DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions and Claim Status
Applicants amendments and arguments filed 2/27/26 are acknowledged. Any rejection or objection from the 12/29/25 office action that is not addressed below is withdrawn based on the amendments.
Previously, Group 1 and the species of SEQ ID NO:1 were elected.
Claims 16 and 20 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/24/25.
With respect to newly added claim 41, SEQ ID NO:1 was elected, not SEQ ID NO:9 of newly added claim 41. SEQ ID NO:1 does not include modifications as in claim 7.
Claims 7 and 41 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/24/25.
Claims 4-6, 8-11, 13-15, 17-19 and 21-39 have been canceled.
Claims 1-3, 12 and 40 are being examined.
Priority
The priority information is found in the filing receipt dated 10/5/22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 12 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Diamond DJ (US 6,632,435; ‘Diamond’).
Diamond teach the preparation of a positional scanning synthetic combinatorial library (example 6 columns 15-16). Diamond teach a C-amide synthetic L-amino acid combinatorial nonapeptide library (H-A1-Y9-CONH2) that consisted of 180 mixtures in the OX8 format where O represents one each of the 20 natural L-amino acids and X represents any of the 20 natural amino acids with the exception of cysteine (example 6 columns 15-16). Diamond teach that each mixture consisted of 198 different nonamer peptides (example 6 columns 15-16).
In relation to the peptide of claims 1-3 and 40, the nonapeptide library of Diamond is of sequence OX8 where O represents one each of the 20 natural L-amino acids and X represents any of the 20 natural amino acids with the exception of cysteine in each of the remaining positions (example 6 columns 15-16). Diamond teach that each mixture consisted of 198 different nonamer peptides (example 6 columns 15-16). Thus, when O is N (one of the 180 mixtures) , the library necessarily comprises NDSYLRSSL-NH2 (one of the 198 different nonamer peptides) which is instant SEQ ID NO:1. Diamond expressly teach the peptides as synthetic (example 6 columns 15-16).
In relation to claim 12, Diamond expressly teach the preparations as mixtures (example 6 columns 15-16).
Conclusion
RONALD T. NIEBAUER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/RONALD T NIEBAUER/Examiner, Art Unit 1658