DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement of Receipt
Applicant's response filed on 05/31/2025 to the Office Action mailed on 02/05/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Status
Claims 22-42 are pending.
Claims 22, 27, 31, and 37-38 are currently amended.
Claims 31-42 have been previously withdrawn.
Claims 1-21 are previously canceled.
Claims 22-30 have been examined.
Claims 22-30 are rejected.
New (Modified) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
This rejection is modified from the previous Office Action in view of the amendments to the claims.
Claims 22-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (Hybrid organic–inorganic silica monolith with hydrophobic/strong cation-exchange functional groups as a sorbent for micro-solid phase extraction, Sep. 6, 2009) (hereinafter Zheng) in view of Chen et al. (Preparation of organic–inorganic hybrid silica monolith with octyl and sulfonic acid groups for capillary electrochromatograhpy and application in determination of theophylline and caffeine in beverage, April 2, 2010) (hereinafter Chen) and Ali et al., (Polystyrene bound silica monolith particles of reduced size as stationary phase of excellent separation efficiency in high performance liquid chromatograhy, Feb. 7, 2019) (hereinafter Ali).
Zheng discloses a hybrid silica monolith synthesized (i.e., formed) by hydrolysis and polycondensation of a mixture of tetraethoxysilane (TEOS) (i.e., tetraethyl orthosilicate), n-octyltriethoxysilane (C8-TEOS) and 3-mercaptopropyltrimethoxysilane (MPTMS) via a two-step catalytic sol–gel process (Abstract). Tetraethoxysilane (98%, TEOS) and 3-mercaptopropyltrimethoxysilane (95%, MPTMS) were used directly without further purification (page 7740, Experimental, first paragraph). A mixed stock solution of all standards was prepared in acetonitrile at a concentration of 1mg/mL and stored at 4 ◦C in the dark. The standard solution was diluted to the desired concentration for experiments (page 7740, second column, first paragraph). Fused-silica capillaries were prepared then the hybrid monolith was synthesized by hydrolysis and polycondensation of precursors via a two-step catalytic sol–gel process. The optimal preparation conditions include 180 µL of methanol, 25 µL of 0.5M HCl, various amounts of C8-TEOS, MPTMS and 110 µL TEOS were mixed together. 60, 65 and 70 µL of C8-TEOS in the original sols were used for the preparation of columns A, B and C, respectively. The total volume of C8-TEOS and MPTMS was kept at 100 µL. After thorough vortexing, the mixture was left for hydrolysis at 60 ◦C for 5 h. After cooling to room temperature, 10mg of n-dodecylamine (i.e., a base) was added to the solution. Then the pretreated capillary was filled to a certain length with the sol by a syringe (page 7740, Preparation of hybrid silica monolith). The hybrid monolith was later treated with 5 mM phosphate solution (pH 10.5) for 12 h (page 7745, Table 5).
Zheng differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing a ratio of the molar amount of the first monomer (i.e., 3-mercaptopropyltrimethoxysilane) to the molar amount of the second monomer (i.e., tetraethyl orthosilicate) within a range of from 1:3 to 4:6 or 35:65 to 40:60.
However, Chen teaches an organic–inorganic hybrid silica monolith optimized by changing the composition of tetraethoxysilane (TEOS), octyltriethoxysilane (C8-TEOS) and 3-mercaptopropyltrimethoxysilane (MPTMS) in the mixture of precursors (Abstract). Three precursors, namely tetraethoxysilane (TEOS), 3-mercaptopropyltrimethoxysilane (MPTMS), and octyltriethoxysilane (C8-TEOS), were mixed in a certain ratio in order to obtain monolithic columns with better kinetic and thermodynamic performance (page 3548, first column, third paragraph). Table 1 shows the influence of precursors content in mixtures on monolithic column preparation (page 3550).
Accordingly, since ratio of TEOS and MPTMS affects the kinetic and thermodynamic performance of monolithic columns, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed ratio based on arriving at a monolith with desirable kinetic and thermodynamic performance as taught by Chen. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05.
The combined teachings of Zheng and Chen do not disclose breaking the monolith to form particles.
However, Ali teaches ground silica monolith particles prepared by a sol-gel process followed by soft grinding and calcination (Abstract). The resultant silica monolith particles are packed in micro-columns that have shown excellent separation efficiencies. The character of multiple shapes of phases (ground silica monolith particles) is also believed to greatly contribute to the enhanced separation efficiency (page 73, Effect of particles texture on chromatographic performance).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to produce particles by forming a monolith and breaking at least some of the monolith to form said particles by soft grinding since it was known in the art that grinding a silica monolith can be beneficial in certain applications, such as separation efficiency as taught by Ali.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
With regard to the rejection of claims 22-30 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (Hybrid organic–inorganic silica monolith with hydrophobic/strong cation-exchange functional groups as a sorbent for micro-solid phase extraction, Sep. 6, 2009) (hereinafter Zheng) in view of Chen et al. (Preparation of organic–inorganic hybrid silica monolith with octyl and sulfonic acid groups for capillary electrochromatograhpy and application in determination of theophylline and caffeine in beverage, April 2, 2010) (hereinafter Chen) and Ali et al., (Polystyrene bound silica monolith particles of reduced size as stationary phase of excellent separation efficiency in high performance liquid chromatograhy, Feb. 7, 2019) (hereinafter Ali):
Applicant argues that Zheng does not disclose forming a monolith. Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but found not to be persuasive. Zheng discloses a hybrid silica monolith synthesized (i.e., formed) by hydrolysis and polycondensation of a mixture of tetraethoxysilane (TEOS) (i.e., tetraethyl orthosilicate), n-octyltriethoxysilane (C8-TEOS) and 3-mercaptopropyltrimethoxysilane (MPTMS) via a two-step catalytic sol–gel process (Abstract).
Applicant argues that Zheng discloses making a sol and applying the sol to an existing substrate monolith to modify the surface of the existing monolith. Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but found not to be persuasive. Zheng discloses fused-silica capillaries were prepared then the hybrid monolith was synthesized by hydrolysis and polycondensation of precursors via a two-step catalytic sol–gel process wherein various amounts of C8-TEOS, MPTMS and TEOS were mixed together and the pretreated capillary was filled to a certain length with the sol by a syringe (page 7740, Preparation of hybrid silica monolith). Accordingly, Zheng teaches initiating condensation of the mixture to form a sol-gel monolith, as recited in claim 22. Claim 22 as recited does not exclude the formation of a sol-gel monolith from combing sol with silica capillaries in a catalytic process.
Applicant argues that because in Zheng, the precursors are condensing onto the existing silica substrate, Zheng does not perform condensation of a monomer mixture to form a monolith. Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but found not to be persuasive for reasons discussed above. Claim 22 as recited does not exclude the formation of a sol-gel monolith by condensing the precursors (i.e., monomer mixture) onto the existing silica substrate.
Applicant argues that neither Chen nor Ali remedy the deficiencies of Zheng. Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but found not to be persuasive because Applicant’s arguments against Zheng were not found to be persuasive.
Applicant argues that claims 31-42 should be allowed by rejoinder. Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but found not to be persuasive because Applicant’s arguments against Zheng, Chen, and Ali regarding the elected group were not found to be persuasive.
For the foregoing reasons the rejection is modified and maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/ALI SOROUSH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614