DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions and Claim Status
Applicants amendments and arguments filed 11/3/25 are acknowledged. Any rejection or objection from the 8/1/25 office action that is not addressed below is withdrawn based on the amendments.
Previously, Group 1 and the species of SEQ ID NO:1 were elected.
Claims 16 and 20 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/24/25.
Claim 7 remains withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/24/25.
Claims 4-6, 8-11, 13-15, 17-19 and 21-39 have been canceled.
Claims 1-3 and 12 are being examined.
Priority
The priority information is found in the filing receipt dated 10/5/22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection below is a new rejection necessitated by amendment.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 2006/0148711; ‘Lu’).
Lu teach inhibitors that disrupt binding between a PDZ protein and cognate ligands such as NMDA receptors (abstract) and specifically teach polypeptide inhibitors (claim 1). Lu teach specific sequences including LNSCSNRRVYKKMPSIESDV (2nd entry in Table 9 on page 43) and suggest sequences with high OD as advantageous and suggest applications (sections 0517 and 0105). Lu also recites the LNSCSNRRVYKKMPSIESDV sequence in Table 3 (page 46). Lu specifically recites inhibitors as those shown in Table 9 (section 0363). Lu teach that the polypeptide length can be 3-20 amino acids (claim 9 and sections 0010 and 0363). Lu recognizes that the stability of the inhibitors can be improved by terminal modifications including C-terminal amidation (sections 0369 and 0072). Lu teach compositions of the inhibitor including a carrier (claim 22).
Lu does not teach a specific example that reads on the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Lu based on the specific teachings and suggestions of Lu. Lu teach specific sequences including LNSCSNRRVYKKMPSIESDV (2nd entry in Table 9 on page 43) and suggest sequences with high OD as advantageous and suggest applications (sections 0517 and 0105). Lu specifically recites inhibitors as those shown in Table 9 (section 0363) thus one would have been motivated to make LNSCSNRRVYKKMPSIESDV. Since Lu suggest as inhibitors (claim 1 and section 0363) and recognizes that the stability of the inhibitors can be improved by terminal modifications including C-terminal amidation (sections 0369 and 0072) one would have been motivated to make LNSCSNRRVYKKMPSIESDV-NH2. Since Lu teach that the polypeptide length can be 3-20 amino acids (claim 9 and sections 0010 and 0363) one would have been motivated to make various peptides lengths including LNSCSNRRVYKKMPS-NH2 (15-mer starting at 1st residue) and STPRVLNSCSNRRVY-NH2 (which comprises LNSCSNRRVY and the overlapping sequence based on the NMDAR2A sequence). Since Lu teach compositions of the inhibitor (claim 22) one would have been motivated to make compositions of the peptides. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Lu teach that synthesis methods were known (sections 0058 and 0114-0126).
In relation to claim 1, LNSCSNRRVYKKMPSIESDV-NH2 as discussed above comprises at least 6 consecutive amino acids of SEQ ID NO:14 (LNSCSN) and is 100% identical with residues 1445-1464 of SEQ ID NO:21 and is C-terminally amidated.
In relation to claim 2, Lu teach that the polypeptide length can be 3-20 amino acids (claim 9 and sections 0010 and 0363) thus suggesting LNSCSNRRVYKKMPS-NH2 (15-mer starting at 1st residue).
In relation to claim 3, Lu teach that the polypeptide length can be 3-20 amino acids (claim 9 and sections 0010 and 0363) thus suggesting STPRVLNSCSNRRVY-NH2 (which comprises LNSCSNRRVY and the overlapping sequence based on the NMDAR2A sequence) which comprises SEQ ID NO:14.
In relation to claim 12, Lu teach compositions of the inhibitor including a carrier (claim 22).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RONALD T. NIEBAUER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/RONALD T NIEBAUER/Examiner, Art Unit 1658