Response to Arguments
First, Examiner Liu is no longer with USPTO. This application is now being examined by Examiner Kolb. While Examiner Kolb did sign the last office action as the primary examiner, the reason why the application was approved is truly baffling. No excuse for this one.
The main argument applicants presented is that the compound disclosed in Eibeck and instant invention are not true homologs. The baffling part is why the structure of biphenyl with C2 linking group was even incorporated. According to IUPAC both diphenylamine and phenyl-benzene amine are given the same CAS registry number 122-39-4:
The examiner would like to draw applicant’s attention to part directed to “other names” and specifically the last compound in the first line.
Furthermore, applicant’s compound is no longer benzene because a hydrogen atom is removed to form a bond. By definition (chemical dictionary off course) benzene is a six carbon atom aromatic ring, wherein each carbon is bonded to one hydrogen. It is highly stable due to resonance and delocalized electrons. Phenyl on the other hand is a benzene ring missing one hydrogen thereby creating a point of attachment to other atoms or groups. Phenyl does not posses independent stability, because stability depends on the molecule that is attached to the phenyl.
2- propanone is the acetone.
D-2 component of the prior art is a combination of 2 stabilizers. First stabilizer utilized in 65% is a condensation product of diphenylaminde, acetone and formaldehyde and second stabilizer used in 35% is diphenyl-p-phenylenediamine. The same type of the stabilizer combination Eibeck used in his WO 2007/113116 publication. These stabilizers were known for use with polyamides since 60as, see US 3,113,120 to Papero (col. 1). Paper further shows how these compounds are made. Specifically, (see under Table III(B). The compound is reaction product of acetone and diphenyl amine further reacted with formaldehyde. US 1,906,935 was cited.
Consequently, the compound of Eibeck and instantly claimed stabilizers are one and the same.
Furthermore, by definition printed publication is a publication that is available to the public. Eibeck discloses both the inventive examples and comparative example both of which are part of the same publication. As such comparative examples are also considered as printed publication available to the public and can be utilized in the rejection in certain circumstances.
Claim Interpretation
Based on the response to applicant’s arguments, the examiner will treat these claims as flexamine being a tradename that includes claimed condensation product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 10, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eibeck (US 2010/0311882).
With respect to claim 1, comparative example 4 of Eibeck discloses composition comprising:
41 wt.% of polyamide,
0.3 wt.% of flexamine comprising condensation product of formaldehyde, phenylenediamine and acetone.
1.5 wt% of carbon black which is defined as additive comprising 33% of carbon black and 67% of polyethylene carrier. As such content of carbon black within this amount is approximately 0.5 wt.%.
With respect to claim 3, CE4 does not include any other black pigments or dyes.
With respect to claims 4 and 13, the content of carbon black is 0.5 wt.% which meets claimed range of 0.2-2.5 wt.%
With respect to claim 5, content of flexamine is 0.2 wt. % lubricants such as those based on stearates is utilized in amount of 0.2 wt. % (CE 4)
With respect to claims 6, 14 and 15, polyamide in example CE4 is defined as nylon 6,6 [0199] or PA 6,6.
With respect to claim 7, composition comprises polyethylene which is incorporated to with carbon black. CE4 also discloses component D3 which is ethylene-propylene copolymer comprising approximately 1% of maleic anhydride. D3 is compatibilizer.
With respect to claim 10, all compositions of Eibeck are molded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Sasaki (US 2014/0135441) in view of Eibeck (US 2010/0311882).
With respect to claim 1, Saski discloses polyamide molding composition comprising glass fibers, pigments and stabilizers. Per 100 parts of polyamide, the content of glass fibers is 50 pbw (Table I). For the 100 parts of the composition comprises 33.3 parts of carbon fiber with balance being polyamide and additives.
The pigments of Sasaki include black pigment such as carbon black [0090]. Cabon blacks are also UB absorbers
The stabilizer of Sasaki include phenol stabilizers, hindered phenol stabilizers and amine based stabilizers [0069].
While Saski discloses carbon black as a pigment, he does not disclose the content. Additionally, Sasaki generically disclosed stabilizers or the content.
In the same field of endeavor of making molding composition of stabilized polyamide Dan also teaches composition which comprises stabilizers and pigments.
The pigment of Eibeck in his comparative example discloses black pigment such as carbon black and a stabilizer.
In CE4 of Eibeck, carbon black is utilized in 1.5 parts wherein the carbon black is defined as a master batch comprising 33% of carbon black and 67 % of polyethylene. As such the total content of the utilized 1.5 parts is 0.5 wt % (0.49 to be exact).
In the same example, Eibeck also teaches flexamine stabilizer which is referred by some as hindered phenol stabilizer but by most as a hindered amine stabilizer. This stabilizer is utilized in CE4 in an amount of 0.3 wt. %
In the light of the above disclosure it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time instant invention was filed to utilize teachings of Eibeck first as a guide to the content of the black pigment in the polyamide composition. Additionally, Sasaki discloses that carbon black can be utilized as carbon black in the same manner as nigrosin or other pigments. Such amount of either nigrosine or carbon black resulted in a composition having the same thermal conductivity (CE4 and IE2) which is the object of Eibeck [0010].
It would also be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize flexamine as the stabilizers for polyamide composition such as that of Sasaki. Frist, Sasaki does enable use of stabilizers, which encompass the stabilizers of Eibeck. Eibeck discloses that the stabilizers used therein are particularly suitable for color fastness [0095] which diffuse light over prolonged period of time.
With respect to claim 2, the amount of glass fibers is 33 wt.% as presented in rejection of claim 1 and polyamide including stabilizers and pigment would make up the balance.
With respect to claims 3 and 12, carbon black would be the only pigment utilized.
With respect to claims 4 and 13, the content of carbon black is approximately 0.5 wt. % as presented in rejection of claim 1.
With respect to claim 5, Sasaki discloses use of lubricants or moldability improving agents such as stearates including calcium stearate [0073-0087], however Sasaki does not disclose the content.
In the same field of endavour Eibeck discloses CE4 composition comprising moldability improving component which is calcium stearate (D5) which is utilized in an amount of 0.2 wt.%.
In the light of the above disclosure it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time instant invention was filed, to utilize calcium stearate (or other metal salt of stearic acid) as lubricant in the amount shown in Eibeck. This amount will efficiently facilitate mold release.
With respect to claims 6, 14, 15, Sasaki discloses polyamides as the matrix resin. The polyamides of Sasaki in addition to those polymerized in the examples also include commercially available polyamides and their blends. Listed examples include PA 6, PA6,6 and the like [0026]. One of the preferred polyamides is PA 66 [0030].
With respect to claims 7 and 16, Sasaki discloses use of additional polymers and these include polyurethane based resins, acrylic based resins, polymers made from unsaturated monomers such as ethylene, styrene, isoprene, butadiene and the like including those modified with polar group such as maleic anhydride [0062-0063]. Other polymers include those based on polyethers, based on vinyl acetates, and the like.
With respect to claim 10, as was mentioned in the rejection of claim 1, Sasaki discloses making molded article.
Relevant CN 114085518 discloses at least instant claim 1, however, the reference is filed after applicant’s effective filing date. The reference is not applied because applicant’s priority documents are in English.
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 November 9, 2026