudinal length of the chamber body (Fig. 2A, tapering of compression zone 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one vortex chamber taught by Suzaka as part of the modified fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to include a tapered region as taught by Suzaka in order to begin sufficiently mixing the medicament by elongating masses within the medicament using the compression force derived from the gradual decrease in the cross-sectional area (col. 2 lines 53-58, col. 4 lines 5-11).
Regarding claim 5, in the modified device of Gibson, Gibson does not disclose the at least one chamber body further comprises a second vortex chamber formed by the channel. However, Suzaka teaches the at least one chamber body further comprises a second vortex chamber formed by the channel (Fig. 2A, diffusion zone 28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to include at least one vortex chamber formed by the channel as taught by Suzaka in order that the high viscosity component is reformed in an entangled state with the low viscosity component (col. 4 lines 15-19).
Regarding claim 8, in the modified device of Gibson, Gibson discloses the fluid flow path comprises a generally tubular member defining an interior channel (FIG. 9 shows a tube-like structure which connects from reservoir 340, through lock 454, to needle 344, [0037] “a fluid flow path (e.g., tubing) that connects the reservoir 102 to the drug delivery device 104”, [0050] “the reservoir 340 may correspond to the reservoir 102, while the drive 342, needle 344, and the injector 346 may correspond to the drug delivery device 104”).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsien (United States Patent No. US 4,087,862 A).
Regarding claim 6, in the modified device of Gibson, Gibson does not disclose an adjacent chamber body operably coupled with the at least one chamber body, the adjacent chamber body adapted to urge the medicament to flow in a vortex pattern having an opposite rotational flow direction than a rotational flow direction of the at least one chamber body.
However, Suzaka teaches an adjacent chamber body operably coupled with the at least one chamber body (Fig. 2A, mixing devices 22 and 22’ are interconnected). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to include more than one connected chamber bodies as taught by Suzaka in order to improve the strength of the mixed medicament by adding additional mixing steps (col. 6 lines 6-14).
Gibson in view of Suzaka still does not disclose the adjacent chamber body adapted to urge the medicament to flow in a vortex pattern having an opposite rotational flow direction than a rotational flow direction of the at least one chamber body. However, Tsien teaches the adjacent chamber body adapted to urge the medicament to flow in a vortex pattern having an opposite rotational flow direction than a rotational flow direction of the at least one chamber body (Fig. 2, col. 8 lines 30-50, at some point the direction of flow will be opposite in one section of a mixing stage from another section in an adjacent mixing stage). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adjacent chamber bodies taught by Suzaka of the modified fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to change the direction of flow between the chamber bodies as taught by Tsien in order that there be remixing of the streams to create a more thoroughly mixed medicament (Fig. 2, col. 9 lines 7-10).
Regarding claim 7, in the modified device of Gibson, Gibson does not disclose the vortex flow adapter is adapted to generate a minor head loss to the medicament flowing within the fluid flow path. However, Tsien teaches the vortex flow adapter is adapted to generate a minor head loss to the medicament flowing within the fluid flow path (col. 1 line 66 - col. 2 line 16 and col. 2 lines 45-54, a mixing system that continuously divides streams of fluid and recombines them will inherently have conversion of energy and a pressure drop, which is synonymous with what occurs during minor head loss). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to include a vortex flow adapter adapted to generate a minor head loss to the medicament flowing within the fluid flow path as taught by Tsien in order to regulate the fluid flow rate and balance pressure across all mixing stages (col. 8 lines 16-22). The orifice features and movement from the inlet cavity through the orifice to the outlet cavity taught by Tsien enable the actions of a minor head loss as a result of the turbulence.
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzaka, and further in view of Gibson and Lake.
Regarding claim 9, Suzaka discloses a modular vortex flow adapter (Fig. 2A, apparatus 20), the modular vortex flow adapter comprising: at least one chamber body (Fig. 2A, mixing device 22) including a first end having an inlet (Annotated on Fig. 2A below), a second end having an outlet (Annotated on Fig. 2A below), and a longitudinal length extending between the inlet and the outlet (Fig. 2A, longitudinal length extending through mixing device 22 from inlet to outlet), the at least one chamber body defining a channel extending between the inlet and the outlet (Fig. 2A, channel exist to move material from an annular passage in the adapter 21, to the mixing devices 22 and 22'), wherein the channel, the inlet, and the outlet are disposed on a common longitudinal axis of the at least one chamber body (Fig. 2A, mixing device 22 has arranged on a common longitudinal axis a compression zone 26 (inlet), an orifice portion 27 (channel), and a diffusion zone 28 (outlet)).
Suzaka does not disclose the modular vortex flow adapter for use in a drug delivery device, and at least one disc adapted to be disposed within the channel, the at least one disc including a disc body extending along a longitudinal length, the disc body including an outer surface and at least one groove extending along the outer surface in a first direction; wherein the at least one groove of the disc body is adapted to urge the medicament flowing through the channel in a vortex pattern.
However Gibson teaches the modular vortex flow adapter for use in a drug delivery device (FIG. 9, drug delivery system 300 having a tube-like structure which connects from the reservoir 340, through the lock 454, to the needle 344). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vortex flow adapter disclosed by Suzaka to be used within a drug delivery device as taught by Gibson as incorporating the two gives purpose for use to the vortex flow adapter.
Suzaka in view of Gibson still does not disclose at least one disc adapted to be disposed within the channel, the at least one disc including a disc body extending along a longitudinal length, the disc body including an outer surface and at least one groove extending along the outer surface in a first direction; wherein the at least one groove of the disc body is adapted to urge the medicament flowing through the channel in a vortex pattern.
However, Lake teaches at least one disc adapted to be disposed within the channel (Fig. 1, helix 33), the at least one disc including a disc body extending along a longitudinal length (Fig. 1, helix 33 within mixing passageway 16), the disc body including an outer surface and at least one groove extending along the outer surface in a first direction (annotated on Fig. 1 below); wherein the at least one groove of the disc body is adapted to urge the medicament flowing through the channel in the vortex pattern (shape of the helixes 31-34 would naturally cause the fluid to mix in a spiraling flow manner similar to that of a vortex). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vortex flow adapter disclosed by Suzaka to include a grooved disc adapted to urge the medicament in a vortex pattern within the channel as taught by Lake in order to fully mix the medicament as each fluid passes over one of the helixes (col. 3 lines 49 56) by changing the flow direction due to the groove design (col. 4 lines 7-13).
Regarding claim 10, in the modified adapter of Suzaka, Suzaka discloses the at least one chamber body further includes at least one vortex chamber formed by the channel (Fig. 2A, compression zone 26).
Regarding claim 11, in the modified adapter of Suzaka, Suzaka discloses the at least one vortex chamber comprises a tapered region having a varying cross-sectional area along the longitudinal length of the chamber body (Fig. 2A, tapering of compression zone 26).
Regarding claim 12, in the modified adapter of Suzaka, Suzaka discloses the at least one chamber body further comprises a second vortex chamber formed by the channel (Fig. 2A, diffusion zone 28).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzaka in view of Gibson and Lake as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Tsien.
Regarding claim 13, in the modified adapter of Suzaka, Suzaka does not explicitly disclose the at least one chamber body further comprises a first coupling portion at the first end and a second coupling portion at the second end, wherein the first and the second coupling portions are adapted to couple with an additional chamber body. However, Tsien teaches the at least one chamber body further comprises a first coupling portion at the first end and a second coupling portion at the second end (Figs. 1 and 12, bores 40 extend through each of the mixing stages 18 to receive bolt 22), wherein the first and the second coupling portions are adapted to couple with an additional chamber body (Fig. 12, col. 4 lines 34-39, bolts 22 secure the mixing stages 18 together by fastening hex nuts 24 at the ends of the bolts 22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vortex flow adapter disclosed by Suzaka to include coupling portions between chamber bodies in order to couple said chamber bodies as taught by Tsien in order to prevent leakage between stages (col. 5 line 62 – col. 6 line 4).
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson, and further in view of Suzaka, Tsien, and Lake.
Regarding claim 14, Gibson discloses a drug delivery device (FIG. 9, drug delivery system 300) comprising:
a housing defining an inner volume (FIG. 9, housing 302 defining interior space 314);
a container at least partially disposed within the housing (FIG. 9, reservoir 340), the container containing a medicament ([0050] “the reservoir 340 may correspond to the reservoir 102”, [0036] “The reservoir 102 is adapted to contain a drug.”);
a drive mechanism at least partially disposed within the housing (FIG. 9, drive 342), the drive mechanism adapted to exert a force to urge the medicament out the container ([0051], plunger 366 forces “drug out of the reservoir 340” and “the movement of the plunger 366 may be caused by the operation of the drive 342”);
a needle assembly having a needle and/or a cannula to deliver the medicament (FIG. 9, [0056], needle 344);
a fluid flow path fluidically connecting the container and the needle assembly (FIG. 9 shows a tube-like structure which connects from the reservoir 340, through the lock 454, to the needle 344, [0037] “a fluid flow path (e.g., tubing) that connects the reservoir 102 to the drug delivery device 104”, [0050] “the reservoir 340 may correspond to the reservoir 102, while the drive 342, needle 344, and the injector 346 may correspond to the drug delivery device 104”).
Gibson does not disclose a vortex flow adapter disposed within or defining at least a portion of the fluid flow path, the vortex flow adapter adapted to generate a minor head loss to the medicament flowing within the fluid flow path, wherein the vortex flow adapter comprises: at least one chamber body including a first end having an inlet, a second end having an outlet, and a longitudinal length extending between the inlet and the outlet, the at least one chamber body defining a channel extending between the inlet and the outlet, wherein the channel, the inlet, and the outlet are disposed on a common longitudinal axis of the at least one chamber body; and at least one disc adapted to be disposed within the channel, the at least one disc including a disc body extending along a longitudinal length, the disc body including an outer surface and at least one groove extending along the outer surface in a first direction.
However, Suzaka teaches a vortex flow adapter disposed within or defining at least a portion of the fluid flow path (Fig. 2A, apparatus 20), wherein the vortex flow adapter comprises: at least one chamber body (Fig. 2A, mixing device 22) including a first end having an inlet (Annotated on Fig. 2A below), a second end having an outlet (Annotated on Fig. 2A below), and a longitudinal length extending between the inlet and the outlet (Fig. 2A, longitudinal length extending through mixing device 22 from inlet to outlet), the at least one chamber body defining a channel extending between the inlet and the outlet (Fig. 2A, channel exist to move material from an annular passage in the adapter 21, to the mixing devices 22 and 22'), wherein the channel, the inlet, and the outlet are disposed on a common longitudinal axis of the at least one chamber body (Fig. 2A, mixing device 22 has arranged on a common longitudinal axis a compression zone 26 (inlet), an orifice portion 27 (channel), and a diffusion zone 28 (outlet)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to incorporate a vortex flow adapter with chamber bodies and passageways between the bodies as taught by Suzaka in order to effectively mix components of a medicament having poor compatibility (col. 4 line 66 – col. 5 line 30). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to have the inlet, outlet, and channel arranged on a common longitudinal axis as taught by Suzaka in order to obtain a more uniform mixture through the series arrangement (col. 4 lines 23-31).
Gibson in view of Suzaka still does not disclose the vortex flow adapter adapted to generate a minor head loss to the medicament flowing within the fluid flow path, and at least one disc adapted to be disposed within the channel, the at least one disc including a disc body extending along a longitudinal length, the disc body including an outer surface and at least one groove extending along the outer surface in a first direction.
However, Tsien teaches the vortex flow adapter adapted to generate a minor head loss to the medicament flowing within the fluid flow path (col. 1 line 66 - col. 2 line 16 and col. 2 lines 45-54, a mixing system that continuously divides streams of fluid and recombines them will inherently have conversion of energy and a pressure drop, which is synonymous with what occurs during minor head loss). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to include a vortex flow adapter adapted to generate a minor head loss to the medicament flowing within the fluid flow path as taught by Tsien in order to regulate the fluid flow rate and balance pressure across all mixing stages (col. 8 lines 16-22). The orifice features and movement from the inlet cavity through the orifice to the outlet cavity taught by Tsien enable the actions of a minor head loss as a result of the turbulence.
Gibson in view of Suzaka and Tsien still does not disclose at least one disc adapted to be disposed within the channel, the at least one disc including a disc body extending along a longitudinal length, the disc body including an outer surface and at least one groove extending along the outer surface in a first direction.
However, Lake teaches at least one disc adapted to be disposed within the channel (Fig. 1, helix 33), the at least one disc including a disc body extending along a longitudinal length (Fig. 1, helix 33 within mixing passageway 16), the disc body including an outer surface and at least one groove extending along the outer surface in a first direction (annotated on Fig. 1 below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the channel as taught by Suzaka as part of the modified fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to include a grooved disc as taught by Lake in order to fully mix the medicament as each fluid passes over one of the helixes (col. 3 lines 49 56) by changing the flow direction due to the groove design (col. 4 lines 7-13).
Regarding claim 15, in the modified device of Gibson, Gibson does not disclose the at least one groove of the disc body is adapted to urge the medicament flowing through the channel in the vortex pattern. However, Lake teaches the at least one groove of the disc body (annotated on Fig. 1 above) is adapted to urge the medicament flowing through the channel in the vortex pattern (shape of the helixes 31-34 would naturally cause the fluid to mix in a spiraling flow manner similar to that of a vortex). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the channel taught by Suzaka as part of the modified fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to include a grooved disc adapted to urge the medicament in a vortex pattern as taught by Lake in order to fully mix the medicament as each fluid passes over one of the helixes (col. 3 lines 49 56) by changing the flow direction due to the groove design (col. 4 lines 7-13).
Regarding claim 16, in the modified device of Gibson, Gibson does not disclose the at least one chamber body further includes at least one vortex chamber formed by the channel. However, Suzaka teaches the at least one chamber body further includes at least one vortex chamber formed by the channel (Fig. 2A, compression zone 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to include at least one vortex chamber formed by the channel as taught by Suzaka in order to begin sufficiently mixing the medicament by elongating masses within the medicament using the compression force derived from the gradual decrease in the cross-sectional area (col. 2 lines 53-58, col. 4 lines 5-11).
Regarding claim 17, in the modified device of Gibson, Gibson does not disclose the at least one vortex chamber comprises a tapered region having a varying cross sectional area along the longitudinal length of the chamber body. However, Suzaka teaches the at least one vortex chamber comprises a tapered region having a varying cross-sectional area along the longitudinal length of the chamber body (Fig. 2A, tapering of compression zone 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one vortex chamber taught by Suzaka as part of the modified fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to include a tapered region as taught by Suzaka in order to begin sufficiently mixing the medicament by elongating masses within the medicament using the compression force derived from the gradual decrease in the cross-sectional area (col. 2 lines 53-58, col. 4 lines 5-11).
Regarding claim 18, in the modified device of Gibson, Gibson does not disclose the at least one chamber body further comprises a second vortex chamber formed by the channel. However, Suzaka teaches the at least one chamber body further comprises a second vortex chamber formed by the channel (Fig. 2A, diffusion zone 28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified fluid flow path disclosed by Gibson to include at least one vortex chamber formed by the channel as taught by Suzaka in order that the high viscosity component is reformed in an entangled state with the low viscosity component (col. 4 lines 15-19).
Regarding claim 19, in the modified device of Gibson, Gibson does not disclose the at least one chamber body further comprises a first coupling portion at the first end and a second coupling portion at the second end, wherein the first and the second coupling portions are adapted to couple with an additional chamber body. However, Tsien teaches the at least one chamber body further comprises a first coupling portion at the first end and a second coupling portion at the second end (Figs. 1 and 12, bores 40 extend through each of the mixing stages 18 to receive bolt 22), wherein the first and the second coupling portions are adapted to couple with an additional chamber body (Fig. 12, col. 4 lines 34-39, bolts 22 secure the mixing stages 18 together by fastening hex nuts 24 at the ends of the bolts 22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vortex flow adapter disclosed by Suzaka to include coupling portions between chamber bodies in order to couple said chamber bodies as taught by Tsien in order to prevent leakage between stages (col. 5 line 62 – col. 6 line 4).
Regarding claim 20, in the modified device of Gibson, Gibson discloses the fluid flow path comprises a generally tubular member defining an interior channel (FIG. 9 shows a tube-like structure which connects from reservoir 340, through lock 454, to needle 344, [0037] “a fluid flow path (e.g., tubing) that connects the reservoir 102 to the drug delivery device 104”, [0050] “the reservoir 340 may correspond to the reservoir 102, while the drive 342, needle 344, and the injector 346 may correspond to the drug delivery device 104”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply in view of the new grounds of rejection. The amended limitation of “wherein the channel, the inlet, and the outlet are disposed on a common longitudinal axis of the at least one chamber body” has altered the scope of the claims and is interpreted by the examiner as being met by Suzaka.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Schauerte (United States Patent US 7,878,705 B2) is considered relevant prior art with regards to a static mixing system with individual mixing structure organized in series.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVELYN A THOMAN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783