DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-15 and 17-21 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 6/3/22.
Claim 17 stands withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142 (b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim 1-15 and 18-21 are under consideration in the instant application.
3. The following rejection remains.
6. Claims 1-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over WO2017/205434 (IDS reference, of record) in view of U.S. Pub 2006/0088523 (of record) for the reasons set forth in the office action mailed on 7/17/25.
The ‘434 publication teaches Fc multimers that comprises SEQ ID NO:23-24 (note SEQ ID NO:48-49) and the Fc domains comprise 3-10 Fc portions (p. 30-33, 43-45). The ‘434 publication further teaches compositions comprising the Fc multimers and the compositions comprise histidine, sorbitol and polysorbate (p. 73). As the ‘434 publication teaches the claimed SEQ ID NO:23-24, it is expected to have 2-3 Fc portions, 2 Fc peptides, each comprise a hinge, CH2-CH3 constant domains recited by claims 12-14, claims 12-14 are included in this rejection.
The disclosure of the ‘434 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the specific concentration and pH as recited in claims 1-7 of the instant application.
The ‘523 publication teaches the use of about 100mg/ml of antibody, 20mM of histidine and 240mM of sorbitol or sucrose with polysorbate at pH 6 with various antibody targets (p.32-34). The ‘523 publication further teaches that the antibody encompasses multimer targets (p. 16) and the use of methionine as antioxidant and polysorbate 80 (p. 34). The formulations enhance stability (p.33) and the formulation may be lyophilized.
In addition, the ‘523 publication teaches stable compositions comprising histidine, sucrose and polysorbate and further addition of methionine is suggested (p. 34).
As is evidenced by instant specification p.49, the use of 20mM histidine is used with 240 mM of sucrose, the ration recited in claim 8 is met and included in this rejection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize conditions and excipient combinations taught by the ‘523 publications into the Fc multimer compositions taught by the ‘434 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of specific buffer and stabilizer combination stabilize Fc multimer and the combination or composition is applicable to various antibody targets including Fc multimers.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Applicant’s response filed on 11/25/25 has been fully considered but they were not persuasive.
Applicant has asserted that there is no motivation to combine the references as the ‘523 publication discloses structurally distinct antibody from the Fc multimer of the claimed invention. The ‘523 publication relates to HER2, DR5 or CD20.
Unlike Applicant’s assertion that the Fc multimer is taught by the ‘434 publication and the formulations of the ‘434 publication allows addition of buffer, stabilizer and surfactant (p.73).
Although the ‘523 publication teaches the use of structurally different antibodies, the teachings of the ‘523 publication is not limited to HER2, DR5, VEGF or CD20. Rather, the ‘523 publication includes Fc variants that enhances effector functions as a part of antibody with various multispecific antibodies (note p. 8-11). Fc multimers of the ‘434 publication as well as the antibodies of the ‘523 publication may be co-formulated with anti-cancer drugs (p. 13-16). As such, the excipients may not be detrimental and widely used concentrations of the ‘523 publication may be expected to attributed to the Fc multimers. IN this perspective, the combination of the references provides reasonable expectation of success and the rejection is maintained.
7. No claims are allowable.
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
January 6, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641