DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Applicant amended claims 1, 10, 12, 13, 18 and 1920, and canceled claims 2, 6 and 21. Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/10/2025 with respect to the rejection of amended claims 1, 10 and 19 have been fully considered. Applicant's arguments with respect to independent claim 1 and amended claims 10 and 20, modified to independent claims have been considered but are moot.
The Applicant argues “With regard to the pending rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicants note the Examiner bears the initial burden of factually supporting any prima facie conclusion of obviousness, [page 7 of remarks].
Examiner has met all requirements establishing a prima facie case: all factual findings required by Graham were supplied in the previous and present Actions; the references are related art, and Applicant has supplied no evidence that there is no reasonable expectation of success; all claim limitations were met in the previous and present Actions, and Applicant has merely made the allegation that the limitations are not met, and thus has not provided any evidence or argument directed to how the identified elements in the first action fail to meet the claimed limitations or to how the identified elements are otherwise distinguishable from the claimed limitations. Neither has Applicant supplied any evidence or argument addressing any failure of Examiner's application of the TSM test, pursuant to current governing law (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007), The Examiner responded the Applicant’s arguments in response to the Final office action, or clarified the reasons for rejections in this Office Action).
The Applicant further argues: the Examiner errs in alleging it would have been obvious to modify HEE to include HACKER's alleged A-scans having mutually parallel direction of incidence as they impinge on a cornea of the eye. Applicants note the Examiner bears the initial burden of factually supporting any prima facie conclusion of obviousness, [page 7 of remarks]. The Examiner’s response is the claims are rejected using obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Hee teaches in Figs. 4A-B shows the beams 402, Fig. 5 shows the optical beam exits from a focusing lens 500 onto a bifocal lens 501. The bifocal lens is composed of a central negative lens element 503 …. The peripheral zone 502 of the bifocal lens 501 is a flat optical surface. This surface does not change the beam (dotted line) emerging from the focusing lens, and the beam remains focused onto the cornea. Fig. 5 shows dotted beams are in mutually parallel direction of incidence as the impinging on a cornea; FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C disclose a scan pattern for obtaining the plurality of axial eye measurements, FIG. 3A, the measurement beams are scanned in a 2-dimensional array 300 in the x-y plane with the measurement beam going into the page in the z-direction indicated by dots 310. Each dot 310 represents an A-scan, and the combination of A-scans produces a 3-dimensional volume of geometric measurements covered by the scan array 300… the scanning can follow the scan direction 320 to obtain the 3D data volume, [0046]; the optical biometer might be further aligned by the operator until a specular reflection from the cornea is located, which defines the cornea vertex normal, [0047]. Hacker teaches ("Axial direction" means here the direction of the depth profile displayed in the A-scan. Due to local refractions, said direction can also vary in A-scan portions but is usually nearly parallel to the optical axis or to the visual axis from the cornea vertex to the fovea of an eye to be examined, [0013]; For the anterior scan, usually, a parallel scan pattern is used, [0090],
The Applicant further argues: Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to address an apparent informality and has presented claim 10 in independent form [page 8 of remarks]. As no proper modification of HEE in view of HACKER would have been reasonably understood to have rendered obvious the combination of features recited in at least Applicant's independent claims 1 and 10, Applicant submits that the Examiner has erred in rejecting the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103. [page 9]. Applicant submits that the Examiner's rejection is erroneous as he has merely alleged without identifying any express or implied textual support or reasoning found in HEE that HEE's Figs. 2A, 3A - 3C and 4A - 4B show focusing probe beams on an anterior part of the eye, [page 9 and 10], the Examiner has erred in nakedly alleging that HEE discloses a method that includes focusing probe beams for at least part of said A-scans at an anterior part of the eye, as recited in at least independent claims 1 and 10. [page 10]. The Examiner’s response is, the Examiner explicitly identified and explained in the rejection of the limitation in this instant Office Action, and clarified the motivation for proper modification of HEE in view of HACKER. The Examiner used the reason of modification and the predictable of advantages from the secondary reference.
The Applicant further argues: Applicant notes that, while HACKER discloses impinging the eye with a directed parallel scan pattern, HEE discloses diverging beams impinging on the eye, see HEE, Figs. 4A and 4B, and Fig. 5, using a lens 503 to change parallel beams to diverging nonparallel beams before impinging on the eye. Thus, Applicant submits that, as HEE would have been understood to be structured to direct nonparallel divergent beams on the eye, the Examiner must identify some express disclosure HACKER that would motivate a person ordinarily skilled in the art to modify HEE in a manner contrary to HEE express disclosure. Applicant submits that the Examiner has failed to identify such a teaching or motivation in HACKER to modify HEE any manner that would have been understood to have rendered Applicant's independent claims 1 and 10 unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. § 103, [page 10-11]. The Examiner’s response is, the Examiner in this instant submission clarified the reason of combining the prior arts and in this case, the motivation to combine is found in the secondary references.
The Applicant further argues: Applicant submits that the advantage disclosed by HACKER in this paragraph is that a "great technological advantage of OCT is the decoupling of the depth resolution from the transversal resolution." However, as both HEE and HACKER use OCT, Applicant submits that this paragraph fails to provide any reasoning for modifying the expressly disclosed divergent beams of HEE in a manner inconsistent with HEE's express disclosure. [page 11]. While HACKER discloses a parallel scan pattern used for an anterior scan, a person ordinarily skilled in the art would have found no discernible teaching in HACKER that suggests modifying HEE in the manner suggested by the Examiner, nor is there any teaching found in the applied art of record that arguably suggests that modifying HEE's method in the manner alleged by the Examiner would continue to operate in its intended manner. [page 11]. The Examiner further errs in alleging that it would have been obvious to modify HEE in view of HACKER's use of parallel A-scans in view of HACKER's [0013], which purportedly suggests that there is a "predictable advantage of achieving a very good axial resolution efficient by suppression of non-coherent portions of disturbing light." Applicant submits that a fair review of HACKER's [0013], [page 11-12]. The Examiner’s response is, the Examiner in this instant submission clarified the reason of combining the prior arts and in this case, the motivation to combine is found in the secondary references, please see the instant rejection.
With respect to the all arguments on motivation to combine Hee in view of Hacker, the Examiner in this instant submission clarified the reason of combining the prior arts and in this case, the motivation to combine is found in the secondary references, please see the instant rejection.
With respect to the argument that “Applicant submits that a person ordinarily skilled in the art would have found no discernible teaching in the applied art to suggest that modifying HEE in view of HACKER would have resulted in a method that includes performing a Fourier transform on a dataset of the reflection values ri(xi, yi), with the Fourier transform carried at along at least one dimension of xi-yi-space, as recited in at least Applicant's independent claim 10. As neither HEE nor HACKER disclose at least the above-identified subject matter in Applicant's claimed embodiments, Applicant submits that no proper modification of HEE in view of HACKER would have been reasonably understood to have suggested the combination of features recited in at least Applicant's independent claims 1 and 10.”, [page 17].
The Examiner’s response is the primary reference teaches the limitation of “performing a Fourier transform”, Hee teaches creating a full range Fourier domain interferometer .. ,[0042]; Fourier interferometer is known as Fourier Transform (FT) interferometer, is an optical instrument. create an interference pattern (interferogram) for converting and using a Fourier transform, and secondary reference Hacker is used for the teaching and modification for another limitation with proper motivation applied in the rejection.
With respect to the arguments on rejections of dependent claims 11, 16-20, the Applicant argues: Applicant notes that no reasonable interpretation of secondary reference [TAKENO] arguably suggests the subject matter recited in at least Applicant's independent claim that has been shown above to be deficient in HEE and HACKER and no express or implied teaching found in secondary reference [TAKENO] would have been arguably understood to have suggested to a person ordinarily skilled in the art that a proper modification of HEE in view of HACKER would have been understood to have rendered unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. § 103 the embodiments recited in at least Applicant's independent claim, the Examiner’s response is the independent claims are properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 with proper reason for modification and the limitations of the dependent claims have their own limitations and rejected accordingly, and also for their dependencies on rejected independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10, 12-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hee et al. (US 2013/0235343, of record) in view of Hacker et al. (US 2013/0242259 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Hee teaches a method for measuring at least one parameter indicative of an optical transmission quality of an eye (refer to US 2013/0235343), said method comprising:
recording a plurality of optical coherence tomography A-scans for different cornea locations xi, yi of said eye (FIG. 3A disclose a scan pattern for obtaining the plurality of axial eye measurements, A-scan; “the measurement beams are scanned in a two-dimensional array 300 in the x-y plane with the measurement beam going into the page in the z-direction indicated by dots 310, i.e. Axial scan. Each dot 310 represents an A-scan’, [0046]; sample arm 213 includes a beam scanning mechanism 216 to direct the beam to perform two- or three-dimension transverse beam scanning and imaging of a sample 211, [0042]; a transverse beam scanning mechanism 216 is included in this configuration to allow a plurality of measurements to be obtained along varying optical axes of the eye, [0043]; Processor 218 can be, for example, a computer system including one or more processors, internal memory, data storage facilities, and user interfaces. Processor 218 is capable of storing the received image, displaying the image, and analyzing the image according to instructions, [0044]), wherein said plurality of A-scans includes a first plurality of A-scans having mutually parallel direction of incidence as the impinging on a cornea of the eye (Figs. 4A-B shows the beams 402, Fig. 5 shows the optical beam exits from a focusing lens 500 onto a bifocal lens 501. The bifocal lens is composed of a central negative lens element 503 …. The peripheral zone 502 of the bifocal lens 501 is a flat optical surface. This surface does not change the beam (dotted line) emerging from the focusing lens, and the beam remains focused onto the cornea. Fig. 5 shows dotted beams are in mutually parallel direction of incidence as the impinging on a cornea; FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C disclose a scan pattern for obtaining the plurality of axial eye measurements, FIG. 3A, the measurement beams are scanned in a 2-dimensional array 300 in the x-y plane with the measurement beam going into the page in the z-direction indicated by dots 310. Each dot 310 represents an A-scan, and the combination of A-scans produces a 3-dimensional volume of geometric measurements covered by the scan array 300… the scanning can follow the scan direction 320 to obtain the 3D data volume, [0046]; the optical biometer might be further aligned by the operator until a specular reflection from the cornea is located, which defines the cornea vertex normal, [0047]), focusing probe beams for at least part of said corona or retina of the eye for each of said A-scans, (optical image of the cornea and retina can include a lens to focus optical radiation on the cornea, and a negative lens to simultaneously focus the optical radiation on the retina, [0031]; a method for using the plurality of measurements to define the curvature of the anterior cornea, the curvature of the posterior cornea, the anterior chamber depth, and the lens thickness, which are additional parameters that are important for intraocular lens power calculation, can be performed. These measurements can be obtained with a single measurement beam in a single device [0033]. Additionally, some embodiments of the present invention are able to measure both the anterior and posterior corneal curvatures simultaneously, [0040]; reference mirror 207 is adjusted to correspond to the anterior segment of the eye … Phase generator 217 allows the processor 218 to distinguish the signals returning from the anterior and posterior eye, [0043], see Fig. 2A; Each dot 310 represents an A-scan’, [0046]);
for each of the A-scan, identifying a reflection value ri at the retina of the eye (FIG. 2A illustrates an optical coherence tomography system used for simultaneously imaging the cornea and the retina, [0015]; FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C disclose a scan pattern for obtaining the plurality of axial eye measurements, Each dot 310 represents an A-scan, [0046], FIG. 3B, the A-scans of data array 300 are within pupil 348; FIG. 3C, the A-scans of data array 300 only partially overlap the pupil [0051]; FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary optical layout to obtain a simultaneous reflection from the cornea and the retina according, [0022]; forming a simultaneous optical image of the cornea and retina can include a lens to focus optical radiation on the cornea, and a negative lens to simultaneously focus the optical radiation on the retina, [0031], beams returning from the sample arm 213 and reference arm 212 are combined in splitter/coupler 203 and transmitted to detection system 202. The detected signal can then be sent to a processor 218. Phase generator 217 allows the processor 218 to distinguish the signals returning from the anterior and posterior eye, [0043], Fig. 2A); and
determining the at least one parameter using said reflection values ri and said locations xi, yi (Fig. 4B shows measurements of an eye with a cataract, [0021]; Fig. 5 shows optical layout to obtain a simultaneous reflection from the cornea and the retina, [0022]; Figs. 6A-C show images of the cornea, the retina, and the cross-sectional measurements using the optical arrangement in FIG. 5, [0023]; As shown in FIGS. 6A, 6B, and 6C, the anterior chamber depth and the lens thickness can be determined by two separate measurements, .. FIG. 6C shows that the lens thickness may be determined by a measurement which includes reflections from the anterior and the posterior lens capsules. The corneal thickness and anterior chamber depth may be determined from a measurement that contains reflections from the anterior cornea and anterior lens capsule, as indicated by ACD in FIG. 7 which is a cross-sectional image of the cornea, [0066]; Fig. 8 shows imaging method 800 according to the present invention. In step 802, a plurality of measurements of the eye is obtained. the plurality of measurements can be acquired by techniques such as low-coherence interferometry, partial coherence interferometry, and optical coherence tomography and by imaging apparatus as illustrated in FIGS. 1, 2A and 5, [0067]; In step 806, the plurality of measurements can be processed to obtain eye dimensions, length, size, and curvature. step 806 includes step 808, where a 2D or 3D representations of the eye structure is generated. In step 810, the eye structure can be generated based on the 2D or 3D representations. In step 812, the eye structure can be analyzed to determine various features in the eye. In step 814, various parameters of the eye can be determined from images of the various features of the eye determined in step 812, [0069)).
Hee teaches beam scanning mechanism 216 is included in this configuration to allow a plurality of measurements to be obtained along varying optical axes of the eye, in [0043]; method for using the plurality of measurements to define the curvature of the anterior cornea, [0033]; a scanning mechanism can be included to obtain a plurality of measurements over an area of eye 109, [0041], FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C disclose a scan pattern for obtaining the plurality of axial eye measurements, [0046], The plurality of A- scan measurements also improves the accuracy in identifying the retinal reflection, [0054], FIG. 4A show an eye 211 with a plurality of optical beams 402 going through an eye and impinge onto the fovea 410, [0056];
Hee doesn’t explicitly teach focusing beams for at least part of said A-scan at an anterior part of the eye.
Hee and Hacker are related as OCT eye scanning apparatus.
Hacker teaches focusing beams for at least part of said A-scan at an anterior part of the eye ("Axial direction" means here the direction of the depth profile displayed in the A-scan. Due to local refractions, said direction can also vary in A-scan portions but is usually nearly parallel to the optical axis or to the visual axis from the cornea vertex to the fovea of an eye to be examined, [0013]; For the anterior scan, usually, a parallel scan pattern is used, [0090], FIG. 1 shows a possible scan process for an anterior scan, the focusing of which lies in the anterior eye portion [0217]; wherein the focus of the laser beam in the eye can be shifted laterally and/or axially by an adjustment mechanism, [abstract], Hacker also disclosed it is known from published applications that “ the OCT arrangement during a retinal scan, the focus should lie in the region of the retina, and during a corneal scan, the focus should lie in the region of the cornea”, [0015]. for anterior measurement, the focus should lie in the anterior eye region or even in front of the eye, and for posterior measurements, it should lie in the posterior eye region, [0030]. It has already been found in the prior art. it is advantageous for OCT scans in the entire eye region to position the measuring beam focus in the eye portion that is to be scanned in each case. With the method according to the invention, it is possible to use different scan patterns with different reference arm lengths of the interferometer for anterior and posterior scans. [0083]. scan process for an anterior scan, the focusing of which lies in the anterior eye portion so as to be able to generate there a good spatial resolution, [0089]; [0092]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the method of Hee to include focusing beams at an anterior part of the eye, as taught by Hacker for the predictable advantage of scanning the whole eye region with better resolution as well as for the signal strength of the measurement signal from the eye portion that is to be scanned, Hacker disclosed “it is advantageous for OCT scans in the entire eye region to position the measuring beam focus in the eye portion that is to be scanned in each case, and it is possible to use different scan patterns with different reference arm lengths of the interferometer for anterior and posterior scans, [0083]”, and “focus is important for the resolution as well as for the signal strength of the measurement signal. Thus, for anterior measurement, the focus should lie in the anterior eye region or even in front of the eye, and for posterior measurements, it should lie in the posterior eye region, [0030].
Regarding claim 3, the modified Hee teaches the method according to claim 1 (see above). Hacker teaches wherein said parallel direction of incidence is parallel to an eye's visual axis (parallel to the optical axis or to the visual axis from the cornea, [0013).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Hee teaches the method according to claim 1 (see above), comprising a second plurality of A-scans having mutually parallel direction of incidence, wherein the directions of incidence of the first plurality differs from the direction of incidence of the second plurality (Scanning mechanisms that can be used for scanner 216 or in other measurement techniques can include, for example, mirror that is tilted using a galvanometer or microelectromechanical (MEMS) device, an acousto-optic modulator, a variable diffraction grating, or other mechanical translation of the beam incident on eye 109, [0043]; FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C disclose a scan pattern for obtaining the plurality of axial eye measurements 2 dimensional array 300 in the x-y plane with the measurement beam going into the page in the z-direction indicated by dots 310. Each dot 310 represents an A-scan the scanning can follow the scan direction 320 to obtain the 3D data volume. The array of measurements 300 is advantageous over other biometry methods because multiple measurements at different locations can be obtained, [0046]; FIG. 9 shows a variety of possible measurement axes such as the pupillary axis (optical axis) 905, the line-of-sight 915, the visual axis 920, or the corneal vertex normal 930. The pupillary axis 905 is defined by a ray passing perpendicularly through the center of the pupil 910. The line-of-sight is defined by a ray which passes through the center of the pupil 910 and reaches the fovea 940. The visual axis 920 is a straight line passing through the eye's optical nodal point 950 and intersecting the fovea 940. The corneal vertex normal 930 is defined by a ray which intersects the fovea 940 and is perpendicular to the curve of the anterior cornea 960, [0049]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Hee teaches the method according to claim 1 (see above), wherein said plurality of A-scans includes a plurality of A-scans that do not overlap at a cornea of the eye (see Fig. 3B; As shown in FIG. 3B, the A-scans of data array 300 are within pupil 348; [0051]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Hee teaches the method according to claim 1 (see above), comprising focusing probe beams for at least part of said A-scans at a location between a posterior surface of the eye's lens and the eye's retina (FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary optical layout to obtain a simultaneous reflection from the cornea and the retina, [0022], [0062]).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Hee teaches the method according to claim 1 (see above), comprising the step of varying, while recording said plurality of A-scans by means of probe beams, a focal position of the probe beams, and wherein for a given location xi, yi, at least two A-scans with different focal positions are recorded (reference mirror 207 is adjusted to correspond to the anterior segment of the eye while reference mirror 208 is adjusted to correspond to the posterior segment of the eye, [0043]; The optical path in two reference mirrors can be adjusted such that one reference mirror images the front part of the anterior chamber while the second reference mirror images the retina in the posterior segment of the eye 211. The anterior and posterior eye images will be a superimposed image 223, but can be separated to the anterior chamber image 225 and posterior segment image 224, by the processing unit using the phase information provided by the phase generator 217, [0047]; Therefore, two A-scans with different focal positions are recorded).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Hee teaches the method according to claim 1 (see above), comprising displaying said reflection values ri as a function of said locations xi, yi. (Processor 218 is capable of storing the received image, displaying the image, and analyzing the image according to instructions, [0044]).
Regarding claim 10, Hee teaches a method for measuring at least one parameter indicative of an optical transmission quality of an eye (refer to US 2013/0235343), said method comprising:
recording a plurality of optical coherence tomography A-scans for different cornea locations xi, yi of said eye (FIG. 3A disclose a scan pattern for obtaining the plurality of axial eye measurements, A-scan; “the measurement beams are scanned in a two-dimensional array 300 in the x-y plane with the measurement beam going into the page in the z-direction indicated by dots 310, i.e. Axial scan. Each dot 310 represents an A-scan’, [0046]; sample arm 213 includes a beam scanning mechanism 216 to direct the beam to perform two- or three-dimension transverse beam scanning and imaging of a sample 211, [0042]; a transverse beam scanning mechanism 216 is included in this configuration to allow a plurality of measurements to be obtained along varying optical axes of the eye, [0043]; Processor 218 is capable of storing the received image, displaying the image, and analyzing the image according to instructions, [0044]), wherein said plurality of A-scans includes a first plurality of A-scans having mutually parallel direction of incidence as the impinging on a cornea of the eye (Figs. 4A-B shows the beams 402, Fig. 5 shows the optical beam exits from a focusing lens 500 onto a bifocal lens 501. The bifocal lens is composed of a central negative lens element 503 …. The peripheral zone 502 of the bifocal lens 501 is a flat optical surface. This surface does not change the beam (dotted line) emerging from the focusing lens, and the beam remains focused onto the cornea. Fig. 5 shows dotted beams are in mutually parallel direction of incidence as the impinging on a cornea; Figs. 3A-C show A-scans having mutually parallel direction of incidence as the impinging on a cornea; FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C disclose a scan pattern for obtaining the plurality of axial eye measurements, FIG. 3A, the measurement beams are scanned in a 2-dimensional array 300 in the x-y plane with the measurement beam going into the page in the z-direction indicated by dots 310. Each dot 310 represents an A-scan, and the combination of A-scans produces a 3-dimensional volume of geometric measurements covered by the scan array 300… the scanning can follow the scan direction 320 to obtain the 3D data volume, [0046]; the optical biometer might be further aligned by the operator until a specular reflection from the cornea is located, which defines the cornea vertex normal, [0047]), focusing probe beams for at least part of said corona or retina of the eye for each of said A-scans, (optical image of the cornea and retina can include a lens to focus optical radiation on the cornea, and a negative lens to simultaneously focus the optical radiation on the retina, [0031]; a method for using the plurality of measurements to define the curvature of the anterior cornea, the curvature of the posterior cornea, the anterior chamber depth, and the lens thickness, which are additional parameters that are important for intraocular lens power calculation, can be performed. These measurements can be obtained with a single measurement beam in a single device [0033]. Additionally, some embodiments of the present invention are able to measure both the anterior and posterior corneal curvatures simultaneously, [0040]; reference mirror 207 is adjusted to correspond to the anterior segment of the eye … Phase generator 217 allows the processor 218 to distinguish the signals returning from the anterior and posterior eye, [0043], see Fig. 2A; Each dot 310 represents an A-scan’, [0046]); for each of the A-scan, identifying a reflection value ri at the retina of the eye (FIG. 2A illustrates an optical coherence tomography system used for simultaneously imaging the cornea and the retina, [0015]; FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C disclose a scan pattern for obtaining the plurality of axial eye measurements, Each dot 310 represents an A-scan, [0046], FIG. 3B, the A-scans of data array 300 are within pupil 348; FIG. 3C, the A-scans of data array 300 only partially overlap the pupil [0051]; FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary optical layout to obtain a simultaneous reflection from the cornea and the retina according, [0022]; forming a simultaneous optical image of the cornea and retina can include a lens to focus optical radiation on the cornea, and a negative lens to simultaneously focus the optical radiation on the retina, [0031], beams returning from the sample arm 213 and reference arm 212 are combined in splitter/coupler 203 and transmitted to detection system 202. The detected signal can then be sent to a processor 218. Phase generator 217 allows the processor 218 to distinguish the signals returning from the anterior and posterior eye, [0043], Fig. 2A); and determining the at least one parameter using said reflection values ri and said locations xi, yi (Fig. 4B shows measurements of an eye with a cataract, [0021]; Fig. 5 shows optical layout to obtain a simultaneous reflection from the cornea and the retina, [0022]; Figs. 6A-C show images of the cornea, the retina, and the cross-sectional measurements using the optical arrangement in FIG. 5, [0023]; As shown in FIGS. 6A, 6B, and 6C, the anterior chamber depth and the lens thickness can be determined by two separate measurements, .. FIG. 6C shows that the lens thickness may be determined by a measurement which includes reflections from the anterior and the posterior lens capsules. The corneal thickness and anterior chamber depth may be determined from a measurement that contains reflections from the anterior cornea and anterior lens capsule, as indicated by ACD in FIG. 7 which is a cross-sectional image of the cornea, [0066]; Fig. 8 shows imaging method 800 according to the present invention. In step 802, a plurality of measurements of the eye is obtained. the plurality of measurements can be acquired by techniques such as low-coherence interferometry, partial coherence interferometry, and optical coherence tomography and by imaging apparatus as illustrated in FIGS. 1, 2A and 5, [0067]; In step 806, the plurality of measurements can be processed to obtain eye dimensions, length, size, and curvature. step 806 includes step 808, where a 2D or 3D representations of the eye structure is generated. In step 810, the eye structure can be generated based on the 2D or 3D representations. In step 812, the eye structure can be analyzed to determine various features in the eye. In step 814, various parameters of the eye can be determined from images of the various features of the eye determined in step 812, [0069]), performing a Fourier transform on a dataset of the reflection values ri(xi, vi), with the Fourier transform carried at along at least one dimension of xi-vi-space and - deriving said parameter from a result of the Fourier transform (see [0042]; FIG. 2A shows the optical layout of an extended range OCT that incorporates two reference arms and a phase generator in one of the references arms to create a full range Fourier domain interferometer that is capable of measuring the eye length … ).
Hee teaches beam scanning mechanism 216 is included in this configuration to allow a plurality of measurements to be obtained along varying optical axes of the eye, in [0043]; method for using the plurality of measurements to define the curvature of the anterior cornea, [0033]; a scanning mechanism can be included to obtain a plurality of measurements over an area of eye 109, [0041], FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C disclose a scan pattern for obtaining the plurality of axial eye measurements, [0046], The plurality of A- scan measurements also improves the accuracy in identifying the retinal reflection, [0054], FIG. 4A show an eye 211 with a plurality of optical beams 402 going through an eye and impinge onto the fovea 410, [0056]; but doesn’t explicitly teach focusing beams for at least part of said A-scan at an anterior part of the eye.
Hee and Hacker are related as OCT eye scanning apparatus.
Hacker teaches focusing beams for at least part of said A-scan at an anterior part of the eye ("Axial direction" means here the direction of the depth profile displayed in the A-scan. Due to local refractions, said direction can also vary in A-scan portions but is usually nearly parallel to the optical axis or to the visual axis from the cornea vertex to the fovea of an eye to be examined, [0013]; For the anterior scan, usually, a parallel scan pattern is used, [0090], FIG. 1 shows a possible scan process for an anterior scan, the focusing of which lies in the anterior eye portion [0217]; wherein the focus of the laser beam in the eye can be shifted laterally and/or axially by an adjustment mechanism, [abstract], Hacker also disclosed it is known from published applications that “ the OCT arrangement during a retinal scan, the focus should lie in the region of the retina, and during a corneal scan, the focus should lie in the region of the cornea”, [0015]). for anterior measurement, the focus should lie in the anterior eye region or even in front of the eye, and for posterior measurements, it should lie in the posterior eye region, [0030]. It has already been found in the prior art. it is advantageous for OCT scans in the entire eye region to position the measuring beam focus in the eye portion that is to be scanned in each case. With the method according to the invention, it is possible to use different scan patterns with different reference arm lengths of the interferometer for anterior and posterior scans. [0083]. scan process for an anterior scan, the focusing of which lies in the anterior eye portion so as to be able to generate there a good spatial resolution, [0089]; [0092]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the method of Hee to include focusing beams at an anterior part of the eye, as taught by Hacker for the predictable advantage of scanning the whole eye region with better resolution as well as for the signal strength of the measurement signal from the eye portion that is to be scanned, Hacker disclosed “it is advantageous for OCT scans in the entire eye region to position the measuring beam focus in the eye portion that is to be scanned in each case, and it is possible to use different scan patterns with different reference arm lengths of the interferometer for anterior and posterior scans, [0083]”, and “focus is important for the resolution as well as for the signal strength of the measurement signal. Thus, for anterior measurement, the focus should lie in the anterior eye region or even in front of the eye, and for posterior measurements, it should lie in the posterior eye region, [0030].
Regarding claim 12, the modified Hee teaches the method according to claim 1 (see above), comprising at least one of: determining an axial length of the eye from said A-scans by optical coherence tomography, and determining a diameter of the pupil from said A-scans by optical coherence tomography (all measurements are aligned along the preferred measurement axis of the eye (i.e. the cornea vertex normal to the fovea), the measurements may be combined to construct a complete A-scan which specifies the corneal thickness 652, the anterior chamber depth 654, the lens thickness 656, the vitreous length 658, and the total axial length 660, as shown in FIG. 6D. [0066]; In step 806, the plurality of measurements can be processed to obtain eye dimensions, such as length, size, and curvature, [0069]).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Hee teaches the method according to claim 10 (see above), comprising at least one of: determining an axial length of the eye from said A-scans by optical coherence tomography, and determining a diameter of the pupil from said A-scans by the optical coherence tomography (all measurements are aligned along the preferred measurement axis of the eye (i.e. the cornea vertex normal to the fovea), the measurements may be combined to construct a complete A-scan which specifies the corneal thickness 652, the anterior chamber depth 654, the lens thickness 656, the vitreous length 658, and the total axial length 660, as shown in FIG. 6D. [0066]; In step 806, the plurality of measurements can be processed to obtain eye dimensions, such as length, size, and curvature, [0069]) and further comprising of using at least said axial length and/or said diameter and/or said diameter for estimating an absolute size of a point-spread-function of the eye (the corneal thickness and anterior chamber depth may be determined from a measurement that contains reflections from the anterior cornea and anterior lens capsule, as indicated by ACD in FIG. 7 which is a cross-sectional image of the cornea. The distance between the anterior corneal reflection and fovea may be obtained from a third total axial length measurement, [0066]).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Hee teaches the method according to claim 1 (see above), comprising determining, from said A-scans, a topology of at least one structure selected from the group of the cornea, the iris, an anterior surface of the lens, and posterior surface of the lens. (see Fig. 8, step 806 includes step 808, where a 2D or 3D representations of the eye structure is generated. In step 810, the eye structure can be generated based on the 2D or 3D representations. In step 812, the eye structure can be analyzed to determine various features in the eye. In step 814, various parameters of the eye can be determined from images of the various features of the eye determined in step 812, The representations can include, for example, the cornea 340, the anterior corneal surface 361, the posterior corneal surface 362, the anterior chamber 363, the lens 364, the anterior lens surface 365, the posterior lens surface 366, and the retina 410 (including the anterior retina surface and the posterior retina surface) of the eye by processing the optical reflections from the corresponding regions of the eye. … fovea of the eye can be determined from the representations by forming an image. the cornea of the eye can be located and curve fitting can be applied to determine the highest reflection, calculate an average, median, or other statistical functions of the optical reflections of the cornea. the retina of the eye can be determined by spatially averaging, curve fitting of the optical reflections from the retina, using the optical reflection from the retina along the axis of the corneal vertex normal, or by selecting the strongest reflection at or near the center of the fovea. The axial length of the eye can be determined by calculating the distance between the location of the cornea and the location of the retina. … corneal thickness, anterior chamber depth, thickness of the lens, vitreous thickness of the eye, distances to the anterior cornea, the posterior corneal surface, and the retina can be obtained, full-range A-scan can be generated by combining measurements of distance from the anterior corneal surface, the thickness of the cornea, the depth of the anterior chamber, the thickness of the lens and the retina by using the optical reflections from the corresponding regions, [0069-0071]; generating a 2D or 3D representation of one or more structures of the eye from the plurality of measurements, [claim 6]).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Hee teaches the method according to claim 14 (see above), comprising: determining the at least one parameter using the reflection values ri and the topology of the structure in ray tracing calculus (FIG. 9 shows a variety of possible measurement axes such as the pupillary axis (optical axis) 905, the line-of-sight 915, the visual axis 920, or the corneal vertex normal 930. The pupillary axis 905 is defined by a ray passing perpendicularly through the center of the pupil 910. The line-of-sight is defined by a ray which passes through the center of the pupil 910 and reaches the fovea 940. The visual axis 920 is a straight line passing through the eye's optical nodal point 950 and intersecting the fovea 940. The corneal vertex normal 930 is defined by a ray which intersects the fovea 940 and is perpendicular to the curve of the anterior cornea 960., [0049], and see Fig. 8 and [0069-0071])
Regarding claim 19, the modified Hee teaches the method according to claim 1 (see above). Hee teaches an ophthalmologic method comprising - an optical coherence tomography interferometer, and a control unit structured and adapted to carry out the method of claim1 (the present invention to provide systems and methods for reviewing 3D medical data, such as OCT data, [0008], The invention described herein could be applied to any type of OCT system, [0016]; sample and reference arms in the interferometer, [0016]; output from the detector is supplied to a processor 130. The results can be stored in the processor or displayed on display 140. The processing and storing functions may be localized within the OCT instrument or functions may be performed on an external processing unit to which the collected data is transferred, [0014]; a processor for converting the set of output signals into 3D OCT image data, [claim 24]).
Regarding claim 20, Hee teaches a method for measuring at least one parameter indicative of an optical transmission quality of an eye (refer to US 2013/0235343), said method comprising:
recording a plurality of optical coherence tomography A-scans for different cornea locations xi, yi of said eye (FIG. 3A disclose a scan pattern for obtaining the plurality of axial eye measurements, A-scan; “the measurement beams are scanned in a two-dimensional array 300 in the x-y plane with the measurement beam going into the page in the z-direction indicated by dots 310, i.e. Axial scan. Each dot 310 represents an A-scan’, [0046]; sample arm 213 includes a beam scanning mechanism 216 to direct the beam to perform two- or three-dimension transverse beam scanning and imaging of a sample 211, [0042]; a transverse beam scanning mechanism 216 is included in this configuration to allow a plurality of measurements to be obtained along varying optical axes of the eye, [0043]; Processor 218 is capable of storing the received image, displaying the image, and analyzing the image according to instructions, [0044]), wherein said plurality of A-scans includes a first plurality of A-scans having mutually parallel direction of incidence as the impinging on a cornea of the eye (Figs. 4A-B shows the beams 402, Fig. 5 shows the optical beam exits from a focusing lens 500 onto a bifocal lens 501. The bifocal lens is composed of a central negative lens element 503 …. The peripheral zone 502 of the bifocal lens 501 is a flat optical surface. This surface does not change the beam (dotted line) emerging from the focusing lens, and the beam remains focused onto the cornea. Fig. 5 shows dotted beams are in mutually parallel direction of incidence as the impinging on a cornea; Figs. 3A-C show A-scans having mutually parallel direction of incidence as the impinging on a cornea; FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C disclose a scan pattern for obtaining the plurality of axial eye measurements, FIG. 3A, the measurement beams are scanned in a 2-dimensional array 300 in the x-y plane with the measurement beam going into the page in the z-direction indicated by dots 310. Each dot 310 represents an A-scan, and the combination of A-scans produces a 3-dimensional volume of geometric measurements covered by the scan array 300… the scanning can follow the scan direction 320 to obtain the 3D data volume, [0046]; the optical biometer might be further aligned by the operator until a specular reflection from the cornea is located, which defines the cornea vertex normal, [0047]), focusing probe beams for at least part of said corona or retina of the eye for each of said A-scans, (optical image of the cornea and retina can include a lens to focus optical radiation on the cornea, and a negative lens to simultaneously focus the optical radiation on the retina, [0031]; a method for using the plurality of measurements to define the curvature of the anterior cornea, the curvature of the posterior cornea, the anterior chamber depth, and the lens thickness, which are additional parameters that are important for intraocular lens power calculation, can be performed. These measurements can be obtained with a single measurement beam in a single device [0033]. Additionally, some embodiments of the present invention are able to measure both the anterior and posterior corneal curvatures simultaneously, [0040]; reference mirror 207 is adjusted to correspond to the anterior segment of the eye … Phase generator 217 allows the processor 218 to distinguish the signals returning from the anterior and posterior eye, [0043], see Fig. 2A; Each dot 310 represents an A-scan’, [0046]); for each of the A-scan, identifying a reflection value ri at the retina of the eye (FIG. 2A illustrates an optical coherence tomography system used for simultaneously imaging the cornea and the retina, [0015]; FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C disclose a scan pattern for obtaining the plurality of axial eye measurements, Each dot 310 represents an A-scan, [0046], FIG. 3B, the A-scans of data array 300 are within pupil 348; FIG. 3C, the A-scans of data array 300 only partially overlap the pupil [0051]; FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary optical layout to obtain a simultaneous reflection from the cornea and the retina according, [0022]; forming a simultaneous optical image of the cornea and retina can include a lens to focus optical radiation on the cornea, and a negative lens to simultaneously focus the optical radiation on the retina, [0031], beams returning from the sample arm 213 and reference arm 212 are combined in splitter/coupler 203 and transmitted to detection system 202. The detected signal can then be sent to a processor 218. Phase generator 217 allows the processor 218 to distinguish the signals returning from the anterior and posterior eye, [0043], Fig. 2A); and determining the at least one parameter using said reflection values ri and said locations xi, yi (Fig. 4B shows measurements of an eye with a cataract, [0021]; Fig. 5 shows optical layout to obtain a simultaneous reflection from the cornea and the retina, [0022]; Figs. 6A-C show images of the cornea, the retina, and the cross-sectional measurements using the optical arrangement in FIG. 5, [0023]; As shown in FIGS. 6A, 6B, and 6C, the anterior chamber depth and the lens thickness can be determined by two separate measurements, .. FIG. 6C shows that the lens thickness may be determined by a measurement which includes reflections from the anterior and the posterior lens capsules. The corneal thickness and anterior chamber depth may be determined from a measurement that contains reflections from the anterior cornea and anterior lens capsule, as indicated by ACD in FIG. 7 which is a cross-sectional image of the cornea, [0066]; Fig. 8 shows imaging method 800 according to the present invention. In step 802, a plurality of measurements of the eye is obtained. the plurality of measurements can be acquired by techniques such as low-coherence interferometry, partial coherence interferometry, and optical coherence tomography and by imaging apparatus as illustrated in FIGS. 1, 2A and 5, [0067]; In step 806, the plurality of measurements can be processed to obtain eye dimensions, length, size, and curvature. step 806 includes step 808, where a 2D or 3D representations of the eye structure is generated. In step 810, the eye structure can be generated based on the 2D or 3D representations. In step 812, the eye structure can be analyzed to determine various features in the eye. In step 814, various parameters of the eye can be determined from images of the various features of the eye determined in step 812, [0069]), and determining, using said reflection values ri, at least one of a location and a spatial extent of absorbing and/or scattering structures in the anterior segment of the eye by representing the location or spatial extend, respectively, reflection values ri as an image in xi-yi-space (FIGS. 6A, 6B, and 6C show exemplary images of the cornea, the retina, and the cross-sectional measurements using the optical arrangement, [0023]; As shown in FIGS. 6A, 6B, and 6C, the anterior chamber depth and the lens thickness can be determined by two separate measurements obtained with some embodiments disclosed herein. FIG. 6C shows that the lens thickness may be determined by a measurement which includes reflections from the anterior and the posterior lens capsules. The corneal thickness and anterior chamber depth may be determined from a measurement that contains reflections from the anterior cornea and anterior lens capsule, which is a cross-sectional image of the cornea., [0066]). Hee teaches beam scanning mechanism 216 is included in this configuration to allow a plurality of measurements to be obtained along varying optical axes of the eye, in [0043]; method for using the plurality of measurements to define the curvature of the anterior cornea, [0033]; a scanning mechanism can be included to obtain a plurality of measurements over an area of eye 109, [0041], FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C disclose a scan pattern for obtaining the plurality of axial eye measurements, [0046], The plurality of A- scan measurements also improves the accuracy in identifying the retinal reflection, [0054], FIG. 4A show an eye 211 with a plurality of optical beams 402 going through an eye and impinge onto the fovea 410, [0056];
Hee doesn’t explicitly teach focusing beams for at least part of said A-scan at an anterior part of the eye.
Hee and Hacker are related as OCT eye scanning apparatus.
Hacker teaches focusing beams for at least part of said A-scan at an anterior part of the eye ("Axial direction" means here the direction of the depth profile displayed in the A-scan. Due to local refractions, said direction can also vary in A-scan portions but is usually nearly parallel to the optical axis or to the visual axis from the cornea vertex to the fovea of an eye to be examined, [0013]; For the anterior scan, usually, a parallel scan pattern is used, [0090], FIG. 1 shows a possible scan process for an anterior scan, the focusing of which lies in the anterior eye portion [0217]; wherein the focus of the laser beam in the eye can be shifted laterally and/or axially by an adjustment mechanism, [abstract], Hacker also disclosed it is known from published applications that “ the OCT arrangement during a retinal scan, the focus should lie in the region of the retina, and during a corneal scan, the focus should lie in the region of the cornea”, [0015]). for anterior measurement, the focus should lie in the anterior eye region or even in front of the eye, and for posterior measurements, it should lie in the posterior eye region, [0030]. It has already been found in the prior art. it is advantageous for OCT scans in the entire eye region to position the measuring beam focus in the eye portion that is to be scanned in each case. With the method according to the invention, it is possible to use different scan patterns with different reference arm lengths of the interferometer for anterior and posterior scans. [0083]. scan process for an anterior scan, the focusing of which lies in the anterior eye portion so as to be able to generate there a good spatial resolution, [0089]; [0092]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the method of Hee to include focusing beams at an anterior part of the eye, as taught by Hacker for the predictable advantage of scanning the whole eye region with better resolution as well as for the signal strength of the measurement signal from the eye portion that is to be scanned, Hacker disclosed “it is advantageous for OCT scans in the entire eye region to position the measuring beam focus in the eye portion that is to be scanned in each case, and it is possible to use different scan patterns with different reference arm lengths of the interferometer for anterior and posterior scans, [0083]”, and “focus is important for the resolution as well as for the signal strength of the measurement signal. Thus, for anterior measurement, the focus should lie in the anterior eye region or even in front of the eye, and for posterior measurements, it should lie in the posterior eye region, [0030].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hee et al. in view of Hacker as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takeno et al. (US 2015/0374227, of record).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Hee teaches the method according to claim 1 (see above). The modified Hee doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein said Fourier transform is a two-dimensional Fourier transform.
Hee and Takeno are related as image processing apparatus and configuration of the OCT apparatus.
Takeno teaches, wherein said Fourier transform is a two-dimensional Fourier transform (the detecting instruction causes the optical coherence tomography apparatus to analyze a luminance profile of a spatial frequency spectrum in the depth direction and detects a change in luminance resulting from the blood vessel to detect a blood vessel network included in the subject, the spatial frequency spectrum being obtained by two-dimensional Fourier transform of the motion contrast image, [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified method of Hee to use two-dimensional Fourier transform as taught by Takeno for the predictable advantage of appropriately acquiring blood vessel information of a subject and a recording medium storing a program in consideration of the above-described problems and obtaining the spatial frequency spectrum by two-dimensional Fourier transform of the motion contrast image as taught by Takeno in [0011] and [0022].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hee et al. in view of Hacker et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Narasimha-Iyer et al. (JP 2014512239, of record, machine translation was provided with non-final rejection of 2/12/2025).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Hee teaches the method according to claim 14 (see above). The modified Hee doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein said optical coherence tomography is Frequency-domain OCT.
Hee and Narasimha-Iyer are related as image processing apparatus and configuration of the OCT apparatus.
Narasimha-Iyer teaches the method, wherein said optical coherence tomography is Frequency-domain OCT (the best measurement signal can be obtained at the best pupil entry position. In the example shown in FIG. 5, the best position is indicated by an arrow 502. The definition of “best” is defined by the choice of the quality function Q (.). Since the framework is generic, it can be used for any type of measurement signal. For example, when the measurement system is an FD-OCT system, each measurement signal is an A line; [page 5, para 6 of machine translation]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified method of Hee to include, wherein said optical coherence tomography is Frequency-domain OCT, as taught by Narasimha-Iyer for the predictable advantage of obtaining the best measurement signal at the best pupil entry position [see page 5, para 6 of machine translation].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hee et al. in view of Hacker et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lewis et al. (2010/0201944, of record).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Hee teaches the method according to claim 1 (see above). The modified Hee doesn’t explicitly teach the method comprising determining, using said reflection values ri, a one- or two-dimensional representation of a point-spread-function of the eye.
Hee and Lewis are related as image processing and imaging the eye.
Lewis teaches the method comprising determining, using said reflection values ri, a one or two dimensional (the light from each of the small infrared LED's in the array forms a tiny point on the retina and then is diffusively reflected back toward its initial light source location 25, 26, 27, or 28. For an actual eye, the intensity distribution of light at this conjugate location is described by the double-pass point spread function (PSF) of the eye. Since the beam splitter is aligned to project the light source plane onto the camera's entrance pupil plane, this double-pass PSF falls onto the plane of camera pupil 24. The effective camera entrance pupil acts as a spatial filter that allows only light rays inside the aperture to be focused by the camera lens and to contribute to the eye image, [0027]; FIGS. 6(a-b) is the shape, and the dimension of the irregular cornea protruding in the two KC eyes, [0034]; The patient gazing angle can be determined through the Hirschberg method using the small bright spot of cornea reflection at the center of pupil, [0035], Fig. 7b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified method of Hee to include the method comprising determining, using said reflection values ri, a one or two dimensional, as taught by Lewis for the predictable advantage of quantitatively characterize the aberrations of the eye [abstract].
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hee et al. in view of Hacker et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Santamaria et al. (non-patent literature, Determination of the point-spread function of human eyes using a hybrid optical-digital method; Instituto de Optica, Serrano 121, 28006 Madrid, Spain; 1987, of record).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Hee teaches the method according to claim 1 (see above). The modified Hee doesn’t explicitly teach the method, comprising determining, using said reflection values ri, at least one of a location or a spatial extent, of absorbing and/or scattering structures in the anterior segment of the eye.
Hee and Santamaria are related as image processing and imaging the eye.
Santamaria teaches the method of determining, using said reflection values ri, at least one of a location and er a spatial extent, of absorbing and/or scattering structures in the anterior segment of the eye (A method for the determination of the bidimensional optical transfer function (OTF) and the point-spread function of human eyes, [abstract];
The light reflected in the retina leaves the eye, and, after transmission through the beam splitter and an optional polarizer (A), the lens (L2) forms an aerial image (O″) on the photocathode of a calibrated TV camera (C) that introduces the image into a Vicom digital image-processing system for digitization and posterior processing. … Imaging process is carried out in coherent light, and if Ri(x, y) represents the amplitude reflection factor in the retina, A(x, y) the amplitude-spread function (ASF). ASF is first computed by a Fourier transformation of the pupil function P(α, β) of a schematic eye. The ASF is multiplied by a complex factor with unit modulus and Gaussian random phase simulating the retinal reflection, [Recording the aerial image of a point test]; A hybrid optical–digital method for the determination of the PSF and the bidimensional OTF for individualized human eyes. The method is based on recording the aerial image of a point source [conclusion]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified method of Hee to include determining, using said reflection values ri, at least one of a location and er a spatial extent, of absorbing and/or scattering structures in the anterior segment of the eye as taught by Santamaria for the predictable advantage that the method has been implemented in such a way that recording and computation can be carried out on a routine basis with minimum discomfort for the observer (abstract).
Conclusion
/R.A/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872