DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-4 and 8-10 in the reply filed on 28 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9 June 2025, 29 March 2024, 5 January 2024 and 27 May 2022 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is neither descriptive nor proper. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit" in line 6. It should be changed to “the at least one piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the surface of the lower conductive layer" in lines 2-3. It should be changed to “a surface of the lower conductive layer”.
Claim 2 recites the limitations "the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit" in line 2, line 3, line 6 and line 7. They should be changed to “the at least one piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the group” in line 8. It should be changed to “a group”.
Claim 3 recites the limitations "the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit" in line 2, line 5, line 6, line 11, lines 13-14, line 19, line 21, and line 24. They should be changed to “the at least one piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the surface of the upper conductive layer" in lines 2-3. It should be changed to “a surface of the upper conductive layer”.
Claim 8 recites the limitations “the group” in line 14, line 25, line 31, line 34, line 48, line 52, line 55, line 57, line 62 and 64. They should be changed to “a group”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3, 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the surfaces" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the surfaces" in line 21. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units" in line 3, lines 5-6, line 7, line 8, line 9, line 11, line 12, line 15 and line 15. There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the other end of each of the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitations "the surfaces" in line 9 and line 10. There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "or the method according to any one of claims 5 to 7" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the micro-/nano-unit" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the space" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the fixing" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the surface" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the device" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the structures" in line 36. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units" in line 43. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit" in line 57. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The claims with limitations discussed in Claim Objection and Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 above are included below in bold and underlined forms.
An energy conversion device comprising:
an upper conductive layer;
a lower conductive layer disposed beneath the upper conductive layer;
at least one piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit and a fluid disposed between the upper conductive
layer and the lower conductive layer;
wherein the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit has piezoelectric properties and is immersed in
the fluid; and wherein the fluid is a liquid.
The energy conversion device according to claim 1, wherein:
one end of the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit is fixed on the surface of the lower conductive layer facing the upper conductive layer, and the other end of the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit is in contact with the upper conductive layer; or
the upper conductive layer covers onto the surface of the lower conductive layer on which the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit is fixed;
optionally, the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit comprises or is composed of a piezoelectric micro-/nano-material selected from the group consisting of hexagonal wurtzite piezoelectric materials, perovskite-type piezoelectric materials, polymer piezoelectric materials, and combinations thereof.
3. The energy conversion device according to claim 1, further comprising at least one additional micro-/nano-unit, one end of the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit is fixed on the surface of the lower conductive layer facing the upper conductive layer, one end of the additional micro-/nano-unit is fixed on the surface of the upper conductive layer facing the lower conductive layer, and the other end of the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit is a free end such that the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit, when randomly vibrating, may contact with the additional micro-/nano-unit, wherein the other end of the additional micro/nano unit is optionally a free end,
wherein the additional micro-/nano-unit satisfies at least one of the following conditions (i) and (ii):
(i) the additional micro-/nano-unit comprises or is composed of a material capable of forming a Schottky junction or heterojunction with the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit;
(ii) the surfaces of the additional micro-/nano-unit is coated with a shell material which is a material capable of forming a Schottky junction or a heterojunction with the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit;
optionally, the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units on the surface of the lower conductive layer form a cross-finger structure with the additional micro-/nano-units on the surface of the upper conductive layer;
optionally, the micro-/nano-material in the additional micro-/nano-unit is the same as or different from the piezoelectric micro-/nano-material in the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit;
optionally, when the micro-/nano-material in the additional micro-/nano-unit is the same as the piezoelectric micro-/nano-material in the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit, the surfaces of the additional micro-/nano-unit is coated with the shell material;
optionally, the additional micro-/nano-unit is a non-piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit;
optionally, the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit comprise or is composed of a piezoelectric semiconductor micro-/nano-material.
The energy conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one piezoelectric
micro-/nano-unit refers to two or more piezoelectric micro-/nano-units, the two surfaces of the upper and the lower conductive layers opposite to each other are fixed with one ends of the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units, and the other end of each of the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units on at least one of said two surfaces of the upper and lower conductive layers is a free end such that the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units having the free end on the at least one of the conductive layers, when randomly vibrating, may contact with the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units on the opposite other conductive layer;
wherein the surfaces of the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units on the surface of the upper conductive layer or the surfaces of the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units on the surface of the lower conductive layer are coated with a shell material which is a material capable of forming a Schottky junction or a heterojunction with the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units;
optionally, the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units on the surface of the upper conductive layer form a cross-finger structure with the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units on the surface of the lower conductive layer;
optionally, the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units comprise or are composed of a piezoelectric semiconductor micro-/nano-material.
8. The energy conversion device according to any one of claims 1 to 4, or the method according to any one of claims 5 to 7, wherein the two surfaces of the upper and lower conductive layers opposite each other are substantially parallel;
optionally, the micro-/nano-unit at each occurrence is a micro/nanometer array;
optionally, the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit and the additional micro-/nano-unit are each at least partially or completely immersed in the fluid;
optionally, the space between the two surfaces of the upper and lower conductive layers opposite each other is at least partially or completely filled with the fluid;
optionally, the fixing refers to fixing along an orientation perpendicular to the surface of the conductive layer;
optionally, the energy conversion device further comprises an encapsulation layer; the encapsulation layer is provided on the outer periphery of the device;
optionally, the encapsulation layer comprises an adhesive;
optionally, the adhesive is selected from the group consisting of epoxy resins, silicones, EVA, and combinations thereof;
optionally, the energy conversion device further comprises lead wires; the lead wires are led out from the upper conductive layer and the lower conductive layer respectively;
optionally, the fluid is a warmed liquid; 5 optionally, the dielectric constant of the liquid is less than 80, less than 40, less than 10, less than 4.0, less than 3.0, less than 2.5, or less than 2.0;
optionally, the viscosity of the liquid is less than 80000 mPa-s, less than 8000 mPa-s, less than 800 mPa-s. less than 80 mPa-s, less than 8 mPa-s, or less than 0.8 mPa-s;
optionally, the liquid is a non-polar or weakly polar liquid;
optionally, the liquid is a low viscosity liquid;
optionally, the liquid is a non-polar or weakly polar and low viscosity liquid; optionally, the liquid is selected from the group consisting of dimethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, tetrachloroethylene, cyclopentene. n-octane, n-hexane, ethanol, dichloroethane, and combinations thereof;
optionally, the upper conductive layer and the lower conductive layer comprise a conductive or non-conductive substrate;
optionally the upper conductive layer and the lower conductive layer each independently comprise a material selected from the group consisting of a metal, a carbon material, a semiconductor material, and combinations thereof;
optionally, the upper conductive layer and the lower conductive layer each independently comprise a material selected from the group consisting of Au, Pt, Ag, Cu, Zn, ITO, FTO, C, and combinations thereof;
optionally, the structures of the upper conductive layer and the lower conductive layer are each independently a nanostructure which is flake or coated with a conductive film layer;
optionally, the nanostructure is a nanogroove, a nanoarray, or a combination thereof;
optionally, the minimum radial dimension of at least a portion of the cross-section of each of the nano-units in the direction of extension thereof is mnm-10pm, 10nm-1 m, 20nm-300nm, 10nm- 500nm, or l0nr-100nm; optionally, the gap between the nano-units in the nano-array is 5nm-20pm, 20nm-5pm, 50nm- 1 gm. 80nm-500nm, or 100nm-300nm;
optionally, the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units and the additional micro-/nano-units are each independently nanorods, nanosheets, nanowires, nanobelts, nanotubes, nanohelices, or combinations thereof;
optionally, the piezoelectric semiconductor micro-/nano-material is selected from hexagonal wurtzite piezoelectric materials; optionally, the hexagonal wurtzite piezoelectric materials are selected from the group consisting of ZnO, GaN, ZnS, CdS, InN, InGaN, CdTe, CdSe, ZnSnO3, and combinations thereof;
optionally, the perovskite-type piezoelectric materials have a general Formula of ABO3: wherein A is a rare earth or alkaline earth metal ion, and B is a transition metal ion;
optionally, the perovskite-type piezoelectric materials are selected from the group consisting of lead zirconate titanate PZT, barium titanate BaTiO3, potassium sodium niobate KNN, and combinations thereof;
optionally, the polymer piezoelectric materials are selected from the group consisting of polyvinylidene fluoride PVDF, and polydimethylsiloxane PDMS;
optionally, the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit is a ZnO nano-array;
optionally, the shell material is a metal material having a work function value greater than or less than the work function value of the piezoelectric semiconductor micro-/nano-material;
optionally, the shell material is other semiconductor material capable of forming a heterojunction with the piezoelectric semiconductor micro-/nano-material;
optionally, the shell material is a metal material selected from the group consisting of Au, Pt, Ag, Ti, Al, C, and combinations thereof;
optionally, the shell material is a semiconductor material selected from the group consisting of CuO, silicon wafer, Cu20, NiO, Co304, and combinations thereof;
optionally, the shell material is formed by magnetron sputtering, electron beam evaporation, thermal evaporation, or sol-gel of the shell material on the surface of the upper conductive layer on which the nano-units are fixed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mernier et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20070016151).
Regarding independent claim 1, Mernier et al. (e. g. see FIG. 3) discloses an energy conversion device comprising: an upper conductive layer (26); a lower conductive layer (25) disposed beneath the upper conductive layer (26); at least one piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit (27) and a fluid (microfluidic chemical) disposed between the upper conductive layer (26) and the lower conductive layer (25); wherein the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit (27) has piezoelectric properties and is immersed in the fluid (microfluidic chemical); and wherein the fluid (microfluidic chemical) is a liquid (Implantable Microfabricated Fluid).
Examiner’s note for the interpretation of claim 1:
All liquids are fluids, but not all fluids are liquids.
A liquid is a specific state of matter with a definite volume but no fixed shape. While liquids are nearly incompressible, fluids can be highly compressible such as gases.
Implantable Microfabricated Fluid is measured by volume depending on what it is used for, therefore it is considered a liquid.
Regarding claim 2, Mernier et al. (e. g. see FIG. 3) discloses one end of the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit (27) is fixed on the surface of the lower conductive layer (25) facing the upper conductive layer (26), and the other end of the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit (27) is in contact with the upper conductive layer (26); or the upper conductive layer (26) covers onto the surface of the lower conductive layer (25) on which the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit (27) is fixed; optionally, the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit (27) comprises or is composed of a piezoelectric micro-/nano-material selected from the group consisting ofThe second substrate 22 may comprise…polymers (e.g., polyurethanes or polyimides)),
Regarding claim 8, Mernier et al. (e. g. see FIG. 3) discloses 8. The energy conversion device according to any one of claims 1 to 4, or the method according to any one of claims 5 to 7, wherein the two surfaces of the upper (26) and lower conductive layers (25) opposite each other are substantially parallel;
Regarding claim 9, Mernier et al. (e. g. see FIG. 3) discloses an apparatus (pressure base device) comprising the energy conversion device (24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mernier et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20070016151).
Regarding claim 10, Mernier et al. (e. g. see FIG. 3) does not disclose “Use of the energy conversion device of any one of claims 1 to 4 and 8 in energy conversion and collection, for example, energy storage, sensors, wearable devices, and mobile devices.”
However, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claims 3- 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mernier et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20070016151) in view of Shao et al. (CN 102299252).
Regarding claim 3, Mernier et al. (e. g. see FIG. 3) discloses every aspect of the invention except for “wherein the additional micro-/nano-unit satisfies at least one of the following conditions (i) and (ii):
(i) the additional micro-/nano-unit comprises or is composed of a material capable of forming a Schottky junction or heterojunction with the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit;
(ii) the surfaces of the additional micro-/nano-unit is coated with a shell material which is a material capable of forming a Schottky junction or a heterojunction with the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit.
However, Shao et al. (e. g. FIG. 1) teaches the additional micro-/nano-unit satisfies at least one of the following conditions (i) and (ii):
(i) the additional micro-/nano-unit (1) comprises or is composed of a material ([0015] a P type low resistance materials; [0016] The semiconductor nano-rod array of the invention made from n-type zinc oxide semiconductor material with piezoelectric characteristics, semiconductor nano-groove array is composed of a P type low resistance materials, the manufacturing process does not need noble metal having high work function such as Au or Pt, so as to reduce the manufacturing cost of the generator and prolong the service life of the generator) capable of forming a Schottky junction or heterojunction ([0015] The invention uses p-n hetero-junction Schottky junction piezoelectric nano generator so as to realize the output of the unidirectional current to exploit design structure of piezoelectric nano generator provides a new solution for realizing is simple) with the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit (1);
(ii) the surfaces of the additional micro-/nano-unit (1) is coated with a shell material (a P type low resistance materials) which is a material capable of forming a Schottky junction or a heterojunction ([0015] The invention uses p-n hetero-junction Schottky junction piezoelectric nano generator so as to realize the output of the unidirectional current to exploit design structure of piezoelectric nano generator provides a new solution for realizing is simple) with the piezoelectric micro-/nano-unit (1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date or the priority date of the application, to modify the pressure base system of Mernier et al. to include the conditions (i) and (ii) as taught by Shao et al. for the purpose of providing a new solution for the problems of the existing piezoelectric nanometer generator in order to realize the heterojunction piezoelectric nano-generator and its manufacturing method of low cost, long service life, relatively simple technology (e. g. see Shao et al. [0003]-[0005] and [0015] The invention uses p-n hetero-junction Schottky junction piezoelectric nano generator.)
Regarding claim 4, Mernier et al. (e. g. see FIG. 3) discloses every aspect of the invention except for “the surfaces of the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units on the surface of the upper conductive layer or the surfaces of the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units on the surface of the lower conductive layer are coated with a shell material which is a material capable of forming a Schottky junction or a heterojunction with the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units.”
However, Shao et al. (e. g. FIG. 1) teaches the surfaces of the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units on the surface of the upper conductive layer ([0019] upper electrode) or the surfaces of the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units on the surface of the lower conductive layer ([0019] upper electrode) are coated with a shell material ([0020] the two square periphery coated gelatinous epoxy resin under the condition of good contact) which is a material capable of forming a Schottky junction or a heterojunction with the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units ([0005] The invention of heterojunction piezoelectric nano generator).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date or the priority date of the application, to modify the pressure base system of Mernier et al. to include “the surfaces of the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units on the surface of the upper conductive layer or the surfaces of the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units on the surface of the lower conductive layer are coated with a shell material which is a material capable of forming a Schottky junction or a heterojunction with the piezoelectric micro-/nano-units” as taught by Shao et al. for the purpose of providing a new solution for the problems of the existing piezoelectric nanometer generator in order to realize the heterojunction piezoelectric nano-generator and its manufacturing method of low cost, long service life, relatively simple technology (e. g. see Shao et al. [0003]-[0005] and [0015] The invention uses p-n hetero-junction Schottky junction piezoelectric nano generator.)
Since Mernier et al. and Shao et al. are both from the same field of endeavor (piezoelectric nano apparatus), the purpose disclosed by Shao et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Mernier et al.
Examiner’s Note:
In this Office Action, Examiner has cited particular figures, column numbers, paragraph numbers, and line numbers of the prior arts applied in the rejections. However, other figures and passages of the same prior arts may anticipate the claim limitations as well. Therefore, Applicants are respectfully requested to consider the prior arts in their entirety as potentially teaching claimed invention.
For amendment purpose, Applicants are very much appreciated for indicating the portion(s) of the specification which dictates the structure(s) relied on for proper interpretation as well as for verification and determination of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. Applicants’ indication of the specific figures and items of figures which represent features of the invention disclosed in the amended claims, is also expected.
Additionally, in the event that other prior art(s) is/are provided and made of record by the Examiner as being relevant or pertinent to applicant's disclosure but not relied upon, the examiner requests that the reference(s) be considered in any subsequent amendments, as the reference(s) is also representative of the teachings of the art and may apply to the specific limitations of any newly amended claim(s).
Contact Information
2 May 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837