DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1, 3, 6-9, 11, 13, 16, 22, 43-44, 47-50, 52-54, 56-62 are pending.
Applicant’s election of Group IV, claims 49-50, 52-54, 56-57 in the reply filed on 07/03/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)) and made FINAL.
Claims 1, 3, 6-9, 11, 13, 16, 22, 43-44, 47-48, and 58-62 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/03/2025.
Claims 49-50, 52-54, 56-57 have been examined on their merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 inappropriately uses dashes to separate clauses. Claims should be constructed as single sentences. According to MPEP 608.01(m), “[e]ach claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations.” While “[t]here may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps” dashes are used to indicate a range or pause and separate groups of words, not to separate a series of clauses. Instead, the subcombinations or related steps should be separated by an alphanumeric marker (e.g., “(a) obtaining . . . (b) supplying, etc.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 49-50, 52-54, 56-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 49, the phrase “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For compact prosecution, the choice is considered optional.
Regarding claim 53, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For compact prosecution, the choice is considered optional.
Regarding claim 54, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For compact prosecution, the choice is considered optional.
Claims 50, 52-54, 56-57 are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for their dependence on claim 49.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 49-50, 52-53, 56-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated Benson et al. (WO2019178422A1, 2019, on IDS 05/27/2022).
In regards to claims 49, Benson discloses methods for treating subjects with cell proliferative disorders, such as cancers, with compositions comprising gene-edited T cells, which can be CD8+ T cells (also referred to as a cytotoxic T cell or CTLs) specifically, to elicit anti-tumor immune responses and cause regression of cancer (Abstract; claims 1, 157, 281-283; paragraphs [0067, 00162, 00441]).
Benson discloses that the T cell can be autologous (claims 164, 289), which means that they can be obtained from the subject.
Benson discloses that the cells are genetically edited to reduce function of the gene PTPN2 (claim 1; paragraph [00234]) and administered to subjects (claim 281; paragraph [0068]).
In regards to the step of administering a PTP1B (also referred to as PTPN1 in the art) inhibitor, it is noted that the instant specification explicitly states the inhibitor may be part of a CRISPR-based genome editing system (instant paragraph [0203]).
To this end, Benson discloses that effector cells comprising a gene-regulating system, such as CRSIPR, for reducing expression of PTPN1 (PTP1B) can be administered to a subject (claims 1, claim 281; paragraphs [0008, 00234]), which reads on this limitation.
In regards to claim 50, Benson discloses that the CD8+ T cells can be engineered to express a CAR (claims 150-151; paragraph [00134]).
In regards to claim 52, Benson discloses that PTPN2 is edited with a CRISPR/Cas9 system (paragraph [00234]).
In regards to claim 53, Benson discloses that the PTP1B inhibitor is a Cas9 that complexes with a gRNA directed to PTP1B (claims 52, 59; paragraphs [0030, 00101, 00234]).
In regards to claim 56, Benson discloses that the administration to a subject (which would comprise both PTPN2 edited cells and the PTP1B inhibitor) can be administered at one time (claims 1, 281-283; paragraph [00438]).
In regards to claim 57, Benson discloses that the CARs can be directed to HER2-specific tumor antigens (paragraph [00182]), an thus for HER2-positive cancers.
Therefore, Benson anticipates the invention as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 54 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson et al. (WO2019178422A1, 2019, on IDS 05/27/2022) in view of Krishan et al. (Nat Chem Biol, 2014).
Benson anticipates claim 49 as discussed above.
In regards to claim 54, Benson teaches that a subject may be administered immune checkpoint inhibitors, including small-molecule inhibitors, which result in enhanced therapeutic effect (paragraphs [00112, 00430-00431, 00445-00448]), but is silent on whether the small-molecule inhibitor is a PTP1b inhibitor specifically (it is noted PTP1b is a known checkpoint protein).
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer a small drug inhibitor of PTP1b such as MSI-1436 (trodusquemine) because Krishnan teaches that PTP1b plays a critical role in HER2 signaling in breast cancer, but that inhibition with small molecule inhibitor MSI-1436 (trodusquemine) antagonizes HER2 signaling, inhibits tumorigenesis, and abrogates metastasis of breast cancer in subjects (Abstract, p1-2; MSI-1436 attenuated HER2-mediated tumorigenesis, p7-8; MSI-1436 specifically targeted PTP1B in breast cancer models, p8). Furthermore, because Krishnan teaches that MSI-1436 (trodusquemine) effectively attenuated HER2 signaling, resulting in extensive inhibition of tumor growth and abrogation of metastasis (Introduction, p2-3) and because, as above, Benson teaches that patients can be administered checkpoint inhibitors and that this enhances therapeutic effects, it could have been done with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Benson and Krishnan render obvious the invention as claimed.
Double Patenting
Claims 49-50, 52-54, 56-57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 11, 13, 15-18, 37, 41, 46, 49-50, 52-53, and 56-58 of copending Application No. 17/058,551 in view of over Benson et al. (WO2019178422A1, 2019, on IDS 05/27/2022).
While the instant claims and claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 11, 13, 15-18, 37, 41, 46, 49-50, 52-53, and 56-58 of copending Application No. 17/058,551, the instant claims are not patentable distinct because both inventions are drawn to inducing an immune response in a subject comprising administering a PTP1B inhibitor and T cells, derived from a subject, to a subject for treating cancer.
Copending Application No. 17/058,551 does not explicitly teach that the T cells are CD8+ T cells specifically or a step of editing the gene encoding PTPN2 in these cells.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose CD8+ T cells because Benson teaches that CD8+ T cells (also referred to as a cytotoxic T cell or CTL) can be used as immune effector cells for cancer immunotherapies (claims 1 and 281-283). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to edit the gene encoding PTPN2 because Benson teaches that PTPN2-edited T cells are effective for treating cancers in subjects (claims 1 and 281-283; paragraphs [00219]).
Furthermore, because Benson teaches that gene-edited CD8+ T cells can be administered to tumorigenic subjects (paragraph [00485]), and teaches methods for editing the PTPN2 gene in T cells for treating cancer in subjects (Abstract; claims 1, 157, 281-283; paragraphs [0067, 00162, 00234, 00441]), it could have been done with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 49-50, 52-54, 56-57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 45 and 48-54 of copending Application No. 17/014,737 in view of over Benson et al. (WO2019178422A1, 2019, on IDS 05/27/2022).
While the instant claims and claims 45 and 48-54 of copending Application No. 17/014,737 are not identical the instant claims are not patentable distinct because both inventions are drawn to methods for treating cancer in a subject comprising administering CD8+ T cells derived from the subject wherein these cells have been gene edited to remove or modify PTPN2.
Copending Application No. 17/058,551 does not explicitly teach a step of administering a PTP1B inhibitor to a subject.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer a PTP1B inhibitor because Krishnan teaches that PTP1b plays a critical role in HER2 signaling in breast cancer, but that inhibition with small molecule inhibitor MSI-1436 (trodusquemine) antagonizes HER2 signaling, inhibits tumorigenesis, and abrogates metastasis of breast cancer in subjects (Abstract, p1-2; MSI-1436 attenuated HER2-mediated tumorigenesis, p7-8; MSI-1436 specifically targeted PTP1B in breast cancer models, p8). Furthermore, because Krishnan teaches that MSI-1436 (trodusquemine) effectively attenuated HER2 signaling, resulting in extensive inhibition of tumor growth and abrogation of metastasis (Introduction, p2-3) it could have been done with predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/JOSEPH PAUL MIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 1631