DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 9/15/2025. Claim 20 has been added. Claims 1-20 are now pending in the application. In light of applicant’s amendments and arguments dated 9/15/2025, the previous claim objections and 35 USC § 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20are objected to because of the following informalities:
It is requested each compound name is recited in the claim, followed by the abbreviation in parentheses in each instance e.g. polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyolefin elastomer (POE), etc. Appropriate correction is required.
It is requested “thermal plastic” is changed to “thermoplastic”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Use of parentheses in Claims 7, 8, 10, and 18 – e.g. (ASTM D2240, DIN ISO 7619-1), etc. – renders the scope of the claim’s indefinite, as it is unclear whether the limitations enclosed in parentheses are optional or required. For the purposes of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as being required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20130026127 to Mängel et al. in view of US20130206770 to Poel et al. and in view of US20100006532 to Lee (as found on the IDS dated 5/10/2022), as evidenced by KRATON® G1651 H Polymer to Kraton Corporation.
Regarding Claims 1, 6, 14, and 15, Mängel teaches a twist-crown closure comprising a polymer-based sealing insert which is not based on PVC [0005] and comprises a closure blank [0014] reading on a vessel closure comprising a closure blank and a sealing element comprising a polymer compound that is PVC-free. Mängel teaches the polymer compound comprising 26% SEBS with 31% styrene content [0032] reading on at least 1% TPS, and a SEBS with styrene content levels between 20% and 40%; a polyolefin [0027] such as ADFLEX® C 200 F [0025], reading on at least one co-PP; wherein the polymer compound has a shore A hardness of between 50 and 90 [Abstract] reading on a Shore A hardness between 30 and 85.
Mängel does not teach a vessel closure that does not contain more than 10% of liquid constituents at 20°C.
However, Poel teaches a polymer compound for seals for use with fat-containing filling materials [Poel, Title] that can comprise SEBS and co-PP [Poel, 0051] and has only amounts of, or more preferably, no (0 weight percent) constituents where are liquid at application temperature [Poel, 0039]. In a preferred embodiment, the material also contains preferably not more than 7% of lubricants [0041].
Mängel and Poel are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely PVC free seals comprising polymer compounds. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to reduce the liquid components to an amount close to zero weight percent as taught by Poel with Mängel’s vessel closure thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
The motivation to avoid liquid ingredients is to stop the migration of constituents of the packaging into the food [Poel, 0005] which is undesirable but also strictly regulated by law [Poel, 0007]
Mängel and Poel are silent regarding the MFR of the polymer compound and do not expressly teach the TPS is a linear SEBS.
However, Lee teaches a retort liner [title] comprising polypropylene copolymers [Lee, 0059] and in a preferred embodiment comprising linear styrenic block copolymers such as KRATON® G1651H that comprise 30% styrene [Lee, 0050].
Mängel and Lee are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely closures comprising polypropylene and SEBS. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute Mängel’s SEBS with the linear copolymer KRATON® G1651 taught by Lee thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
The motivation would have been that it has been held that it is obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); and MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, Lee shows that KRATON® G1651 is known in the art to be suitable for seals comprising polymer compounds. Kraton Corporation further provides evidence that KRATON G1651 H polymer is especially suitable in applications that must withstand weathering and high processing temperatures [Description, KRATON G1651 H Polymer Technical Data Sheet] which would be desirable in a container closure of Mängel that would undergo sterilization at high temperatures.
With respect to the claimed MFR of less than 2.0g/ 10, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Mängel, when modified in the manner proposed above, teaches a composition comprising the same commercially available TPS and co-PP used within the ranges taught by applicant [Instant application, 0058, 0066] prepared by a substantially similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties - i.e. MFR of less than 2.0g/ 10min - would implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Regarding Claim 2, Mängel, Poel, and Lee teach the Vessel closure in claim 1, wherein the polymer compound substantially does not comprise any compounds that correspond to a POE [Mängel, [0025]-[0034]]
Regarding Claim 3, Mängel, Poel, and Lee teach the Vessel closure in claim 1, wherein the polymer compound substantially does not comprise any compounds that correspond to a homo-PP [Mängel, [0025]-[0034].
Regarding Claim 7, Mängel, Poel, and Lee teach the Vessel closure in claim 1, wherein the same TPS is used in instant application, KRATON® G1651 [0056] is used [Lee, 0050]. Kraton Corporation provides evidence that KRATON® G1651 has a Shore A hardness of 60 [KRATON® G1651 H Polymer, [Typical Properties]], reading on a Shore A hardness from 50 to 90 at 23°C.
Regarding Claim 12, Mängel, Poel, and Lee teach the Vessel closure in claim 1, wherein then vessel closure comprises 8% of polyolefin [Mängel, 0027] ADFLEX® C 200 F [0025] reading on the vessel closure comprises 1-80% co-PP.
Regarding Claim 13, Mängel, Poel, and Lee teach the Vessel closure in claim 1, comprising LLDPE polyethylene [Mängel, 0034].
Regarding Claim 16, Mängel, Poel, and Lee teach the Vessel closure in claim 1, wherein the sealing insert is useable under conditions of sterilization [Claim 44].
Regarding Claim 17, Mängel, Poel, and Lee teach the Vessel closure in claim 1, wherein the container closure provides vacuum retention in the closed state [Poel, claim 33] reading on showing vacuum retention.
Regarding Claim 18, Mängel, Poel, and Lee does not teach a compression set of a maximum of 50%. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Mängel, Poel, and Lee, when modified in the manner proposed above, teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties - i.e. compression set of a maximum of 50% - would implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Regarding Claim 19, Mängel, Poel, and Lee teach the Vessel closure in claim 1, as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference.
The transitional phrase "consisting essentially of" limits the scope of a claim to the specified materials or steps "and those that do not materially affect the basic and novel characteristic(s)" of the claimed invention. In re Herz, 537 F.2d 549, 551-52, 190 USPQ 461, 463 (CCPA 1976) [A]bsent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the basic and novel characteristics actually are, "consisting essentially of" will be construed as equivalent to "comprising." See, e.g., PPG, 156 F.3d at 1355, 48 USPQ2d at 1355. In the instant case, there is no clear indication in the specification or claims as to what additional materials are excluded by the recitation of “consisting essentially of”. Thus, the instant claims have been interpreted as “comprising". As detailed in the rejection of Claim 1 above, Mängel, Poel, and Lee teach the Vessel closure including a polymer compound comprising at least on TPS and at least one co-PP.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mängel in view of Poel as applied to claim 1 above, and further as evidence by Adflex C 200 F Technical Data Sheet.
Regarding Claim 8 - 11, Mängel, Poel, and Lee teach the Vessel closure in claim 1, wherein the same ADFLEX series found in instant application [0068] is provided by Mangel, such as ADFLEX® C 200 F [Mängel, [0025]]. LyondellBasell provides evidence that ADFLEX® C 200 F has a Shore D hardness of 40, reading on a Shore D hardness of less than 55; an MFR of 6g/10 min, reading on an MFR of less than 30 and at least 0.1 g/10 min; and a melting point of 142°C, reading on a melting point below 165°C [Adflex C 200 F Technical Data Sheet, [Typical Properties]].
Claims 1-3, 6-7 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20130026127 to Mängel et al. in view of US20130206770 to Poel et al.
Regarding Claims 1, 6, 14, and 15, Mängel teaches a twist-crown closure comprising a polymer-based sealing insert which is not based on PVC [0005] and comprises a closure blank [0014] reading on a vessel closure comprising a closure blank and a sealing element comprising a polymer compound that is PVC-free. Mängel teaches the polymer compound comprising 26% SEBS with 31% styrene content [0032] reading on at least 1% TPS, and a SEBS with styrene content levels between 20% and 40%; a polyolefin [0027] such as ADFLEX® C 200 F [0025], reading on at least one co-PP; wherein the polymer compound has a shore A hardness of between 50 and 90 [Abstract] reading on a Shore A hardness between 30 and 85.
Mängel does not teach a vessel closure that does not contain more than 10% of liquid constituents at 20°C.
However, Poel teaches a polymer compound for seals for use with fat-containing filling materials [Poel, Title] that can comprise SEBS and co-PP [Poel, 0051] and has only amounts of, or more preferably, no (0 weight percent) constituents where are liquid at application temperature [Poel, 0039]. In a preferred embodiment, the material also contains preferably not more than 7% of lubricants [0041].
Mängel and Poel are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely PVC free seals comprising polymer compounds. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to reduce the liquid components to an amount close to zero weight percent as taught by Poel with Mängel’s vessel closure thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
The motivation to avoid liquid ingredients is to stop the migration of constituents of the packaging into the food [Poel, 0005] which is undesirable but also strictly regulated by law [Poel, 0007]
With respect to the claimed MFR of less than 2.0g/ 10, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Mängel, when modified in the manner proposed above, teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties - i.e. MFR of less than 2.0g/ 10min - would implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Regarding Claim 2, Mängel in view of Poel teach the Vessel closure in claim 1, wherein the polymer compound substantially does not comprise any compounds that correspond to a POE [Mängel, [0025]-[0034]]
Regarding Claim 3, Mängel in view of Poel teach the Vessel closure in claim 1, wherein the polymer compound substantially does not comprise any compounds that correspond to a homo-PP [Mängel, [0025]-[0034].
Regarding Claim 12, Mängel in view of Poel teach the Vessel closure in claim 1, wherein then vessel closure comprises 8% of polyolefin [Mängel, 0027] ADFLEX® C 200 F [0025] reading on the vessel closure comprises 1-80% co-PP.
Regarding Claim 13, Mängel in view of Poel teach the Vessel closure in claim 1, comprising LLDPE polyethylene [Mängel, 0034].
Regarding Claim 16, Mängel in view of Poel teach the Vessel closure in claim 1, wherein the sealing insert is useable under conditions of sterilization [Claim 44].
Regarding Claim 17, Mängel in view of Poel teach the Vessel closure in claim 1, wherein the container closure provides vacuum retention in the closed state [Poel, claim 33] reading on showing vacuum retention.
Regarding Claim 18, Mängel in view of Poel does not teach a compression set of a maximum of 50%. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Mängel, when modified in the manner proposed above, teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties - i.e. compression set of a maximum of 50% - would implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Regarding Claim 19, Mängel in view of Poel teach the Vessel closure in claim 1, as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference.
The transitional phrase "consisting essentially of" limits the scope of a claim to the specified materials or steps "and those that do not materially affect the basic and novel characteristic(s)" of the claimed invention. In re Herz, 537 F.2d 549, 551-52, 190 USPQ 461, 463 (CCPA 1976) [A]bsent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the basic and novel characteristics actually are, "consisting essentially of" will be construed as equivalent to "comprising." See, e.g., PPG, 156 F.3d at 1355, 48 USPQ2d at 1355. In the instant case, there is no clear indication in the specification or claims as to what additional materials are excluded by the recitation of “consisting essentially of”. Thus, the instant claims have been interpreted as “comprising". As detailed in the rejection of Claim 1 above, Mängel in view of Poel teach the Vessel closure including a polymer compound comprising at least on TPS and at least one co-PP.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mängel in view of Poel as applied to claim 1 above, and further as evidence by Adflex C 200 F Technical Data Sheet.
Regarding Claim 8 - 11, Mängel in view of Poel teach the Vessel closure in claim 1, wherein the same ADFLEX series found in instant application [0068] is provided by Mangel, such as ADFLEX® C 200 F [Mängel, [0025]]. LyondellBasell provides evidence that ADFLEX® C 200 F has a Shore D hardness of 40, reading on a Shore D hardness of less than 55; an MFR of 6g/10 min, reading on an MFR of less than 30 and at least 0.1 g/10 min; and a melting point of 142°C, reading on a melting point below 165°C [Adflex C 200 F Technical Data Sheet, [Typical Properties]].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mängel et al. in view of Poel as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US2018/0281260 to Ben-Daat et al.
Regarding claim 20, Mängel in view of Poel teach the Vessel closure as set forth in claim 1 and incorporated herein by reference.
Mängel in view of Poel does not particularly teach the polymer compound comprises SEEPS.
However, Ben-Daat teaches SEBS as well as SEEPS as suitable examples of thermoplastic elastomers [0044]. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute SEEPS for SEBS used in Mängel in view of Poel. The motivation would have been that it is obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose. (MPEP 2144.06) Ben-Daat discloses that both SEBS and SEEPS are suitable thermoplastic elastomers to give plastomeric, elastoplastomeric, or elastomeric properties [Ben-Daat, 0044] for use in caps, thus providing evidence of obviousness in substituting one for the other in such products.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3 and 6-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13, 17, 19, and 21-22 of copending Application No. 17/775,787. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application No. 17/775,787 sets forth a vessel closure that comprises at least one TPS and at least one co-PP wherein the polymer compound has a Shore A hardness between 30 and 85 at 70°C and a melt flow index of less than 20g/ 10min and the polymer compound does not contain more than 10% of components that are liquid at 20°C.
Though the co-pending application Melt flow index range is not identical to the claimed range, it does overlap. It has been held that, where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPG 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because:
A) With respect to applicants remarks that Mängel compels the use of white oil in citation [0008] and that white oil is an essential component of the disclosed material, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Attention is drawn to the citation of Mängel [0008] as seen below that does not compel the use of white oil and does not state it is an essential component. Rather, Mängel uses the words “preferably” and “generally meet these requirements”.
Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (MPEP 2123) It is further noted that there is no specific teaching in Mängel that teaches the removal of decreased amount of white oil would be problematic or detrimental.
B) Applicant states that Mängel does not teach the use of white oil in any amount below 20% and the combination of Mängel with other cited references is not proper and would not have led a skilled artisan to the claimed invention.
In response, it is noted that the rejection of claim 1 as set forth above does not rely on Mängel to teach the instant limitation of “less than 10 wt% of liquid constituents at 20°C”. However, Poel does teach this limitation, wherein the material of the sealing insert has small amounts of constituents which are liquid at application temperature [Poel, 0039] which can facilitate the processing of conventional compounds [Poel, 0014]. Furthermore, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
For these reasons, applicants arguments are not found persuasive.
Conclusion
/DEVIN MITCHELL DARLING/Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/MELISSA A RIOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764