DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Request for Continued Examination filed 2/27/2026 includes new Claims 28 and 29, as well as amendments to independent Claims 1, 2, and 22. Applicant states “Applicant respectfully submits that the disclosure as filed fully supports the above amendments, for example, in the original claims and the as-filed Specification at [0061] and [0106], and as described below” and also states the new claims are supported “by at least [0038], [0061], [0106], and [0107] of the as-filed specification.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, and cannot locate adequate support for all subject matter that has been added to the claims. The limitations regarding “a first material layer” and “a surface” in Claims 1, 2, and 22 is unclear, and the instant disclosure does not provide any support to aid in understanding of the claimed structure. See 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) sections below for additional detail.
After an updated search and consideration, the claimed invention remains obvious over the art cited in the previous action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-9, 18-26, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent Claims 1, 2, and 22 have each been amended to recite:
“…a third region located between the first region and the second region of the positive electrode current collector, wherein a first material layer is located over the third region, wherein each of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture is present at a ratio of more than 1.0 part by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the total mass of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture in the first material layer, and
wherein the first material layer includes a surface opposite to the first surface of the positive electrode current collector in a direction perpendicular to the first surface, wherein the surface of the first material layer is covered by a second material layer, wherein the positive electrode mixture is present at a ratio of 99 parts by mass or more with respect to 100 parts by mass of total mass of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture in the second material layer…”
The limitation “a first material layer”
Although the disclosure supports the third region having each of the positive electrode mixture
and the mixture present “at a ratio of more than 1.0 part by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the total mass of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture” (see [0017] of the instant specification), the term “a first material layer” is not used in the instant disclosure. The claim language is not clear whether “a first material layer” consists of (i.e., is a closed group) the positive electrode mixture and the mixture, or only comprises (i.e., is an open group) the positive electrode mixture and the mixture. The instant specification does not recite “a first material layer,” so the composition of the claimed layer cannot be identified.
The instant specification at [0017 and 0105-0109] teaches the third region 112c is formed between the first slurry 120A (corresponding to the claimed “positive electrode mixture” in first region 112a) and the second slurry 130A (corresponding to the claimed “mixture” in third region 112b) during the process of forming the positive electrode. See Examiner’s annotations to instant Fig. 9 for forming the electrode, and instant Fig. 5 as the finished product:
17/782,130 – Fig. 9 Annotated by Examiner
17/782,130 – Fig. 5 Annotated by Examiner
Based on [0017 and 0105-0109] of the instant specification, for this action, “a first material layer” will be interpreted as consisting of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture. Applicant is encouraged to either amend the claims by more clearly defining “a first material layer” to consist of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture, OR amend the claims by removing recitations of the first material layer.
Claims 3-9, 18-21, 23-26, 28, and 29 are also rejected, as they depend upon a rejected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
The limitations “a surface” and “a second material layer”
Claims 1, 2, and 22 each recite “the first material layer includes a surface opposite to the first surface of the positive electrode current collector in a direction perpendicular to the first surface, wherein the surface of the first material layer is covered by a second material layer.”
The instant disclosure does not provide support for “a surface” as defined by the claim language. It is also unclear which surface is being referred to, since the surface is described using contradictory language. The surface is required to be “opposite to the first surface of the positive electrode current collector,” but also required to be located “in a direction perpendicular to the first surface.” It is not clear how any surface of the first material layer can be “opposite” yet also “perpendicular” to the first surface of the positive electrode current collector:
17/782,130 – Fig. 5 Annotated by Examiner
The instant disclosure also does not provide support for “a second material layer.” The claims require “the surface of the first material layer is covered by a second material layer,” but this structure is not supported by the instant disclosure. Is the “second material layer” a new material layer, in addition to the positive electrode mixture in the first region (112a) and the mixture in the second region (112b)? For the purpose of this action, based on the second material layer having “99 parts by mass or more of the positive electrode mixture,” Examiner assumes the second material layer corresponds to the positive electrode mixture in the first region (112a). Further clarification is requested.
Claims 3-9, 18-21, 23-26, 28, and 29 are also rejected, as they depend upon a rejected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-9, 18-26, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 2, and 22 each recite “a first material layer.” The term “a first material layer” is not used in the instant disclosure, and the claim language is not clear whether “a first material layer” consists of (i.e., is a closed group) the positive electrode mixture and the mixture, or only comprises (i.e., is an open group) the positive electrode mixture and the mixture. Since the instant specification does not recite “a first material layer,” and the claim language is unclear, the scope/composition of “a first material layer” is indefinite. For this action, “a first material layer” will be interpreted as consisting of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture.
Claims 3-9, 18-21, 23-26, 28, and 29 are also rejected, as they depend upon a rejected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1, 2, and 22 each recite “the first material layer includes a surface opposite to the first surface of the positive electrode current collector in a direction perpendicular to the first surface.” The instant disclosure does not provide support for “a surface” as defined by the claim language. The claim language is also unclear which surface is being referred to, since the surface is described using contradictory language. The surface is required to be “opposite to the first surface of the positive electrode current collector,” but also required to be located “in a direction perpendicular to the first surface.” It is not clear how any surface of the first material layer can be “opposite” yet also “perpendicular” to the first surface of the positive electrode current collector (see Annotated Fig. 5 in 112(a) section). Since the instant specification does not recite the claimed surface, and the claim language is unclear, the structure/location of “a surface” is indefinite. Further clarification is requested.
Claims 3-9, 18-21, 23-26, 28, and 29 are also rejected, as they depend upon a rejected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1, 2, and 22 each recite “a second material layer.” The instant disclosure does not recite “a second material layer,” and does not support a second material layer that “covers” a first material layer. The claim language does not clearly set forth if the “second material layer” is a new material layer, in addition to the positive electrode mixture in the first region (112a) and the mixture in the second region (112b). It is also possible the second material layer corresponds to the positive electrode mixture in the first region (112a), since the second material layer has “99 parts by mass or more of the positive electrode mixture.”
It is also unclear whether the second material layer consists of (i.e., is a closed group) the positive electrode mixture and the mixture, or only comprises (i.e., is an open group) the positive electrode mixture and the mixture. Since the instant specification does not recite “a second material layer,” and the claim language is unclear, the location and scope/composition of “a second material layer” is indefinite. For the purpose of this action, based on the second material layer having “99 parts by mass or more of the positive electrode mixture,” Examiner assumes the second material layer corresponds to the positive electrode mixture in the first region (112a). Further clarification is requested.
Claims 3-9, 18-21, 23-26, 28, and 29 are also rejected, as they depend upon a rejected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 18, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arishima et al., US 20160043373 A1, and further in view of Goto et al., US 20120070709 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Arishima discloses a positive electrode (positive electrode 1 [0034-0044, 0056-0059], Figs. 5-7) comprising:
a positive electrode current collector having a first surface (positive electrode collector having a top surface [0029, 0035], Annotated Fig. 6);
a positive electrode mixture located over the first surface of the positive electrode current collector (positive electrode mixture layer 1a [0035-0036]), the positive electrode mixture containing a positive electrode active material (lithium transition metal composite oxide [0056]); and
a mixture located over the first surface of the positive electrode current collector (insulating layer 5 [0035]), the mixture having a composition different from a composition of the positive electrode mixture (insulating material such as metal oxide, and a solvent-based binder or epoxy resin [0038, 0057]), wherein an electron transfer resistance value of the mixture in a thickness direction is higher than an electron transfer resistance value of the positive electrode mixture in the thickness direction (insulating layer prevents short circuiting [0008], resistance testing [0070]),
wherein the first surface of the positive electrode current collector includes:
a first region over which the positive electrode mixture is present at a ratio of 99 parts by mass or more with respect to 100 parts by mass of total mass of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture (section of positive electrode mixture layer 1a [0039-0044], Annotated Fig. 6), and
a second region aligned with the first region in one direction along the first surface of the positive electrode current collector, wherein the mixture is present at a ratio of 99 parts by mass or more with respect to 100 parts by mass of the total mass of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture over the second region (insulating layer 5 [0037-0038], Annotated Fig. 6), and
a third region located between the first region and the second region of the positive electrode current collector (see “third region” in Annotated Fig. 6), wherein a first material layer (mixed layer 13) is located over the third region, and each of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture is present at a ratio of more than 1.0 part by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the total mass of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture in the first material layer (mixed layer 13 is formed by mixing of the positive electrode mixture of the positive electrode mixture layer 1a and an insulator of the insulating layer 5 [0035-0044]; first material layer/mixed layer 13 spans across first and third regions):
Arishima – Annotated Fig. 6
Arishima also discloses the first material layer (13) includes a surface opposite to the first surface of the positive electrode current collector in a direction perpendicular to the first surface (see “a surface” in Annotated Fig. 6), wherein the surface of the first material layer is covered by a second material layer (second material layer corresponds to positive electrode mixture layer 1a [0039-0044]), wherein the positive electrode mixture is present at a ratio of 99 parts by mass or more with respect to 100 parts by mass of total mass of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture in the second material layer (positive electrode mixture layer 1a is formed by coating a part of the top surface of the positive electrode collector with a positive electrode mixture [0029], a mixture of lithium transition metal composite oxide, flake graphite, and PVdF [0056]).
Arishima – Annotated Fig. 6
Regarding the limitation 0 ≤ L3/(L1 + L3) ≤ 0.075, Arishima discloses L3 is a length of a third region in the one direction (half of mixed layer 13 closer to insulating layer 5 [0035-0043]; length L3 is half of d2, Annotated Fig. 6), and L1 is a length of the first region of the positive electrode current collector in the one direction (Annotated Fig. 6). Since Arishima discloses the length of the third region L3 is 0.025 mm, and L1 is approx. 79.975 mm (positive electrode mixture layer 1a has a width of 80 mm [0056]; L3 portion of subtracted from 1a width, Annotated Figs. 7A and 7C), Arishima discloses L3/(L1 + L3) = 0.025/(79.975 + 0.025) = 0.0003125, which is within the claimed range of 0 to 0.075.
Arishima – Annotated Figs. 7A and 7C
Arishima does not disclose an average particle size for the positive electrode active material (lithium transition metal composite oxide [0056]). Therefore, Arishima does not disclose the positive electrode active material has “an average particle size equal to or more than 1 µm” as required by Claim 1. However, this limitation is taught by Goto et al.
Goto teaches a positive electrode active material layer 14 should have gaps/pores 18 between positive electrode active material particles 16, in order for electrolyte solution to permeate the active material layer through the pores ([0010, 0047-0053], Fig. 4). Goto teaches the porosity/pore size in the active material layer can be adjusted by varying the average particle diameter of the active material ([0053, 0064, 0071-0073]), and teaches a positive electrode active material having an average particle diameter of 1 µm to 25 µm ([0038-0041], Example 1 [0062]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an average particle size of the positive electrode active material be greater than or equal to 1 µm, in the positive electrode mixture of Arishima, as Goto teaches porosity of the active material layer can be adjusted by varying the positive electrode active material particle diameter within the range of 1 µm to 25 µm.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Arishima discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Arishima discloses 0 ≤ L3/(L1 + L3) ≤ 0.033, as L3/(L1 + L3) = 0.0003125 (Arishima, [0056-0057], see Claim 1 for additional calculation details).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Arishima discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Arishima discloses the first region in the first surface of the positive electrode current collector includes a fourth region (Arishima, half of mixed layer 13 closer to positive electrode mixture layer 1a, Annotated Fig. 6); over which the positive electrode mixture having a thickness gradually increasing away from the second region along the one direction is located (Arishima, end portion of the positive electrode mixture layer 1a has an inclined surface having a thickness gradually decreasing [0036], Annotated Fig. 6), and L4 is a length of the fourth region of the positive electrode current collector in the one direction (Arishima, length L4 is half of d2; Annotated Fig. 6).
Regarding the limitation L3 ≤ L4, the lengths of the third and fourth region are an equal division of d2, the width of the mixed layer 13. As L3 and L4 are equal lengths, the limitation L3 ≤ L4 is met.
Arishima – Annotated Fig. 6
Regarding Claim 6, modified Arishima discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Arishima discloses the fourth region comprises the positive electrode mixture 1a and the mixture 5 (Arishima, mixed layer 13 [0039-0044]).
Modified Arishima also discloses a portion of the first region on an opposite side of the second region with respect to the fourth region (consistent with Applicant’s definition of a fifth region; see [0107-0108] of the published application) is only composed of the positive electrode mixture 1a and does not comprise any of the mixture 5 (Arishima, [0035-0036]; Fig. 7A and “fifth region” on Annotated Fig. 6). Therefore, as modified Arishima discloses there is a higher mass ratio of the positive electrode mixture 1a in the fifth region than the fourth region, the claim requirements are met.
Arishima – Annotated Fig. 6
Regarding Claim 7, modified Arishima discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Arishima discloses the mixture (Arishima, mixed layer 13) contains aluminum oxide (Arishima, metal oxide, alumina [0038, 0057]).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Arishima discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Arishima discloses a lithium ion secondary battery (Arishima, lithium ion secondary battery 22 [0010, 0065]) comprising the positive electrode (Arishima, [0021], Example 1 [0056-0065]).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Arishima discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Arishima discloses pressing the positive electrode mixture (Arishima, [0045-0048, 0059]), but does not disclose the positive electrode mixture has “a density equal to or more than 2.0 g/cm3 and equal to or less than 4.0 g/cm3” as required by Claim 18. However, this limitation is also taught by Goto et al.
Goto teaches the porosity/pore size in the active material layer can be adjusted by varying the density of the active material layer, wherein too low of a density will lower conductivity of the layer, yet too high of a density will not allow for even distribution of electrolyte solution ([0052, 0072-0073]). Goto teaches a layer density of 2.45 g/cm3 contributes to a favorable layer porosity and resistance increase rate ([0038-0041], Example 1 [0062, 0064], Table 1).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a positive electrode mixture density within the range of 2.0 g/cm3 to 4.0 g/cm3, in the positive electrode of modified Arishima, as Goto teaches a layer density of 2.45 g/cm3 contributes to a favorable electrode layer porosity and low resistance increase rate.
Regarding Claims 28 and 29, modified Arishima discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Arishima discloses the surface of the first material layer and the second material layer are in direct physical contact (Claim 28) (see Annotated Fig. 6 for “the surface” of mixed layer 13 in contact with the positive electrode mixture layer 1a), and the second material layer forms an outermost surface of the positive electrode (Claim 29) (see Annotated Fig. 6 for “outermost surface” of positive electrode mixture layer 1a).
Arishima – Annotated Fig. 6
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Arishima as applied to Claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Muraoka et al., US 20080193845 A1.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Arishima discloses all limitations as set forth above. Although modified Arishima discloses the mixture contains alumina (Arishima, alumina [0057]), modified Arishima does not specify the alumina is α-alumina. However, Muraoka discloses α-alumina is the most preferred form of alumina for electrical insulation.
Muraoka discloses an insulating layer for a lithium secondary battery (insulating layer comprising metal oxide particles [0043-0049]), wherein the metal oxide particles are preferably alumina ([0044]). Muraoka discloses the most preferable form of alumina is α-alumina, and discloses α-alumina is chemically stable, has excellent mechanical strength, and reduces short circuiting by insulating an area between a positive electrode and a negative electrode ([0044]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to ensure the alumina of modified Arishima is α-alumina, in the mixture of modified Arishima, as Muraoka discloses α-alumina is chemically stable, has excellent mechanical strength, and is an effective electrical insulator.
Claims 2, 4, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arishima et al., US 20160043373 A1, and further in view of Goto et al., US 20120070709 A1.
Regarding Claim 2, Arishima discloses a positive electrode (positive electrode 1 [0034-0044, 0056-0059], Figs. 5-7) comprising:
a positive electrode current collector having a first surface (positive electrode collector having a top surface [0029, 0035], Annotated Fig. 6);
a positive electrode mixture located over the first surface of the positive electrode current collector (positive electrode mixture layer 1a [0035]), the positive electrode mixture containing a positive electrode active material (lithium transition metal composite oxide as a positive electrode active material [0056]); and
a mixture located over the first surface of the positive electrode current collector (insulating layer 5 [0035]), the mixture having a composition different from a composition of the positive electrode mixture (insulating material such as metal oxide, and a solvent-based binder or epoxy resin [0038]), wherein an electron transfer resistance value of the mixture in a thickness direction is higher than an electron transfer resistance value of the positive electrode mixture in the thickness direction (insulating layer prevents short circuiting [0008], resistance testing [0070]),
wherein the first surface of the positive electrode current collector includes:
a first region over which the positive electrode mixture is present at a ratio of 99 parts by mass or more with respect to 100 parts by mass of total mass of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture (section of positive electrode mixture layer 1a [0039-0044], Annotated Fig. 6), and
a second region aligned with the first region in one direction along the first surface of the positive electrode current collector, wherein the mixture is present at a ratio of 99 parts by mass or more with respect to 100 parts by mass of the total mass of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture over the second region (insulating layer 5 [0037-0038], Annotated Fig. 6), and
a third region located between the first region and the second region of the positive electrode current collector (see “third region” in Annotated Fig. 6), wherein a first material layer (mixed layer 13) is located over the third region, and each of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture is present at a ratio of more than 1.0 part by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the total mass of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture in the first material layer (mixed layer 13 is formed by mixing of the positive electrode mixture of the positive electrode mixture layer 1a and an insulator of the insulating layer 5 [0035-0044]; first material layer/mixed layer 13 spans across first and third regions):
Arishima – Annotated Fig. 6
Arishima also discloses the first material layer (13) includes a surface opposite to the first surface of the positive electrode current collector in a direction perpendicular to the first surface (see “a surface” in Annotated Fig. 6), wherein the surface of the first material layer is covered by a second material layer (second material layer corresponds to positive electrode mixture layer 1a [0039-0044]), wherein the positive electrode mixture is present at a ratio of 99 parts by mass or more with respect to 100 parts by mass of total mass of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture in the second material layer (positive electrode mixture layer 1a is formed by coating a part of the top surface of the positive electrode collector with a positive electrode mixture [0029], a mixture of lithium transition metal composite oxide, flake graphite, and PVdF [0056]),
Arishima – Annotated Fig. 6
Regarding the limitation 0 ≤ L3 ≤ 3.0 mm, Arishima discloses L3 is a length of the third region in the one direction (half of mixed layer 13 closer to insulating layer 5 [0035-0043]; length L3 is half of d2, Annotated Fig. 6). Arishima discloses L3 may be 0.015 mm to 0.05 mm, which is within the claimed range (d2 is preferably 0.03 mm to 0.1 mm [0043]; L3 is half of d2 and thus 0.015 mm to 0.05 mm).
Arishima – Annotated Fig. 6
Arishima discloses pressing the positive electrode mixture ([0045-0048, 0059]), but does not disclose the positive electrode mixture has “a density equal to or more than 2.0 g/cm3 and equal to or less than 4.0 g/cm3” as required by Claim 2. However, this limitation is taught by Goto et al.
Goto teaches a positive electrode active material layer 14 should have gaps/pores 18 between positive electrode active material particles 16, in order for electrolyte solution to permeate the active material layer through the pores ([0047-0053], Fig. 4). Goto teaches the porosity/pore size in the active material layer can be adjusted by varying the density of the active material layer, wherein too low of a density will lower conductivity of the layer, yet too high of a density will not allow for even distribution of electrolyte solution ([0052, 0072-0073]). Goto teaches a layer density of 2.45 g/cm3 contributes to a favorable layer porosity and resistance increase rate ([0038-0041], Example 1 [0062, 0064], Table 1).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a positive electrode mixture density within the range of 2.0 g/cm3 to 4.0 g/cm3, in the positive electrode of Arishima, as Goto teaches a layer density of 2.45 g/cm3 contributes to a favorable electrode layer porosity and low resistance increase rate.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Arishima discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Arishima discloses 0 ≤ L3 ≤ 1.3 mm, as L3 = 0.025 mm (Arishima, half of width d2; d2 is 0.05 mm [0057]).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Arishima discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Arishima does not disclose an average particle size for the positive electrode active material (Arishima, lithium transition metal composite oxide [0056]). Therefore, Arishima does not disclose the positive electrode active material has “an average particle size equal to or more than 1 µm” as required by Claim 20. However, this limitation is also taught by Goto et al.
Goto teaches a positive electrode active material layer 14 should have gaps/pores 18 between positive electrode active material particles 16, in order for electrolyte solution to permeate the active material layer through the pores ([0010, 0047-0053], Fig. 4). Goto teaches the porosity/pore size in the active material layer can be adjusted by varying the average particle diameter of the active material ([0053, 0064, 0071-0073]), and teaches a positive electrode active material having an average particle diameter of 1 µm to 25 µm ([0038-0041], Example 1 [0062]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an average particle size of the positive electrode active material be greater than or equal to 1 µm, in the positive electrode mixture of modified Arishima, as Goto teaches porosity of the active material layer can be adjusted by varying the positive electrode active material particle diameter within the range of 1 µm to 25 µm.
Claims 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Arishima as applied to Claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Liang et al., US 20190173088 A1.
Regarding Claims 19 and 21, modified Arishima discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Arishima does not disclose the conductive aid is present “in a range of 0.1 parts per mass or more and 8.0 parts per mass or less with respect to 100 parts by mass of a total mass of the positive electrode mixture” as required by the claims. However, this limitation is taught by Liang et al.
Liang teaches a positive active material layer comprising a positive electrode active material, a binder, and a conductive additive, with a preferred content range of 0.8 wt% to 2 wt% for the conductive additive ([0073]). Liang teaches enough conductive additive is needed in the active material layer to improve the rate performance of the battery, but too much conductive additive in the layer will negatively affect charge and discharge capacities ([0073]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to optimize the amount of conductive aid in the positive electrode mixture of Arishima, and would have been motivated to do so, by including enough to improve the rate performance of the battery, yet not too much to negatively affect charge and discharge capacities, as taught by Liang.
Claims 22, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arishima et al., US 20160043373 A1, and further in view of Liang et al., US 20190173088 A1.
Regarding Claim 22, Arishima discloses a positive electrode (positive electrode 1 [0034-0044, 0056-0059], Figs. 5-7) comprising:
a positive electrode current collector having a first surface (positive electrode collector having a top surface [0029, 0035], Annotated Fig. 6);
a positive electrode mixture located over the first surface of the positive electrode current collector (positive electrode mixture layer 1a [0035-0036]), the positive electrode mixture containing a positive electrode active material (lithium transition metal composite oxide [0056]) and a conductive aid (10 wt% flake graphite [0056]); and
a mixture located over the first surface of the positive electrode current collector (insulating layer 5 [0035]), the mixture having a composition different from a composition of the positive electrode mixture (insulating material such as metal oxide, and a solvent-based binder or epoxy resin [0038, 0057]), wherein an electron transfer resistance value of the mixture in a thickness direction is higher than an electron transfer resistance value of the positive electrode mixture in the thickness direction (insulating layer prevents short circuiting [0008], resistance testing [0070]),
wherein the first surface of the positive electrode current collector includes:
a first region over which the positive electrode mixture is present at a ratio of 99 parts by mass or more with respect to 100 parts by mass of total mass of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture (section of positive electrode mixture layer 1a [0039-0044], Annotated Fig. 6), and
a second region aligned with the first region in one direction along the first surface of the positive electrode current collector, wherein the mixture is present at a ratio of 99 parts by mass or more with respect to 100 parts by mass of the total mass of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture over the second region (insulating layer 5 [0037-0038], Annotated Fig. 6), and
a third region located between the first region and the second region of the positive electrode current collector (see “third region” in Annotated Fig. 6), wherein a first material layer (mixed layer 13) is located over the third region, and each of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture is present at a ratio of more than 1.0 part by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the total mass of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture in the first material layer (mixed layer 13 is formed by mixing of the positive electrode mixture of the positive electrode mixture layer 1a and an insulator of the insulating layer 5 [0035-0044]; first material layer/mixed layer 13 spans across first and third regions):
Arishima – Annotated Fig. 6
Arishima also discloses the first material layer (13) includes a surface opposite to the first surface of the positive electrode current collector in a direction perpendicular to the first surface (see “a surface” in Annotated Fig. 6), wherein the surface of the first material layer is covered by a second material layer (second material layer corresponds to positive electrode mixture layer 1a [0039-0044]), wherein the positive electrode mixture is present at a ratio of 99 parts by mass or more with respect to 100 parts by mass of total mass of the positive electrode mixture and the mixture in the second material layer (positive electrode mixture layer 1a is formed by coating a part of the top surface of the positive electrode collector with a positive electrode mixture [0029], a mixture of lithium transition metal composite oxide, flake graphite, and PVdF [0056]),
Arishima – Annotated Fig. 6
Regarding the limitation 0 ≤ L3/(L1 + L3) ≤ 0.075, Arishima discloses L1 is a length of the first region of the positive electrode current collector in the one direction (Annotated Fig. 6), and L3 is a length of the third region in the one direction (half of mixed layer 13 closer to insulating layer 5 [0035-0043]; length L3 is half of d2, Annotated Fig. 6). Arishima discloses the length of the third region L3 is 0.025 mm (the third region is half of d2; Arishima discloses d2 is 0.05 mm or 50 µm [0057], Annotated Fig. 7C). Arishima also discloses L1 is approx. 79.975 mm (positive electrode mixture layer 1a has a width of 80 mm [0056]; L3 portion of subtracted from 1a width, Annotated Figs. 7A and 7C).
Thus, Arishima discloses L3/(L1 + L3) = 0.025/(79.975 + 0.025) = 0.0003125, which is within the claimed range of 0 to 0.075.
Arishima – Annotated Figs. 7A and 7C
Arishima does not disclose the conductive aid is present “in a range of 0.1 parts per mass or more and 8.0 parts per mass or less with respect to 100 parts by mass of a total mass of the positive electrode mixture” as required by Claim 22. However, this limitation is taught by Liang et al.
Liang teaches a positive active material layer comprising a positive electrode active material, a binder, and a conductive additive, with a preferred content range of 0.8 wt% to 2 wt% for the conductive additive ([0073]). Liang teaches enough conductive additive is needed in the active material layer to improve the rate performance of the battery, but too much conductive additive in the layer will negatively affect charge and discharge capacities ([0073]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to optimize the amount of conductive aid in the positive electrode mixture of Arishima, and would have been motivated to do so, by including enough to improve the rate performance of the battery, yet not too much to negatively affect charge and discharge capacities, as taught by Liang.
Regarding Claim 25, modified Arishima discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Arishima discloses the length of the third region L3 is 0.025 mm (the third region is half of d2; Arishima discloses d2 is 0.05 mm or 50 µm [0057], Annotated Fig. 7C). Modified Arishima also discloses L1 is approx. 79.975 mm (Arishima, positive electrode mixture layer 1a has a width of 80 mm [0056]; L3 portion of subtracted from 1a width, Annotated Figs. 7A and 7C).
Thus, modified Arishima discloses L3/(L1 + L3) = 0.025/(79.975 + 0.025) = 0.0003125, which is within the claimed range of 0 to 0.075.
Arishima – Annotated Figs. 7A and 7C
Regarding Claim 26, modified Arishima discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Arishima discloses the first region in the first surface of the positive electrode current collector includes a fourth region (Arishima, half of mixed layer 13 closer to positive electrode mixture layer 1a, Annotated Fig. 6); over which the positive electrode mixture having a thickness gradually increasing away from the second region along the one direction is located (Arishima, end portion of the positive electrode mixture layer 1a has an inclined surface having a thickness gradually decreasing [0036], Annotated Fig. 6), and L4 is a length of the fourth region of the positive electrode current collector in the one direction (Arishima, length L4 is half of d2; Annotated Fig. 6).
Regarding the limitation L3 ≤ L4, the lengths of the third and fourth region are an equal division of d2, the width of the mixed layer 13. As L3 and L4 are equal lengths, the limitation L3 ≤ L4 is met.
Arishima – Annotated Fig. 6
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Arishima as applied to Claim 22 above, and further in view of Goto et al., US 20120070709 A1.
Regarding Claim 23, modified Arishima discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Arishima does not disclose an average particle size for the positive electrode active material (Arishima, lithium transition metal composite oxide [0056]). Therefore, Arishima does not disclose the positive electrode active material has “an average particle size equal to or more than 1 µm” as required by Claim 23. However, this limitation is taught by Goto et al.
Goto teaches a positive electrode active material layer 14 should have gaps/pores 18 between positive electrode active material particles 16, in order for electrolyte solution to permeate the active material layer through the pores ([0010, 0047-0053], Fig. 4). Goto teaches the porosity/pore size in the active material layer can be adjusted by varying the average particle diameter of the active material ([0053, 0064, 0071-0073]), and teaches a positive electrode active material having an average particle diameter of 1 µm to 25 µm ([0038-0041], Example 1 [0062]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an average particle size of the positive electrode active material be greater than or equal to 1 µm, in the positive electrode mixture of modified Arishima, as Goto teaches porosity of the active material layer can be adjusted by varying the positive electrode active material particle diameter within the range of 1 µm to 25 µm.
Regarding Claim 24, modified Arishima discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Arishima discloses pressing the positive electrode mixture (Arishima, [0045-0048, 0059]), but does not disclose the positive electrode mixture has “a density equal to or more than 2.0 g/cm3 and equal to or less than 4.0 g/cm3” as required by Claim 24. However, this limitation is also taught by Goto et al.
Goto teaches the porosity/pore size in the active material layer can be adjusted by varying the density of the active material layer, wherein too low of a density will lower conductivity of the layer, yet too high of a density will not allow for even distribution of electrolyte solution ([0052, 0072-0073]). Goto teaches a layer density of 2.45 g/cm3 contributes to a favorable layer porosity and resistance increase rate ([0038-0041], Example 1 [0062, 0064], Table 1).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a positive electrode mixture density within the range of 2.0 g/cm3 to 4.0 g/cm3, in the positive electrode of modified Arishima, as Goto teaches a layer density of 2.45 g/cm3 contributes to a favorable electrode layer porosity and a low resistance increase rate.
Conclusion
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721