DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 34, 35, 38, 43, 48, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Erren (GB414458, cited in 08/27/2025 IDS) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Erren (GB414458, cited in 08/27/2025 IDS) in view of Hayashi (10,886,707).
Regarding Claim 34, Erren discloses, in sole Figure (marked-up below), all the claimed limitations including a steam generator comprising: a pressure vessel (labeled), within the pressure vessel being a combustion zone (a), a water outlet zone (space between d and c) downstream of the combustion zone (a), and a mixing zone (labeled) downstream of the combustion zone (a); a gas inlet (b) to the pressure vessel, the gas inlet (b) arranged to receive hydrogen and oxygen under pressure (Pg. 3, first column, ll. 19 – 20 “b, b are two burners through each of which hydrogen and oxygen are supplied”); an ignition means (g - Pg. 3, first column, ll. 25 – 30 “hydrogen-oxygen flame, which is ignited by means of a suitable ignition device g”) within the combustion zone (a) of the pressure vessel, the ignition means arranged to ignite hydrogen and oxygen received at the gas inlet; a steam outlet (labeled) for the outlet of steam from the pressure vessel; a water jacket (h - Pg. 3, first column, ll. 5 – 18 “a is the steam generator space which is surrounded by a water jacket h, wherein water is preferably preheated before its admission to the nozzles c within the steam generator chamber, the water being supplied in a known manner by means of injection pumps”) around the pressure vessel to provide cooling of the pressure vessel; a water inlet (Not shown in the figure; however a water inlet must be present per Pg. 3, first column, ll. 5 – 15 “…the water being supplied in a known manner by means of injection pumps”) arranged to receive water under pressure and feed said water to said water jacket (h); and, a water outlet (c - Pg. 3, first column, ll. 30 – 35 “The water atomized by the nozzles c impinges on the side of the plates d against which the flame impinges, the water evaporating instantaneously owing to the high temperature of the plates.”) positioned within the water outlet zone (space between d and c) the pressure vessel between the gas inlet and the steam outlet (shown in the figure), wherein, in use: the water received at the water inlet (Not shown in the figure) passes along said water jacket (h - Pg. 3, first column, ll. 5 – 15) to provide cooling of the pressure vessel and is output at said water outlet (c) to provide a water spray (spray lines shown in figure) and/or film that mixes with the ignited hydrogen and oxygen to vaporize the water spray and/or film (Pg. 3, first column, ll. 35 – 45 “The steam produced by the combustion of the mixture of hydrogen and oxygen and which is superheated, flows along the plate and through the holes and intermixes with the steam produced by the atomized water.” Erren teaches, in Pg. 3, first column, ll. 20 – 25, that the combustion of the stoichiometric mixture of hydrogen and oxygen produced a temperature of 2,800 to 3,000 °C which was 28 to 30 times higher than the 100 °C boiling point temperature of water. Consequently, water sprayed into combust gases having a temperature of 2,800 to 3,000 °C would have instantly flashed into steam, i.e. vaporized.], the water outlet comprising an elongate body (labeled) around which gas flows, when flowing from the gas inlet (labeled) to the steam
outlet (labeled), the elongate body being elongate (shown in the figure) in a direction of the gas flow from the gas inlet to the steam outlet and the water being emitted, in use, laterally of the elongate body [Applicant’s Specification disclosed, on Pg. 17, ll. 22 – 25 “One water spray pattern that results may be a radial fan (i.e. extending radially of the general axis of the pressure vessel 2) such that the water spray avoids coming into direct contact with the ignition means 6.” The sole figure of Erren showed the water outlet (c) spraying a radial fan of water toward the combustion zone (a). Therefore, Erren disclosed the water being emitted, in use, laterally of the elongate body], at a forward end of the elongate body (shown in the figure), [Examiner notes that the phrase “water spray and/or film being configured in such a way as to avoid hitting the ignition means” is a statement of intended use and the structural arrangement of the device as taught by Erren can perform the function because Erren showed a radial fan of water and Applicant’s Specification disclosed, on Pg. 17, ll. 22 – 25, that a radial fan of water was one spray pattern that facilitated avoiding coming into direct contact with the ignition means. Furthermore, as shown in the sole figure of Erren, to hit the ignition means (g) a spray of water droplets would have had to follow a straight line-of-sight path from the water outlet (c) to the portion of ignition means (g) that was exposed inside the combustion zone (a) without vaporizing into steam. Said straight line path meant that the spray of water droplets would have had to traverse the open space between the water outlet (c) and the perforated plate (d) without vaporizing into steam when exposed to the combustion gas temperature of 2,800 to 3,000 °C which was 28 to 30 times higher than the 100 °C boiling point temperature of water. If the spray of water droplets were still in their liquid phase at the perforated plate (d), then said spray of liquid water droplets would have had to pass through one or more perforations in said perforated plate (d) wherein each one of the one or more perforations would have had to be aligned along said straight line-of-sight path from the water outlet (c) to the portion of ignition means (g) that was exposed inside the combustion zone (a). Erren does not teach that the perforations/holes (i) in said perforated plate (d) were aligned to provide said straight line-of-sight path from the water outlet (c) to the portion of ignition means (g) that was exposed inside the combustion zone (a). Even if the spray of liquid water droplets somehow managed to pass through one or more perforations/holes (i) in said perforated plate (d) that were aligned to provide said straight line-of-sight path from the water outlet (c) to the portion of ignition means (g), then said spray of liquid water droplets would still have to pass through a portion of the combustion zone (a) between said perforated plate (d) and portion of ignition means (g). The combustion zone (a) would have been receiving mass flows of hydrogen gas and oxygen gas which mixed and were combusted inside said combustion zone (a) which generated the 2,800 to 3,000 °C combustion gases that would have flowed from said combustion zone (a) through the plurality of perforations/holes (i) in said perforated plate (d) into the water outlet zone (space between d and c), and then into the mixing zone (labeled) before flowing out of the steam outlet. In other words, for a droplet of liquid water to hit the ignition means (g) from the water outlet (c), said droplet of liquid water would have had to travel against the flow of 2,800 to 3,000 °C combustion gases without vaporizing into steam at 100 °C and without being blown off said straight line-of-sight path from the water outlet (c) to the portion of ignition means (g). Consequently, Erren’s water spray was configured to avoid hitting the ignition means (g) because there would have been a very low probability of a liquid water droplet from the water outlet (c) hitting the ignition means (g) without vaporizing into steam and without being blow off the said straight line-of-sight path by the 2,800 to 3,000 °C combustion gases flowing in the opposite direction.] the water spray and/or film being configured in such a way as to avoid hitting the ignition means (g).
Alternatively, if one of ordinary skill in the art would not have recognized that Erren’s water spray and/or film was configured in such a way as to avoid hitting the ignition means. Then Hayashi teaches, in Col. 1, ll. 38 – 51, a similar ignition means (1 – spark plug) that was hit by water spray droplets on distal end insulator of the spark plug resulting in the formation of cracks in the insulator due to the thermal stress caused by the sudden temperature decrease. In other words, liquid water droplets at less than 100 °C would have made physical contact with the surface of the very hot, e.g., 2,800 to 3,000 °C, insulator resulting in localized cooling as the liquid water droplets absorbed heat from said insulator surface and vaporized into steam. The localized cooling of said insulator surface would have produced thermal stress and resulted in the formation of cracks in the insulator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Erren with avoid hitting an ignition means with a water spray, taught by Hayashi, to facilitate avoiding generating cracks in the insulator of the spark plug, i.e., ignition means, because a cracked insulator would have failed to perform its designed and intended function of insulating the central electrode of the spark plug from the ground electrode so that when a predetermined electric power was supplied to the central electrode and the ground electrode a spark would have only been generated in the discharge gap between the central electrode and the ground electrode.
Re Claim 35, Erren or alternatively Erren, i.v., Hayashi, discloses/teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Erren further teaches including wherein the pressure vessel comprises a double-walled construction, forming the water jacket (labeled) between the walls (shown in the sole figure marked-up above).
Re Claim 38, Erren or alternatively Erren, i.v., Hayashi, discloses/teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Erren further teaches including wherein said elongate body of the water outlet (c) is bullet-shaped, said elongate body being mounted concentrically within the pressure vessel (Pg. 2, first column, ll. 5 – 10 “annular chamber surrounding the steam producer”), along a central axis (labeled) of the pressure vessel, with a tip (labeled) of the body facing the combustion zone (a), at which tip the water is emitted, in use (conical lines indicated the water spray when in use).
Re Claim 43, Erren or alternatively Erren, i.v., Hayashi, discloses/teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Erren further teaches including wherein the steam outlet (labeled) is at an opposite end (shown in the sole figure marked-up above) of the pressure vessel to the gas inlet (labeled).
Re Claim 48, Erren or alternatively Erren, i.v., Hayashi, discloses/teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Erren further teaches including wherein the gas inlet (labeled) comprises two separate paths (shown in the sole figure marked-up above), a hydrogen path (labeled) and an oxygen path (labeled), the hydrogen path and the oxygen path being arranged that the hydrogen and oxygen mix within the pressure vessel (Pg. 3, first column, ll. 35 – 45 “The steam produced by the combustion of the mixture of hydrogen and oxygen and which is superheated, flows along the plate and through the holes and intermixes with the steam produced by the atomized water.”) as they are output from the gas inlet (labeled).
Re Claim 57, Erren or alternatively Erren, i.v., Hayashi, discloses/teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Erren further teaches including wherein the mixing zone (labeled) affords a larger volume (The volume of a cylindrical section was equal to the cross-sectional flow area times the height/length of the cylindrical section. As shown in the sole figure the height/length of the mixing zone cylindrical section was significantly greater than the height/length of the water outlet zone) for the gas flow than the water outlet zone (space between d and c) and a cross-sectional area available to the flow of gas increases past a rear end of the elongate body (As shown in the sole figure the cross-sectional flow area at the elongate body was the inner radius of the pressure vessel from the central axis squared times pi, i.e., 3.14159, minus the outer radius of the elongate body squared times pi and minus the cross-sectional flow area occupied by the radial support member. The cross-sectional flow area past a rear end of the elongate body was just the inner radius of the pressure vessel from the central axis squared times pi which meant that the cross-sectional flow area past a rear end of the elongate body was greater than the cross-sectional flow area at the elongate body).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erren (GB414458, cited in 08/27/2025 IDS) in view of Hayashi (10,886,707) in view of Sternfeld et al. (4,377,067).
Re Claim 39, Erren, i.v., Hayashi, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except, wherein the water outlet comprises a plurality of channels for creating an array of water.
Sternfeld teaches, in Figs. 6 and 7, a similar water outlet (100) comprises a plurality of channels (108 – seven shown in Figs. 6 and 7) for creating an array of water (Col. 6, l. 59 to Col. 7, l. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Erren, i.v., Hayashi, with the plurality of channels for creating an array of water, taught by Sternfeld, because all the claimed elements, i.e., the steam generator comprising: a pressure vessel; a gas inlet to the pressure vessel, the gas inlet arranged to receive hydrogen and oxygen under pressure; an ignition means within the pressure vessel, the ignition means arranged to ignite hydrogen and oxygen received at the gas inlet; a steam outlet for the outlet of steam from the pressure vessel, the water outlet comprising a body around which gas flows, and a water outlet comprises a plurality of channels for creating an array of water, were known in the art, in combination each one of the components would perform the same function as it did separately, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, with no change in their respective functions, to yield predictable results, i.e., integrating a plurality of channels in the water outlet would have facilitated creating a radial array or fan of water because each individual channel of said plurality of channels would have been angled to spray water toward a different spot in three-dimensional space around the central/principal axis of the pressure vessel thereby creating a radial fan of water spray. KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1395; MPEP 2143(A).
Re Claim 40, Erren, i.v., Hayashi and Sternfeld, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, including wherein the array is a radial fan (conical lines indicated the water spray when in use, shown in the sole figure marked-up above), extending generally radially of a principal axis (labeled) of the pressure vessel.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erren (GB414458, cited in 08/27/2025 IDS) in view of Hayashi (10,886,707) in view of Trapp et al. (2020/0248084A1).
Re Claim 41, Erren, i.v., Hayashi, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except, wherein the water outlet comprises molybdenum.
Trapp teaches, in Figs. 1 – 4, a similar pressure vessel (90 – Fig. 3) having a nozzle assembly (125 – Fig. 4) with a cooling water jacket (110, 119, 120 – Para. [0174] wherein said nozzle assembly (125) was made from molybdenum since molybdenum was a high temperature melting point material.
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Erren, i.v., Hayashi, with the molybdenum material, taught by Trapp, because all the claimed elements, i.e., a steam generator comprising a pressure vessel having a gas inlet, a steam outlet, a water outlet positioned within the pressure vessel, and molybdenum material used in a nozzle assembly of a pressure vessel, were known in the art, and one skilled in the art could have substituted the molybdenum material, taught by Trapp, for the non-disclosed material of the water outlet of Erren, i.v., Hayashi, with no change in their respective functions, to yield predictable results, i.e., manufacturing the water outlet from molybdenum would have facilitated the water outlet surviving the high-temperature combustion gases without melting because molybdenum was known as a material with a high temperature melting point. KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1395; MPEP 2143(B).
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erren (GB414458, cited in 08/27/2025 IDS) in view of Hayashi (10,886,707) in view of Gray (3,980,137).
Re Claim 42, Erren, i.v., Hayashi, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except, wherein the ignition means comprises a glow plug.
Gray teaches, in Figs. 1 – 4, a similar steam generator (60) having an ignition means (glow plug – 101 – Fig. 1 - Col. 4, ll. 15 – 20 and 215 – Fig. 4 – Col. 6, ll. 35 - 40) within a pressure vessel (62), arranged to ignite hydrogen and oxygen (Col. 4, ll. 5 – 20 and Col. 4, ll. 30 – 35) received at the gas inlet (66, 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Erren, i.v., Hayashi, with the ignition means (glow plug) within the pressure vessel, arranged to ignite hydrogen and oxygen received at the gas inlet, taught by Gray, because all the claimed elements, i.e., a steam generator comprising a pressure vessel having a gas inlet, a steam outlet, a water jacket, a water inlet, a water outlet positioned within the pressure vessel, and a glow plug ignition means within the pressure vessel, the glow plug ignition means arranged to ignite hydrogen and oxygen, were known in the art, and one skilled in the art could have substituted the glow plug ignition means, taught by Gray, for the non-disclosed type of ignition means of Erren, i.v., Hayashi, with no change in their respective functions, to yield predictable results, i.e., the glow plug ignition means mounted within the pressure vessel adjacent to the gas inlet would have ignited the hydrogen and oxygen injected into the pressure vessel from the gas inlet when electricity was supplied to the glow plug ignition means. KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1395; MPEP 2143(B).
Claims 44 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erren (GB414458, cited in 08/27/2025 IDS) in view of Hayashi (10,886,707) in view of Ennis et al. (6,350,394).
Re Claims 44 and 45, Erren, i.v., Hayashi, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except, (Claim 44) wherein the steam outlet incorporates a valve control means and (Claim 45) wherein the valve control means is a De Laval nozzle.
Ennis teaches, in Fig. 10 and Col. 32, ll. 50 – 65, a similar steam generator (1001) that received hydrogen (H2) and oxygen (O2) at a gas inlet end and had a De Laval nozzle (1002), i.e., valve control means, at the steam outlet end.
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Erren, i.v., Hayashi, with the steam outlet incorporates a valve control means/ De Laval nozzle, taught by Ennis, because all the claimed elements, i.e., a steam generator comprising a pressure vessel having a gas inlet, a steam outlet, and a valve control means/ De Laval nozzle incorporated in the steam outlet, were known in the art, and one skilled in the art could have substituted the valve control means/ De Laval nozzle, taught by Ennis, for the non-disclosed steam outlet of Erren, i.v., Hayashi, with no change in their respective functions, to yield predictable results, i.e., incorporating a valve control means/ De Laval nozzle into the steam outlet would have facilitated accelerating the steam from the pressure vessel to supersonic speeds by converting the thermal energy of the steam flow into kinetic energy. KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1395; MPEP 2143(B).
Claims 58 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erren (GB414458, cited in 08/27/2025 IDS) in view of Hayashi (10,886,707) in view of Duplication of Parts.
Re Claim 58, Erren, i.v., Hayashi, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Erren further teaches, in the sole figure, wherein the elongate body is supported within the pressure vessel by a radial support member.
Erren, i.v., Hayashi, as discussed above, is silent on said radial support member being a plurality of radial support members.
MPEP2144.04(VI)(B) Duplication of Parts cites In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Erren, i.v., Hayashi, with said radial support member being a plurality of radial support members because it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Applicant’s original Specification failed to disclose a new and unexpected result produced by the plurality of radial support members.
Regarding Claim 59, Erren teaches, in sole Figure (marked-up above), the invention as claimed including a steam generator comprising: a pressure vessel (labeled), within the pressure vessel being a combustion zone (a), a water outlet zone (space between d and c) downstream of the combustion zone (a), and a mixing zone (labeled) downstream of the combustion zone (a); a gas inlet (b) to the pressure vessel, the gas inlet (b) arranged to receive hydrogen and oxygen under pressure (Pg. 3, first column, ll. 19 – 20 “b, b are two burners through each of which hydrogen and oxygen are supplied”); an ignition means (g - Pg. 3, first column, ll. 25 – 30 “hydrogen-oxygen flame, which is ignited by means of a suitable ignition device g”) within the combustion zone (a) of the pressure vessel, the ignition means arranged to ignite hydrogen and oxygen received at the gas inlet; a steam outlet (labeled) for the outlet of steam from the pressure vessel; a water jacket (h - Pg. 3, first column, ll. 5 – 18 “a is the steam generator space which is surrounded by a water jacket h, wherein water is preferably preheated before its admission to the nozzles c within the steam generator chamber, the water being supplied in a known manner by means of injection pumps”) around the pressure vessel to provide cooling of the pressure vessel; a water inlet (Not shown in the figure; however a water inlet must be present per Pg. 3, first column, ll. 5 – 15 “…the water being supplied in a known manner by means of injection pumps”) arranged to receive water under pressure and feed said water to said water jacket (h); and, a water outlet (c - Pg. 3, first column, ll. 30 – 35 “The water atomized by the nozzles c impinges on the side of the plates d against which the flame impinges, the water evaporating instantaneously owing to the high temperature of the plates.”) positioned within the water outlet zone (space between d and c) the pressure vessel between the gas inlet and the steam outlet (shown in the figure), wherein, in use: the water received at the water inlet (Not shown in the figure) passes along said water jacket (h - Pg. 3, first column, ll. 5 – 15) to provide cooling of the pressure vessel and is output at said water outlet (c) to provide a water spray (spray lines shown in figure) and/or film that mixes with the ignited hydrogen and oxygen to vaporize the water spray and/or film (Pg. 3, first column, ll. 35 – 45 “The steam produced by the combustion of the mixture of hydrogen and oxygen and which is superheated, flows along the plate and through the holes and intermixes with the steam produced by the atomized water.” Erren teaches, in Pg. 3, first column, ll. 20 – 25, that the combustion of the stoichiometric mixture of hydrogen and oxygen produced a temperature of 2,800 to 3,000 °C which was 28 to 30 times higher than the 100 °C boiling point temperature of water. Consequently, water sprayed into combust gases having a temperature of 2,800 to 3,000 °C would have instantly flashed into steam, i.e. vaporized.], the water outlet comprises an elongate body (labeled) around which gas flows, when flowing from the gas inlet (labeled) to the steam outlet (labeled), the elongate body being elongate (shown in the figure) in a direction of the gas flow from the gas inlet to the steam outlet and the water being emitted, in use, laterally of the elongate body [Applicant’s Specification disclosed, on Pg. 17, ll. 22 – 25 “One water spray pattern that results may be a radial fan (i.e. extending radially of the general axis of the pressure vessel 2) such that the water spray avoids coming into direct contact with the ignition means 6.” The sole figure of Erren showed the water outlet (c) spraying a radial fan of water toward the combustion zone (a). Therefore, Erren disclosed the water being emitted, in use, laterally of the elongate body], at a forward end of the elongate body (shown in the figure), [Examiner notes that the phrase “water spray and/or film being configured in such a way as to avoid hitting the ignition means” is a statement of intended use and the structural arrangement of the device as taught by Erren can perform the function because Erren showed a radial fan of water and Applicant’s Specification disclosed, on Pg. 17, ll. 22 – 25, that a radial fan of water was one spray pattern that facilitated avoiding coming into direct contact with the ignition means. Furthermore, as shown in the sole figure of Erren, to hit the ignition means (g) a spray of water droplets would have had to follow a straight line-of-sight path from the water outlet (c) to the portion of ignition means (g) that was exposed inside the combustion zone (a) without vaporizing into steam. Said straight line path meant that the spray of water droplets would have had to traverse the open space between the water outlet (c) and the perforated plate (d) without vaporizing into steam when exposed to the combustion gas temperature of 2,800 to 3,000 °C which was 28 to 30 times higher than the 100 °C boiling point temperature of water. If the spray of water droplets were still in their liquid phase at the perforated plate (d), then said spray of liquid water droplets would have had to pass through one or more perforations in said perforated plate (d) wherein each one of the one or more perforations would have had to be aligned along said straight line-of-sight path from the water outlet (c) to the portion of ignition means (g) that was exposed inside the combustion zone (a). Erren does not teach that the perforations/holes (i) in said perforated plate (d) were aligned to provide said straight line-of-sight path from the water outlet (c) to the portion of ignition means (g) that was exposed inside the combustion zone (a). Even if the spray of liquid water droplets somehow managed to pass through one or more perforations/holes (i) in said perforated plate (d) that were aligned to provide said straight line-of-sight path from the water outlet (c) to the portion of ignition means (g), then said spray of liquid water droplets would still have to pass through a portion of the combustion zone (a) between said perforated plate (d) and portion of ignition means (g). The combustion zone (a) would have been receiving mass flows of hydrogen gas and oxygen gas which mixed and were combusted inside said combustion zone (a) which generated the 2,800 to 3,000 °C combustion gases that would have flowed from said combustion zone (a) through the plurality of perforations/holes (i) in said perforated plate (d) into the water outlet zone (space between d and c), and then into the mixing zone (labeled) before flowing out of the steam outlet. In other words, for a droplet of liquid water to hit the ignition means (g) from the water outlet (c), said droplet of liquid water would have had to travel against the flow of 2,800 to 3,000 °C combustion gases without vaporizing into steam at 100 °C and without being blown off said straight line-of-sight path from the water outlet (c) to the portion of ignition means (g). Consequently, Erren’s water spray was configured to avoid hitting the ignition means (g) because there would have been a very low probability of a liquid water droplet from the water outlet (c) hitting the ignition means (g) without vaporizing into steam and without being blow off the said straight line-of-sight path by the 2,800 to 3,000 °C combustion gases flowing in the opposite direction.] the water spray and/or film being configured in such a way as to avoid hitting the ignition means (g); wherein the elongate body of the water outlet (c) is bullet-shaped, said elongate body being mounted concentrically within the pressure vessel (Pg. 2, first column, ll. 5 – 10 “annular chamber surrounding the steam producer”), along a central axis (labeled) of the pressure vessel, with a tip (labeled) of the body facing the combustion zone (a), at which tip the water is emitted, in use (conical lines indicated the water spray when in use);
wherein the mixing zone (labeled) affords a larger volume (The volume of a cylindrical section was equal to the cross-sectional flow area times the height/length of the cylindrical section. As shown in the sole figure the height/length of the mixing zone cylindrical section was significantly greater than the height/length of the water outlet zone) for the gas flow than the water outlet zone (space between d and c), a cross-sectional area available to the flow of gas increases past a rear end of the elongate body (As shown in the sole figure the cross-sectional flow area at the elongate body was the inner radius of the pressure vessel from the central axis squared times pi, i.e., 3.14159, minus the outer radius of the elongate body squared times pi and minus the cross-sectional flow area occupied by the radial support member. The cross-sectional flow area past a rear end of the elongate body was just the inner radius of the pressure vessel from the central axis squared times pi which meant that the cross-sectional flow area past a rear end of the elongate body was greater than the cross-sectional flow area at the elongate body); and wherein the elongate body is supported within the pressure vessel by a radial support member (shown in the sole figure).
If one of ordinary skill in the art would not have recognized that Erren’s water spray and/or film was configured in such a way as to avoid hitting the ignition means. Then Hayashi teaches, in Col. 1, ll. 38 – 51, a similar ignition means (1 – spark plug) that was hit by water spray droplets on distal end insulator of the spark plug resulting in the formation of cracks in the insulator due to the thermal stress caused by the sudden temperature decrease. In other words, liquid water droplets at less than 100 °C would have made physical contact with the surface of the very hot, e.g., 2,800 to 3,000 °C, insulator resulting in localized cooling as the liquid water droplets absorbed heat from said insulator surface and vaporized into steam. The localized cooling of said insulator surface would have produced thermal stress and resulted in the formation of cracks in the insulator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Erren with avoid hitting an ignition means with a water spray, taught by Hayashi, to facilitate avoiding generating cracks in the insulator of the spark plug, i.e., ignition means, because a cracked insulator would have failed to perform its designed and intended function of insulating the central electrode of the spark plug from the ground electrode so that when a predetermined electric power was supplied to the central electrode and the ground electrode a spark would have only been generated in the discharge gap between the central electrode and the ground electrode.
Erren, i.v., Hayashi, as discussed above, is silent on said radial support member being a plurality of radial support members.
MPEP2144.04(VI)(B) Duplication of Parts cites In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Erren, i.v., Hayashi, with said radial support member being a plurality of radial support members because it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Applicant’s original Specification failed to disclose a new and unexpected result produced by the plurality of radial support members.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pgs. 7 – 11 how Applicant’s disclosed invention allegedly functions differently than the steam generator taught by Erren. These arguments are not persuasive because it has been held that “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original); MPEP 2114(II). It has been held that “While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); MPEP 2114(II). As discussed above, Erren or the combination of Erren, i.v., Hayashi, teaches all the structural limitations of the claimed apparatus. The rejections are maintained.
Furthermore, Applicant’s arguments that Applicant’s invention directly sprays liquid water droplets into the combustion flame of the mixture of burning hydrogen gas and oxygen gas is refuted by Applicant’s own disclosure. Applicant’s original Fig. 2 showed that the water outlet (10) sprayed the water into water spray zone (13) as a radial fan going in a downstream direction relative to the upstream tip of the body. As shown in original Fig. 2, the combustion zone (14) and ignition means (6 – glow plug) were located upstream of the upstream tip of the elongate body housing the water outlet (10). Therefore the water outlet (10) in the elongate body was spaced from and downstream of the combustion zone (14) of the mixture of hydrogen and oxygen, i.e., downstream of the flame front where the combustion flames start. Since the water spray zone (13) was downstream of the water outlet (10) in the body said water spray and/or film would have never come into direct contact with the ignited hydrogen and oxygen, i.e., the combustion flame in the combustion zone (14). Specification Pg. 17, ll. 22 – 25 disclosed “One water spray pattern that results may be a radial fan (i.e. extending radially of the general axis of the pressure vessel 2) such that the water spray avoids coming into direct contact with the ignition means 6.” As shown in Figs. 5A and 5B, the ignition means (6 – glow plug) was located in the combustion zone (14) which was located upstream of the upstream tip of the elongate body housing the water outlet (10). Therefore the water sprayed into the water spray zone (13) was NOT sprayed into the combustion zone (14) to purposely avoid coming into direct contact with the ignition means (6 – glow plug). Specification Pg. 18, ll. 3 – 10 disclosed “The hydrogen 4 oxygen 5 mixture passing out of the gas inlet 3 is ignited by the ignition means 6, where it is combusted. Combustion of this hydrogen-oxygen mixture forms a hydrogen-oxygen flame, and a product gas results that comprises pure water vapour or steam 12. During the combustion of hydrogen 4 with oxygen 5, the combustion zone 14 is cooled by the water 9 that surrounds the outer walls of the pressure vessel 2. This water 9 is also fed through the spray outlet 10, making up a water spray that is sprayed into the water spray zone 13. This water 9 evaporates forming additional water vapour or steam 12.” So the water spray and/or film in the water spray zone (13) was evaporated by mixing with and being heated by the pure water vapour/steam, i.e., the product gas that flowed downstream of the combustion zone (14) where the hydrogen-oxygen flame produced said product gas per the stoichiometric combustion equation: 2 H2 + O2 [Wingdings font/0xE0] 2 H2O.
As discussed above, Erren teaches, in Pg. 3, first column, ll. 20 – 25, that the combustion of a stoichiometric mixture of hydrogen and oxygen produced combustion gases, i.e., steam, at temperature of 2,800 to 3,000 °C which was 28 to 30 times higher than the 100 °C boiling point temperature of liquid water. Consequently, liquid water droplets sprayed into combustion gases, i.e., steam, at temperature of 2,800 to 3,000 °C would have instantly flashed into steam which would have been added to the combustion gases, i.e., steam.
Applicant further argues, on Pg. 9, last paragraph, that “…if one were to modify Erren by removing the plate d that separates the flame from the atomized water spray c, the system would simply not work, as the atomized water spray C is directed towards the ignition device g, thereby preventing the hydrogen and oxygen from igniting. There would be no flame.” These arguments are not persuasive because they are based on a faulty attorney argument. It has been held that the arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness.”); MPEP 2145. Applicant failed to cite where Erren explicitly teaches that the atomized water spray from (c) was turned on before the ignition means was used to ignite a mixture of hydrogen gas and oxygen gas in the combustion zone (a). Furthermore, the attorney argument is contrary to common sense of a person of ordinary skill in the combustion art. It was common sense that water sprays or films were used in the prior art to extinguish fires or to prevent a fire from starting. Therefore a person of ordinary skill in the combustion art would not have sprayed liquid water droplets or a film of liquid water at the ignition means (g) within the combustion zone (a) of Erren before or during the starting phase when said ignition means (g) was used to heat a portion of the mixture of hydrogen gas and oxygen gas in the combustion zone (a) up to it autoignition temperature of around 570 °C. Using basic scientific logic it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the combustion art that liquid water droplets or film at a temperature of around 20 °C (room temperature) sprayed at said ignition means (g) while it was trying to ignite a mixture of hydrogen gas and oxygen gas in the combustion zone (a) would have prevented ignition by absorbing the heat produced by said ignition means (g) thereby preventing the mixture of hydrogen gas and oxygen gas in the region around said ignition means (g) from reaching its autoignition temperature of around 570 °C.
Spraying liquid water droplets or film into a combustion chamber/flame that was already at its designed operating temperature was well known in the prior art for at least 80 years. In the early years of World War II fighter aircraft on both sides used water injection, i.e., spraying liquid water droplets or film into a combustion chamber/flame, of an engine warmed up to its operating temperature to temporarily boost the engine power output. The U.S. Air Force Boeing B-52 Stratofortress bombers which first flew in 1952 used water injection, i.e., spraying liquid water droplets or film into a combustion chamber/flame, on its eight J57 turbojet engines to temporarily boost takeoff thrust under heavy, hot, or high-altitude conditions. The standard operating procedure of multi-engine aircraft was to only start one engine at a time and to let the first engine started warm up to operating temperature because either bleed air or electricity produced by the warmed up first engine would then be used to start the second engine. When the second started engine was warmed up, the bleed air or electricity produced by the warmed up first engine would then be used to start the third engine. And the procedure would be repeated until all eight engines of the Boeing B-52 Stratofortress bomber were running at their designed operating temperatures. Then the Boeing B-52 Stratofortress bomber would have used thrust generated by its eight operating engines to taxi from its parking location inside a hanger or revetment to the start of the runway to prepare for take-off. After receiving permission from an air traffic controller in the airbase control tower, the Boeing B-52 Stratofortress bomber would have driven onto the runway and prepared for take-off by setting the brakes, then increasing the throttle setting of all eight operating engines to the take-off thrust setting. When all eight operating engines were safely producing take-off thrust, the aircraft brake would have been released and the water injection into the combustion chambers of each engine started to temporarily boost takeoff thrust when required. The water injected into the very hot combustion chambers would have flashed into steam which meant that the volume of liquid water would have expanded by a ratio of about 1,600:1, i.e., one unit volume of liquid water expanded to occupy 1,600 unit volume of steam at standard atmospheric pressure. The expanded volume of steam increased the pressure and mass flow of the combustion gases that flowed through the turbines and out the core exhaust thereby producing additional thrust above and beyond the maximum engine thrust without water injection. Consequently, contrary to Applicant’s attorney arguments, a person of ordinary skill in the combustion art would not have turned on the atomized water spray from (c) of Erren’s invention before the ignition means was used to ignite a mixture of hydrogen gas and oxygen gas in the combustion zone (a) because it was common sense and basic scientific knowledge that doing so would have prevented ignition of the mixture of hydrogen gas and oxygen gas in the combustion zone (a). The rejections are maintained.
Correspondence
/LORNE E MEADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741