DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Novak (CA 2838737).
With respect to claim 1, Novak discloses a method for controlling fluid flow in a bioreactor system. The bioreactor system includes a bioreactor volume (Figure 1:30), a filtration part (Figure 1:42) and a recirculation line (Figure 1:48) between the bioreactor volume and the filtration part. Novak discloses the use of a recirculation pump (Figure 2:54) and a plurality of sensors configured to monitor pressure parameters Pin, Pout, Pp and flow rate parameters Finf, Fb, Fs, Fa, Fp in the recirculation line. The signals are sent from the sensors to one or more controllers in order to regulate fluid flow produced by the recirculation pump. This is taught in paragraphs [0014]-[0027] and Table 1. Novak indicates that a recirculation flow rate sensor Fs, Fa and a recirculation pressure sensor Pin, Pout are provided, and that fluid flow rate at the recirculation pump 54 is controlled in response to the plurality of signals from the sensors indicative of fluid flow rate and pressure (“In one of the more conventional embodiments of the present control system, the flow rates into and out of the MBR are measured together with the permeate flow rate and input to a microprocessor based controller which employs a control strategy to change the pump flow rates and settings for any backpressure valves to maintain the MBR flow rates within the desired or prescribed ranges” and “In other conventional embodiment of the present control system the pressures of the sludge flow in and out of the membrane and the pressure of the permeate flow out of the membrane are measured”).
Novak expressly teaches that the controller sends a control signal to the recirculation pump to alter the fluid flow rate at the recirculation pump in response to the plurality of signals from the flow rate and pressure sensors (“controlling the pump flow rate and back pressure valves, the flows into and out of the MBR as well as the pressures associated with the MBR will be controlled collectively”). See also claim 1 (“(iv) sends control signals to the one or more pumps or to one or more valves to adjust the flows through the MBR system”).
With respect to claim 2, Novak discloses the method described above. Novak further shows that a plurality of valves are used to control the flow of process fluid (“The flows within the illustrated systems in Figs 1 and 2 are monitored and controlled via the illustrated pumps as well as a plurality of control valves (not shown) disposed in the various conduits operatively coupled to a microprocessor based controller. The control valves are controlled by opening and closing, as needed, to maintain the appropriate flows and pressures of the streams and proper operating conditions within the MBR system in response to the measured and calculated parameters”).
With respect to claim 6, Novak discloses the method as described above. Novak indicates that membrane modules 42 each comprising a plurality of membranes are provided along the recirculation line.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serway (US 20140093952) in view of Novak (CA 2838737).
With respect to claim 1, Serway discloses a method and control system for controlling fluid flow in a bioreactor system. The bioreactor system includes a bioreactor volume (Figure 1:11), a filtration part (Figure 1:14) and a recirculation line (Figure 1:12,16) between the bioreactor volume and the filtration part. The recirculation line includes a recirculation pump (Figure 3A:26) and a plurality of sensors (Figure 3A:44,46). The sensors are used to monitor pressure parameters in the recirculation line, and signals are sent from the sensors to one or more controllers in order to regulate fluid flow produced by the recirculation pump (“the pump 26 and tangential flow filter waste pump 22 are controlled by software to maintain the desired flow through the hollow fiber tangential flow filter 30”). This is taught in paragraphs [0018]-[0028]. Serway, however, does not appear to teach that flow rate, in addition to pressure, is also detected along the recirculation line and used to control the operation of the recirculation pump.
Novak discloses a method and control system for controlling fluid flow in a bioreactor system. The bioreactor system includes a bioreactor volume (Figure 1:30), a filtration part (Figure 1:42) and a recirculation line (Figure 1:48) between the bioreactor volume and the filtration part. Novak discloses the use of a recirculation pump (Figure 2:54) and a plurality of sensors configured to monitor pressure parameters Pin, Pout, Pp and flow rate parameters Finf, Fb, Fs, Fa, Fp in the recirculation line. The signals are sent from the sensors to one or more controllers in order to regulate fluid flow produced by the recirculation pump. This is taught in paragraphs [0014]-[0027] and Table 1. Novak expressly teaches that the controller sends a control signal to the recirculation pump to alter the fluid flow rate at the recirculation pump in response to the plurality of signals from the flow rate and pressure sensors (“controlling the pump flow rate and back pressure valves, the flows into and out of the MBR as well as the pressures associated with the MBR will be controlled collectively”). See also claim 1 (“(iv) sends control signals to the one or more pumps or to one or more valves to adjust the flows through the MBR system”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that both flow rate and flow pressure information is obtained in the recirculation line of Serway. Novak shows that it is important to measure flow rate and pressure, and that this is accomplished using flow meters and pressure transducers that are known and commonly available. Novak teaches that this allows for greater control over the recirculation process and will promote a more effective separation operation at the filtration part (“Specifically, the flow rate of the sludge into the MBR is compared to the desired or prescribed range of acceptable flow rates. If the measured flow rate of sludge into the MBR is too high, the energy use and associated costs of energy will increase and the MBR system performance will suffer due to erosion and membrane fouling. If the measured flow rate of sludge into the MBR is too low, the MBR system performance will also suffer due to decreased membrane efficiency”).
With respect to claims 4 and 6, Serway and Novak disclose the combination as described above. Serway further states a single recirculation pump 26 is used to exchange process fluid from the bioreactor through hollow fiber filters 30 and back to the bioreactor. Paragraph [0023] specifically references the KrosFlo Fitler Module manufactured by Spectrum Labs, which is a filter module comprising a plurality of hollow fiber membrane filters.
With respect to claim 8, Serway and Novak disclose the combination as described above. Serway further shows that the bioreactor is connected to the recirculation line via a bottom inlet 11a.
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schick (US 20060027500) in view of Novak (CA 2838737).
With respect to claim 1, Schick discloses a method and control system for controlling fluid flow in a bioreactor system. A bioreactor volume (Figure 2:22) is provided in communication with a filtration part (Figure 2:24) and a recirculation line (Figure 2:23) disposed between the bioreactor volume and filtration part. The recirculation line includes a recirculation pump (Figure 2:25) and a plurality of sensors (Figure 2:P1,P2). The sensors are used to monitor pressure parameters in the recirculation line, and signals are sent from the sensors to one or more controllers in order to regulate fluid flow produced by the recirculation pump. This is taught in paragraphs [0067]-[0070]. Schick, however, does not appear to teach that flow rate, in addition to pressure, is also detected along the recirculation line and used to control the operation of the recirculation pump.
Novak discloses a method and control system for controlling fluid flow in a bioreactor system. The bioreactor system includes a bioreactor volume (Figure 1:30), a filtration part (Figure 1:42) and a recirculation line (Figure 1:48) between the bioreactor volume and the filtration part. Novak discloses the use of a recirculation pump (Figure 2:54) and a plurality of sensors configured to monitor pressure parameters Pin, Pout, Pp and flow rate parameters Finf, Fb, Fs, Fa, Fp in the recirculation line. The signals are sent from the sensors to one or more controllers in order to regulate fluid flow produced by the recirculation pump. This is taught in paragraphs [0014]-[0027] and Table 1. Novak expressly teaches that the controller sends a control signal to the recirculation pump to alter the fluid flow rate at the recirculation pump in response to the plurality of signals from the flow rate and pressure sensors (“controlling the pump flow rate and back pressure valves, the flows into and out of the MBR as well as the pressures associated with the MBR will be controlled collectively”). See also claim 1 (“(iv) sends control signals to the one or more pumps or to one or more valves to adjust the flows through the MBR system”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that both flow rate and flow pressure information is obtained in the recirculation line of Schick. Novak shows that it is important to measure flow rate and pressure, and that this is accomplished using flow meters and pressure transducers that are known and commonly available. Novak teaches that this allows for greater control over the recirculation process and will promote a more effective separation operation at the filtration part (“Specifically, the flow rate of the sludge into the MBR is compared to the desired or prescribed range of acceptable flow rates. If the measured flow rate of sludge into the MBR is too high, the energy use and associated costs of energy will increase and the MBR system performance will suffer due to erosion and membrane fouling. If the measured flow rate of sludge into the MBR is too low, the MBR system performance will also suffer due to decreased membrane efficiency”).
With respect to claim 2, Schick and Novak disclose the combination as described above. Schick further states in paragraphs [0009] and [0052] that a plurality of valves are used to control flow of process fluid based on process conditions, such as fluid pressure and clogging in filters.
With respect to claim 3, Schick and Novak disclose the combination as described above. Schick further states that net flow from the bioreactor is controlled and adjusted based on the weight of the bioreactor measured by load cell (Figure 2:37) and the motor speed of the recirculation pump. See, for example, paragraph [0061].
With respect to claims 4 and 6, Schick and Novak disclose the combination as described above. Schick shows in Fig. 2 that a single recirculation pump 25 is used to exchange process fluid from the bioreactor through hollow fiber filters 24 and back to the bioreactor. Schick further states in paragraph [0048] that a filtration unit comprising a plurality of porous hollow fibers is utilized.
With respect to claim 5, Schick and Novak disclose the combination as described above. Schick states in paragraph [0066] that the sensors are single use and disposable. Schick further calculates and monitors transmembrane pressure and a pressure difference based on output from the sensors. See Fig. 11, for example.
With respect to claim 8, Schick and Novak disclose the combination as described above. Schick further shows that the bioreactor is connected to the recirculation line via a tube that extends to the bottom of the bioreactor.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either Serway (US 20140093952) or Schick (US 20060027500) each in view of Novak (CA 2838737) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Grant (US 20200181554).
Serway and Schick each in combination with Novak disclose the method set forth as described above, however neither expressly teaches a bleed line.
Grant discloses a method and system for controlling fluid flow from a bioreactor volume (Figure 2:130) to a filtration part (Figure 2:140). A recirculation pump (Figure 2:110) is used to deliver fluid from the bioreactor to the filter, and a bleed line (Figure 2:180) in communication with a bleed tank is disposed downstream from the pump. This is taught in paragraphs [0021]-[0026].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to provide both the Serway and Schick methods with a cell bleed step in which culture fluid is controllably removed from the recirculation line in order to maintain steady state perfusion. Grant states that bleeds are sometimes required to adjust critical culture parameters (e.g., stabilize cell density) and that it is useful to direct a portion of the fluid out of the system rather than continuing to circulate it through the recirculation line.
Claims 9 and 11-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schick (US 20060027500) in view of Novak (CA 2838737) and Luttmann (US 20060014239).
With respect to claim 9, Schick discloses control system for controlling fluid flow to and from a bioreactor. A bioreactor (Figure 2:22) is provided in communication with a filter (Figure 2:24) and a recirculation line (Figure 2:23) disposed between the bioreactor volume and filter. The recirculation line includes a recirculation pump (Figure 2:25) and a plurality of sensors (Figure 2:P1,P2). The sensors are used to monitor pressure parameters in the recirculation line, and signals are sent from the sensors to one or more controllers in order to regulate fluid flow produced by the recirculation pump. This is taught in paragraphs [0067]-[0070]. Schick, however, does not appear to teach that flow rate, in addition to pressure, is measured along the recirculation line and used to control the operation of the recirculation pump.
Novak discloses a method and control system for controlling fluid flow in a bioreactor system. The bioreactor system includes a bioreactor volume (Figure 1:30), a filtration part (Figure 1:42) and a recirculation line (Figure 1:48) between the bioreactor volume and the filtration part. Novak discloses the use of a recirculation pump (Figure 2:54) and a plurality of sensors configured to monitor pressure parameters Pin, Pout, Pp and flow rate parameters Finf, Fb, Fs, Fa, Fp in the recirculation line. The signals are sent from the sensors to one or more controllers in order to regulate fluid flow produced by the recirculation pump. This is taught in paragraphs [0014]-[0027] and Table 1. Novak expressly teaches that the controller sends a control signal to the recirculation pump to alter the fluid flow rate at the recirculation pump in response to the plurality of signals from the flow rate and pressure sensors (“controlling the pump flow rate and back pressure valves, the flows into and out of the MBR as well as the pressures associated with the MBR will be controlled collectively”). See also claim 1 (“(iv) sends control signals to the one or more pumps or to one or more valves to adjust the flows through the MBR system”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that both flow rate and flow pressure information is obtained in the recirculation line of Schick. Novak shows that it is important to measure flow rate and pressure, and that this is accomplished using flow meters and pressure transducers that are known and commonly available. Novak teaches that this allows for greater control over the recirculation process and will promote a more effective separation operation at the filtration part (“Specifically, the flow rate of the sludge into the MBR is compared to the desired or prescribed range of acceptable flow rates. If the measured flow rate of sludge into the MBR is too high, the energy use and associated costs of energy will increase and the MBR system performance will suffer due to erosion and membrane fouling. If the measured flow rate of sludge into the MBR is too low, the MBR system performance will also suffer due to decreased membrane efficiency”).
Schick, however, still differs from the claimed invention because Schick does not appear to show that the bioreactor is in communication with a plurality of media containers.
Luttmann discloses a control system comprising a bioreactor (Figure 1:1) in communication with a plurality of media containers (Figure 1:35,36,37), a pump (Figure 1:14) and a filter (Figure 1:5). This is taught in paragraphs [0037]-[0041].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that the Schick bioreactor is connected to multiple media containers. Luttmann teaches that different containers may hold different media, and that cell behavior may be modified and controlled by charging different combinations of media into the bioreactor at determined times. For example, Luttmann states that different media analytes are delivered to the bioreactor to cycle cells between growth, product formation and harvesting phases.
With respect to claim 11, Schick, Novak and Luttmann disclose the combination as described above. Schick further states in paragraphs [0009] and [0052] that a plurality of valves are used to control flow of process fluid based on process conditions, such as fluid pressure and clogging in filters.
With respect to claim 12, Schick, Novak and Luttmann disclose the combination as described above. Schick shows in Fig. 2 that a single recirculation pump 25 is used to exchange process fluid from the bioreactor through hollow fiber filters 24 and back to the bioreactor. Schick further states in paragraph [0048] that a filtration unit comprising a plurality of porous hollow fibers is utilized.
With respect to claim 13, Schick, Novak and Luttmann disclose the combination as described above. Schick states in paragraph [0066] that the sensors are single use and disposable. Schick further calculates and monitors transmembrane pressure and a pressure difference based on output from the sensors. See Fig. 11, for example.
With respect to claim 14, Schick, Novak and Luttmann disclose the combination as described above. Schick further shows that the bioreactor is connected to the recirculation line via a tube that extends to the bottom of the bioreactor.
Claims 9 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serway (US 20140093952) in view of Novak (CA 2838737) and Luttmann (US 20060014239).
With respect to claim 9, Serway discloses a control system for controlling fluid flow between a bioreactor (Figure 1:11) and a filtration part (Figure 1:14) using a recirculation line (Figure 1:12,16). The recirculation line includes a recirculation pump (Figure 3A:26) and a plurality of sensos (Figure 3A:44,46). The sensors are used to monitor pressure parameters in the recirculation line, and signals are sent from the sensors to one or more controllers in order to regulate fluid flow produced by the recirculation pump (“the pump 26 and tangential flow filter waste pump 22 are controlled by software to maintain the desired flow through the hollow fiber tangential flow filter 30”). This is taught in paragraphs [0018]-[0028]. Serway, however, does not appear to teach that flow rate, in addition to pressure, is detected along the recirculation line and used to control the operation of the recirculation pump.
Novak discloses a method and control system for controlling fluid flow in a bioreactor system. The bioreactor system includes a bioreactor volume (Figure 1:30), a filtration part (Figure 1:42) and a recirculation line (Figure 1:48) between the bioreactor volume and the filtration part. Novak discloses the use of a recirculation pump (Figure 2:54) and a plurality of sensors configured to monitor pressure parameters Pin, Pout, Pp and flow rate parameters Finf, Fb, Fs, Fa, Fp in the recirculation line. The signals are sent from the sensors to one or more controllers in order to regulate fluid flow produced by the recirculation pump. This is taught in paragraphs [0014]-[0027] and Table 1. Novak expressly teaches that the controller sends a control signal to the recirculation pump to alter the fluid flow rate at the recirculation pump in response to the plurality of signals from the flow rate and pressure sensors (“controlling the pump flow rate and back pressure valves, the flows into and out of the MBR as well as the pressures associated with the MBR will be controlled collectively”). See also claim 1 (“(iv) sends control signals to the one or more pumps or to one or more valves to adjust the flows through the MBR system”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that both flow rate and flow pressure information is obtained in the recirculation line of Serway. Novak shows that it is important to measure flow rate and pressure, and that this is accomplished using flow meters and pressure transducers that are known and commonly available. Novak teaches that this allows for greater control over the recirculation process and will promote a more effective separation operation at the filtration part (“Specifically, the flow rate of the sludge into the MBR is compared to the desired or prescribed range of acceptable flow rates. If the measured flow rate of sludge into the MBR is too high, the energy use and associated costs of energy will increase and the MBR system performance will suffer due to erosion and membrane fouling. If the measured flow rate of sludge into the MBR is too low, the MBR system performance will also suffer due to decreased membrane efficiency”).
Serway, however, still differs from the claimed invention because Serway does not appear to show that the bioreactor is in communication with a plurality of media containers.
Luttmann discloses a control system comprising a bioreactor (Figure 1:1) in communication with a plurality of media containers (Figure 1:35,36,37), a pump (Figure 1:14) and a filter (Figure 1:5). This is taught in paragraphs [0037]-[0041].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that the Serway bioreactor is connected to multiple media containers. Luttmann teaches that different containers may hold different media, and that cell behavior may be modified and controlled by charging different combinations of media into the bioreactor at determined times. For example, Luttmann states that different media analytes are delivered to the bioreactor to cycle cells between growth, product formation and harvesting phases.
With respect to claims 12 and 13, Serway, Novak and Luttmann disclose the combination as described above. Serway further states a single recirculation pump 26 is used to exchange process fluid from the bioreactor through hollow fiber filters 30 and back to the bioreactor. Paragraph [0023] specifically references the KrosFlo Fitler Module manufactured by Spectrum Labs, which is a filter module comprising a plurality of hollow fiber membrane filters.
With respect to claim 14, Serway, Novak and Luttmann disclose the combination as described above. Serway further shows that the bioreactor is connected to the recirculation line via a bottom inlet 11a.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either Serway (US 20140093952) or Schick (US 20060027500) each in view of Novak (CA 2838737) and Luttmann (US 20060014239), and further in view of Grant (US 20200181554).
Serway and Schick each in view of Novak and Luttmann disclose the combinations set forth as described above, however Serway and Schick do not expressly teach a bleed line.
Grant discloses a method and system for controlling fluid flow from a bioreactor volume (Figure 2:130) to a filtration part (Figure 2:140). A recirculation pump (Figure 2:110) is used to deliver fluid from the bioreactor to the filter, and a bleed line (Figure 2:180) in communication with a bleed tank is disposed downstream from the pump. This is taught in paragraphs [0021]-[0026].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to provide both the Serway and Schick systems with a cell bleed step in which culture fluid is controllably removed from the recirculation line in order to maintain steady state perfusion. Grant states that bleeds are sometimes required to adjust critical culture parameters (e.g., stabilize cell density) and that it is useful to direct a portion of the fluid out of the system rather than continuing to circulate it through the recirculation line.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Serway and Schick each disclose a controller configured to send a control signal to a recirculation pump in response to information obtained by pressure sensors. Serway states that “the pump 26 and tangential flow filter waste pump 22 are controlled by software to maintain the desired flow through the hollow fiber tangential flow filter 30”. Schick states that “the operator implements a desired pump rate and selects some or all of desired alarm conditions. Examples of these alarm conditions are high pressure, low pressure, feed volume, permeate weight, and one time alarm. The pump rate can be increased or decreased "on the fly" without stopping the pump action”). Furthermore, Novak expressly teaches that the controller sends a control signal to the recirculation pump to alter the fluid flow rate at the recirculation pump in response to the plurality of signals from the flow rate and pressure sensors (“controlling the pump flow rate and back pressure valves, the flows into and out of the MBR as well as the pressures associated with the MBR will be controlled collectively”). See also claim 1 (“(iv) sends control signals to the one or more pumps or to one or more valves to adjust the flows through the MBR system”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN A BOWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799