Status of Claims
Claims 99, 101, 125, 127, and 129 are amended.
Claims 1-98, 100, 102-103, 105-110, 113-117, and 128 have been or were previously cancelled.
Claims 99, 101, 104, 111-112, 118-127, and 129-135 are pending.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant argues:
Proharam's systems do not include a controller configured to "determine, based on the speed, a pressure level to release the contents from within the biological container" as amended claim 99 recites. Instead, Proharam's systems meter different amounts of various additives into a mixture and then release the mixture at a constant pressure for field application. The amount of each additive that is delivered to the field is controlled when the mixture is prepared by selective metering of the additives, not by varying the pressure at which the mixture is released. Proharam affirms that "the system performs a dose modulation of the injected product depending on the ground speed of the tractor while keeping a stable spray pressure at the nozzles." Id., par. [0141], emphasis added.
Accordingly, Proharam does not describe or suggest the controller recited in amended claim 99. Further, none of Kocer, Trevino, and Funseth - if combined with Proharam in the manner suggested by the Office - cures this deficiency, as maintaining a constant spray pressure is a fundamental feature of Proharam's systems. A person of ordinary skill in the art would not have modified Proharam based on these references to include a controller configured to determine, based on a speed at which to move a planting assembly in a field, a pressure level at which to release contents from a biological container. For at least these reasons, amended claim 99 is allowable over Proharam, Kocer, Trevino, and Funseth.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Proharam discloses [0008] In order to uniformly spread an amount of product per hectare while the ground speed fluctuates, it is necessary that the flow rate of the spread product, and therefore of the aqueous solution, be varied proportionally. The nozzles of the spray boom, the role of which consists in projecting droplets of aqueous solution at a given speed usually expressed in pressure (bars), take on part of this flow rate variation and usually the nozzles are adapted to the ground speed or the ground speed is adapted to the nozzle set when possible.” Proharam discusses changing speed to adjust to flow and adjusting flow rate for the speed.
Note that under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. The ordinary and customary meaning of a term may be evidenced by a variety of sources, including the words of the claims themselves, the specification, drawings, and prior art. However, the best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification - the greatest clarity is obtained when the specification serves as a glossary for the claim terms. The words of the claim must be given their plain meaning unless the plain meaning is inconsistent with the specification. 2111.01 (I). See also In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983) ("'[C]laims are not to be read in a vacuum, and limitations therein are to be interpreted in light of the specification in giving them their ‘broadest reasonable interpretation.'"2111.01 (II)
Please see the 35 U.S.C. § 103 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 99, 101, 104, 111-112, and 118, 120-127, and 129- 135 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Proharam [US 20180042215, now Proharam], in view of Kocer [US 20160044862, now Kocer], further in view of Travino et al. [US20130144827, now Travino].
Examiners note: The claims are being interpreted in their broadest reasonable interpretation, All the art of record (including Reames mentioned in the conclusion) and Funseth (art for key fob – claim 119 of instant claims) are agricultural sprayers/spray systems with tanks and controls that control the amount of spray and content of the spray, thus are analogous with each other and all disclose/teach to basic concepts and scope of the instant claims.
Claims 1-98. (Canceled)
Claim 99
Proharam discloses a fluid dispensing apparatus for farming [see at least Proharam, abstract, ¶ 0007], the apparatus comprising:
a biological container configured to retain a biological product [see at least Proharam, Fig. 1; 0082 (discusses a tank which is same as a container)];
a mounting mechanism configured to couple the biological container to a planting assembly [see at least Proharam, abstract (connected to different sections)];
a pump configured to subject contents from within the biological container to flow toward the mounting mechanism [see at least Proharam, abstract (pumps); ¶ 0009-0010 pumps connected to tanks); 0024 (discusses the use of the pump and a check valve (one-way valve) for controlling spraying)];
a plurality of one-way valves couplable to a first portion of the mounting mechanism [see at least Proharam, ¶ 0024 (“each branch with a check valve”)];
a plurality of first hoses connecting the biological container to a first side of the plurality of one-way valves [see at least Proharam, abstract (connected to different sections); ¶ 0024 (discloses boom sections and multiple check valves (check valve = one-way valve))];
a plurality of second hoses configured to connect a second side of the plurality of one- way valves to supply lines of the planting assembly [see at least Proharam, abstract (first and second pipes (hoses));¶ 0024 (discusses multiple sections which need multiple pipes/hoses to operate, each with a check valve)],
and a controller couplable to a third portion of the mounting mechanism, wherein the controller is configured to: determine a speed at which to move the planting assembly in the field; [see at least Proharam, ¶ 0002 (mounted; if one section is mounted all sections can be mounted); 0187; 0206 (parts of the apparatus are mounted onto other parts)], wherein the controller is configured to:
determine, based on the speed, a pressure level to release the contents from within the biological container [see at least Proharam, ¶ 0008 (pressure within containers); 0015 flow rate which depends on pressure): 0137-0138 (discuses rate depending on the ground speed and desired pressure needed)]; and actuate, based on the pressure level, the pump to subject the contents from within the biological container to flow through (i) the plurality of first hoses, (ii) the plurality of one- way valves, and (iii) the plurality of second hoses to the supply lines of the planting assembly determine a speed at which to move the planting assembly in the field [see at least Proharam, ¶ 0007-0008 (discusses ground speed and speed fluctuations)];
Kocer also teaches some of the limitations in more detail [see at least Kocer, abstract (“application of a liquid fertilizer to a field having a number of rows”); Fig 1B, 5 and 6 (show multiple heads with smart valves/PWM valves (which can be one-way valves) and multiple outlets, with multiple pipes (pipes = hose, tubes, conduits)); 0031 (shows ways to method for delivering agricultural products with a multi jet system); 0046 (further teaches these features); 0046 (further illustrates valve and smart nozzles with control flow)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the preparation for dispersal of agricultural aqueous solutions of Proharam, with the more specific techniques for “delivery of an agricultural product to crops [0003] of Kocer. Providing more efficient and effective techniques and processes for dispensing agricultural liquid products to a field.
Travino also teaches the flow control for dispensing product (in this case Fertilizer onto a field in specific measured amounts through a solution [see at least Travino, abstract (distribution of fertilizer knowing differences of a field); ¶ 0044, 0056 (discusses different nozzles having different controlled amounts of fertilizer).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the preparation for dispersal of agricultural aqueous solutions of Proharam, with the more specific techniques for “delivery of an agricultural product to crops [0003] of Kocer, further with the more specific techniques for controlling the flow and for providing power for the activity of Travino. Providing more efficient and effective techniques and processes for dispensing agricultural liquid products to a field.
Proharam further discloses a controller couplable to a third portion of the mounting mechanism [see at least Proharam, ¶ 0002 (mounted; if one section is mounted all sections can be mounted); 0187; 0206 (parts of the apparatus are mounted onto other parts)], wherein the controller is configured to:
determine a speed at which to move the planting assembly in the field [see at least Proharam, ¶ 0007-0008 (discusses ground speed and speed fluctuations)];
determine, based on the speed, a pressure level to release the contents from within the biological container [see at least Proharam, ¶ 0008 (pressure within containers); 0015 flow rate which depends on pressure): 0137-0138 (discuses rate depending on the ground speed and desired pressure needed)]; and
actuate, based on the pressure level, the pump to subject the contents from within the biological container to flow through (i) the plurality of first hoses, (ii) the plurality of one- way valves, and (iii) the plurality of second hoses to the supply lines of the planting assembly [see at least Proharam, Fig. 1; ¶ 0112 (“ The regulators 7, 24, 33, 36, the valves 15, 16, 18, 20, 26, 27, 31, 32, 33 are connected to a control console, not shown, and which includes means for actuating and controlling these elements, depending on the required parameters, given by the flow meters 17, 21, 39, 41, the manometers 25, 48, but also by the data of sensors external to the device or given by the user.”); 0137-0138 (determining and using both pressure and rate, type of nozzle and speed to determine flow)].
Claim 100 (cancelled)
Claim 101
Proharam, Kocer and Travino disclose/teach the apparatus of Claim 99.
Proharam further discloses the controller is configured to generate instructions to open a subset of the plurality of one-way valves to correspond to a quantity of the supply lines of the planting assembly that are in use [see at least Proharam, ¶ 0034-0039 (discusses controlling valves using flow meters and pressure regulator): note that Proharam teaches Check valves with is a type of one-way valve and any type of valve can be replaced with a one-way valve if the flow can be controlled.].
Claims 102-103. (Canceled)
Claim 104
Proharam, Kocer and Travino disclose/teach the apparatus of Claim 99.
Proharam further discloses the plurality of one-way valves allow flow of the contents from within the biological container in a first direction and inhibit flow of the contents from within the biological container in a second direction, the first direction being farther away from the biological container than the second direction [see at least Proharam, ¶ 0024-0030 (discusses check valves and more on control of pressure for the nozzles); 0034-0039 (discusses control of flow in valves/nozzles using upstream and downstream pressure analysis)].
Claims 105-110. (Canceled)
Claim 111
Proharam, Kocer and Travino disclose/teach the apparatus of Claim 99.
Proharam does not disclose by Kocer teaches mounting mechanism hangs over a railing of the planting assembly [see at least Kocer Fig, 1B].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the preparation for dispersal of agricultural aqueous solutions of Proharam, with the more specific techniques for “delivery of an agricultural product to crops [0003] of Kocer. Providing more efficient and effective techniques and processes for dispensing agricultural liquid products to a field.
Claim 112
Proharam, Kocer and Travino disclose/teach the apparatus of Claim 99.
Proharam does not disclose by Kocer teaches a universal mount couplable to the planting assembly, wherein the universal mount provides for coupling the mounting mechanism of the apparatus to the planting assembly [see at least Kocer, abstract (coupled)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the preparation for dispersal of agricultural aqueous solutions of Proharam, with the more specific techniques for “delivery of an agricultural product to crops [0003] of Kocer. Providing more efficient and effective techniques and processes for dispensing agricultural liquid products to a field.
Claims 113-117. (Canceled)
Claim 118
Proharam, Kocer and Travino disclose/teach the apparatus of Claim 99.
Proharam does not disclose by Kocer and Travino both teach a local power source couplable to a second portion of the mounting mechanism and configured to power at least the pump; and a switch couplable to the biological container and configured to, when actuated, activate the local power source [see at least Kocer, ¶ 0052 (a number of control aspects, such as but not limited to any specific configuration, power…”)][see at least Travino, ¶ 0036 (mounts); 0041 (“the battery 34 supplies power to the pump 28. For example, if the pump 28 is an electric pump, the battery 34 supplies the electricity required to operate the rollers or other electrical components. The battery 34 may be any type of battery, such as a 12 Volt alkaline battery, a rechargeable battery, and so on. The battery 34 may also be omitted. For example, the pump 28 may be wired to receive power from the tractor 10 engine or another power source. The battery 34 and the pump 28 may additionally be connected to the monitoring and adjusting equipment 13. In this implementation, the battery power level as well as the pump rate may be monitored by the farmer from within the cab 12”); showing power source for spray unit].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the preparation for dispersal of agricultural aqueous solutions of Proharam, with the more specific techniques for “delivery of an agricultural product to crops [0003] of Kocer, further with the more specific techniques for controlling the flow and for providing power for the activity of Travino. Providing more efficient and effective techniques and processes for dispensing agricultural liquid products to a field.
Claim 120
Proharam, Kocer and Travino disclose/teach the apparatus of Claim 118.
Neither Proharam or Kocer specifically disclose/teach but Travino teaches the switch is wireless [see at least Travino, ¶ 0050; 0063; 0082; 0084 (all disclose use of wireless communication)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the preparation for dispersal of agricultural aqueous solutions of Proharam, with the more specific techniques for “delivery of an agricultural product to crops [0003] of Kocer, further with the more specific techniques for controlling the flow and for providing power for the activity of Travino. Providing more efficient and effective techniques and processes for dispensing agricultural liquid products to a field.
Claim 121
Proharam, Kocer and Travino disclose/teach the apparatus of Claim 99.
Proharam further discloses the pump is operably coupled to a speed reader that detects a speed of the planting assembly relative to the field, and the pump is further configured to: detect a flow rate of the contents through a portion of the plurality of first hoses; and adjust the flow rate of the contents based on the detected speed of the planting assembly relative to the field [see at least Proharam, ¶ 0013-0015 (discuss flow meter and control of flow bases on speed of unit); 0074 (adjusting product); 0141 (“dose modulation of the injected product depending on the ground speed of the tractor while keeping a stable spray pressure at the nozzles.”)].
Claim 122
Proharam, Kocer and Travino disclose/teach the apparatus of Claim 100.
Proharam further discloses a sensor couplable to a portion of the apparatus and configured to detect a speed of the apparatus relative to the field, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive, from the sensor, the detected speed of the apparatus relative to the field; determine that the detected speed exceeds a threshold value relative to a pressure level for actuating the pump; and generate a notification prompting a user to reduce a speed of the planting assembly from (i) the speed of the apparatus relative to the field to (ii) the determined speed at which to move the planting assembly in the field [see at least Proharam, Claim 19 (“characterized in that the regulators and the valves are connected to a control console, said control console includes means for actuating and controlling these elements, depending on the required parameters given by flow meters, manometers and by data of sensors external to the device or given by the user.”); 0112 (sensors); 0187 (position of apparatus)].
Travino also teaches these limitations [see at least Travino, ¶ 0011-0012 (“one fertilizer characteristic may include a composition, a flow rate, a pressure, a temperature, any other suitable characteristic of a liquid fertilizer, or a combination thereof… be configured to compare at least one fertilizer characteristics, crop or yield data, tractor speed data, seed data, soil data, weather data, third-party data for each row of a number of rows in a field.”) 0014 (limits); 0070; 0072 (thresholds); 0088 (sensor date for control units.)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the preparation for dispersal of agricultural aqueous solutions of Proharam, with the more specific techniques for “delivery of an agricultural product to crops [0003] of Kocer, further with the more specific techniques for controlling the flow and for providing power for the activity of Travino. Providing more efficient and effective techniques and processes for dispensing agricultural liquid products to a field.
Claim 123
Proharam, Kocer and Travino disclose/teach the apparatus of Claim 122.
Neither Proharam or Travino specifically disclose/teach but Kocer teaches
the sensor is an accelerometer [see at least Kocer, Fig. 9, ¶ 0056 (accelerometer)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the preparation for dispersal of agricultural aqueous solutions of Proharam, with the more specific techniques for “delivery of an agricultural product to crops [0003] of Kocer. Providing more efficient and effective techniques and processes for dispensing agricultural liquid products to a field.
Claim 124
Proharam, Kocer and Travino disclose/teach the apparatus of Claim 99.
Proharam does not disclose/teach but Kocer teaches portion of the apparatus is disposed on the planting assembly [see at least Kocer, Fig. 9, ¶ 0056 (accelerometer)].
Travino also teaches this limitation [see at least Travino, Fig. 1, ¶ 0038 (support tank, etc.)]
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the preparation for dispersal of agricultural aqueous solutions of Proharam, with the more specific techniques for “delivery of an agricultural product to crops [0003] of Kocer, further with the more specific techniques for controlling the flow and for providing power for the activity of Travino. Providing more efficient and effective techniques and processes for dispensing agricultural liquid products to a field.
Claim 125
Proharam, Kocer and Travino disclose/teach the apparatus of Claim 99.
Proharam further discloses another container that retains a solution, the solution including at least one of water, fertilizer, or nutrients, wherein the pump is further configured to subject a quantity of the solution from within the another container to flow toward the mounting mechanism [see at least Proharam, ¶ 0008; 0009 (“additive product tank “); 0010 (“additive product tank“)]; and
another plurality of first hoses connecting the another container to the first side of the plurality of one-way valves, wherein the first side of the plurality of one-way valves defines an intersection of a first fluid flow path from the biological container and a second fluid flow path from the another container [see at least Proharam, ¶ 0014 (controlling volumes of products); 0034 (controlling aspect in more detail of limiting and use of valves to disperse product at wanted levels)];
wherein the controller in communication with the pump and configured to: determine a flow rate of the solution from within the another container [see at least Proharam, ¶ 0034]; and
generate instructions, based on a predetermined flow rate, to cause the pump to regulate the flow rate of the solution through (i) the another plurality of first hoses, (ii) the plurality of one-way valves, and (iii) the plurality of second hoses to the supply lines of the planting assembly to dispense, into the field, a mixture, wherein the mixture comprising the contents of the biological container and the quantity of the solution from the another container [see at least Proharam, ¶ 0034; 0058 (discusses the use of tank outlets, corresponding tanks, etc. to ensure mixing and distribution); 0065 (shows more on ensuring flow rate for proper distribution of the product); 0199 (“The sensor controls the motor 51 depending on the commands and instructions received from the control unit.”)] .
Kocer teaches some of the features in more specific matter. Kocer further teaches wherein the controller in communication with the pump and configured to: determine a flow rate of the solution from within the another container; and generate instructions, based on a predetermined flow rate, to cause the pump to regulate the flow rate of the solution through (i) the another plurality of first hoses, (ii) the plurality of one-way valves, and (iii) the plurality of second hoses to the supply lines of the planting assembly to dispense, into the field, a mixture, wherein the mixture including the contents of the biological container and the quantity of the solution from the another container [see at least Kocer, ¶ 0050 (discusses features of PWN valve (which can be a one-way valve) with control to regulate product disbursement); 0105 (discusses examples of computer use and how it pertains to the control of the sprayer)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the preparation for dispersal of agricultural aqueous solutions of Proharam, with the more specific techniques for “delivery of an agricultural product to crops [0003] of Kocer. Providing more efficient and effective techniques and processes for dispensing agricultural liquid products to a field.
Claim 126
Proharam, Kocer and Travino disclose/teach the apparatus of Claim 125.
Proharam further discloses the pump is configured to subject (i) the contents of the biological container to flow from the biological container along the first fluid flow path to the intersection and (ii) the quantity of the solution from within the another container to flow from the another container along the second fluid flow path to the intersection, to yield the mixture of the contents and the solution at the intersection [see at least Proharam, ¶ 0006; 0024; 0050; 0074; 0124; 0135 (All discuss the management of flow and the mixing of product to allow for the proper amount of product to reach the field with the nozzles)].
Claim 127
Claim 127 is the method claim for Claim 99 and has similar limitations to claim 99, therefore claim 127 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 99.
Claim 128 (Cancelled)
Claim 129
Claim 129 has similar limitations to claim 101, therefore claim 129 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 101.
Claim 130
Claim 130 has similar limitations to claim 111, therefore claim 130 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 111.
Claims 131 and 132
Claims 131 combined with 132 have similar limitations to claim 121, therefore claims 131 and 132 combined are rejected with the same rationale as claim 121.
Claim 133 and 134
Claims 133 combined with claim 134 have similar limitations to claim 122, therefore claim 133 combined with 134 are rejected with the same rationale as claim 122.
Claim 135
Proharam, Kocer and Travino disclose/teach the apparatus of Claim 127.
Proharam further discloses the fluid is a first fluid and the biological container is a first biological container, the method further comprising: transporting a second fluid from a second biological container through a plurality of third hoses to the mounting mechanism [see at least Proharam, ¶ 0009-0010 (discusses the use of multiple additive tanks and how they operate)]; and
transporting the second fluid through the plurality of one-way valves, wherein the plurality of third hoses connect to the first side of the plurality of one-way valves [see at least Proharam, ¶ 0017 (“the technique known for spreading different products, alternately or simultaneously, on the treated surface, consists in preparing various aqueous solutions in various tanks and to direct this solution onto the booms. This can only be achieved for 2 different solutions since 3 or more solutions would be too heavy to materially implement.”)];
wherein the first side of the plurality of one-way valves defines an intersection of a first fluid flow path from the first biological container and a second fluid flow path from the second biological container; and wherein the second fluid comprises at least one of water, fertilizer, and nutrients [see at least Proharam, abstract, ¶ 0024-0030 (discusses mixing, control, metering of product from different tanks with a check valve (one-way valve) to regulate the different products being disbursed on the field at the same time)].
Examiners Note: The BRI of the instant claims are disclosed by the ART of record and the ART of record, though using different language/terms, would disclose/teach the limitations.
Claim 119 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Proharam [US 20180042215, now Proharam], in view of Kocer [US 20160044862, now Kocer], further in view of Travino et al. [US20130144827, now Travino], further with Funseth et al. [US 20150375247, now Funseth].
Claim 119
Proharam, Kocer and Travino disclose/teach the apparatus of Claim 118.
Neither Proharam, Kocer or Travino specifically disclose/teach but Funseth teaches the switch is actuated using a key fob [see at least Funseth, ¶ 0104 (“FIG. 10A depicts an example screen page 660 of a touchscreen 612. An operator initiates, interfaces or controls the spray process through interfaces including the computer touchscreen 612, or a handheld device (e.g. cellphone with an application, a key fob (frequency operated remote control)). From screen page 660, the operator selects features including the spray nozzle being ON or OFF and the rate of spray application (e.g. through touch screen or remotely with a key fob).”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the preparation for dispersal of agricultural aqueous solutions of Proharam, with the more specific techniques for “delivery of an agricultural product to crops [0003] of Kocer, with the more specific techniques for controlling the flow and for providing power for the activity of Travino, further with the use of remote technology including a key fob of Funseth. Providing more efficient and effective techniques and processes for dispensing agricultural liquid products to a field.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOAN T GOODBODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664
(571) 270-7952