DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species A in the reply filed on 7/1/2025 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 3-5 and 13-17 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species and invention, respectively, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details; specifically, the abstract does not include the technical disclosure that allows the invention to achieve the function currently described in the Abstract (i.e. the structure and/or configuration of the protective cover). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The term “the” in the phrase “the vasculature” on line 1 should be replaced with the term “a” since this is the first time that this feature is being introduced. Commas should be inserted around the phrase “when in the disengaged position” on line 13 in order to be grammatically correct. The term “the” should be inserted before the phrase “protective cover” on line 13 in order to be grammatically correct. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: A comma should be inserted before the term “when” on line 2 in order to be grammatically correct. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: The term “the” in the phrases “the cerebral vessels” and “the treatment” on lines 2-3 should be removed since this is the first time that these vessels and this treatment are being introduced. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claims 1 and 11: Claim 1 recites the phrase “the internal support” on line 13. This phrase lacks proper antecedent basis and it is unclear if it was intended to refer to “the internal guide” introduced on line 4 or was intended to introduce “an internal support”. If the former was intended, then line 13 should be amended because the “protective cover” is a component of the “internal guide” but line 13 is currently written as if the two elements are separate. If the latter was intended, then it is unclear how the “internal support” relates to the “internal guide” and the “protective cover” – that is, is the “internal support” a component of the “internal guide” or not? Based on the disclosure, the former is the intended interpretation; accordingly, this is the interpretation applied for the sake of examination. It is suggested to amend line 13 to recite “[…] allows the internal guide, including the protective cover, to be […]”. Because claim 11 also recites “the internal support”, it is also interpreted as reciting “the internal guide”. Claims 2 and 6-12 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 1.
Re claims 8 and 9: Claims 8 and 9 recite the phrases “the aspiration catheter is 5-8F” and “the aspiration catheter is 6-8F”. Without reciting what feature of the catheter that “F” refers, these claims are indefinite as one of ordinary skill in the art would not recognize whether “F” refers to the French scale or the Shore hardness scale. Based on the disclosure, the “F” refers to the French scale; accordingly, this is the interpretation applied for the sake of examination. It is suggested to amend claims 8 and 9 to recite “the aspiration catheter has a diameter of 5-8 French” and “the aspiration catheter has a diameter of 6-8 French”, respectively.
Re claim 11: Claim 11 recites the phrase “an external diameter of the catheter” on line 3. Since claim 1 already introduces “an external diameter” of the catheter on line 3 but the phrase of claim 11 utilizes the term “an”, it is unclear if the “external diameter” of claim 11 is intended to be the same as or different from that of claim 1. Based on the disclosure, they appear to be the same; accordingly, this is the interpretation applied for the sake of examination. It is suggested to replace the term “an” in the phrase “an external diameter” on line 3 with the term “the”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (PG PUB 2018/0229000).
Re claim 1, Anderson discloses a system (seen in Fig 43-44; it is noted that all reference characters cited below refer to Fig 43-44 unless otherwise noted) for introducing a catheter into the vasculature through a vessel opening VO comprising: a catheter 1010 having an internal diameter (within which the shaft of 1402 resides in Fig 43,44) and external diameter (as seen in Fig 43,44); an internal guide 1402 sized for telescopic movement within the catheter (Para 102), the internal guide for supporting the catheter and protecting a distal tip 1014 of the catheter as the catheter is introduced through a VO (Para 102), the internal guide having: a tapered distal tip (at the distal end of 1402, directed to the right in Fig 43,44) for introducing the system through the VO; and a protective cover 1404 connected to the tapered distal tip extending proximally (as seen in Fig 43,44) and expandable for engagement over the distal tip of the catheter (as seen in Fig 43; Para 102), the protective cover moveable between an engaged position (seen in Fig 43) over the catheter and a disengaged position (seen in Fig 44); wherein selective movement of the internal guide relative to the catheter causes the protective cover to move from the engaged position to the disengaged position and when in the disengaged position allows the internal support and protective cover to be proximally withdrawn through the catheter (Para 102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (PG PUB 2018/0229000).
Re claim 2, Anderson discloses that the protective cover is a plurality of inwardly biased arms (Para 102, “one or more diameter retention elements 1404”) but does not explicitly disclose in the embodiment of Fig 43-44 that the internal guide includes corresponding recesses for receiving the arms in a compressed position. However, the embodiment of Fig 48-49 includes a recess (extending distal from ramp 1410 in Fig 48,49) that receives the arm 1404 in a compressed position (as seen in Fig 49); Anderson teaches that providing a ramp (and thus, the corresponding recess) aides in withdrawing the internal guide through the catheter (Para 105). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the embodiment of Fig 43-44 to include recesses to receive the arms in a compressed position, as taught by the embodiment of Fig 48-49, for the purpose of aiding in the withdrawal of the internal guide through the catheter (Para 105).
Re claim 7, Anderson discloses that the catheter is an aspiration catheter (although Anderson does not explicitly disclose that the catheter 1010 is used for aspiration, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that “an aspiration catheter” does not inherently have any required structural features that render it distinguishable from catheter 1010) having a soft distal tip region (“elastic”, Para 102), but does not explicitly disclose that the catheter has a length sufficient to extend from a radial artery VO to the cerebral vessels for the treatment of ischemic stroke. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the catheter to be of a length sufficient to extend from a radial artery VO to cerebral vessels since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Claim 7 has additionally been rejected with art below.
Re claims 8 and 9, Anderson discloses all the claimed features except explicitly disclosing that the aspiration catheter has a diameter of 5-8 French (as required by claim 8), or more specifically, of 6-8 French (as required by claim 9). However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the catheter to have a diameter of 5-8 French or 6-8 French since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Claims 8 and 9 have been additionally rejected with art below.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (PG PUB 2018/0229000) in view of Barlow (PG PUB 2007/0213687).
Re claim 6, Anderson discloses all the claimed features except that the catheter has a catheter end stop and the internal guide has an internal guide end stop and wherein when the protective cover is in the engaged position, movement of the internal guide end stop towards the catheter end stop causes the protective cover to move to the disengaged position. Barlow, however, teaches a system (Fig 8,9) comprising a catheter 500 (Fig 8) and an internal member 502+400 (Fig 8) comprising a cover 400 for the distal end of the catheter (as seen in Fig 7), wherein the catheter has a catheter end stop 904 (Fig 9) and the internal member has an internal member end stop 900 (Fig 9) and wherein when the cover is in an engaged position (where the cover engages the distal end of the catheter, as seen in Fig 7), movement of the internal member end stop towards the catheter end stop causes the cover to move to a disengaged position (where the cover extends distally away from the distal end of the catheter, as seen in fig 8) (Para 73) for the purpose of limiting the distance that the cover can be extended from the catheter (Para 73). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Anderson to include a catheter end stop and an internal guide end stop, as taught by Barlow, for the purpose of limiting the distance that the protective cover can be extended from the catheter (Para 73).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (PG PUB 2018/0229000) in view of Turjman et al. (PG PUB 2017/0215890).
Re claim 7, Anderson discloses that the catheter has a soft distal tip region (“elastic”, Para 102), but does not explicitly disclose that the catheter is an aspiration catheter having a length sufficient to extend from a radial artery VO to the cerebral vessels for the treatment of ischemic stroke. Turjman, however, teaches an aspiration catheter (Para 32) having a length sufficient to extend from a radial artery VO to cerebral vessels for the treatment of ischemic stroke (Para 105) for the purpose of treating stroke by being able to remove occlusions (Para 32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Anderson’s catheter to be an aspiration catheter having a length sufficient to extend from a radial artery VO to cerebral vessels for the treatment of ischemic stroke, as taught by Turjman, for the purpose of treating stroke by being able to remove occlusions (Para 32).
Re claims 8 and 9, Anderson discloses all the claimed features except explicitly disclosing that the aspiration catheter has a diameter of 5-8 French (as required by claim 8), or more specifically, of 6-8 French (as required by claim 9). Turjman, however, teaches that the catheter has a diameter of 8 French (Para 19,62) for the purpose of being suitable for advancement through the cerebrovasculature to treat stroke (Para 19,62). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Anderson’s catheter to have a diameter of 8 French, as taught by Turjman, for the purpose of being suitable for advancement through the cerebrovasculature to treat stroke (Para 19,62).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (PG PUB 2018/0229000) in view of Fukuoka (PG PUB 2015/0265802).
Re claim 10, Anderson discloses all the claimed features except that the internal guide is hollow and the tapered distal tip includes a through bore allowing the internal guide to ride over a wire. Fukuoka, however, teaches a system (Fig 1) comprising a catheter 40 (Fig 2) and an internal guide 30 (Fig 2), wherein the internal guide is hollow (as seen in Fig 6) and a tapered distal tip 70 (Fig 6) of the internal guide includes a through bore 76 (Fig 6) allowing the internal guide to ride over a wire (Para 84) for the purpose of providing means to aid insertion of the system into the VO and guide the system to the intended site (Para 84). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Anderson to include the internal guide with a through bore such that the internal guide is hollow to allow for riding over a wire, as taught by Fukuoka, for the purpose of providing means to aid insertion of the system into the VO and guide the system to the intended site (Para 84).
Re claims 11 and 12, Anderson discloses all the claimed features except an expandable ring having an internal diameter expandable between an external diameter of the internal support and an external diameter of the catheter (as required by claim 11), wherein the expandable ring is openable (as required by claim 12). Fukuoka, however, teaches a system (Fig 1) comprising a catheter 40 (Fig 2), an internal guide 30 (Fig 2), and an openable, expandable ring 110 (Fig 10) having an internal diameter expandable between an external diameter of the internal guide and an external diameter of the catheter (Para 76,81) for the purpose of reducing the size of the distal end of the catheter so that it can be assembled under a protective cover 80 (Fig 6) of the internal guide (Para 82). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Anderson to include an openable, expandable ring, as taught by Fukuoka, for the purpose of reducing the size of the distal end of the catheter so that it can be assembled under the protective cover of the internal guide (Para 82).
Conclusion
/KAMI A BOSWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783