Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 10-13, 17-18 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110857822 (hereinafter CN ‘822) in view of Lekhin (US 2014018282) or Wu et al (US 20050109493; hereinafter Wu).
As regarding claim 1, CN ‘822 discloses the claimed invention for a gas-liquid separator ([0039]-[0082] and 100 of figs. 1-12), comprising: a first cylinder body (2), a second cylinder body (3), a first flow guide portion (4), a second flow guide portion (5), a gas-liquid distribution assembly (11) and a heat exchange assembly (20); the first cylinder body being located inside the second cylinder body, the gas-liquid separator having a first cavity (201) and a second cavity (202), the first cavity at least comprising a space inside the second cylinder body and outside the first cylinder body, the second cavity at least comprising a space inside the first cylinder body, the heat exchange assembly being at least partially located in the first cavity; the gas-liquid distribution assembly comprising a flow guide pipe (111), the first flow guide portion being fixed with the second cylinder body, the first flow guide portion having a third cavity, the flow guide pipe being fixed with the first flow guide portion, one end of the flow guide pipe communicating with the third cavity, another end of the flow guide pipe communicating with the second cavity, the third cavity communicating with the first cavity; the second flow guide portion being fixed with the second cylinder body, the first flow guide portion and the second flow guide portion being located on different sides of the second cylinder body; the heat exchange assembly comprising a heat exchange tube (20), a first heat exchange member and a second heat exchange member (23), the heat exchange tube at least partially surrounding the first cylinder body, one side of the first heat exchange member being disposed adjacent to or attached to the second cylinder body, another side of the first heat exchange member being fixed with the heat exchange tube, one side of the second heat exchange member being disposed adjacent to or attached to the first cylinder body, another side of the second heat exchange member being fixed with the heat exchange tube.
CN ‘822 does not disclose a structure of the first heat exchange member being different from a structure of the second heat exchange member, the first heat exchange member and the second heat exchange member being disposed on opposite sides of the heat exchange tube, respectively; wherein when the gas-liquid separator is working, a refrigerant flows into the second cavity and the first cavity, a flow resistance of the refrigerant corresponding to the first heat exchange member is smaller than a flow resistance of the refrigerant corresponding to the second heat exchange member, so that most of the refrigerant flowing into the first cavity flows through the first heat exchange member rather than the second heat exchange member, thereby weakening heat exchange between the refrigerant in the second cavity and the refrigerant in the first cavity. Lekhin (or Wu) teaches a structure of the first heat exchange member being different from a structure of the second heat exchange member, the first heat exchange member and the second heat exchange member being disposed on opposite sides of the heat exchange tube, respectively; wherein when the gas-liquid separator is working, a refrigerant flows into the second cavity and the first cavity, a flow resistance of the refrigerant corresponding to the first heat exchange member is smaller than a flow resistance of the refrigerant corresponding to the second heat exchange member, so that most of the refrigerant flowing into the first cavity flows through the first heat exchange member rather than the second heat exchange member, thereby weakening heat exchange between the refrigerant in the second cavity and the refrigerant in the first cavity [Lekhin – fig. 5; (or Wu – fig. 5)]. Both Lekhin (or Wu) are directed to a heat exchanger. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a structure of the first heat exchange member being different from a structure of the second heat exchange member, the first heat exchange member and the second heat exchange member being disposed on opposite sides of the heat exchange tube, respectively; wherein when the gas-liquid separator is working, a refrigerant flows into the second cavity and the first cavity, a flow resistance of the refrigerant corresponding to the first heat exchange member is smaller than a flow resistance of the refrigerant corresponding to the second heat exchange member, so that most of the refrigerant flowing into the first cavity flows through the first heat exchange member rather than the second heat exchange member, thereby weakening heat exchange between the refrigerant in the second cavity and the refrigerant in the first cavity as taught by Lekhin (or Wu) in order to enhance gas-liquid separator performance.
As regarding claim 2, CN ‘822 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. CN ‘822 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the first heat exchange member comprises a first flow guide structure, the structure of the first heat exchange member comprises one or a combination of a shape of the first flow guide structure, a distribution density of the first flow guide structure, and a thickness of the first heat exchange member; the second heat exchange member comprises a second flow guide structure, the structure of the second heat exchange member comprises one or a combination of a shape of the second flow guide structure, a distribution density of the second flow guide structure, and a thickness of the second heat exchange member [Lekhin – fig. 5; (or Wu – fig. 5)].
As regarding claim 3, CN ‘822 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. CN ‘822 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the shape of the first flow guide structure is one or a combination of a strip structure, a corrugated structure, a zigzag structure, a staggered tooth structure, a louver structure, a needle structure and a perforated structure; the shape of the second flow guide structure is one or a combination of a strip structure, a corrugated structure, a zigzag structure, a staggered tooth structure, a louver structure, a needle structure and a perforated structure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the shape of the first flow guide structure is one or a combination of a strip structure, a corrugated structure, a zigzag structure, a staggered tooth structure, a louver structure, a needle structure and a perforated structure; the shape of the second flow guide structure is one or a combination of a strip structure, a corrugated structure, a zigzag structure, a staggered tooth structure, a louver structure, a needle structure and a perforated structure in order to enhance gas-liquid separator performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Beykirch et al (US 6220344; hereinafter Beykirch; col 3 ln 43-47 and claim 6).
As regarding claim 4, CN ‘822 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. CN ‘822 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the shapes of the first flow guide structure and the second flow guide structure are the same, while distribution densities and/or thicknesses of the first flow guide structure and the second flow guide structure are different [Lekhin – fig. 5; (or Wu – fig. 5)].
As regarding claim 5, CN ‘822 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. CN ‘822 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the shape of the first flow guide structure and the shape of the second flow guide structure are different [Lekhin – fig. 5; (or Wu – fig. 5)].
As regarding claim 7, CN ‘822 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. CN ‘822 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein a thickness direction of the first heat exchange member and a thickness direction of the second heat exchange member are both perpendicular to an axis direction of the gas-liquid separator, the thickness of the first heat exchange member is greater than the thickness of the second heat exchange member [Lekhin – fig. 5; (or Wu – fig. 5)].
As regarding claim 8, CN ‘822 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. CN ‘822 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the first cylinder body of the gas-liquid separator comprises a first portion adjacent to the first flow guide portion and a second portion adjacent to the second flow guide portion, the structure of the second heat exchange member corresponding to the second portion is different from the structure of the second heat exchange member corresponding to the first portion, the flow resistance of the refrigerant of the second portion corresponding to the second heat exchange member is smaller than the flow resistance of the refrigerant of the first portion corresponding to the second heat exchange member; the distribution density of the second flow guide structure corresponding to the second portion is smaller than the distribution density of the second flow guide structure corresponding to the first portion [Lekhin – fig. 5; (or Wu – fig. 5)].
Claims 10-12, 17-18, 20-21 and 23-24 are also rejected for similar reasons as noted for claims 1-5 and 7-8.
As regarding claim 13, CN ‘822 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. CN ‘822 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the shape of the first flow guide structure is one or a combination of a strip structure, a corrugated structure, a zigzag structure, a staggered tooth structure, a louver structure, a needle structure and a perforated structure; the shape of the second flow guide structure is one or a combination of a strip structure, a corrugated structure, a zigzag structure, a staggered tooth structure, a louver structure, a needle structure and a perforated structure; the shapes of the first flow guide structure and the second flow guide structure are the same, while distribution densities and/or thicknesses of the first flow guide structure and the second flow guide structure are different; or the shape of the first flow guide structure and the shape of the second flow guide structure are different. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the shape of the first flow guide structure is one or a combination of a strip structure, a corrugated structure, a zigzag structure, a staggered tooth structure, a louver structure, a needle structure and a perforated structure; the shape of the second flow guide structure is one or a combination of a strip structure, a corrugated structure, a zigzag structure, a staggered tooth structure, a louver structure, a needle structure and a perforated structure; the shapes of the first flow guide structure and the second flow guide structure are the same, while distribution densities and/or thicknesses of the first flow guide structure and the second flow guide structure are different; or the shape of the first flow guide structure and the shape of the second flow guide structure are different in order to enhance gas-liquid separator performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Beykirch et al (US 6220344; hereinafter Beykirch; col 3 ln 43-47 and claim 6).
As regarding claim 22, CN ‘822 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. CN ‘822 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the end caps comprise a first end cap and a second end cap, the first end cap and the second end cap are connected to opposite sides of the outer cylinder body in the longitudinal direction, respectively; the first end cap has a third through hole and a fifth through hole, the second end cap has a fourth through hole and a sixth through hole, the fifth through hole and the sixth through hole form the first fluid channel, the third through hole and the fourth through hole form the second fluid channel; the heat exchange assembly comprises a first collecting pipe and a second collecting pipe, the flow channels of the heat exchange tube communicates with a cavity of the first collecting pipe and a cavity of the second collecting pipe, the cavity of the first collecting pipe communicates with the fifth through hole, the second collecting pipe communicates with the sixth through hole; the gas-liquid separator further comprises a cover, the cover is covered on one side of the inner cylinder body in the longitudinal direction, the cover is closer to the first end cap than the second end cap, an interval cavity is formed between the cover and the first end cap, the interval cavity communicates with the interlayer cavity; the gas-liquid separator further comprises a connecting pipe, one end of the connecting pipe is connected to the first end cap, another end of the connecting pipe is connected to the cover, a cavity of the connecting pipe communicates with the third through hole and the inner cavity (fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 10-13, 17-18 and 20-24 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773