DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/21/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-10, 12-15, and 20-24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 24, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 20 depends on cancelled claim 3. Examiner will interpret claim 20 to depend on claim 1 for compact prosecution. Examiner suggests amending claim 20 to depend on the appropriate claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-10, 12-15, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al (US 4,505,107) in view of Ferguson et al (US 2003/0209534).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaguchi discloses a heating system for heating of a fluid, said heating system comprising:
- a supply connection in fluid communication with a supply of fluid to be heated (Shown in the figure below);
- a structured body (Fig. 1 #14 ceramic heating resistor) arranged for heating of said fluid during use of the heating system,
- at least one inlet port (Shown in the figure below) through which the fluid to be heated can flow from the supply connection and into the at least one channel,
- at least one outlet port (Shown in the figure below) through which heated fluid can flow out of the at least one channel,
and - at least two conductors (Fig. 1 #19 lead wires) configured to electrically connect the structured body to at least one electrical power supply (Fig. 1 #17 common power source), wherein the at least two conductors (Fig. 1 #19 lead wires) are electrically connected to the structured body at a first end and at a second end (Shown in the figure below), respectively, of an electrically conductive path within the structured body (Fig. 1 #14 ceramic heating resistor), wherein the structured body (Fig. 1 #14 ceramic heating resistor) is configured to direct an electrical current to run along the conductive path from the first end to the second end thereof,
and wherein said electrical power supply (Fig. 1 #17 common power source) is configured to be used to heat at least part of said structured body to a temperature of below 400°C by passing an electrical current through said structured body during use of the heating system (The power supply is capable of being power on then powered off before the heating element reaches 400°C.), wherein the heating system is based on electric resistance heating (The structured body is a ceramic heating resistor which is indicative of electric resistance heating.).
However, Yamaguchi does not disclose said structured body is built-up of two or more macroscopic structures of electrically conductive material, wherein the two or more macroscopic structures are sintered or oxidized powder metallurgical structures, wherein each of the macroscopic structures is manufactured by a method comprising the following steps:- preparing a paste by mixing at least:- a powder comprising metal,- a binder in an amount of 2 to 8 weight% of the paste,- liquid, such as water, in an amount of 5 to 25 weight% of the paste,- transferring the paste to an extruder,- extruding the paste into a green body by using an extrusion pressure (P) of more than 50 bar,- drying the green body, and- sintering or oxidizing the dried green body to bond the powder together and thereby form the macroscopic structure wherein the two or more macroscopic structures are mutually joined together by an electrically conducting connection, wherein at least one of the macroscopic structures comprising at least one channel through which the fluid can flow.
Nonetheless, Ferguson who is in the same field of endeavor being resistive heating, teaches said structured body (Fig. 5B) is built-up of two or more macroscopic structures (Fig. 5B #502 cermet heating layers) of electrically conductive material wherein the two or more macroscopic structures are sintered or oxidized powder metallurgical structures,
wherein each of the macroscopic structures is manufactured by a method comprising the following steps:
- preparing a paste by mixing at least:
- a powder comprising metal,
- a binder in an amount of 2 to 8 weight% of the paste,
- liquid, such as water, in an amount of 5 to 25 weight% of the paste,
- transferring the paste to an extruder,
- extruding the paste into a green body by using an extrusion pressure (P) of more than 50 bar,
- drying the green body, and
- sintering or oxidizing the dried green body to bond the powder together and thereby form the macroscopic structure ((Examiner considers the limitation “wherein each of the macroscopic structures is manufactured by a method…” to be a product by process limitation and does not structurally limit the claimed invention."[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." MPEP 2113),
wherein the two or more macroscopic structures are mutually joined together by an electrically conducting connection (Fig. 5B #520 conductive metallic contact plates), wherein each of the two macroscopic structures comprises at least one channel (Fig. 5B #508 microchannels) through which the fluid can flow before the macroscopic structures are joined (Examiner considers the limitation “before the macroscopic structures are joined” to be a product by process limitation and does not structurally limit the claimed invention."[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." MPEP 2113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating system of Yamaguchi by replacing the structured body of Yamaguchi with the structured body as taught by Ferguson for the benefit of rapid thermal response and higher operating temperatures. ([0038] of Ferguson)
Regarding claim 8, Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Yamaguchi teaches wherein the macroscopic structure (Fig. 1 #14 ceramic heating resistor) comprises a plurality of longitudinally extending channels (Fig. 1 shows the Fig. 1 #14 ceramic heating resistor to have channels.).
Regarding claim 9, Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Yamaguchi teaches wherein the macroscopic structure (Fig. 1 #14 ceramic heating resistor) is made from a non-corrosive material or is provided with a coating, such as a coating of non-corrosive material, at least on surfaces being in contact with the fluid during use of the heating system.
Regarding claim 10, Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Yamaguchi teaches wherein the connections between the at least two conductors and the structured body are established by sintering (Examiner considers the limitation “the connections between the at least two conductors and the structured body are established by sintering” to be a product by process limitation and does not structurally limit the claimed invention."[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 12, Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Yamaguchi teaches wherein the macroscopic structures have been joined by sintering (Examiner considers the limitation “wherein the macroscopic structures have been joined by sintering” to be a product by process limitation and does not structurally limit the claimed invention."[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." MPEP 2113; Col. 2 lines 61-63 ---"The ceramic heating resistor 14, which is formed by normal extrusion of e.g. SiC or MoSi.sub.2, has the form of a lattice to provide satisfactory exhaust gas passages.”).
Regarding claim 13, Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Yamaguchi teaches wherein the first end and the second end of the electrically conductive path to which the at least two conductors are electrically connected are located at an end of the structured body comprising the inlet port (Shown in the figure below).
Regarding claim 14, Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 13), and Yamaguchi teaches and - the structured body comprises electrically insulating regions (Fig. 4 #20 ceramic insulator) so that the conductive path runs in a meandering manner between the first end and the second end of the conductive path.
However, Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson does not teach wherein: - the conductors are arranged at opposite sides of the heating system and both extend in the same direction parallel to a longitudinal direction of the structured body.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the conductors arranged at opposite sides of the heating system and both extending in the same direction parallel to a longitudinal direction of the structured body, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 V. C. (Evidence of this configuration is taught by Schlipf et al (US 2011/0280554) and shown in the figure below.)
Regarding claim 15, Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Yamaguchi teaches further comprising an outer housing (Fig. 1 #11 barrel-shaped casing) enclosing at least a part of the structured body and forming a fluid tight enclosure extending from the inlet port to the outlet port.
Regarding claim 21, Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the arrangement of the structured body and an arrangement of the at least two conductors are configured so that the orientations of the electrically conductive path and of the flow of fluid to be heated are substantially parallel during use of the heating system.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the arrangement of the structured body and an arrangement of the at least two conductors being configured so that the orientations of the electrically conductive path and of the flow of fluid to be heated are substantially parallel during use of the heating system, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 V. C. (Evidence of this configuration is taught by Schlipf et al (US 2011/0280554) and shown in the figure below.)
Regarding claim 22, Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Yamaguchi teaches wherein the first end and the second end of the electrically conductive path to which the at least two conductors (Fig. 1 #19 lead wires) are electrically connected are located at opposite ends of the structured body Shown in Fig. 1.).
Regarding claim 23, Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Yamaguchi teaches wherein the arrangement of the structured body (Fig. 1 #14 ceramic heating resistor) and an arrangement of the at least two conductors (Fig. 1 #19 lead wires) are configured to provide heating of the whole volume of the macroscopic structure during use of the heating system.
Regarding claim 24, Yamaguchi discloses a heating system for heating of a fluid, said heating system comprising:
- a supply connection in fluid communication with a supply of fluid to be heated (Shown in the figure below);
- a structured body (Fig. 1 #14 ceramic heating resistor) arranged for heating of said fluid during use of the heating system having a honeycomb structure (Col. 4 lines 45-47 ---" Instead of being lattice-shaped, the ceramic heating resistor may be, for example, honeycomb-shaped.”),
- at least one inlet port (Shown in the figure below) through which the fluid to be heated can flow from the supply connection and into the at least one channel,
- at least one outlet port (Shown in the figure below) through which heated fluid can flow out of the at least one channel,
and - at least two conductors (Fig. 1 #19 lead wires) configured to electrically connect the structured body to at least one electrical power supply (Fig. 1 #17 common power source), wherein the at least two conductors (Fig. 1 #19 lead wires) are electrically connected to the structured body at a first end and at a second end (Shown in the figure below), respectively, of an electrically conductive path within the structured body (Fig. 1 #14 ceramic heating resistor), wherein the structured body (Fig. 1 #14 ceramic heating resistor) is configured to direct an electrical current to run along the conductive path from the first end to the second end thereof,
and wherein said electrical power supply (Fig. 1 #17 common power source) is configured to be used to heat at least part of said structured body to a temperature of below 400°C by passing an electrical current through said structured body during use of the heating system (The power supply is capable of being power on then powered off before the heating element reaches 400°C.), wherein the heating system is based on electric resistance heating (The structured body is a ceramic heating resistor which is indicative of electric resistance heating.).
However, Yamaguchi does not disclose said structured body is built-up of two or more macroscopic structures of electrically conductive material, wherein the two or more macroscopic structures are sintered or oxidized powder metallurgical structures, wherein each of the macroscopic structures is manufactured by a method comprising the following steps:- preparing a paste by mixing at least:- a powder comprising metal,- a binder in an amount of 2 to 8 weight% of the paste,- liquid, such as water, in an amount of 5 to 25 weight% of the paste,- transferring the paste to an extruder,- extruding the paste into a green body by using an extrusion pressure (P) of more than 50 bar,- drying the green body, and- sintering or oxidizing the dried green body to bond the powder together and thereby form the macroscopic structure wherein the two or more macroscopic structures are mutually joined together by an electrically conducting connection, wherein at least one of the macroscopic structures comprising at least one channel through which the fluid can flow.
Nonetheless, Ferguson who is in the same field of endeavor being resistive heating, teaches said structured body (Fig. 5B) is built-up of two or more macroscopic structures (Fig. 5B #502 cermet heating layers) of electrically conductive material wherein the two or more macroscopic structures are sintered or oxidized powder metallurgical structures,
wherein each of the macroscopic structures is manufactured by a method comprising the following steps:
- preparing a paste by mixing at least:
- a powder comprising metal,
- a binder in an amount of 2 to 8 weight% of the paste,
- liquid, such as water, in an amount of 5 to 25 weight% of the paste,
- transferring the paste to an extruder,
- extruding the paste into a green body by using an extrusion pressure (P) of more than 50 bar,
- drying the green body, and
- sintering or oxidizing the dried green body to bond the powder together and thereby form the macroscopic structure ((Examiner considers the limitation “wherein each of the macroscopic structures is manufactured by a method…” to be a product by process limitation and does not structurally limit the claimed invention."[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." MPEP 2113),
wherein the two or more macroscopic structures are mutually joined together by an electrically conducting connection (Fig. 5B #520 conductive metallic contact plates), wherein each of the two macroscopic structures comprises at least one channel (Fig. 5B #508 microchannels) through which the fluid can flow before the macroscopic structures are joined (Examiner considers the limitation “before the macroscopic structures are joined” to be a product by process limitation and does not structurally limit the claimed invention."[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." MPEP 2113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating system of Yamaguchi by replacing the structured body of Yamaguchi with the structured body as taught by Ferguson for the benefit of rapid thermal response and higher operating temperatures. ([0038] of Ferguson)
Claim(s) 4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al (US 4,505,107) in view of Ferguson et al (US 2003/0209534) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Bikovsky et al (US 2003/0230565).
Regarding claim 4, Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the macroscopic structure has a varying electric resistivity in a direction extending from the inlet port to the outlet port.
Nonetheless, Bikovsky who is in the same field of endeavor being resistive heating, teaches wherein the macroscopic structure has a varying electric resistivity in a direction extending from the inlet port to the outlet port (Abstract ---" The first and second adjacent elements are accommodated in spaced-apart planes, are electrically insulated from each other, and have different resistance and different surface areas as compared to each other.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson by incorporating the varied resistivity as taught by Bikovsky for the benefit of providing uniform heat transfer. ([0018] of Bikovsky)
Regarding claim 6, Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 4), and Yamaguchi teaches wherein the varying electric resistivity has been obtained by a method of manufacturing comprising the following steps: - preparing a plurality of pastes comprising: - at least a first paste having a first composition, and - at least a second paste having a second composition, - transferring the plurality of pastes into a supply chamber of a processing equipment, - shaping a green body from the plurality of pastes by forcing the pastes from the supply chamber through a die of the processing equipment, and - sintering or oxidizing the green body to obtain the macroscopic structure having a varying electric resistivity along a longitudinal direction of the macroscopic structure, the longitudinal direction corresponding to the direction of movement of the pastes through the die, and the varying electric resistivity resulting from the first composition being different from the second composition (Examiner considers the limitation “the varying electric resistivity has been obtained by a method of manufacturing comprising the following steps…” to be a product by process limitation and does not structurally limit the claimed invention."[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 7, Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 6), and Yamaguchi teaches wherein: - the first paste comprises metal powder with a first alloy composition, ceramic powder, and a first binder, - the second paste comprises metal powder with a second alloy composition and a second binder, and wherein the first alloy composition and the second alloy composition both consist of at least one chemical element, and wherein the chemical elements are chosen so that, for each of the chemical elements being present in an amount higher than 0.5 weight% in each of the alloy compositions, that chemical element is comprised both in the first and second alloy composition, and - for the chemical elements being present in the first alloy composition in amounts of up to 5.0 weight%, the amount of that chemical element differs by at most 1 percentage point between the first and second alloy compositions, and - for the chemical elements being present in the first alloy composition in amounts of more than 5.0 weight%, the amount of that chemical element differs by at most 3 percentage point between the first and second alloy compositions (Examiner considers the limitations of claim 7 to be a product by process limitation and does not structurally limit the claimed invention."[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." MPEP 2113).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al (US 4,505,107) in view of Ferguson et al (US 2003/0209534) as applied to claim , further in view of Kralik et al (US 5,434,388).
Regarding claim 5, Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the macroscopic structure has a varying electric resistivity transverse to a direction extending from the inlet port to the outlet port.
Nonetheless, Kralik who is in the same field of endeavor being resistive heating, teaches wherein the macroscopic structure has a varying electric resistivity transverse to a direction extending from the inlet port to the outlet port (Col. 6 lines 19-27 ---" FIG. 8 is a circuit diagram of a construction in which the heating element 10 is subdivided into two interconnected portions 17a, 17b. They are made from resistance materials having a different temperature characteristic of the resistor. They can both have a positive or negative behaviour of the resistance coefficient (PTC or NTC), these then having varying levels, or it is possible to have a combination of PTC and NTC, or use a substantially temperature-neutral material.” and Col. 6 lines 35 -41 ---" On heating the two resistance values vary in such a way that with a corresponding opposite winding of the parts of the trip coil associated with the portions 17a and 17b there is a powerful disconnection pulse, which does not occur in a lower temperature range due to the opposing action of the two excitation coil halves.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson by incorporating the varied resistivity as taught by Kralik for the benefit of providing protection against excessive temperatures. (Col. 6 lines 41-45 of Kralik)
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al (US 4,505,107) in view of Ferguson et al (US 2003/0209534) as applied to claim 3, further in view of Bikovsky et al (US 2003/0230565).
Regarding claim 20, Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 3), and Yamaguchi teaches wherein the macroscopic structure is a sintered or oxidized powder metallurgical structure (Examiner considers the limitation “the macroscopic structure is a sintered or oxidized powder metallurgical structure” to be a product by process limitation and does not structurally limit the claimed invention."[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." MPEP 2113 and Col. 3 lines 27-29 ---" The ceramic heating resistor 14 may alternatively be formed from a mixture of TiC and Al.sub.2 O.sub.3 as an effective material.”).
However, Yamaguchi does not teach wherein the macroscopic structure has a varying electric resistivity in a direction extending from the inlet port to the outlet port.
Nonetheless, Bikovsky who is in the same field of endeavor being resistive heating, teaches wherein the macroscopic structure has a varying electric resistivity in a direction extending from the inlet port to the outlet port (Abstract ---" The first and second adjacent elements are accommodated in spaced-apart planes, are electrically insulated from each other, and have different resistance and different surface areas as compared to each other.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yamaguchi in view of Ferguson by incorporating the varied resistivity as taught by Bikovsky for the benefit of providing uniform heat transfer. ([0018] of Bikovsky).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aske et al (US 1,484,616) in view of Ferguson et al (US 2003/0209534).
Regarding claim 1, Aske discloses a heating system for heating of a fluid, said heating system comprising:
- a supply connection (Fig. 1 #9 left pipeline) in fluid communication with a supply of fluid to be heated;
- a structured body (Fig. 5 heating element) arranged for heating of said fluid during use of the heating system,
- at least one inlet port (opening in Fig. 1 #9 left pipe) through which the fluid to be heated can flow from the supply connection and into the at least one channel,
- at least one outlet port (opening in Fig. 1 #9 right pipe) through which heated fluid can flow out of the at least one channel, and
- at least two conductors (Fig. 6 #s 7-8 lead wires) configured to electrically connect the structured body to at least one electrical power supply (Page 1 lines 70-78 ---“…a battery.”),
wherein the at least two conductors (Fig. 6 #s 7-8 lead wires) are electrically connected to the structured body (Fig. 5 heating element) at a first end and at a second end, respectively, of an electrically conductive path within the structured body (Fig. 5 heating element), wherein the structured body (Fig. 5 heating element) is configured to direct an electrical current to run along the conductive path from the first end to the second end thereof (The lead wires are connected to a battery and the heating element. It is understood that current will flow between both lead wires through the heating element.),
and wherein said electrical power supply is configured to be used to heat at least part of said structured body to a temperature of below 400°C by passing an electrical current through said structured body during use of the heating system (The battery is capable of being connected then disconnected before the heating element reaches 400°C., wherein the heating system is based on electric resistance heating (The lead wires connected to a battery and the heating element suggests resistance heating.).
However, Aske does not disclose said structured body is built-up of two or more macroscopic structures of electrically conductive material, wherein the two or more macroscopic structures are sintered or oxidized powder metallurgical structures, wherein each of the macroscopic structures is manufactured by a method comprising the following steps:- preparing a paste by mixing at least:- a powder comprising metal,- a binder in an amount of 2 to 8 weight% of the paste,- liquid, such as water, in an amount of 5 to 25 weight% of the paste,- transferring the paste to an extruder,- extruding the paste into a green body by using an extrusion pressure (P) of more than 50 bar,- drying the green body, and- sintering or oxidizing the dried green body to bond the powder together and thereby form the macroscopic structure, wherein the two or more macroscopic structures are mutually joined together by an electrically conducting connection, wherein at least one of the macroscopic structures comprising at least one channel through which the fluid can flow.
Nonetheless, Ferguson who is in the same field of endeavor being resistive heating, teaches said structured body (Fig. 5B) is built-up of two or more macroscopic structures (Fig. 5B #502 cermet heating layers) of electrically conductive material,
wherein the two or more macroscopic structures are sintered or oxidized powder metallurgical structures,
wherein each of the macroscopic structures is manufactured by a method comprising the following steps:
- preparing a paste by mixing at least:
- a powder comprising metal,
- a binder in an amount of 2 to 8 weight% of the paste,
- liquid, such as water, in an amount of 5 to 25 weight% of the paste,- transferring the paste to an extruder,- extruding the paste into a green body by using an extrusion pressure (P) of more than 50 bar,- drying the green body, and- sintering or oxidizing the dried green body to bond the powder together and thereby form the macroscopic structure, wherein the two or more macroscopic structures are mutually joined together by an electrically conducting connection (Fig. 5B #520 conductive metallic contact plates), wherein at least one of the macroscopic structures comprising at least one channel (Fig. 5B #508 microchannels) through which the fluid can flow.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating system of Yamaguchi by replacing the structured body of Aske with the structured body as taught by Ferguson for the benefit of rapid thermal response and higher operating temperatures. ([0038] of Ferguson)
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aske et al (US 1,484,616) in view of Ferguson et al (US 2003/0209534).
Regarding claim 16, Aske discloses a method of heating a fluid to a temperature of below 400°C, the method comprising:
connecting the at least two conductors (Fig. 6 #s 7-8 lead wires) to the at least one power supply (Page 2 lines 70-78 ---“…a battery.”);
switching on the at least one power supply (Page 2 lines 70-78 ---“…a battery.” Switching on the power supply is considered to be making a closed loop connection between the terminals of the battery through the heating element.);
and supplying fluid from the supply of fluid to be heated through the at least one inlet port and through the at least one channel of the macroscopic structure (Page 3 lines 7-12).
However, Aske does not disclose providing the heating system according to claim 1.
Nonetheless, Aske in view of Ferguson, both are in the same field of endeavor being resistive heating, teaches providing the heating system according to claim 1 (See the rejection of claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Aske by incorporating the heating system as taught by Aske in view of Ferguson for the benefit having a heating device to heat a fluid.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aske et al (US 1,484,616) in view of Ferguson et al (US 2003/0209534) as applied to claim 16, in view of Yoon et al (US 2020/0378650).
Regarding claim 17, Aske in view of Ferguson teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 16), but does not teach wherein the fluid is a liquid, which is heated to a temperature of below 1000C.
Nonetheless, Yoon in the same field of endeavor being electric heating, teaches wherein the fluid is a liquid, which is heated to a temperature of below 1000C ([0082] ---" Also, when the boiling occurs in the flow stagnant section, it is impossible to generate hot water having a temperature of about 50° C. or more due to safety reasons.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Aske in view of Ferguson by incorporating the fluid as a liquid and the heating temperature as taught by Yoon for the benefit of generating hot water at a temperature to prevent safety concerns. ([0082] of Yoon)
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aske et al (US 1,484,616) in view of Ferguson et al (US 2003/0209534) as applied to claim 16, in view of Harada et al (US 5,200,154).
Regarding claim 18, Aske in view of Ferguson teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 16), but does not teach wherein the fluid is a gas that is heated to a temperature of between 200 and 400°C.
Nonetheless, Harada in the same field of endeavor being electric heating, teaches wherein the fluid is a gas that is heated to a temperature of between 200 and 400°C (Col. 5 lines 44-49 ---" The performance of this system at the beginning of the operation of an engine was tested by introducing into this system an exhaust gas whose temperature was raised at a same rate from 100.degree. C. to 420.degree. C. for two minutes and was then maintained at 420.degree. C. for one minute (warming-up test) and by measuring the conversion for CO, HC and NOx.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Aske in view of Ferguson by incorporating the gas and heating temperature as taught by Harada for the benefit of removing waste materials from the gas.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aske et al (US 1,484,616) in view of Ferguson et al (US 2003/0209534) as applied to claim 16, in view of Salyer et al (US 2011/0083459).
Regarding claim 19, Aske in view of Ferguson teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 16), but does not teach further comprising transferring the heated fluid from the at least one outlet port to a storage for storing the heated fluid as an energy reservoir.
Nonetheless, Salyer in the same field of endeavor being electric heating, teaches further comprising transferring the heated fluid from the at least one outlet port to a storage (Fig. 3 #66 liquid to liquid heat exchanger) for storing the heated fluid as an energy reservoir.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Aske in view of Ferguson by incorporating the heat exchanger as taught by Salyer for the benefit of using excess heat to heat a source of water outside of the heat exchanger.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant, overarchingly, argues the limitations “"wherein the two or more macroscopic structures are sintered or oxidized powder metallurgical structures, wherein each of the macroscopic structures is manufactured by a method comprising the following steps:
- preparing a paste by mixing at least:
- a powder comprising metal,
- a binder in an amount of 2 to 8 weight% of the paste,
- liquid, such as water, in an amount of 5 to 25 weight% of the paste,
- transferring the paste to an extruder,
- extruding the paste into a green body by using an extrusion pressure (P) of more than 50 bar,
- drying the green body, and
- sintering or oxidizing the dried green body to bond the powder together and thereby form the macroscopic structure," are not taught by the cited prior art. Examiner respectfully agrees because the claimed invention is not a method of manufacturing the macroscopic structures but an apparatus comprising the macroscopic structures.
The fact that the method at which the macroscopic structure is manufactured does not alter the fundamental function of the heating system. The cited prior art teaches all of the necessary structural limitations, including a macroscopic structure, for the heating system to perform fluid heating. MPEP 2113 --- "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." The claimed invention is not distinguishable over the prior art based on the method at which some of the structural limitations are manufactured. The prior art teaches the product, a heating system for heating a fluid.
For claim 1:
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach "wherein the two or more macroscopic structures are mutually joined together by an electrically conducting connection, wherein each of the two macroscopic structures comprises at least one channel through which the fluid can flow before the macroscopic structures are joined,…" Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Yamaguchi, taking into account the broadest reasonable interpretation, teaches wherein the two or more macroscopic structures are mutually joined together by an electrically conducting connection. Fig. 3 shows the two or more macroscopic structures are mutually joined together by an electrically conducting connection
Yamaguchi teaches wherein each of the two macroscopic structures comprises at least one channel through which the fluid can flow before the macroscopic structures are joined. Fig. 2 shows a plurality of channels in the macroscopic structure.
Applicant also argues that the inventors have found that the process limitations in the claim result in the absence of joints and burrs which directly affects flow characteristics, pressure loss, corrosion resistance, and long-term structural stability. These findings from the inventor are evidence that the process does affect performance, contrary to the examiner's assertion.
Examiner responds that the manner at which the two or more macroscopic structures are formed is inconsequential to the function of the heating system for heating a fluid, when all of the necessary structural limitations of the claimed invention are presented in the prior art and those structural limitations perform the same function as the structural limitations of the claimed invention.
For claim 1 (Aske in view of Ferguson):
Applicant argues that there would be no reason to replace the wire heating element with that of Ferguson.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would be advantageous to replace the heating wire of Aske with the cermet heating layers of Ferguson for the benefit of rapid thermal response and higher operating temperatures.
For claim 24:
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach "wherein each of the macroscopic structures comprises a plurality of longitudinally extending channels having a honeycomb structure." Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Yamaguchi teaches that the ceramic heating resistor may be honeycomb-shaped. (Col. 4 lines 45-47 ---" Instead of being lattice-shaped, the ceramic heating resistor may be, for example, honeycomb-shaped.”)
Furthermore, Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach how the macroscopic structures are manufactured.
Examiner responds that the method at which the macroscopic structure is manufactured does not alter the fundamental function of the heating system
Conclusion
/JOE E MILLS JR./Examiner, Art Unit 3761