DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments and amendments, filed on 11/10/25, have been fully considered but they do not confer patentability on the instantly filed claims. Independent claims 1 and 8 have been amended such that in Formulae 1-3, one of R1 and R2 is an (un)substituted carbazolyl group and [the other] one of R1 and R2 is hydrogen or an (un)substituted diphenylamino group, or one of R1 and R2 is hydrogen, and [the other] one of R1 and R2 is an (un)substituted diphenylamino group. Applicants have also canceled claim 20. Applicants amendments have overcome the previous prior art rejections in the non-final action, but further search has led to new prior art rejections as described below. Additionally, Applicants amendments have raised new 112(d) rejections as described below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to. The limitation “and another one” as it appears twice in claims 1 and 8 should be amended to “the other one” for better clarity.
Claims 6, 16, and 17 are objected to. The limitation “selected from a group consisting of following” as it appears in each of claims 6, 16, and 17 should be amended to “selected from the group consisting of the following” for better clarity. Additionally, the word “and” should be inserted between the last two structures of claims 6, 16, and 17 for better clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The compounds
and
as recited in claims 6, 16, and 17, fail to further limit claim 1, which does not allow for R1 and R2 to be the same as each other. This rejection also applied to claims 7, 18, and 19, which all recite that R1 and R2 are the same as each other. Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. (Chem. Commun. 2000, 133-134).
Claims 1-4, 6, 12, 13, 16, and 17: Watanabe et al. teaches the compound
(entry 2 of Table 1). This compound anticipates Formula 1 of claim 1 with either R1 and R2 equal to hydrogen and the other of R1 and R2 equal to an unsubstituted diphenylamino group. Additionally, this compound anticipates Formula 1-1 of claim 2, Formula 1-2 of claim 3, the first structure of claim 4. The compound above is identical to the first compound shown in claim 6. The rejection of claims 12, 13, 16, and 17 are also anticipated by the compound shown above.
Claims 5, 14, and 15: Claims 5, 14, and 15 serve to further limit the optional embodiment where the compound of claim 1 satisfies Formula 3. Because claims 5, 14, and 15 serve to further limit an optional embodiment, Watanabe et al. may be properly relied upon to reject claims 5, 14, and 15, despite not teaching a compound of Formula 3.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shao et al. (CN-111410640). Copies of the original and a machine translation are included with this Office action.
Shao et al. teaches compounds which are employed as hole injection or hole transport materials in organic light-emitting diodes which comprise an anode, a hole transport region comprising a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer, an emission layer, an electron transport region, and a cathode. The explicitly taught compounds of Shao et al. are taught to be effective as hole injection and hole transport materials as shown in the device examples. In one device example, compound 2 of Shao et al., which has the structure
is employed in an organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a hole injection region, an emission layer, an electron transport region, and a cathode as a hole injection layer material. Using the top right thiophene group above, this compound anticipates Formula 1 with one of R1 and R2 being hydrogen and the other of R1 and R2 being a substituted diphenylamino group (any one of the remaining three thiophene groups could also be applied in the same manner as the top right thiophene). Device example (2) of Shao et al. employs compound 2 as a hole injection layer. Therefore, device example (2) of Shao et al. anticipates all of the structural and device limitations of claims 8 and 10. Further, Shao et al. more generally teaches that any one of the explicitly taught compounds may be employed as a hole injection material or a hole transport material. As such, the employment of any one of the explicitly taught compounds of Shao et al., including compound (2) as a hole injection material or as a hole transport material, is at once envisaged, thereby anticipating claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao et al. (CN-111410640) in view of Dai et al. (Adv. Mater. 2017, 29, 1607022) as applied to claim 8 above.
Shao et al. teaches organic light emitting devices where the hole transport region is comprised of a compound which adheres to formula 1 of claim 8 as described above. While Shao et al does not teach that the light emitting devices taught therein are quantum dot light emitting devices as required by claim 11, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare such a light emitting device given the teachings of Dai et al. Shao et al. and Dai et al. are combinable teachings as they are both from the same field of organic electroluminescent devices. Dai et al. teaches in section 2 the unique advantages of quantum dot displays. Dai et al. teaches that compared to OLED displays, QD displays have improved color purity due to their narrow emission linewidths and have low operational voltages and high power conversion efficiencies, and excellent stability. For any one of these reasons, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have prepared a light-emitting device using the hole injection/hole transporting materials taught by Shao et al. wherein the emission layer is a quantum dot light-emission layer. In so doing, the limitations of claim 11 would be satisfied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Robert S Loewe/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766