DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Specifically, claim 13 broadens the scope of the range of “wherein the quantity of components C is from 0.3 to 1.5 % by weight” whereas claim 1 recites a narrower range “c) from 0.01 to 1% by weight of carbon black as component C”. For the purpose of further examination, it is taken to mean in claim 1 that “c) from 0.01 to 1% by weight of carbon black as component C”.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eibeck (US20100311882, herein Eibeck).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 13-15, Eibeck teaches a polyamide composition comprising:
“19.9 to 59.9% by weight of at least one polyamide” [0012], which overlaps the claimed range of a) from 34.89 to 99.89% by weight of at least one synthetic polyamide as component A; wherein the polyamide is “PA 6” [0027] matches the “polyamide A is preferably selected from PA 6” [Instant App. Spec. P11; L15].
“Component D/2” [0211] wherein the formulation of D/2 is as “Flexamin: about 65% of condensate derived from diphenylamine and acetone/formaldehyde and about 35% of 4,4′-diphenyl-p-phenylenediarnine” [0212] reads on the formulation as “typically obtained by condensing 2-propanone (acetone) with n-phenyl-benzene amine and subsequently condensing this product with formaldehyde.” [Instant App. Spec. P12; L29], herein, Eibeck teaches diphenylamine (C12H11N) structure see below:
which can reach the structural and functional similarity from the two rings and secondary amine group of the n-phenyl-benzene amine (C14H15N), see below:
Eibeck’s diphenylamine (C12H11N) differs from the n-phenyl-benzene amine (C14H15N) shown above in that it lacks the -CH2CH2- group between the benzene and amine group. Nevertheless, a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. See MPEP 2144.09(I).
Eibeck’s diphenylamine (C12H11N) and the n-phenyl-benzene amine (C14H15N) are homologs differing regularly by two successive addition of -CH2- groups. Homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09(II).
Additionally, Eibeck’s diphenylamine (C12H11N) and the n-phenyl-benzene amine (C14H15N) have similar utility. Eibeck’s diphenylamine (C12H11N) lead to molding compositions with good mechanical properties (in particular toughness) [0010]; and the n-phenyl-benzene amine (C14H15N) lead to the molding preferably comprises functional elements requiring mechanical toughness [Instant App. Spec. P20; L27].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Eibeck to select a homolog of the n-phenyl-benzene amine (C14H15N) described above falling within the scope of Claim 1, as such compounds are expected to possess similar properties and have similar utility relative to the claimed compounds.
Eibeck further teaches “in the concentration of 0.3%” [Table, P10, 0236] which lies the claimed range of b) from 0.1 to 5% by weight of component B;
“component D), from 0 to 3% by weight” [0068] wherein the “Component D/4:
Carbon black masterbatch with 33% by weight of carbon black” [0215-216], hence, the carbon black concentration is 0% to 0.99%, which overlaps the c) from 0.01 to 1% by weight of carbon black as component C.
Eibeck teaches “glass fibers, from 1 to 15% by weight” [0171] lies in the claimed range.
Eibeck further teaches “0.1 to 1% by weight, of a lubricant” [0068], and “components D), heat stabilizers” [0077] in the range of “0 to 3% by weight” [0068] wherein the combine the lubricant and heat stabilizer range lead to (0.1+0)=0.1% to (1+3)%=4% overlaps the range of component E.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding Claims 3, 12, Eibeck teaches the polyamide composition as set forth in claim 1, Eibeck teaches the “pigments” [0183] in “component d)” [0183], Eibeck further teaches the component D/1 to D/6 [0209-220], wherein, only “D/4” [0125] has the pigment of “carbon black” [0216], hence, indicates the solo application of pigment of carbon black as no other dyes or coloring pigments.
Regarding Claims 7, 16, Eibeck teaches “copolymer of styrene” [0128].
Regarding Claim 10, Eibeck teaches “The constitutions of the molding compositions” [0236].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Eibeck (US20100311882, herein Eibeck).
In this case, the applicant’s arguments are directed toward the amendment to independent claim 1, which has been addressed by the rejection set forth above.
In response to the applicant’s argument that the “unexpected results”, the argument is not persuasive.
First, the argument is directed towards a feature not claimed, namely the good laser inscribability with high contrast but also good surface quality and good mechanical properties. The instant claims are directed towards a composition but not the molded article with specific functions, which is not in commensurate of the scope of the claims.
Second, when Examples 1-2 and Comparative Examples 1-4 are considered as a whole, they establish results associated with the ranges, respect to the claimed ranges provided for comparison. Claim 1 is open to the from 0 to 65% by weight of glass fibers. However, Examples 1-2 and Comparative Examples 1-4 include Glass Fiber 30% as single value. Claim 1 is open to from 0.01 to 1% by weight of carbon black as component C. However, Examples 1-2 and Comparative Examples 1-4 include carbon black 0.1% as single value. Claim 5 is open to lubricants from 0.05 to 1.0% by weight. However, Examples 1-2 and Comparative Examples 1-4 include lubricant 0.2% as single value.
The Examples 1-2 and Comparative Examples 1-4 are therefore insufficient to establish non-obviousness.
Whether unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support. In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. See MPEP 716.02(d).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In this case, First, the argument is based on the “technical result not taught or suggested in Eibeck”, which the applicants failed to specify.
Second, Eibeck explicitly teaches the “Component D/2” [0211] wherein the formulation of D/2 is as “Flexamin: about 65% of condensate derived from diphenylamine and acetone/formaldehyde and about 35% of 4,4′-diphenyl-p-phenylenediarnine” [0212], lead to molding compositions with good mechanical properties (in particular toughness) [0010]; wherein, the instant application actually lead to the molding preferably comprises functional elements requiring mechanical toughness [Instant App. Spec. P20; L27], i.e., the Eibeck’s “Component D/2” [0211] can reach the structural and functional similarity the claimed polycondensate of formaldehyde, n-phenyl-benzene amine and 2-propanone as component B, which is “typically obtained by condensing 2-propanone (acetone) with n-phenyl-benzene amine and subsequently condensing this product with formaldehyde.” [Instant App. Spec. P12; L29], furthermore, the claimed component B led to the molding preferably comprises functional elements requiring mechanical toughness [Instant App. Spec. P20; L27], which is similar utility compared to Eibeck.
Hence, Eibeck does not teach away from the instant application.
Correspondence
/Z.L./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767