DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and SEQ ID NO: 48 in the reply filed on 9/22/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 13, 18, 20-21, 24, 26, 28, 36, 41-47 and 49 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species/invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/22/2025.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-14, 16, 18, 20-24, 26, 28, 31-36, 41-47 and 49 are pending in this application.
Claims 5, 13, 18, 20-21, 24, 26, 28, 36, 41-47 and 49 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected species/invention.
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14, 16, 22-23 and 31-35 are presently under consideration as being drawn to the elected species/invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14, 16, 22-23 and 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samuelsson et al. (WO 2019/011286) in view of Tam (US 5229490).
Samuelsson et al. teach a mussel adhesive protein or a derivative thereof for use in the treatment of a viral infection (claim 1), comprising a derivative of a mussel adhesive protein, which is a peptide of the sequence Ala-Lys-Pro-Ser-Tyr-Hyp-Hyp-Thr-Tyr-Lys or a salt thereof (claim 10), “[i]n admixture with a pharmaceutically acceptable adjuvant, diluent or carrier, which may be selected with due regard to the intended route of administration and standard pharmaceutical or other (e.g. cosmetic) practice. Acceptable carriers may be chemically inert to the active compounds and may have no detrimental side effects or toxicity under the conditions of use. Such carriers may also impart an immediate, or a modified, release of active ingredient” (page 6, lines24-31).
Samuelsson et al. also teach that the mussel adhesive protein derivative is Ala-Lys-Pro-Ser-Tyr-Hyp-Hyp-Thr-DOPA-Lys (claim 9; page 4, lines 16-18; page 11, lines 19-22).
Samuelsson et al. do not teach a dendritic homopolymer comprising multiple copies of the peptide.
Tam teaches an antigenic product comprising a dendritic homopolymer containing up to 10 monomeric residues to which an antigenic peptide is joined by a covalent bond (claims 1-2, 12-13, 15-16, 18-19, 21-22, 24-25, 27-28 and 30-31).
Tam also teaches a representation of a typical antigen product of the invention in which 8 peptide antigens are linked through glycine linkers to a dendritic lysine substrate (Fig. 1), and further teaches possible configurations of the products of the invention with the same or different antigens in a dendritic polymer (Figs. 8A-8L).
Tam further teaches that the principal advantage of the Multiple antigen peptide systems (MAPS) of this invention as the basis for vaccines is that unlike previous systems using natural carriers such as keyhole limpet hemocyanin, tetanus toxoid and bovine serum albumin, the carriers of this invention are fully defined chemical entities on which the antigens are dispersed in known concentrations. Additionally, the antigen comprises a large part of the molecule not a relatively small and undefined proportion of the molecule as in the case of natural carriers.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make a dendritic homopolymer comprising the mussel adhesive proteins of Samuelsson et al. for the treatment of a viral infection because Tam teaches that the principal advantage of said MAPS comprise carriers on which the antigens (e.g. mussel adhesive proteins) are dispersed in known concentrations, and further teaches that the antigen comprises a large part of the molecule not a relatively small and undefined proportion of the molecule as in the case of natural carriers.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected the resulting dendritic homopolymer (i.e. [Ala-Lys-Pro-Ser-Tyr-Hyp-Hyp-Thr-DOPA-Lys)2-Lys]2-Lys), which corresponds to the elected species, to enhance the effect of the mussel adhesive protein of Samuelsson et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14, 16, 22-23 and 31-35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-14, 16-47, 50-53, 55-58, 61-68 and 70 of copending Application No. 17/781543 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they relate to the same compound.
‘543 teaches the same compound instantly claimed (see claims).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14, 16, 22-23 and 31-35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-40, 43-44, 47, 50 and 53 of copending Application No. 18/282362 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they relate to the same compound.
‘362 teaches the same compound instantly claimed (see claims).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/SERGIO COFFA Ph.D./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SERGIO COFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658