DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office Action is considered to be fully responsive to the communications filed on 11/24/2025. Claims 17-24 are currently pending in this Application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 10-11, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 17-23 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant has amended independent claim 17 to specify that “the first n- tone RU does not overlap null subcarriers, and the first 484-tone RU does not overlap direct current (DC) subcarriers”, that “the second n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the second 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers”, and that “the third n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the third 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers”, where independent claims 20 and 21 are also amended in a similar way to include analogous subject matter. Applicant argues on pages 10-11 of Remarks that Gan and Chen do not teach these features. Examiner however disagrees with this opinion, as Chen does teach these features as amended. The independent claims specify that each tone “does not overlap null subcarriers” and “does not overlap direct current (DC) subcarriers”. Chen does not teach the tones overlapping with either null or DC subcarriers, and thus it does teach the limitations as they are written. Applicant also argues on page 10 of Remarks that “The rejection cites to Fig. 3 of Chen for teaching …”, where Applicant then goes into details about how the claimed invention differs from Fig. 3 of Chen. This argument is however moot, as Examiner indeed did not cite to Fig. 3 of Chen to teach any of the features that Applicant mentions on page 10 of Remarks. For the reasons stated above, the claim rejections made to claims 17-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained. For more details about any of the above mentioned, please see the Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan et al (US 20210135779 A1), and further in view of Chen et al (US 20210045151 A1) (provisional application 62/926,406 filed 10/20/2019).
Regarding claim 17, Gan teaches
A method in a wireless Local Area Network (LAN) system, the method comprising ([0110] and [Fig. 2] WLAN which embodies the system):
receiving, by a receiving station (STA), an extremely high throughput (EHT) Physical Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) from a transmitting STA ([0023] and [Fig. 5] first frame is the downlink PPDU including a EHT signaling field, and is transmitted on a bandwidth corresponding to the first frame (first band) from the AP (transmitting STA)); and
decoding, by the receiving STA, the EHT PPDU ([0040] the STA correctly decodes the downlink PPDU after receiving it),
wherein the EHT PPDU includes a data field ([0142]-[0143] PPDU includes a data field),
Gan does not explicitly teach wherein for a non-orthogonal frequency division multiple access (non-OFDMA) 80 MHz PPDU, a 484+n-tone multiple resource unit (MRU) is only defined based on a 20 MHz subchannel being punctured,
wherein the 484+n-tone MRU is obtained by combining a 484-tone resource unit (RU) and a n-tone RU which is less than the 484-tone RU in the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU,
wherein data subcarriers of the 484+n-tone MRU in the data field consist of a union of data subcarriers of the 484-tone RU and the n-tone RU that make up the 484+n-tone MRU,
wherein three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU,
wherein a first type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a first allocation pattern in which a first n-tone RU is located in a first 20 MHz subchannel and a first 484-tone RU not being contiguous to the first n-tone RU is located in third and fourth 20 MHz subchannels, and wherein the first n-tone RU does not overlap null subcarriers, and the first 484-tone RU does not overlap direct current (DC) subcarriers,
wherein a second type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a second allocation pattern in which a second 484-tone RU is located in the first 20 MHz and a second 20 MHz subchannel and a second n- tone RU not being contiguous to the 484-tone RU is located in the fourth 20 MHz subchannel, and wherein the second n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the second 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers, and
wherein a third type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a third allocation pattern in which a third 484-tone RU is located in the first and second 20 MHz subchannels and a third n-tone RU being located after the 484-tone RU is located in the third 20 MHz subchannel, and wherein the third n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the third 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers.
However, Chen does teach wherein for a non-orthogonal frequency division multiple access (non-OFDMA) 80 MHz PPDU, a 484+n-tone multiple resource unit (MRU) is only defined based on a 20 MHz subchannel being punctured ([0025], [0089], [0258]-[0259], [Table 15], [Fig. 7] and [Fig. 12A] non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU with 20 MHz subchannels, where one of the 20 MHz subchannels is punctured to make one 20 MHz 242 tone (n-tone) and one 40 MHz subchannel (two combined 20 MHz subchannels) 484 tone),
wherein the 484+n-tone MRU is obtained by combining a 484-tone resource unit (RU) and a n-tone RU which is less than the 484-tone RU in the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU ([0025], [0089], [0258]-[0259], [Table 15], [Fig. 7] and [Fig. 12A] non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU with 20 MHz subchannels, where one of the 20 MHz subchannels is punctured to make one 40 MHz subchannel (two combined 20 MHz subchannels) 484 tone and one 20 MHz 242 tone (n-tone which is less than the 484 tone)),
wherein data subcarriers of the 484+n-tone MRU in the data field consist of a union of data subcarriers of the 484-tone RU and the n-tone RU that make up the 484+n-tone MRU ([0025], [0089], [Fig. 7] and [Fig. 12A] non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU with 20 MHz subchannels, where one of the 20 MHz subchannels is punctured to make one 20 MHz 242 tone (n-tone) and one 40 MHz subchannel (two combined 20 MHz subchannels) 484 tone; [0087]-[0088] each RU/PPDU includes a different quantity of subcarriers (union of data subcarriers to make up the 484+n-tone MRU)),
wherein three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU ([Fig. 21A] any one out of the four 20 MHz subchannels is punctured, resulting in at least three configurations (three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the PPDU); [0258]-[0259], [Table 15] also show different configurations for an RU with 484-tones and 242-tones),
wherein a first type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a first allocation pattern in which a first n-tone RU is located in a first 20 MHz subchannel and a first 484-tone RU not being contiguous to the first n-tone RU is located in third and fourth 20 MHz subchannels, and wherein the first n-tone RU does not overlap null subcarriers, and the first 484-tone RU does not overlap direct current (DC) subcarriers, ([Fig. 21A] any one out of the four 20 MHz subchannels is punctured, resulting in at least three configurations (three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the PPDU); [0258]-[0259], [Table 15] also show different configurations for an RU with 484-tones and 242-tones; [Fig. 7] first allocation pattern is when CH2 725 is punctured, where CH1 715 is the first n-tone RU located in the first 20MHz subchannel, and CH3 735/CH4 745 are the first 484-tone RU not contiguous to the first n-tone and located in the third and fourth 20 MHz subchannels, with the gap being the CH2 725 20 MHz subchannel being punctured),
wherein a second type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a second allocation pattern in which a second 484-tone RU is located in the first 20 MHz and a second 20 MHz subchannel and a second n- tone RU not being contiguous to the 484-tone RU is located in the fourth 20 MHz subchannel, and wherein the second n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the second 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers, and ([Fig. 21A] any one out of the four 20 MHz subchannels is punctured, resulting in at least three configurations (three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the PPDU); [0258]-[0259], [Table 15] also show different configurations for an RU with 484-tones and 242-tones; [Fig. 7] second allocation pattern is when CH3 735 is punctured, where CH1 715/CH2 725 is the second 484-tone RU located in the first and second 20MHz subchannels, and CH4 745 is the second n-tone RU not contiguous to the second 484-tone and located in the fourth 20 MHz subchannel, with the gap being the CH3 735 20 MHz subchannel being punctured),
wherein a third type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a third allocation pattern in which a third 484-tone RU is located in the first and second 20 MHz subchannels and a third n-tone RU being located after the 484-tone RU is located in the third 20 MHz subchannel, and wherein the third n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the third 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers ([Fig. 21A] any one out of the four 20 MHz subchannels is punctured, resulting in at least three configurations (three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the PPDU); [0258]-[0259], [Table 15] also show different configurations for an RU with 484-tones and 242-tones; [Fig. 7] third allocation pattern is when CH4 745 is punctured, where CH1 715/CH2 725 is the third 484-tone RU located in the first and second 20MHz subchannels, and CH3 735 is the third n-tone RU located in the third 20 MHz subchannel).
Gan and Chen are considered analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of allocating RUs. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gan to include the teachings of Chen where different channels are punctured. The rationale behind this would be to enable the wireless communication protocols to add new features and greater bandwidth support compared to legacy wireless communication protocols ([0062] Chen).
Regarding claim 18, Gan modified by Chen teaches The method of claim 17, as is described above.
Gan further teaches wherein the null subcarriers are located in a middle of the first and second 20 MHz subchannels and the null subcarriers are located in a middle of the third and fourth 20 MHz subchannels ([Fig. 16A]-[Fig. 16C] null subcarriers are located in between each of the the 20 MHz subchannels),
Gan does not explicitly teach wherein a band of the non- OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU includes the first to fourth 20 MHz subchannels,
wherein the first to fourth 20 MHz subchannels are arranged in order of frequency from lowest to highest,
wherein the 484-tone RU is an RU consisting of 484 tones.
However, Chen does teach wherein a band of the non- OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU includes the first to fourth 20 MHz subchannels ([0025], [0089], [Fig. 7] and [Fig. 12A] non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU with four 20 MHz subchannels),
wherein the first to fourth 20 MHz subchannels are arranged in order of frequency from lowest to highest ([0133] and [Fig. 7] the 80 MHz bandwidth is divided into four 20 MHz subchannels, where they are referenced from the lowest to the highest frequency),
wherein the 484-tone RU is an RU consisting of 484 tones ([0258]-[0259] and [Table 15] shows multiple configurations of an RU consisting of 484 tones in an 80 MHz segment).
Gan and Chen are considered analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of allocating RUs. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gan to include the teachings of Chen where different configurations for an RU are used. The rationale behind this would be to enable the wireless communication protocols to add new features and greater bandwidth support compared to legacy wireless communication protocols ([0062] Chen).
Regarding claim 19, Gan modified by Chen teaches The method of claim 18, as is described above.
Gan does not explicitly teach wherein the EHT PPDU further includes a universal signal (U-SIG) field and an EHT signal (EHT-SIG) field,
wherein the U-SIG field includes two contiguous symbols,
wherein the U-SIG field includes version independent bits and version dependent bits being contiguous to the version independent bits,
wherein the version independent bits include 3 bit information related to a physical version of the EHT PPDU, 1 bit information related to an uplink/downlink (UL/DL) direction, a transmission opportunity (TXOP) information related to a TXOP duration, and a basic service set (BSS) color information related to a BSS identifier,
wherein the EHT-SIG field includes a common field related to resource unit (RU) information.
However, Chen does teach wherein the EHT PPDU further includes a universal signal (U-SIG) field and an EHT signal (EHT-SIG) field ([Fig. 4] shows an example of a PDU with a U-SIG field 416 and an EHT-SIG field 418),
wherein the U-SIG field includes two contiguous symbols ([Fig. 4] U-SIG field 416 contains contiguous symbols 442 and 444),
wherein the U-SIG field includes version independent bits and version dependent bits being contiguous to the version independent bits ([Fig. 4] the U-SIG field 416 contains version independent fields 442 contiguous to version dependent fields 444),
wherein the version independent bits include 3 bit information related to a physical version of the EHT PPDU, 1 bit information related to an uplink/downlink (UL/DL) direction, a transmission opportunity (TXOP) information related to a TXOP duration, and a basic service set (BSS) color information related to a BSS identifier ([0083], [0114]-[0115], [Table 1] and [Fig. 4] version independent fields 442 may include a version identifier (information related to a physical version of the EHT PPDU) that is 3 bits, an indication of whether the PDU is an UL or DL PPDU that is 1 bit, a BSS color, and TxOP duration),
wherein the EHT-SIG field includes a common field related to resource unit (RU) information ([Fig. 4] EHT-SIG field includes common field 462/466).
Gan and Chen are considered analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of allocating RUs. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gan to include the teachings of Chen where the PPDU includes a U-SIG and an EHT-SIG. The rationale behind this would be to enable the wireless communication protocols to add new features and greater bandwidth support compared to legacy wireless communication protocols ([0062] Chen).
Regarding claim 20, Gan teaches
A receiving station (STA) in a wireless Local Area Network (LAN), the receiving STA comprising ([0067] first station (receiving STA); [0110] and [Fig. 2] WLAN which embodies the system):
a memory ([0067]-[0068] first station includes memory);
a transceiver ([0067]-[0068] first station includes transceiver); and
a processor operatively coupled to the memory and the transceiver ([0067]-[0068] first station includes processor configured to control memory and transceiver),
wherein the processor is configured to ([0067]-[0068] first station includes processor configured to control apparatus to execute program instruction):
receive an extremely high throughput (EHT) Physical Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) from a transmitting STA ([0023] and [Fig. 5] first frame is the downlink PPDU including a EHT signaling field, and is transmitted on a bandwidth corresponding to the first frame (first band) from the AP (transmitting STA)); and
decode the EHT PPDU ([0040] the STA correctly decodes the downlink PPDU after receiving it),
wherein the EHT PPDU includes a data field ([0142]-[0143] PPDU includes a data field),
Gan does not explicitly teach wherein for a non-orthogonal frequency division multiple access (non-OFDMA) 80 MHz PPDU, a 484+n-tone multiple resource unit (MRU) is only defined based on a 20 MHz subchannel being punctured,
wherein the 484+n-tone MRU is obtained by combining a 484-tone resource unit (RU) and a n-tone RU which is less than the 484-tone RU in the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU,
wherein data subcarriers of the 484+n-tone MRU in the data field consist of a union of data subcarriers of the 484-tone RU and the n-tone RU that make up the 484+n-tone MRU,
wherein three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU,
wherein a first type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a first allocation pattern in which a first n-tone RU is located in a first 20 MHz subchannel and a first 484-tone RU not being contiguous to the first n-tone RU is located in third and fourth 20 MHz subchannels, and wherein the first n-tone RU does not overlap null subcarriers, and the first 484-tone RU does not overlap direct current (DC) subcarriers,
wherein a second type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a second allocation pattern in which a second 484-tone RU is located in the first 20 MHz channel and a second 20 MHz channel and a second n-tone RU not being contiguous to the 484-tone RU is located in the fourth 20 MHz subchannel, and wherein the second n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the second 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers, and
wherein a third type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a third allocation pattern in which a third 484-tone RU is located in the first and second 20 MHz subchannels and a third n-tone RU being located after the 484-tone RU is located in the third 20 MHz subchannel, and wherein the third n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the third 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers.
However, Chen does teach wherein for a non-orthogonal frequency division multiple access (non-OFDMA) 80 MHz PPDU, a 484+n-tone multiple resource unit (MRU) is only defined based on a 20 MHz subchannel being punctured ([0025], [0089], [0258]-[0259], [Table 15], [Fig. 7] and [Fig. 12A] non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU with 20 MHz subchannels, where one of the 20 MHz subchannels is punctured to make one 20 MHz 242 tone (n-tone) and one 40 MHz subchannel (two combined 20 MHz subchannels) 484 tone),
wherein the 484+n-tone MRU is obtained by combining a 484-tone resource unit (RU) and a n-tone RU which is less than the 484-tone RU in the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU ([0025], [0089], [0258]-[0259], [Table 15], [Fig. 7] and [Fig. 12A] non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU with 20 MHz subchannels, where one of the 20 MHz subchannels is punctured to make one 40 MHz subchannel (two combined 20 MHz subchannels) 484 tone and one 20 MHz 242 tone (n-tone which is less than the 484 tone)),
wherein data subcarriers of the 484+n-tone MRU in the data field consist of a union of data subcarriers of the 484-tone RU and the n-tone RU that make up the 484+n-tone MRU ([0025], [0089], [Fig. 7] and [Fig. 12A] non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU with 20 MHz subchannels, where one of the 20 MHz subchannels is punctured to make one 20 MHz 242 tone (n-tone) and one 40 MHz subchannel (two combined 20 MHz subchannels) 484 tone; [0087]-[0088] each RU/PPDU includes a different quantity of subcarriers (union of data subcarriers to make up the 484+n-tone MRU)),
wherein three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU ([Fig. 21A] any one out of the four 20 MHz subchannels is punctured, resulting in at least three configurations (three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the PPDU); [0258]-[0259], [Table 15] also show different configurations for an RU with 484-tones and 242-tones),
wherein a first type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a first allocation pattern in which a first n-tone RU is located in a first 20 MHz subchannel and a first 484-tone RU not being contiguous to the first n-tone RU is located in third and fourth 20 MHz subchannels, and wherein the first n-tone RU does not overlap null subcarriers, and the first 484-tone RU does not overlap direct current (DC) subcarriers ([Fig. 21A] any one out of the four 20 MHz subchannels is punctured, resulting in at least three configurations (three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the PPDU); [0258]-[0259], [Table 15] also show different configurations for an RU with 484-tones and 242-tones; [Fig. 7] first allocation pattern is when CH2 725 is punctured, where CH1 715 is the first n-tone RU located in the first 20MHz subchannel, and CH3 735/CH4 745 are the first 484-tone RU not contiguous to the first n-tone and located in the third and fourth 20 MHz subchannels, with the gap being the CH2 725 20 MHz subchannel being punctured),
wherein a second type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a second allocation pattern in which a second 484-tone RU is located in the first 20 MHz channel and a second 20 MHz channel and a second n-tone RU not being contiguous to the 484-tone RU is located in the fourth 20 MHz subchannel, and wherein the second n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the second 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers ([Fig. 21A] any one out of the four 20 MHz subchannels is punctured, resulting in at least three configurations (three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the PPDU); [0258]-[0259], [Table 15] also show different configurations for an RU with 484-tones and 242-tones; [Fig. 7] second allocation pattern is when CH3 735 is punctured, where CH1 715/CH2 725 is the second 484-tone RU located in the first and second 20MHz subchannels, and CH4 745 is the second n-tone RU not contiguous to the second 484-tone and located in the fourth 20 MHz subchannel, with the gap being the CH3 735 20 MHz subchannel being punctured), and
wherein a third type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a third allocation pattern in which a third 484-tone RU is located in the first and second 20 MHz subchannels and a third n-tone RU being located after the 484-tone RU is located in the third 20 MHz subchannel, and wherein the third n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the third 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers ([Fig. 21A] any one out of the four 20 MHz subchannels is punctured, resulting in at least three configurations (three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the PPDU); [0258]-[0259], [Table 15] also show different configurations for an RU with 484-tones and 242-tones [Fig. 7] third allocation pattern is when CH4 745 is punctured, where CH1 715/CH2 725 is the third 484-tone RU located in the first and second 20MHz subchannels, and CH3 735 is the third n-tone RU located in the third 20 MHz subchannel).
Gan and Chen are considered analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of allocating RUs. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gan to include the teachings of Chen where different channels are punctured. The rationale behind this would be to enable the wireless communication protocols to add new features and greater bandwidth support compared to legacy wireless communication protocols ([0062] Chen).
Regarding claim 21, Gan teaches
A method in a wireless Local Area Network (LAN), the method comprising ([0110] and [Fig. 2] WLAN which embodies the system):
generating, by a transmitting station (STA), an extremely high throughput (EHT) Physical Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) ([0023] and [Fig. 5] first frame is the downlink PPDU including a EHT signaling field, and is transmitted on a bandwidth corresponding to the first frame (first band) from the AP (transmitting STA)); [0037] downlink PPDU is generated; and
transmitting, by the transmitting STA, the EHT PPDU to a receiving STA ([0023] and [Fig. 5] first frame is the downlink PPDU including a EHT signaling field, and is transmitted on a bandwidth corresponding to the first frame (first band) from the AP (transmitting STA)),
wherein the EHT PPDU includes a data field ([0142]-[0143] PPDU includes a data field),
Gan does not explicitly teach wherein for a non-orthogonal frequency division multiple access (non-OFDMA) 80 MHz PPDU, a 484+n-tone multiple resource unit (MRU) is only defined based on a 20 MHz subchannel being punctured,
wherein the 484+n-tone MRU is obtained by combining a 484-tone resource unit (RU) and a n-tone RU which is less than the 484-tone RU in the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU,
wherein data subcarriers of the 484+n-tone MRU in the data field consist of a union of data subcarriers of the 484-tone RU and the n-tone RU that make up the 484+n-tone MRU,
wherein three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU,
wherein a first type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a first allocation pattern in which a first n-tone RU is located in a first 20 MHz subchannel and a first 484-tone RU not being contiguous to the first n-tone RU is located in third and fourth 20 MHz subchannels, and wherein the first n-tone RU does not overlap null subcarriers, and the first 484-tone RU does not overlap direct current (DC) subcarriers,
wherein a second type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a second allocation pattern in which a second 484-tone RU is located in the first 20 MHz channel and a second 20 MHz channel and a second n-tone RU not being contiguous to the 484-tone RU is located in the fourth 20 MHz subchannel, and wherein the second n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the second 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers, and
wherein a third type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a third allocation pattern in which a third 484-tone RU is located in the first and second 20 MHz subchannels and a third n-tone RU being located after the 484-tone RU is located in the third 20 MHz subchannel, and wherein the third n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the third 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers.
However, Chen does teach wherein for a non-orthogonal frequency division multiple access (non-OFDMA) 80 MHz PPDU, a 484+n-tone multiple resource unit (MRU) is only defined based on a 20 MHz subchannel being punctured ([0025], [0089], [0258]-[0259], [Table 15], [Fig. 7] and [Fig. 12A] non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU with 20 MHz subchannels, where one of the 20 MHz subchannels is punctured to make one 20 MHz 242 tone (n-tone) and one 40 MHz subchannel (two combined 20 MHz subchannels) 484 tone),
wherein the 484+n-tone MRU is obtained by combining a 484-tone resource unit (RU) and a n-tone RU which is less than the 484-tone RU in the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU ([0025], [0089], [0258]-[0259], [Table 15], [Fig. 7] and [Fig. 12A] non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU with 20 MHz subchannels, where one of the 20 MHz subchannels is punctured to make one 40 MHz subchannel (two combined 20 MHz subchannels) 484 tone and one 20 MHz 242 tone (n-tone which is less than the 484 tone)),
wherein data subcarriers of the 484+n-tone MRU in the data field consist of a union of data subcarriers of the 484-tone RU and the n-tone RU that make up the 484+n-tone MRU ([0025], [0089], [Fig. 7] and [Fig. 12A] non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU with 20 MHz subchannels, where one of the 20 MHz subchannels is punctured to make one 20 MHz 242 tone (n-tone) and one 40 MHz subchannel (two combined 20 MHz subchannels) 484 tone; [0087]-[0088] each RU/PPDU includes a different quantity of subcarriers (union of data subcarriers to make up the 484+n-tone MRU)),
wherein three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU ([Fig. 21A] any one out of the four 20 MHz subchannels is punctured, resulting in at least three configurations (three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the PPDU); [0258]-[0259], [Table 15] also show different configurations for an RU with 484-tones and 242-tones),
wherein a first type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a first allocation pattern in which a first n-tone RU is located in a first 20 MHz subchannel and a first 484-tone RU not being contiguous to the first n-tone RU is located in third and fourth 20 MHz subchannels, and wherein the first n-tone RU does not overlap null subcarriers, and the first 484-tone RU does not overlap direct current (DC) subcarriers ([Fig. 21A] any one out of the four 20 MHz subchannels is punctured, resulting in at least three configurations (three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the PPDU); [0258]-[0259], [Table 15] also show different configurations for an RU with 484-tones and 242-tones; [Fig. 7] first allocation pattern is when CH2 725 is punctured, where CH1 715 is the first n-tone RU located in the first 20MHz subchannel, and CH3 735/CH4 745 are the first 484-tone RU not contiguous to the first n-tone and located in the third and fourth 20 MHz subchannels, with the gap being the CH2 725 20 MHz subchannel being punctured),
wherein a second type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a second allocation pattern in which a second 484-tone RU is located in the first 20 MHz channel and a second 20 MHz channel and a second n-tone RU not being contiguous to the 484-tone RU is located in the fourth 20 MHz subchannel, and wherein the second n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the second 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers ([Fig. 21A] any one out of the four 20 MHz subchannels is punctured, resulting in at least three configurations (three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the PPDU); [0258]-[0259], [Table 15] also show different configurations for an RU with 484-tones and 242-tones; [Fig. 7] second allocation pattern is when CH3 735 is punctured, where CH1 715/CH2 725 is the second 484-tone RU located in the first and second 20MHz subchannels, and CH4 745 is the second n-tone RU not contiguous to the second 484-tone and located in the fourth 20 MHz subchannel, with the gap being the CH3 735 20 MHz subchannel being punctured), and
wherein a third type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a third allocation pattern in which a third 484-tone RU is located in the first and second 20 MHz subchannels and a third n-tone RU being located after the 484-tone RU is located in the third 20 MHz subchannel, and wherein the third n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the third 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers ([Fig. 21A] any one out of the four 20 MHz subchannels is punctured, resulting in at least three configurations (three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the PPDU); [0258]-[0259], [Table 15] also show different configurations for an RU with 484-tones and 242-tones [Fig. 7] third allocation pattern is when CH4 745 is punctured, where CH1 715/CH2 725 is the third 484-tone RU located in the first and second 20MHz subchannels, and CH3 735 is the third n-tone RU located in the third 20 MHz subchannel).
Gan and Chen are considered analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of allocating RUs. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gan to include the teachings of Chen where different channels are punctured. The rationale behind this would be to enable the wireless communication protocols to add new features and greater bandwidth support compared to legacy wireless communication protocols ([0062] Chen).
Regarding claim 22, Gan modified by Chen teaches The method of claim 21, as is described above.
Gan further teaches wherein the null subcarriers are located in a middle of the first and second 20 MHz subchannels and the null subcarriers are located in a middle of the third and fourth 20 MHz subchannels ([Fig. 16A]-[Fig. 16C] null subcarriers are located in between each of the the 20 MHz subchannels),
Gan does not explicitly teach wherein a band of the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU includes the first to fourth 20 MHz subchannels,
wherein the first to fourth 20 MHz subchannels are arranged in order of frequency from lowest to highest,
wherein the 484-tone RU is an RU consisting of 484 tones.
However, Chen does teach wherein a band of the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU includes the first to fourth 20 MHz subchannels ([0025], [0089], [Fig. 7] and [Fig. 12A] non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU with four 20 MHz subchannels),
wherein the first to fourth 20 MHz subchannels are arranged in order of frequency from lowest to highest ([0133] and [Fig. 7] the 80 MHz bandwidth is divided into four 20 MHz subchannels, where they are referenced from the lowest to the highest frequency),
wherein the 484-tone RU is an RU consisting of 484 tones ([0258]-[0259] and [Table 15] shows multiple configurations of an RU consisting of 484 tones in an 80 MHz segment).
Gan and Chen are considered analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of allocating RUs. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gan to include the teachings of Chen where different configurations for an RU are used. The rationale behind this would be to enable the wireless communication protocols to add new features and greater bandwidth support compared to legacy wireless communication protocols ([0062] Chen).
Regarding claim 23, Gan modified by Chen teaches The method of claim 22, as is described above.
Gan does not explicitly teach wherein the EHT PPDU further includes a universal signal (U-SIG) field and an EHT signal (EHT-SIG) field,
wherein the U-SIG field includes two contiguous symbols,
wherein the U-SIG field includes version independent bits and version dependent bits being contiguous to the version independent bits,
wherein the version independent bits include 3 bit information related to a physical version of the EHT PPDU, 1 bit information related to an uplink/downlink (UL/DL) direction, a transmission opportunity (TXOP) information related to a TXOP duration, and a basic service set (BSS) color information related to a BSS identifier,
wherein the EHT-SIG field includes a common field related to resource unit (RU) information.
However, Chen does teach wherein the EHT PPDU further includes a universal signal (U-SIG) field and an EHT signal (EHT-SIG) field ([Fig. 4] shows an example of a PDU with a U-SIG field 416 and an EHT-SIG field 418),
wherein the U-SIG field includes two contiguous symbols ([Fig. 4] U-SIG field 416 contains contiguous symbols 442 and 444),
wherein the U-SIG field includes version independent bits and version dependent bits being contiguous to the version independent bits ([Fig. 4] the U-SIG field 416 contains version independent fields 442 contiguous to version dependent fields 444),
wherein the version independent bits include 3 bit information related to a physical version of the EHT PPDU, 1 bit information related to an uplink/downlink (UL/DL) direction, a transmission opportunity (TXOP) information related to a TXOP duration, and a basic service set (BSS) color information related to a BSS identifier ([0083], [0114]-[0115], [Table 1] and [Fig. 4] version independent fields 442 may include a version identifier (information related to a physical version of the EHT PPDU) that is 3 bits, an indication of whether the PDU is an UL or DL PPDU that is 1 bit, a BSS color, and TxOP duration),
wherein the EHT-SIG field includes a common field related to resource unit (RU) information ([Fig. 4] EHT-SIG field includes common field 462/466).
Gan and Chen are considered analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of allocating RUs. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gan to include the teachings of Chen where the PPDU includes a U-SIG and an EHT-SIG. The rationale behind this would be to enable the wireless communication protocols to add new features and greater bandwidth support compared to legacy wireless communication protocols ([0062] Chen).
Regarding claim 24, Gan teaches
A transmitting station (STA) in a wireless Local Area Network (LAN), the transmitting STA comprising ([Fig. 5] AP is transmitting station):
a memory ([0060] AP includes memory);
a transceiver ([0060] AP includes transceiver); and
a processor operatively coupled to the memory and the transceiver ([0060] AP includes memory coupled to the memory and the transceiver),
wherein the processor is configured to ([0060] processor executes instructions stored on memory):
generate an extremely high throughput (EHT) Physical Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) ([0023] and [Fig. 5] first frame is the downlink PPDU including a EHT signaling field at AP; [0037] downlink PPDU is generated); and
transmit the EHT PPDU to a receiving STA ([0023] and [Fig. 5] first frame is the downlink PPDU including a EHT signaling field, and is transmitted on a bandwidth corresponding to the first frame (first band) from the AP (transmitting STA)); [0037] downlink PPDU is generated),
wherein the EHT PPDU includes a data field ([0142]-[0143] PPDU includes a data field),
Gan does not explicitly teach wherein for a non-orthogonal frequency division multiple access (non-OFDMA) 80 MHz PPDU, a 484+n-tone multiple resource unit (MRU) is only defined based on a 20 MHz subchannel being punctured,
wherein the 484+n-tone MRU is obtained by combining a 484-tone resource unit (RU) and a n-tone RU which is less than the 484-tone RU in the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU,
wherein data subcarriers of the 484+n-tone MRU in the data field consist of a union of data subcarriers of the 484-tone RU and the n-tone RU that make up the 484+n-tone MRU,
wherein three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU,
wherein a first type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a first allocation pattern in which a first n-tone RU is located in a first 20 MHz subchannel and a first 484-tone RU not being contiguous to the first n-tone RU is located in third and fourth 20 MHz subchannels, and wherein the first n-tone RU does not overlap null subcarriers, and the first 484-tone RU does not overlap direct current (DC) subcarriers,
wherein a second type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a second allocation pattern in which a second 484-tone RU is located in the first 20 MHz channel and a second 20 MHz channel and a second n-tone RU not being contiguous to the 484-tone RU is located in the fourth 20 MHz subchannel, and wherein the second n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the second 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers, and
wherein a third type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a third allocation pattern in which a third 484-tone RU is located in the first and second 20 MHz subchannels and a third n-tone RU being located after the 484-tone RU is located in the third 20 MHz subchannel, and wherein the third n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the third 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers.
However, Chen does teach wherein for a non-orthogonal frequency division multiple access (non-OFDMA) 80 MHz PPDU, a 484+n-tone multiple resource unit (MRU) is only defined based on a 20 MHz subchannel being punctured ([0025], [0089], [0258]-[0259], [Table 15], [Fig. 7] and [Fig. 12A] non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU with 20 MHz subchannels, where one of the 20 MHz subchannels is punctured to make one 20 MHz 242 tone (n-tone) and one 40 MHz subchannel (two combined 20 MHz subchannels) 484 tone),
wherein the 484+n-tone MRU is obtained by combining a 484-tone resource unit (RU) and a n-tone RU which is less than the 484-tone RU in the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU ([0025], [0089], [0258]-[0259], [Table 15], [Fig. 7] and [Fig. 12A] non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU with 20 MHz subchannels, where one of the 20 MHz subchannels is punctured to make one 40 MHz subchannel (two combined 20 MHz subchannels) 484 tone and one 20 MHz 242 tone (n-tone which is less than the 484 tone)),
wherein data subcarriers of the 484+n-tone MRU in the data field consist of a union of data subcarriers of the 484-tone RU and the n-tone RU that make up the 484+n-tone MRU ([0025], [0089], [Fig. 7] and [Fig. 12A] non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU with 20 MHz subchannels, where one of the 20 MHz subchannels is punctured to make one 20 MHz 242 tone (n-tone) and one 40 MHz subchannel (two combined 20 MHz subchannels) 484 tone; [0087]-[0088] each RU/PPDU includes a different quantity of subcarriers (union of data subcarriers to make up the 484+n-tone MRU)),
wherein three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the non-OFDMA 80 MHz PPDU ([Fig. 21A] any one out of the four 20 MHz subchannels is punctured, resulting in at least three configurations (three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the PPDU); [0258]-[0259], [Table 15] also show different configurations for an RU with 484-tones and 242-tones),
wherein a first type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a first allocation pattern in which a first n-tone RU is located in a first 20 MHz subchannel and a first 484-tone RU not being contiguous to the first n-tone RU is located in third and fourth 20 MHz subchannels, and wherein the first n-tone RU does not overlap null subcarriers, and the first 484-tone RU does not overlap direct current (DC) subcarriers ([Fig. 21A] any one out of the four 20 MHz subchannels is punctured, resulting in at least three configurations (three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the PPDU); [0258]-[0259], [Table 15] also show different configurations for an RU with 484-tones and 242-tones; [Fig. 7] first allocation pattern is when CH2 725 is punctured, where CH1 715 is the first n-tone RU located in the first 20MHz subchannel, and CH3 735/CH4 745 are the first 484-tone RU not contiguous to the first n-tone and located in the third and fourth 20 MHz subchannels, with the gap being the CH2 725 20 MHz subchannel being punctured),
wherein a second type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a second allocation pattern in which a second 484-tone RU is located in the first 20 MHz channel and a second 20 MHz channel and a second n-tone RU not being contiguous to the 484-tone RU is located in the fourth 20 MHz subchannel, and wherein the second n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the second 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers ([Fig. 21A] any one out of the four 20 MHz subchannels is punctured, resulting in at least three configurations (three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the PPDU); [0258]-[0259], [Table 15] also show different configurations for an RU with 484-tones and 242-tones; [Fig. 7] second allocation pattern is when CH3 735 is punctured, where CH1 715/CH2 725 is the second 484-tone RU located in the first and second 20MHz subchannels, and CH4 745 is the second n-tone RU not contiguous to the second 484-tone and located in the fourth 20 MHz subchannel, with the gap being the CH3 735 20 MHz subchannel being punctured), and
wherein a third type of a 484+n-tone MRU is related to a third allocation pattern in which a third 484-tone RU is located in the first and second 20 MHz subchannels and a third n-tone RU being located after the 484-tone RU is located in the third 20 MHz subchannel, and wherein the third n-tone RU does not overlap the null subcarriers, and the third 484-tone RU does not overlap the DC subcarriers ([Fig. 21A] any one out of the four 20 MHz subchannels is punctured, resulting in at least three configurations (three types of 484+n-tone MRUs are allowed in the PPDU); [0258]-[0259], [Table 15] also show different configurations for an RU with 484-tones and 242-tones; [Fig. 7] third allocation pattern is when CH4 745 is punctured, where CH1 715/CH2 725 is the third 484-tone RU located in the first and second 20MHz subchannels, and CH3 735 is the third n-tone RU located in the third 20 MHz subchannel; [Fig. 7] the channels CH2 725 (first gap when punctured) and CH3 735 (second gap when punctured) are both 20 MHz subchannels of the same size).
Gan and Chen are considered analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of allocating RUs. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gan to include the teachings of Chen where different channels are punctured. The rationale behind this would be to enable the wireless communication protocols to add new features and greater bandwidth support compared to legacy wireless communication protocols ([0062] Chen).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478