Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim depends from cancelled claim 3. Appropriate correction is required.
For the purpose of examination, the claim will be read as depending from claim 1.
Claims 8 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claim refers to "an outer case" twice. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim refers to "an outer case" twice. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
The rejections under 35 USC 112 have been overcome by the amendment and are withdrawn.
The objection to claim 18 has been overcome by the amendment and is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed October 16, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that You21 and You20 do not show direct connections of the upper and lower restraint members between the energy storage devices (pp. 13-14). Figs. 2 and 5 of You21 show that the upper and lower members are directly connected to each other at the bent portions (312 and 322) and to the beams (12). Adding a lower restraint member to the battery of You20 would necessarily require the upper and lower members contacting each other atop the central beam.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 10-12, 15-17, 20, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. (US 2020/0411817 A1, hereinafter referred to as “You20”) in view of You et al. (US 2021/0249731 A1, hereinafter referred to as “You21”).
Regarding claim 1, You20 teaches an energy storage apparatus comprising energy storage devices (battery units 20B) comprising electrode assemblies (22) in a case (housing 21) (You20 Fig. 8 and [0048]), the devices arrayed in array directions (x and y) intersecting the stacking direction (z), with restraint bodies (3) formed by bending sheets (You20 [0084]).
You20 does not teach that the case is made of any particular material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any conventional material for the case, including metal.
You20 does not teach the use of matching lower restraint bodies. You21 teaches that matching upper restraint bodies 31 with lower restraint bodies 32 with bending portions (mounting portions 312 and 322) bending toward each other in the stacking direction and joined together by opposing faces of those bending portions (You21 Figs. 1- 2 and [0045]) allows for an exhaust passage to improve safety (You21 [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add the lower restraint member of You21 to the apparatus of You20 to improve safety.
You20 does not teach that the electrode assembly must be made of stacked plates. You20 teaches gives only two options for the electrode assembly, one of which is stacked plates (You20 Fig. 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any of the limited number of configurations suggested by You20, including stacked plates.
Modified You20 does not teach that the restraint members are attached between the batteries. Modified You20 teaches that multiple restraint members (3) are applied to multiple groups of batteries (20A and 20B) and attached between them (You20 Fig. 1 and [0048]-[0049]).
The use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in You20 would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) and MPEP 2144.04 VB.
Regarding claim 2, the restraint bodies of modified You20 are directly joined between the first energy storage device (batteries 20A) and the second energy storage device (batteries 20B) (You20 Fig. 1 and [0047]-[0051]; You21 Fig. 3 and [0043]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 4, the restraint bodies of modified You20 have protrusions bent toward each (mounting portions 312 and 322) and directly joined together by opposing faces of those bending portions (You21 Figs. 1-3 and [0045]) between the first energy storage device (batteries 20A) and the second energy storage device (batteries 20B) (You20 Fig. 1 and [0048]).
Regarding claim 5, modified You20 teaches that the battery includes “at least two battery units” arranged in the accommodation cavities 13, which are separated by beams 12 (You20 Fig. 1, [0047], and [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any number of battery units, including 3 or more, which would necessarily include attachment points between each, since You20 explicitly allows for more battery units.
Regarding claim 6, the apparatus of modified You20 includes batteries stacked in the stacking direction z (You20 Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, the apparatus of modified You20 includes an outer case (box body 11) that accommodates the batteries and to which the restraint members are attached (by beam 12) (You20 Fig. 1 and [0047]).
Regarding claim 10, the housing of modified You20 includes a case body (housing 21) with a long side surface (the z faces) facing in the stacking direction and toward the bottom surface of the outer case (You20 Fig. 8 and [0048]).
Regarding claim 11, the apparatus of modified You20 includes an outer case lid (outer cover 4) attached to the outer case 11 (You20 Fig. 3 and [0047]).
Modified You20 does not teach that the lid includes terminals electrically connected to the batteries. However, the apparatus of modified You20 is a battery pack (You20 Abstract) and so must necessarily have terminals, and the only options for placing those terminals are on case 11 or case cover 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide the terminals anywhere on the battery pack, including on the case lid.
Regarding claim 12, the housing of modified You20 includes a case lid (cover plate 241) attached to housing 21 in direction y, which intersects stacking direction z and array direction x, with terminals (242 and 243) on the case lid (You20 Fig. 8 and [0048]).
Regarding claim 23, the restraint bodies are joined by a protrusion (mounting portions 312 and 322, You21 Figs. 1 and 2 and [0043]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 8, You20 teaches an energy storage apparatus comprising energy storage devices (battery units 20B) comprising electrode assemblies (22) in a case (housing 21) (You20 Fig. 8 and [0048]), the devices arrayed in array directions (x and y) intersecting the stacking direction (z), with restraint bodies (3) formed by bending sheets (You20 [0084]), and an outer case comprising first and second outer cases (box body 11 and outer cover 4) sandwiching the batteries in the stacking direction, with the restraint bodies directly connected to the box body 11 by beams 12 (You20 Figs. 1 and 2).
You20 does not teach the use of matching lower restraint bodies. You21 teaches that matching upper restraint bodies 31 with lower restraint bodies 32 with bending portions (mounting portions 312 and 322) bending toward each other in the stacking direction and joined together by opposing faces of those bending portions (You21 Figs. 1- 2 and [0045]) allows for an exhaust passage to improve safety (You21 [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add the lower restraint member of You21 to the apparatus of You20 to improve safety.
You20 does not teach that the electrode assembly must be made of stacked plates. You20 teaches gives only two options for the electrode assembly, one of which is stacked plates (You20 Fig. 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any of the limited number of configurations suggested by You20, including stacked plates.
Modified You20 does not teach that the restraint members are attached between the batteries. Modified You20 teaches that multiple restraint members (3) are applied to multiple groups of batteries (20A and 20B) and attached between them (You20 Fig. 1 and [0048]-[0049]).
The use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in You20 would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) and MPEP 2144.04 VB.
Regarding claim 15, the housing of modified You20 includes a case body (box assembly 1) with a long side surface (the z faces) facing in the stacking direction and toward the bottom surface of the outer case (You20 Fig. 1 and [0047]-[0051]).
Regarding claims 16, the apparatus of You21 includes an outer case lid (outer cover 4) attached to the box body 11 (You20 Fig. 1 and [0047]-[0051]).
Modified You20 does not teach that the lid includes terminals electrically connected to the batteries. However, the apparatus of You20 is a battery pack (You20 Abstract) and so must necessarily have terminals, and the only options for placing those terminals are on box body 11 or outer cover 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide the terminals anywhere on the battery pack, including on the outer cover.
Regarding claim 17, the housing of modified You20 includes a case lid (cover plate 241) attached to housing 21 in direction y, which intersects stacking direction z and array direction x, with terminals (242 and 243) on the case lid (You20 Fig. 8 and [0048]).
Regarding claim 20, You20 teaches an energy storage apparatus comprising energy storage devices (battery units 20B) comprising electrode assemblies (22) in a case (housing 21) (You20 Fig. 8 and [0048]), the devices arrayed in array directions (x and y) intersecting the stacking direction (z), with restraint bodies (3) formed by bending sheets (You20 [0084]), and an outer case comprising first and second outer cases (box body 11 and outer cover 4) sandwiching the batteries in the stacking direction, with the restraint bodies directly connected to the box body 11 by beams 12 (You20 Figs. 1 and 2).
You20 does not teach the use of matching lower restraint bodies. You21 teaches that matching upper restraint bodies 31 with lower restraint bodies 32 with bending portions (mounting portions 312 and 322) bending toward each other in the stacking direction and joined together by opposing faces of those bending portions (You21 Figs. 1- 2 and [0045]) allows for an exhaust passage to improve safety (You21 [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add the lower restraint member of You21 to the apparatus of You20 to improve safety.
You20 does not teach that the electrode assembly must be made of stacked plates. You20 teaches gives only two options for the electrode assembly, one of which is stacked plates (You20 Fig. 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any of the limited number of configurations suggested by You20, including stacked plates.
Modified You20 does not teach that the restraint members are attached between the batteries. Modified You20 teaches that multiple restraint members (3) are applied to multiple groups of batteries (20A and 20B) and attached between them (You20 Fig. 1 and [0048]-[0049]).
The use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in You20 would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) and MPEP 2144.04 VB.
Claim(s) 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You20 in view of You21 as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of You et al. (US 2020/0411928 A1; hereinafter referred to as You928).
Regarding claims 13 and 18, modified You20 does not teach the use of an electronic device that controls the batteries arranged in an array direction. You928 teaches that cell supervision circuits (i.e., electronic devices that control the batteries) are typically placed wherever there is free space in the battery pack (You928 [0003]). The only space available for such a circuit in the battery of modified You20 is in the voids outside the beams 12 (You20 Fig. 2 and [0047]), which are arranged in an array direction (y) relative to the batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to place a cell supervision circuit in one of these voids, since You928 teaches that such placement is typical.
Claim(s) 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You20 in view of You21 as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of You et al. (US 2021/0167441 A1; hereinafter referred to as You441) and Kim et al. (US 2016/0156004 A1).
Regarding claims 14 and 19, modified You20 teaches an outer case fixing unit (beam 12) corresponding to the protrusions in the restraint members (You20 Figs. 1 and 2 and [0047]). Modified You20 does not teach a thermal insulator between the lower case and the battery cells or a spacer between the restraining members and the battery cells.
You441 teaches that adding a thermal barrier layer (6) between the case and the battery cells along with a thermally conductive layer (9) (i.e., a spacer) between the cells and the upper restraining member allows for better control of temperature distribution through the beams and increases service life (You441 Fig. 1, [0041], and [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add the thermal barrier layer and thermally conductive layer (spacer) of You441 to the battery of modified You20 to increase service life.
Modified You20 does not teach a reinforcing member on the upper case. Kim teaches that adding a shaped bead (i.e., a reinforcing member) to the inner face of a battery pack cover can improve rigidity without increasing the volume (Kim [0042] and [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add Kim’s reinforcing member to the inner surface of the lid of modified You20 (i.e., between the lid and the battery cells) in order to improve rigidity without increasing volume.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 10-12, 15-17, and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisayuki et al. (WO 2018/143464 A1; citations refer to attached English translation) in view of You21.
Regarding claim 1, Hisayuki discloses an energy storage apparatus comprising two energy storage devices (first battery group 11 and second battery group 12), a pair of restraint bodies (upper fastening plate 16 and lower fastening plate 17) that collectively sandwich the devices in the stacking direction, the restraint bodies formed by bending plate-like members so that the bent portions bend towards each other and joined together by opposing surfaces of the bending portions between the devices (Hisayuki Figs. 1 and 4).
Hisayuki does not teach that the case is made of any particular material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any conventional material for the case, including metal.
Hisayuki does not teach that the electrode assembly must be made of stacked plates. You21 teaches that stacked plates are an acceptable configuration for the electrodes in prismatic batteries (You21 Fig. 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any conventional electrode configuration, including stacked plates.
Hisayuki teaches that the restraint bodies are joined at the bent portions by connecting blocks (Hisayuki Figs. 1 and 4). Hisayuki does not teach that the restraint bodies are directly joined by opposing faces of the bent portions. You21 teaches that upper and lower restraint bodies by be joined by extending the bent portions such that they reach each other in the middle (You21 Figs. 1 and 2). Connecting blocks and directly joined, extended bent portions are therefore art-recognized equivalents for the same purpose, and substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known configuration for joining the plates, including direct connection by extended bent portions.
Regarding claim 2, the plates of modified Hisayuki are directly joined between the devices (Hisayuki Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 4, the bent portions of modified Hisayuki are protrusions that protrude toward each other (Hisayuki Figs. 1 and 4) and are directly joined at the protrusions.
Regarding claim 5, Hisayuki teaches that the apparatus may include a third battery group added next to the other battery groups with an appropriately extended restraining member and an additional interposed connection (Hisayuki [0030]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any of the configurations mentioned by Hisayuki, including a configuration with a third battery group.
Regarding claim 6, the battery groups of Hisayuki include a plurality of battery cells (Hisayuki Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 7, Hisayuki teaches that the device is enclosed in a housing (Hisayuki [0031]), and the lower plate includes tabs for attaching to the housing (Hisayuki Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 10, the battery cells of Hisayuki include cases with long side surfaces in the stacking direction (top and bottom; Hisayuki Figs. 1 and 4). Hisayuki teaches that the device is enclosed in a housing (Hisayuki [0031]), and the top and bottom surfaces of the cells would face the top and bottom faces of the housing.
Regarding claim 11, Hisayuki does not teach any particular structure for the housing. You21 teaches a housing comprising a first outer case (box 11) and a case lid (cover 13) arranged in the stacking direction (You21 Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any conventional configuration for the housing, including the housing of You21.
You21 does not teach that the lid includes terminals electrically connected to the batteries. However, the apparatus of modified Hisayuki is a battery pack (Hisayuki [0001]) and so must necessarily have terminals, and the only options for placing those terminals are on case 11 or case lid 13. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide the terminals anywhere on the battery pack, including on the case lid.
Regarding claim 12, Hisayuki does not teach any particular structure for the cell cases. You21 teaches battery cells with a case lid (cover plate 241) attached to housing 21 in direction y, which intersects stacking direction z and array direction x, with terminals (242 and 243) on the case lid (You21 Fig. 8 and [0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any conventional configuration for the cells, including the cells of You21.
Regarding claim 23, the bent portions of modified Hisayuki are protrusions that protrude toward each other (Hisayuki Figs. 1 and 4) and are directly joined at the protrusions between the devices.
Regarding claim 8, Hisayuki discloses an energy storage apparatus comprising two energy storage devices (first battery group 11 and second battery group 12), a pair of restraint bodies (upper fastening plate 16 and lower fastening plate 17) that collectively sandwich the devices in the stacking direction, the restraint bodies formed by bending plate-like members so that the bent portions bend towards each other and joined together by opposing surfaces of the bending portions between the devices (Hisayuki Figs. 1 and 4).
Hisayuki does not teach that the electrode assembly must be made of stacked plates. You21 teaches that stacked plates are an acceptable configuration for the electrodes in prismatic batteries (You21 Fig. 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any conventional electrode configuration, including stacked plates.
Hisayuki teaches that the restraint bodies are joined at the bent portions by connecting blocks (Hisayuki Figs. 1 and 4). Hisayuki does not teach that the restraint bodies are directly joined by opposing faces of the bent portions. You21 teaches that upper and lower restraint bodies by be joined by extending the bent portions such that they reach each other in the middle (You21 Figs. 1 and 2). Connecting blocks and directly joined, extended bent portions are therefore art-recognized equivalents for the same purpose, and substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known configuration for joining the plates, including direct connection by extended bent portions.
Hisayuki teaches that the device is enclosed in a housing (Hisayuki [0031]). Hisayuki does not teach any particular structure for the housing. You21 teaches a housing comprising a first outer case (box 11) and a case lid (cover 13) arranged in the stacking direction (You21 Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any conventional configuration for the housing, including the housing of You21, which would place the restraint bodies between the cells and outer case.
Regarding claim 15, the battery cells of Hisayuki include cases with long side surfaces in the stacking direction (top and bottom; Hisayuki Figs. 1 and 4). Hisayuki teaches that the device is enclosed in a housing (Hisayuki [0031]), and the top and bottom surfaces of the cells would face the top and bottom faces of the housing.
Regarding claim 16, Hisayuki does not teach any particular structure for the housing. You21 teaches a housing comprising a first outer case (box 11) and a case lid (cover 13) arranged in the stacking direction (You21 Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any conventional configuration for the housing, including the housing of You21.
You21 does not teach that the lid includes terminals electrically connected to the batteries. However, the apparatus of modified Hisayuki is a battery pack (Hisayuki [0001]) and so must necessarily have terminals, and the only options for placing those terminals are on case 11 or case lid 13. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide the terminals anywhere on the battery pack, including on the case lid.
Regarding claim 17, Hisayuki does not teach any particular structure for the cell cases. You21 teaches battery cells with a case lid (cover plate 241) attached to housing 21 in direction y, which intersects stacking direction z and array direction x, with terminals (242 and 243) on the case lid (You21 Fig. 8 and [0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any conventional configuration for the cells, including the cells of You21.
Regarding claim 22, the terminals of modified Hisayuki do not face the each other or the restraining members (Hisayuki Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 20, Hisayuki discloses an energy storage apparatus comprising two energy storage devices (first battery group 11 and second battery group 12), a pair of restraint bodies (upper fastening plate 16 and lower fastening plate 17) that collectively sandwich the devices in the stacking direction, the restraint bodies formed by bending plate-like members so that the bent portions bend towards each other and joined together by opposing surfaces of the bending portions between the devices (Hisayuki Figs. 1 and 4).
Hisayuki does not teach that the case is made of any particular material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any conventional material for the case, including metal.
Hisayuki does not teach that the electrode assembly must be made of stacked plates. You21 teaches that stacked plates are an acceptable configuration for the electrodes in prismatic batteries (You21 Fig. 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any conventional electrode configuration, including stacked plates.
Hisayuki teaches that the restraint bodies are joined at the bent portions by connecting blocks (Hisayuki Figs. 1 and 4). Hisayuki does not teach that the restraint bodies are directly joined by opposing faces of the bent portions. You21 teaches that upper and lower restraint bodies by be joined by extending the bent portions such that they reach each other in the middle (You21 Figs. 1 and 2). Connecting blocks and directly joined, extended bent portions are therefore art-recognized equivalents for the same purpose, and substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known configuration for joining the plates, including direct connection by extended bent portions.
Hisayuki teaches that the device is enclosed in a housing (Hisayuki [0031]). Hisayuki does not teach any particular structure for the housing. You21 teaches a housing comprising a first outer case (box 11) and a case lid (cover 13) arranged in the stacking direction (You21 Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any conventional configuration for the housing, including the housing of You21, which would place the restraint bodies between the cells and outer case.
Regarding claim 22, Hisayuki discloses an energy storage apparatus comprising two energy storage devices (first battery group 11 and second battery group 12), a pair of restraint bodies (upper fastening plate 16 and lower fastening plate 17) that collectively sandwich the devices in the stacking direction, the restraint bodies formed by bending plate-like members so that the bent portions bend towards each other and joined together by opposing surfaces of the bending portions between the devices, with the terminals facing out from the restraining members (Hisayuki Figs. 1 and 4).
Hisayuki does not teach that the case is made of any particular material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any conventional material for the case, including metal.
Hisayuki does not teach that the electrode assembly must be made of stacked plates. You21 teaches that stacked plates are an acceptable configuration for the electrodes in prismatic batteries (You21 Fig. 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any conventional electrode configuration, including stacked plates.
Hisayuki teaches that the restraint bodies are joined at the bent portions by connecting blocks (Hisayuki Figs. 1 and 4). Hisayuki does not teach that the restraint bodies are directly joined by opposing faces of the bent portions. You21 teaches that upper and lower restraint bodies by be joined by extending the bent portions such that they reach each other in the middle (You21 Figs. 1 and 2). Connecting blocks and directly joined, extended bent portions are therefore art-recognized equivalents for the same purpose, and substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known configuration for joining the plates, including direct connection by extended bent portions.
Claim(s) 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisayuki in view of You21 as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of You et al. (US 2020/0411928 A1; hereinafter referred to as You928).
Regarding claims 13 and 18, modified Hisayuki does not teach the use of an electronic device that controls the batteries arranged in an array direction. You928 teaches that cell supervision circuits (i.e., electronic devices that control the batteries) are typically placed wherever there is free space in the battery pack (You928 [0003]). The only space available for such a circuit in the battery of modified Hisayuki is in the voids outside the beams 12 (You21 Fig. 3 and [0043]), which are arranged in an array direction (y) relative to the batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to place a cell supervision circuit in one of these voids, since You928 teaches that such placement is typical.
Claim(s) 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisayuki in view of You21 as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2016/0156004 A1).
Regarding claims 14 and 19, modified Hisayuki teaches an outer case fixing unit (beam 12) corresponding to the protrusions in the restraint members (You21 Figs. 1 and 2 and [0043]) with thermal insulators between the cells and the restraining members (insulating plates 23; Hisayuki [0013]-[0014] and Figs. 2 and 4), which would place them between the cells and the outer case.
Modified Hisayuki does not teach a reinforcing member on the upper case. Kim teaches that adding a shaped bead (i.e., a reinforcing member) to the inner face of a battery pack cover can improve rigidity without increasing the volume (Kim [0042] and [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to add Kim’s reinforcing member to the inner surface of the lid of modified Hisayuki (i.e., between the lid and the battery cells) in order to improve rigidity without increasing volume.
Conclusion
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722