DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Pending:
1-9, 12, 13, 15-17
Withdrawn:
12, 13, 16, 17
Rejected:
1-9, 15
Amended:
1, 3, 12, 15
New:
NONE
Independent:
1
Claim Interpretation
Amended claim 1 recites the limitation “pre-aging of the sheet during at least 8 hours at a temperature from 50°C to 95°C, 95°C being excluded, by coiling the sheet at a coiling temperature from 50°C to 95°C, 95°C being excluded” which is interpreted to mean a coiling temperature from 50°C to <95°C. If this interpretation is not consistent with applicant’s intended interpretation, please clarify (including where said interpretation is found in the original specification) in response to this action.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “a coiling temperature from 70°C to 95°C, 95°C being excluded” which is interpreted to mean a coiling temperature from 70°C to <95°C. If this interpretation is not consistent with applicant’s intended interpretation, please clarify (including where said interpretation is found in the original specification) in response to this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite: “A method for manufacturing a rolled product… from an aluminum alloy, consisting essentially of: a. casting an ingot with the following composition…”, which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if the transitional phrase “consisting essentially of” refers to the method steps or the aluminum alloy composition. The response filed 9/8/26 states said phrase relates to the steps of the claimed manufacturing method (p 5), and therefore for the purposes of this office action, said claim is interpreted as such (however, this is not clear from the claim language itself). Claims dependent on the above rejected claim are likewise rejected under this statute. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al (US 2016/0047021), previously cited, further in view Das (US 2019/0119799), previously cited.
Nakamura teaches a method of making a rolled product for automobile body parts [0003], said process comprising steps of:
Claim 1
cl. 6
Nakamura
Casting an ingot
Vertical semi-cont casting
(cl. 7)
Semi-contin. casting an ingot
[0064]
Homogen.
520-560°C
*2-8 hrs
Homogenize 500-580°C
1-10 hr
[0065-0066]
Hot roll to thickness 3-10 mm
Hot roll to thickness typically 3 mm
[0088]
Cold roll to sheet 1-4 mm
Cold rolling to thickness typically 1 mm
[0089]
Solution heat 540-580°C, quench
*1 s- 5 min
Solution heat 500C or higher
[0019]
Pre-age 50<95°C t≥8 hrs by coiling
Pre-aging 70<95°C (cl. 8)
Heating 70-150C
[0102], Fig. 4
Pre-aging 50-70°C (cl. 9)
(coiling not mentioned)
Natural aging
*ambient temp 72 hr-6 months
Return to room temperature implied
(examples, etc)
*=and/or
Table 1: comparison of instant claims with process of Nakamura wherein the process steps taught by Nakamura meet the claimed process steps, and the parameters taught by Nakamura overlap the claimed parameters (i.e. time, temperature, and thickness limitations, see Table 1 above).
Further, Nakamura teaches an aluminum alloy comprising (in wt. %):
Cl. 1
Nakamura broad
Si
0.75-1.1
0.4-1.5
Mg
0.75-1.0
0.3-1.0
Cu
0.5-0.8
≤1.0
Fe
-0.4
≤0.5
Ti
-0.15
≤0.3
Mn
0.1-0.4
≤0.5
V
-0.1
≤1.0
Cr
-0.1
≤0.3
impurities
≤0.05ea
≤0.15 total
≤1.0
Table 2: Nakamura vs. Instant claims
see Nakamura at [0034-0044], which broadly overlaps the alloying ranges of Si, Mg, Cu, Fe, Ti, Mn, V, Zr, Cr, and impurities of instant independent claim 1.
Concerning the instant transitional phrase of “consisting essentially of” (see 112(b) rejection as well as claim interpretation above), Nakamura teaches an additional step of annealing after hot rolling and before cold rolling (see Nakamura at claim 6, Fig. 1 #S4) improves isotropy of the microstructure [0012,0070]. The transitional phrase “consisting essentially of” limits the scope of a claim to the specified materials or steps “and those that do not materially affect the basic and novel characteristic(s)” of the claimed invention. In re Herz, 537 F.2d 549, 551-52, 190 USPQ 461, 463 (CCPA 1976). For the purposes of searching for and applying prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, absent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the basic and novel characteristics actually are, “consisting essentially of” will be construed as equivalent to “comprising.” See, e.g., PPG, 156 F.3d at 1355, 48 USPQ2d at 1355. The applicant has not shown that the addition of an annealing step (such as that of Nakamura, which is taught by Nakamura to improve the isotropy/decrease anisotropy) would affect the basic and novel properties of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2111.03). The annealing step taught by Nakamura is not clearly excluded by the amended “consisting essentially of” transitional phrase.
Nakamura does not specify heating to a low temperature (i.e. pre-aging) and thereafter coil cooling post solution heat treating. However, secondary reference of Das teaches pre-aging Al-Mg-Si alloy sheets after solutionizing together with coil cooling [0076] in order to produce favorable formability and strength combination (see Das at examples).
Because Nakamura together with Das teach subjecting an overlapping Al-Mg-Si alloy to identical steps of casting, homogenizing, hot rolling, cold rolling, solution heating, quenching, heating to temperatures that meet the instant preaging temperature, and wherein naturally aging is implied (see Table above, see also Das at [0077]), together with overlapping processing parameters, it is held that Nakamura and Das have created a prima facie case of obviousness of the presently claimed invention.
Concerning claims 2-5, see above discussion of alloying ranges.
Concerning claim 6, 8-9, as set forth above, Nakamura teaches overlapping steps and parameters (see Table 1 above), and therefore meets the instant limitations.
Concerning claim 7, which mentions vertical semi-continuous casting, Nakamura teaches casting by semi-continuous casting [0064]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have cast the Al-Mg-Si alloy of Nakamura by a known semi-continuous casting method, such as vertical semi-continuous casting (as claimed), because Nakamura broadly teaches semi-continuous casting.
Concerning claim 15, Nakamura teaches the formed Al-Mg-Si sheet can be further processed by forming (such as press forming [0108]) and paint baking [0114] at 170°C for 20 minutes [0114], which meets the instant limitations.
Concerning new claim 18, which mentions “step f is followed by cooling in open air”, returning to room temperature (post pre-aging, see Table 1 above) is implied by the disclosure of Nakamura and Das, by virtue that the workpiece is not indefinitely held in an elevated temperature environment (nor does the prior art teach a different cooling media than “open air”). It is also noted that the “cooling in open air” step of claim 18 is not required to happen within a certain timeframe of step f, only that it “followed” step f. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, given the disclosures of Nakamura and Das to follow the pre-aging step f) with a step of cooling in open air, substantially as presently claimed, because Nakamura and Das imply cooling to room temperature after said pre-aging.
Claim(s) 1-9, 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al (US 2016/0047021), previously cited, further in view of Oh et al (US 5,690,758), cited herein.
Nakamura teaches a method of making a rolled product for automobile body parts [0003], said process comprising steps recited in Table 1 above, wherein the process steps taught by Nakamura meet the claimed process steps, and the parameters taught by Nakamura overlap the claimed parameters (i.e. time, temperature, and thickness limitations, see Table 1 above, including the amended pre-aging temperature). Further, Nakamura teaches an aluminum alloy comprising overlapping alloying ranges (see Table 2 above, see Nakamura at [0034-0044]), which broadly overlaps the alloying ranges of Si, Mg, Cu, Fe, Ti, Mn, V, Zr, Cr, and impurities of instant independent claim 1. Further, secondary reference of Oh et al teaches selecting an alloy with relatively higher ranges of Si, Mg, Cu, as well as the presence of Mn leads to high strength and formability (see alloy D, Tables 1 & 3 of Oh et al). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied the process of casting, rolling, and forming a sheet taught by Nakamura to the Al-Mg-Si-Cu alloy of Oh et al. because Oh teaches said Al-Mg-Si-Cu alloy has excellent combination of strength and formability/ductility.
Nakamura does not specify heating to a low temperature (i.e. pre-aging) and thereafter coil cooling post solution heat treating. However, secondary reference of Oh et al teaches pre-aging by coiling at temperatures 60-250C for 1 min-10 hours, wherein said treatment is effective to allow the development of an intermediate phase, favorable to the mechanical properties of strength and formability of the alloy (column 3 lines 30-35 see properties in Tables 3 & 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have pre-aged by coiling at 60-250C for 1 min-10 hours taught by Oh et al, which meets the instant pre-aging step and overlaps the claimed parameters, because Oh et al teaches said treatment is effective to allow the development of an intermediate phase, favorable to the mechanical properties of strength and formability of the alloy (in particular, Al-Mg-Si alloys with relatively higher ranges of Si, Mg, Cu, as well as the presence of Mn, see alloy D, Tables 1 & 3 of Oh et al).
Because Nakamura together with Oh teach subjecting an overlapping Al-Mg-Si alloy to identical steps of casting, homogenizing, hot rolling, cold rolling, solution heating, quenching, heating to temperatures that meet the instant preaging temperature, and wherein naturally aging is implied (see Table above), together with overlapping processing parameters, it is held that Nakamura and Oh et al have created a prima facie case of obviousness of the presently claimed invention.
Concerning claims 2-5, see above discussion of alloying ranges.
Concerning claim 6, 8-10, as set forth above, Nakamura teaches overlapping steps and parameters (see Table 1 above), and therefore meets the instant limitations.
Concerning claim 7, which mentions vertical semi-continuous casting, Nakamura teaches casting by semi-continuous casting [0064]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have cast the Al-Mg-Si alloy of Nakamura by a known semi-continuous casting method, such as vertical semi-continuous casting (as claimed), because Nakamura broadly teaches semi-continuous casting.
Concerning claim 15, Nakamura teaches the formed Al-Mg-Si sheet can be further processed by forming (such as press forming [0108]) and paint baking [0114] at 170°C for 20 minutes [0114], which meets the instant limitations.
Response to Amendment
In the response filed 9/8/26 applicant amended claims 1, 3, 12, and 15 and submitted various arguments traversing the rejections of record. No new matter has been added.
Applicant’s arguments that the instant invention is allowable because the prior art of Nakamura teaches annealing, which is excluded the instant “consisting essentially of” transitional phrase has not been found persuasive. As set forth above, though Nakamura teaches an additional step of annealing after hot rolling and before cold rolling (see Nakamura at claim 6, Fig. 1 #S4), the annealing step taught by Nakamura is not clearly excluded by the amended “consisting essentially of” transitional phrase. The transitional phrase “consisting essentially of” limits the scope of a claim to the specified materials or steps “and those that do not materially affect the basic and novel characteristic(s)” of the claimed invention. In re Herz, 537 F.2d 549, 551-52, 190 USPQ 461, 463 (CCPA 1976). For the purposes of searching for and applying prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, absent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the basic and novel characteristics actually are, “consisting essentially of” will be construed as equivalent to “comprising.” See, e.g., PPG, 156 F.3d at 1355, 48 USPQ2d at 1355. Applicant has not shown that the addition of an annealing step (such as that of Nakamura, which is taught by Nakamura to improve the isotropy/decrease anisotropy) would affect the basic and novel properties of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2111.03).
Applicant’s argument that the instant invention is allowable because secondary references of Das or Oh a) fail to expressly teach the absence of an annealing step, and b) teach examples that would lead one of skill in the art to inferior results, has not been found persuasive.
Concerning a), in response to applicant's argument that secondary references do not expressly exclude an annealing step, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Das and Oh are not relied on to teach the absence of an annealing step. As set forth above, applicant has not shown said step is excluded by the instant “consisting essentially of” transitional phrase.
Concerning b), Applicant has not shown specific evidence of unexpected results (such as a strength/elongation combination with respect to the closest prior art of Nakamura and Das or Nakamura and Oh.
Evidence of unexpected properties may be in the form of a direct or indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP §716.02(d) - § 716.02(e). With respect to said indirect comparison, applicant a) may compare the claimed invention with prior art that is more closely related to the invention than the prior art relied upon by the examiner, In re Holladay, 584 F.2d 384, 199 USPQ 516 (CCPA 1978); Ex parte Humber, 217 USPQ 265 (Bd. App. 1961), or b) show criticality of the instant range. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960).
More particularly, applicant has not shown the instant invention exhibits unexpected strength in view of the teachings of Nakamura and Das (or Nakamura and Oh), because applicant has not clearly compared the claimed invention to the closest prior art, or to art that is clearly closer than the closest applied prior art. Applicant’s representative argued Nakamura teaches a temper of “AB proof stress” which is “similar to T6B temper”, and exhibits inferior yield strength (also termed “proof stress”) because of such. However, applicant has not provided specific evidence (in a 1.132 declaration, see MPEP 716.02(e )) detailing the differences between the tempers of the prior art and the instant invention, and therefore it is not clear that Nakamura exhibits inferior strength, for a given temper condition.
An affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Burckel, 592 F.2d 1175, 201 USPQ 67 (CCPA 1979). "A comparison of the claimed invention with the disclosure of each cited reference to determine the number of claim limitations in common with each reference, bearing in mind the relative importance of particular limitations, will usually yield the closest single prior art reference." In re Merchant, 575 F.2d 865, 868, 197 USPQ 785, 787 (CCPA 1978) (emphasis in original). Where the comparison is not identical with the reference disclosure, deviations therefrom should be explained, In re Finley, 174 F.2d 130, 81 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1949), and if not explained should be noted and evaluated, and if significant, explanation should be required. In re Armstrong, 280 F.2d 132, 126 USPQ 281 (CCPA 1960) (deviations from example were inconsequential), see MPEP 716.02(e ).
Applicant’s argument that the instant invention is allowable because the prior art does not teach cooling is performed after coiling (arguments p 7) has not been found persuasive. As set forth above, it is noted that the “cooling in open air” step of claim 18 is not required to happen within a certain timeframe of step f, only that it “followed” step f. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, given the disclosures of Nakamura and Das to follow the pre-aging step f) with a step of cooling in open air, substantially as presently claimed, because Nakamura and Das imply cooling to room temperature after said pre-aging.
Conclusion
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/J.C.M/Examiner, Art Unit 1733 9/28/26