DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed September 17, 2026, have been considered.
Applicant argues that Yamakawa (US 2018/0009294) does not disclose, and would not have rendered obvious, the newly recited limitation that “Rx is 200 to 200,000 mm, except Rx is not within the range of 15,000 to 20,000 mm,” because Yamakawa was cited in the previous Office action for teaching a value corresponding to Rx of 15,000 to 20,000 mm, which is not excluded from the claim (e.g., starting on page 6 of the Reply).
Applicant argues that Yamakawa does not provide a rationale to expand the range of Rx into the newly recited range including the exclusionary gap within the range. This is not persuasive. As noted by Applicant, Yamakawa appears to teach an inverse relationship – the smaller Ry is, the larger Rx should be (e.g., paragraph bridging pages 6 and 7 of the Reply, and first full paragraph of page 8). Thus, while lowering Rx to 10,000 mm might raise Ry above the 5,000 mm claimed threshold, raising Rx above 20,000 would similarly likely lower Ry below 5,000 mm (into the claimed range) while also causing Rx to fall within the newly claimed range.
Applicant notes that Yamakawa discloses a general upper limit for Rx of 20,000 mm, and treats the disclosure as a hard limit (e.g., top of page 7 of the Reply). However, Yamakawa does not treat the upper limit of 20,000 mm as a hard limit, but instead teaches that “[u]pper limits of these curvature radii are not particularly limited, but taking into account the shape of the vehicle, the upper limits are generally 20,000 mm or less” (paragraph [0060] of Yamakawa). Yamakawa clearly accounts for the possibility of a radius greater than 20,000 mm for Rx, depending on the noted considerations, and indicates that such a value exceeding 20,000 mm is possible and acceptable, even if not generally expected, meaning that Yamakawa does, in fact, teach values exceeding 20,000 mm, still overlapping the claimed range.
Nothing in Applicant’s specification appears to show that the results within the newly claimed range experience unexpected changes or results at or near the now excluded portion of the range, such that the nearness of the range taught by Yamakawa would have rendered obvious those ranges slightly outside the edge cases of Yamakawa, falling within the claimed range of Rx values.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained, modified in view of the amendments to the claims, as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–3 and 5–14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 1 (and Claims 2, 3, and 5–14 in view of their dependence thereon), the newly recited limitation “Rx is 200 to 200,000 mm, except Rx is not within the range of 15,000 to 20,000 mm,” does not appear fully supported in the specification. In particular, Applicant has removed a portion within the middle of the previously claimed range. While Applicant’s specification discusses beneficial effects at the lower end of both the claimed Rx and Ry ranges, it does not appear to discuss changes or effects at the top of the claimed ranges, or any changes at or near the now-excluded portion of the range of Rx values. It is unclear that the specification supports a limitation directed to a piecemeal range of Rx values, when the specification only ever indicates that Rx is between 200 mm and 200,000 mm, with no other examples or descriptions of the importance of any portions of the range, or why middle portions of the range might be excluded.
Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1–3, 5, 9, 10, and 12–14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0009294 to Yamakawa et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0050415 to Kanki et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Yamakawa discloses (where the whole document appears relevant, focusing on the third embodiment described in paragraphs [0034]–[0061] and Figs. 4A–C) an automobile laminated glass (e.g., paragraph [0059], “the laminated glass . . . can be used for any of windows of the vehicle”) comprising: a curved outer glass plate 21; a curved inner glass 22 that is smaller than the outer glass plate and is disposed opposing the outer glass plate (Figs. 4A–C); and an intermediate film 24 that includes a functional layer (paragraph [0057], intermediate film may include a coated material for infrared light shielding function) and is disposed between the outer glass plate and the inner glass (Figs. 4B–C), wherein when a horizontal curvature radius of an opposing region of the outer glass plate where the outer glass plate opposes the inner glass plate is defined as Rx (mm) (e.g., R2, 10,000 to 20,000, paragraph [0060], also noting that Yamakawa contemplates values of R2, corresponding to the claimed Rx, of greater than 20,000, depending on the noted considerations, and indicates that such a value exceeding 20,000 mm is possible and acceptable, even if not generally expected, meaning that Yamakawa teaches values corresponding to Rx that encroach on both the lower and upper limits of the excluded range; see also MPEP § 2144.05), and a vertical curvature radius of the outer glass plate is defined as Ry (mm) (e.g., R1, 5,000 to 20,000, paragraph [0060]), Rx is 200 to 200,000 mm, except Rx is not within the range of 15,000 to 20,000 mm, and Ry is 1,700 to 5,000 mm (paragraph [0060], as explained above, where the overlapping of the ranges taught by Yamakawa with the claimed ranges would have rendered obvious the claimed range; and further where the abutting ranges taught by Yamakawa would have rendered obvious the claimed ranges, MPEP § 2144.05, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious or unexpected results at the edges of the range); and wherein at least a portion of the inner glass is located inward of a peripheral edge of the outer glass plate (Figs. 4B–C; paragraphs [0022], [0028], and [0076]).
Yamakawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the functional layer is formed by a film that is heat-shrinkable, and disposed in the intermediate film.
Kanki discloses a laminated glass, such as could be used in a vehicle, and teaches using a heat-shrinkable functional film sandwiched between outer layers in order to suppress shrinkage during manufacturing and prevent orange peel (paragraph [0358]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Yamakawa such that the functional layer is formed by a film that is heat-shrinkable, and disposed in the intermediate film, as suggested by Kanki, in order to suppress shrinkage during manufacturing and prevent orange peel.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Yamakawa and Kanki would have rendered obvious wherein 1/Rx*1/Ry*10−6 is defined as a curvature index, the curvature index is 2.4 or less (where the values taught in paragraph [0060] result in a value less than 2.4; also where Yamakawa teaches what appears to be a narrower range than what is described in paragraph [0053] of Applicant’s specification).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Yamakawa and Kanki would have rendered obvious wherein the curvature index in the opposing region is 1.3 or less (paragraph [0060] of Yamakawa).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Yamakawa and Kanki would have rendered obvious the automobile laminated glass according to claim 1, including at least one protruding portion curved to an outer side of a vehicle when the automobile laminated glass is attached to the vehicle (e.g., paragraph [0059] of Yamakawa).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Yamakawa and Kanki would have rendered obvious (referencing Yamakawa) wherein the intermediate film is formed by a plurality of sheet members (e.g., paragraph [0058], “intermediate film may have a multi-layered structure”), and the plurality of sheet members are arranged spaced apart from each other (where Yamakawa appears silent regarding spacing, but selecting a configuration that would yield predictable results would have been obvious, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious results).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Yamakawa and Kanki would have rendered obvious wherein the inner glass is formed by a glass plate (glass plate 22, paragraph [0035] of Yamakawa).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Yamakawa and Kanki would have rendered obvious wherein the automobile laminated glass is a rear glass panel, a rear quarter glass panel, or a side glass panel (e.g., paragraph [0059] of Yamakawa).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Yamakawa and Kanki would have rendered obvious wherein the outer glass plate has a thickness of 1.6 mm to 4 mm (paragraph [0041] of Yamakawa), and the inner glass has a thickness of 0.3 to 2.3 mm (paragraph [0042] of Yamakawa).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Yamakawa and Kanki would have rendered obvious (referencing Yamakawa) wherein the intermediate film includes a pair of the adhesion layers, and the functional layer is disposed between the pair of adhesion layers (e.g., where paragraph [0058] suggests that the intermediate layer may be formed of a plurality of layers, paragraph [0055] suggests adhesion as one of the purposes of the intermediate layer, and paragraph [0057] suggests a separate functional layer associated with the intermediate/adhesion layers, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to order these layers in the claimed manner, at least in view of the limited number of identifiable solutions, each yielding predictable results, e.g., MPEP § 2144.04).
Claims 6–8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamakawa and Kanki, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0299752 to Sadakane et al.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Yamakawa and Kanki does not explicitly disclose wherein the functional layer is a dimming film.
Sadakane discloses laminated glass, and teaches that an internal functional layer can include a dimming film (e.g., paragraph [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Yamakawa and Kanki such that the functional layer is a dimming film, as suggested by Sadakane, as a suitable configuration for a functional layer (e.g., MPEP §§ 2144.06–07).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Yamakawa, Kanki, and Sadakane would have rendered obvious wherein the dimming film is a PDLC-type or SPD-type film (where using known configurations would have been obvious, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious or unexpected results from the use of the known types of dimming films, e.g., MPEP §§ 2144.06–07).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Yamakawa, Kanki, and Sadakane would have rendered obvious wherein a terminal for applying a voltage to the dimming film is disposed in a lower end portion of the inner glass plate (where selecting the location for required components would have been obvious as a matter of design choice, taking into account known considerations, such as occluding the components, and uniform power delivery, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unexpected or unobvious results).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamakawa and Kanki, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0018954 to Ogawa (relying, if necessary, on the same subject matter disclosed in priority JP application 2017/062000, which published as JP 2018-162044 on October 18, 2018, using the corresponding US as the translation).
Regarding Claim 11, Yamakawa discloses wherein the outer glass plate includes a window region that allows passage of light from outside a vehicle, and the inner glass is attached so as to cover the window region (Figs. 4A–C).
The combination of Yamakawa and Kanki does not explicitly disclose a blocking region in which a blocking layer is laminated surrounding the window region so as to block the passage of light from outside the vehicle.
Ogawa discloses a laminated vehicle window, and teaches a mask layer 2 (blocking region) surrounding a window region to block passage of light from the outside of the vehicle (Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0111], [0112], and [0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Yamakawa and Kanki to include a blocking region in which a blocking layer is laminated surrounding the window region so as to block the passage of light from outside the vehicle, as suggested by Ogawa, to block the view from inside or outside the vehicle at the periphery.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN CROCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871