DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to claim 1 of 12/9/2025 acknowledged and entered.
New claim 18 of 12/9/2025 acknowledged and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pereira (AU 2018298123 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pereira teaches A motorized actuation module for an endoscopic instrument, comprising:
a mounting plate (fig. 1a, element 45, [0034], housing 45 has a flat face with mounting structure 47 attached) configured to be detachably attached to a grasping zone of a handgrip of an endoscope (fig. 1a, element 16, [0035], mounting structure 47 may be engageable with second end 16 of the handle body 10, the handle body portion 16 being considered a zone of the handgrip that may be grasped);
wherein said mounting plate having a bearing surface extended by a heel (fig. 1a, element 45, housing 45 has a thickness direction perpendicular to the mounting face) extending in a direction forming an angle of 90 degrees ± 25° relative to a plane of said bearing surface,
said heel comprising an electromechanical sensor delivering a control signal operable to control movement of said endoscopic instrument (fig. 1a, [0036], data and power cable 52 controls motor 50).
Regarding claim 2, Pereira teaches The motorized actuation module according to claim 1,
wherein a median of said ulnar-palmar bearing surface is extended on an opposite side by a motorized drive block (fig. 1a, element 46, [0035], interior cavity of housing 45), comprising a motorized mechanism of a filiform element (fig. 1a, element 50, [0034], motor 50) for connection with said instrument, a lower end of which opens into a flexible rod (fig. 1a, element 17, [0025], port 17 of endoscope accepts the wire element 42 of the motorized block) of said endoscope to ensure connection with said instrument, said mounting plate further being connected with said handgrip of said endoscope which is flexible.
Regarding claim 5, Pereira teaches The motorized actuation module according to claim 1,
wherein said heel is formed by a protrusion (fig. 1a, element 45, housing shaped to protrude in the direction and hollow to have an internal compartment) having thickness of less than 3 millimeters having, at its end, and a sensor whose actuating surface is defined by a generatrix forming an angle of 90 degrees ± 20° with a longitudinal axis of said handgrip (fig. 1a, element 49, [0035], scope device interface 49 extends perpendicularly to the housing).
Regarding claim 6, Pereira teaches The motorized actuation module according to claim 1,
wherein it further comprises, in a lower part of said ulnar-palmar grasping zone, a drive block (fig. 1a, element 46, [0035], interior cavity 46) comprising a motorized mechanism of a filiform element (fig. 1a, element 50, [0036], motor 50) for connection with said instrument, a lower end of which opens into a flexible rod (fig. 1a, element 17, [0025], port 17 of endoscope accepts the wire element 42 of the motorized block) of said endoscope to provide a connection with said instrument.
Regarding claim 7, Pereira teaches The motorized actuation module according to claim 6,
wherein said drive block has a side actuating button controlling an emergency stop of movement of said instrument (fig. 1a, element 22, [0042], selection toggle 22 may switch on or off the motor 50).
Regarding claim 18, Pereira teaches A motorized actuation module for an endoscopic instrument, comprising:
a mounting plate (fig. 1a, element 45, [0034], housing 45 has a flat face with mounting structure 47 attached) configured to be attached to a grasping zone of a handgrip of an endoscope (fig. 1a, element 16, [0035], mounting structure 47 may be engageable with second end 16 of the handle body 10, the handle body portion 16 being considered a zone of the handgrip that may be grasped), said mounting plate having a bearing surface extended by a heel (fig. 1a, element 45, housing 45 has a thickness direction perpendicular to the mounting face) extending in a direction forming an angle of 90± 250 relative to a plane of said bearing surface, said heel comprising an electromechanical sensor delivering a control signal operable to control movement of said endoscopic instrument;
wherein the grasping zone is a semi-tubular lateral surface of the handgrip that extends between the two transverse front ends of the handgrip so that a palm of a hand is able to surround the grasping zone (fig. 1a, mounting section 38 is between the two ends of the handgrip on the side).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pereira as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamada (US 20150119641 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Pereira teaches The motorized actuation module according to claim 2,
Pereira does not explicitly teach a device comprising a connection of said handgrip of said endoscope comprises an endpiece configured to be inserted into a working channel of said flexible rod of said endoscope.
However, Yamada teaches a device comprising a connection of said handgrip (fig. 1a, element 33, [0062]) of said endoscope comprises an endpiece (fig. 1a, element 36, [0070], insertion cap inserted into the treatment instrument insertion hole) configured to be inserted into a working channel of said flexible rod of said endoscope.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the endoscope of Pereira to include the working channel connection of Yamada in order to better control advancement and retreating of the treatment instrument (Yamada [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, Pereira in view of Yamada teaches The motorized actuation module according to claim 3,
Further, Pereira teaches the device wherein said motorized drive block comprises a motor placed below said endpiece (fig. 1a, element 50).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY TUAN LUU/ Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795