DETAILED ACTION
I. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
II. A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on March 5, 2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
III. Claim 1-2, 7-8, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jheng et al. (US 2014/0220981 A1) in view of Dhanapal et al. (US 2020/0304984 A1); Zetterberg et al. (US 10,555,261 B2); and Wei et al. (US 2018/0176834 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Jheng teaches an apparatus, comprising: a processor; a memory; and communication circuitry (see paragraph [0025] and Fig. 2), wherein the apparatus communicates with a first network (network #1 via SIM 1) and a second network (network #2 via SIM 2) via the communication circuitry (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2); and computer-executable instructions stored in the memory which, when executed by the processor, (see paragraph [0026] and Fig. 2) cause the apparatus to: form a first connection with the first network, the first connection being a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection (see paragraphs [0023] & [0030] and Fig. 1, The DSDS UE having two SIM cards uses SIM 1 to establish an RRC connection with a network, wherein the network is a first network. This reads on form a first connection with the first network, the first connection being a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection); determine to switch from the first network to the second network (see paragraphs [0030] & [0031] and Fig. 1 & Fig. 4, The trigger condition is based on upcoming activity for the UE to access a second network registered by SIM2. After detecting the trigger condition the UE sends a signaling connection release indication (SCRI) to the first network. This indicates that the UE is requesting a switch from the first network to the second network and reads on determine to switch from the first network to the second network); and send, to the first network, assistance information pertaining to releasing or suspending the first connection (see paragraph [0031] and Fig. 1 & Fig. 4, After detecting the trigger condition the UE sends a signaling connection release indication (SCRI) to the first network. The SCRI comprises a cause of UE requested PS suspension. Upon receiving the SCRI, the network decides to release the RRC connection. This reads on send, to the first network, assistance information pertaining to releasing or suspending the first connection).
Jheng does not teach a time value for use by a timer upon whose expiry the connection with the first network is to be released; wherein the switch comprises forming a second connection with the second network, the second network being an RRC connection; upon expiry of a timer set to a time value, release the first connection with the first network; and establish a new RRC connection or resume an RRC existing connection with the second network.
Dhanapal teaches a time value for use by a timer upon whose expiry the connection with the first network is to be released (see paragraphs [0081] – [0082], A timer is initiated, wherein upon expiration of the timer, the first connection with the first network may be released. The timer inherently has a time value as indicated by the time expiring. This reads on a time value for use by a timer upon whose expiry the connection with the first network is to be released); forming a second connection with the second network, the second network being an RRC connection (see paragraphs [0080] & [0086], A second connection may be initiated with a second network entity using the second SIM. For example, a PS data session may be established with the second network using a second RRC connection. This reads on forming a second connection with the second network, the second network being an RRC connection); upon expiry of a timer set to a time value, release the first connection with the first network (see paragraphs [0081] – [0082], A timer may be initiated in response to initiating the second connection. The timer being initiated inherently includes a time value used by the timer. The first connection may be maintained until the timer expires. Upon expiration of the timer, the first connection with the first network entity may be released. This reads on upon expiry of a timer set to a time value, release the first connection with the first network); and establish a new RRC connection or resume an RRC existing connection with the second network (see paragraphs [0080]; [0082]; & [0086], A second connection may be initiated with a second network entity using the second SIM. For example, a PS data session may be established with the second network using a second RRC connection. This reads on establish a new RRC connection or resume an RRC existing connection with the second network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the switch in Jheng adapt to include forming a second connection with the second network, the second network being an RRC connection; upon expiry of a timer set to a time value, release the first connection with the first network; and establish a new RRC connection or resume an RRC existing connection with the second network because this would allow for more effective and efficient operation of UEs utilizing multiple subscriber identity modules (see Dhanapal, paragraph [0002]).
The Jheng and Dhanapal combination do not teach receive, from the first network, information indicative of a configuration comprising a time value.
Zetterberg teaches receive, from the first network, information indicative of a configuration comprising a time value (see col. 5, lines 55-60, A first network node is configured to send a retention configuration to the user equipment. The retention configuration may comprise a retention timer value. This reads on receive, from the first network, information indicative of a configuration comprising a time value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Jheng and Dhanapal combination adapt to include receiving, from the first network, information indicative of a configuration comprising a time value because it would allow for a well-known and efficient mechanism for setting the timer in the Jheng and Dhanapal combination.
Jheng, Dhanapal, and Zetterberg do not teach the wherein the assistance information comprises an indication that a preferred RRC state of the apparatus is idle or inactive.
Wei teaches wherein the assistance information comprises an indication that a preferred RRC state of the apparatus is idle or active (see paragraph [0053], The UE sends an message to the network that includes assistance information of the UE. The assistance information of the UE can indicate that the preferred state is the RRC IDLE state. This reads on wherein the assistance information comprises an indication that a preferred RRC state of the apparatus is idle or active).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the information Jheng, Dhanapal, and Zetterberg adapt to include wherein the assistance information comprises an indication that a preferred RRC state of the apparatus is idle or active because the information in Wei can be incorporated into the information sent to the network in Jheng using well-known techniques and it would allow for improved communication of information when transitioning from one network to another (see Wei above).
Regarding claim 2 Jheng teaches the assistance information pertains to releasing or suspending the first connection, and the instructions further cause the apparatus to: receive a response to the assistance information, the response comprising an indication to release or suspend the first connection; and based on the response, release or suspend the connection (see paragraph [0031] and Fig. 1 & Fig. 4, After detecting the trigger condition the UE sends a signaling connection release indication (SCRI) to the first network. The SCRI comprises a cause of UE requested PS suspension. Upon receiving the SCRI, the network decides to release the RRC connection. If the network decides to release the RRC connection, the network sends a RRC connection release message to UE to release the RRC connection. This reads on the assistance information pertains to releasing or suspending the first connection, and the instructions further cause the apparatus to: receive a response to the assistance information, the response comprising an indication to release or suspend the first connection; and based on the response, release or suspend the connection); and Dhanapal teaches establishing the second connection (see paragraphs [0080] & [0086], A second connection may be initiated with a second network entity using the second SIM. For example, a PS data session may be established with the second network using a second RRC connection. This reads on establishing the second connection).
Regarding claim 7 Jheng teaches wherein the assistance information is Release Assistance Information (RAI) (see paragraph [0031], The signaling connection release indication (SCRI) used to determine whether a RRC connection is released reads on wherein the assistance information is Release Assistance Information (RAI)).
Regarding claim 8 Jheng teaches the apparatus sending, to the first network, assistance information comprising the RAI and release information (see paragraph [0031], The signaling connection release indication (SCRI) reads on sending, to the first network, assistance information comprising the RAI and release information) and release preference information, the release preference information comprising an indication of whether a preferred Radio Resource Control state of the apparatus is idle or is inactive (see paragraph [0053], The assistance information of the UE may contain a preferred RRC state from the UE. The assistance information of the UE indicates the preferred RRC state is the RRC IDLE state. This reads on release preference information comprising an indication of whether a preferred Radio Resource Control state of the apparatus is idle or is inactive).
Regarding claim 21 Jheng teaches a method performed by an apparatus (see paragraph [0025] and Fig. 2), the method comprising: forming a first connection with the first network, the first connection being a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection (see paragraphs [0023] & [0030] and Fig. 1, The DSDS UE having two SIM cards uses SIM 1 to establish an RRC connection with a network, wherein the network is a first network. This reads on forming a first connection with the first network, the first connection being a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection); determining to switch from the first network to the second network (see paragraphs [0030] & [0031] and Fig. 1 & Fig. 4, The trigger condition is based on upcoming activity for the UE to access a second network registered by SIM2. After detecting the trigger condition the UE sends a signaling connection release indication (SCRI) to the first network. This indicates that the UE is requesting a switch from the first network to the second network and reads on determining to switch from the first network to the second network); and sending, to the first network, assistance information pertaining to releasing or suspending the first connection (see paragraph [0031] and Fig. 1 & Fig. 4, After detecting the trigger condition the UE sends a signaling connection release indication (SCRI) to the first network. The SCRI comprises a cause of UE requested PS suspension. Upon receiving the SCRI, the network decides to release the RRC connection. This reads on sending, to the first network, assistance information pertaining to releasing or suspending the first connection).
Jheng does not teach a time value for use by a timer upon whose expiry the connection with the first network is to be released; wherein the switch comprises forming a second connection with the second network, the second network being an RRC connection; upon expiry of a timer set to a time value, releasing the first connection with the first network; and establish a new RRC connection or resume an RRC existing connection with the second network.
Dhanapal teaches a time value for use by a timer upon whose expiry the connection with the first network is to be released (see paragraphs [0081] – [0082], A timer is initiated, wherein upon expiration of the timer, the first connection with the first network may be released. The timer inherently has a time value as indicated by the time expiring. This reads on a time value for use by a timer upon whose expiry the connection with the first network is to be released); forming a second connection with the second network, the second network being an RRC connection (see paragraphs [0080] & [0086], A second connection may be initiated with a second network entity using the second SIM. For example, a PS data session may be established with the second network using a second RRC connection. This reads on forming a second connection with the second network, the second network being an RRC connection); upon expiry of a timer set to a time value, releasing the first connection with the first network (see paragraphs [0081] – [0082], A timer may be initiated in response to initiating the second connection. The timer being initiated inherently includes a time value used by the timer. The first connection may be maintained until the timer expires. Upon expiration of the timer, the first connection with the first network entity may be released. This reads on upon expiry of a timer set to a time value, releasing the first connection with the first network); and establish a new RRC connection or resume an RRC existing connection with the second network (see paragraphs [0080]; [0082]; & [0086], A second connection may be initiated with a second network entity using the second SIM. For example, a PS data session may be established with the second network using a second RRC connection. This reads on establish a new RRC connection or resume an RRC existing connection with the second network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the switch in Jheng adapt to include forming a second connection with the second network, the second network being an RRC connection; upon expiry of a timer set to a time value, release the first connection with the first network; and establish a new RRC connection or resume an RRC existing connection with the second network because this would allow for more effective and efficient operation of UEs utilizing multiple subscriber identity modules (see Dhanapal, paragraph [0002]).
The Jheng and Dhanapal combination do not teach receiving, from the first network, information indicative of a configuration comprising a time value.
Zetterberg teaches receiving, from the first network, information indicative of a configuration comprising a time value (see col. 5, lines 55-60, A first network node is configured to send a retention configuration to the user equipment. The retention configuration may comprise a retention timer value. This reads on receiving, from the first network, information indicative of a configuration comprising a time value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Jheng and Dhanapal combination adapt to include receiving, from the first network, information indicative of a configuration comprising a time value because it would allow for a well-known and efficient mechanism for setting the timer in the Jheng and Dhanapal combination.
Jheng, Dhanapal, and Zetterberg do not teach the wherein the assistance information comprises an indication that a preferred RRC state of the apparatus is idle or inactive.
Wei teaches wherein the assistance information comprises an indication that a preferred RRC state of the apparatus is idle or active (see paragraph [0053], The UE sends an message to the network that includes assistance information of the UE. The assistance information of the UE can indicate that the preferred state is the RRC IDLE state. This reads on wherein the assistance information comprises an indication that a preferred RRC state of the apparatus is idle or active).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the information Jheng, Dhanapal, and Zetterberg adapt to include wherein the assistance information comprises an indication that a preferred RRC state of the apparatus is idle or active because the information in Wei can be incorporated into the information sent to the network in Jheng using well-known techniques and it would allow for improved communication of information when transitioning from one network to another (see Wei above).
IV. Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jheng et al. (US 2014/0220981 A1) in view of Dhanapal et al. (US 2020/0304984 A1); Zetterberg et al. (US 10,555,261 B2); Wei et al. (US 2018/0176834 A1); and Ryu (US 2019/0364541 A1).
Regarding claim 9 Jheng, Dhanapal, Zetterberg, and Wei teach the apparatus of claim 8 except for wherein the assistance information further comprises paging preference information comprising a preferred apparatus identifier, an indication of one or more paging causes for which the apparatus is interested in receiving a paging message, an indication of one or more paging causes for which the apparatus is not interested in receiving a paging message, or an indication of a time during which the apparatus does not monitor paging.
Ryu teaches wherein the assistance information further comprises paging preference information comprising a preferred apparatus identifier (see paragraph [0331], When the UE is in the RRC inactive state, the UE monitors the paging using UE’s CN and RAN identifier. This reads on wherein the assistance information further comprises paging preference information comprising a preferred apparatus identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Jheng, Dhanapal, Zetterberg, and Wei combination adapt to include wherein the assistance information further comprises paging preference information comprising a preferred apparatus identifier because it would allow for a well-known mechanism for monitoring paging (see Ryu, above).
Regarding claim 10 Ryu teaches causing the apparatus to monitor for paging from the first network, during a Paging Occasion (PO) and a paging frame based on a preferred User Equipment (UE) identifier (see paragraph [0331], When the UE is in the RRC inactive state, the UE monitors the paging using UE’s CN and RAN identifier. The time when UE monitors paging is considered a Paging Occasion (PO) and this reads on causing the apparatus to monitor for paging from the first network, during a Paging Occasion (PO) and a paging frame based on a preferred User Equipment (UE) identifier).
V. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jheng et al. (US 2014/0220981 A1) in view of Dhanapal et al. (US 2020/0304984 A1); Zetterberg et al. (US 10,555,261 B2); Wei et al. (US 2018/0176834 A1); and Tseng et al. (US 2020/0107236 A1).
Regarding claim 20 Jheng; Dhanapal; Zetterberg; and Wei teach the apparatus of claim 1 including the apparatus is a User Equipment (UE) (see Jheng, paragraphs [0023] & [0031] and Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) and except for the assistance information is sent via an RRC UEAssistanceInformation message.
Tseng teaches assistance information sent via an RRC UEAssistanceInformation message (see paragraph [0071], The UE may transit UE Assistance information (UEAsstainceInformation) and this reads on assistance information sent via an RRC UEAssistanceInformation message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the assistance information in the Jheng; Dhanapal; Zetterberg; and Wei combination adapt to include being sent via an RRC UEAssistanceInformation message because the RRC UEAssistanceInformation is well-known method for communicating information to network (see Tseng above).
Response to Arguments
VI. Applicant's arguments filed December 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1 applicant argues that Jheng, Dhanapal, Zetterberg, Wei, and Tseng do not teach “receive, from the first network, information indicative of a configuration comprising a time value for use by a timer upon whose expiry the connection with the first network is to be released”.
The examiner disagrees.
The combination of Jheng, Dhanapal, Zetterberg, Wei, and Tseng teaches “receive, from the first network, information indicative of a configuration comprising a time value for use by a timer upon whose expiry the connection with the first network is to be released” as claimed.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Dhanapal teaches a time value for use by a timer upon whose expiry the connection with the first network is to be released (see paragraphs [0081] – [0082]). A timer is initiated, wherein upon expiration of the timer, the first connection with the first network may be released. The timer inherently has a time value as indicated by the timer starting and the time expiring. This reads on a time value for use by a timer upon whose expiry the connection with the first network is to be released.
Zetterberg is being used merely to show that information indicative of a configuration comprising a time value can be received from a first network (see Zetterberg, col. 5, lines 55-60). A first network node is configured to send a retention configuration to the user equipment. The retention configuration may comprise a retention timer value. This reads on receive, from the first network, information indicative of a configuration comprising a time value.
The combination of Jheng, Dhanapal, Zetterberg, Wei, and Tseng reads on the limitation as claimed.
Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection under the combination of Jheng, Dhanapal, Zetterberg, Wei, and Tseng will remain for the reasons given above.
Conclusion
VII. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRANDON J MILLER whose telephone number is (571)272-7869. The examiner can normally be reached M-F.
/BRANDON J MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
March 20, 2026