DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites “a complementary shaped recess of the mechanical counter coding feature”. However a recess that is associated with the mechanical counter coding feature is already recited in claim 16 from which claim 21 depends. Therefore it is unclear whether the recess of claim 21 is the same or different than the one in claim 16. For purposes of examination the recess of claim 21 is the same as the recess of claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Byerly et al. (WO 2018/013419 A1).
With regard to claim 16, Byerly discloses An electronic module (Fig. 5, element 20, see also Fig. 6) configured for attachment to a proximal end of a drug delivery device (Fig. 2 showing the entire system, the drug delivery device is 10) in a predefined fastening configuration (see Fig. 2), the drug delivery device comprising an elongated housing (12) extending in a longitudinal direction and comprising a distal end (at 24) and the proximal end (shown in Fig. 5), the electronic module comprising: a mechanical coding (108) comprising a mechanical coding feature (108/110, 108 extends in the longitudinal direction to engaged with the drug delivery device) to engage with a mechanical counter coding feature (39/41) of a mechanical counter coding (38) provided at the proximal end of the drug delivery device (p.6, line 30 to p. 7, line 16), wherein one of the mechanical coding feature (110) and the mechanical counter coding feature (39/41) comprises a protrusion (mechanical coding 108 is considered a protrusion in the longitudinal direction as it extends towards the distal end of the drug delivery device) extending in the longitudinal direction, and wherein the other one of the mechanical coding feature and the mechanical counter coding feature comprises a recess (39 are a plurality of ridges that create recesses for holding protrusion 110 of the mechanical coding feature. See Fig. 3, showing the recesses 39), and wherein when a geometric shape of the protrusion is not matching with a geometric shape of the recess (p. 10, lines 9-15), or when a position of the protrusion in a plane transverse to the longitudinal direction is not matching with a position of the recess in the transverse plane, or when a longitudinal extent of the protrusion is larger than a longitudinal extent of the recess, the mechanical coding and the mechanical counter coding being operable to prevent a fastening of the electronic module to the proximal end of the drug delivery device in a predefined fastening configuration (p.10, lines 9-15, keyed features define the connection between a specific module with the drug delivery device and prevents the connection of the incorrect module to the proximal end of an incorrect drug delivery device).
With regard to claim 17, Byerly discloses further comprising a fastening element (edge surface of 110 that contacts ridge 41) configured to mechanically engage with a complementary shaped counter fastening element (41) of the drug delivery device in the predefined fastening configuration (see Fig. 5).
With regard to claim 18, Byerly discloses wherein the mechanical coding (108) is defined by at least one of a position, an orientation and a longitudinal extent of the mechanical coding feature relative to the fastening element (p. 10, lines 9-15, p. 9, line 28-p.10, line 8).
With regard to claim 19, Byerly discloses further comprising at least one longitudinal extension (Fig. 6, element 106) extending distally from a distal end of the electronic module and configured to extend into or through an aperture at the proximal end of the drug delivery device (extends into the skirt 38 apertures 39).
With regard to claim 20, Byerly discloses wherein the mechanical coding is defined by at least one of a position, an orientation and a longitudinal extent of the mechanical coding feature relative to the longitudinal extension (p. 10, lines 9-15, p. 9, line 28-p.10, line 8).
With regard to claim 21, Byerly discloses wherein the mechanical coding feature (108/110) comprises the protrusion protruding in a longitudinal distal direction (108 is considered longitudinal as it extends up and down along the side of the electronic module) from a distally facing surface (distal surface of the cap 120 as shown in Fig. 5) of the electronic module and configured to engage with a complementary shaped recess (39) of the mechanical counter coding feature.
With regard to claim 22, Byerly discloses wherein the distally facing (the side wall 120 of the electronic module having a distal face, facing the drug delivery device) surface of the electronic module is in longitudinal abutment with a complementary shaped proximally facing surface of the drug delivery device (the claims do not require direct contact and therefore the distal face of 120 is considered is abutment with the drug delivery device via element 108).
With regard to claim 23, Byerly discloses wherein the mechanical coding (108/110) comprises a coding section comprising a number of n discrete spatially non-overlapping coding feature positions (where each of 110 are located) and a number of k mechanical coding features ( each of 110) each one of which located on one of the coding feature positions, wherein n and k are integer numbers and wherein k less than or equal to n, (they are equal as 110 the coding features are considered located at specific positions equal to the number of coding features).
With regard to claim 24, Byerly discloses A drug delivery device (Fig. 2 and 5) comprising: a housing (12) comprising a distal end (at 24) and a proximal end (at end 102), wherein the proximal end is configured for attachment of an electronic module (20, also see Fig. 5) in a predefined fastening configuration (the location where it is fastened is considered predefined without further limitations), wherein the electronic module comprises: a mechanical coding (108) comprising a mechanical coding feature (110 can be considered a feature or any other portion of 108 can be considered a feature as the term is broad and does not impart any specific structure) to engage with a mechanical counter coding feature (38/39) of a mechanical counter coding (38) provided at the proximal end of the drug delivery device, wherein one of the mechanical coding feature and the mechanical counter coding feature comprises a protrusion extending in the longitudinal direction (the distal end of 108 is considered a feature that extends in the longitudinal direction as it faces up and down parallel to the longitudinal axis and the term feature does not impart any specific structural limitations), and wherein the other one of the mechanical coding feature and the mechanical counter coding feature comprises a recess (39 is a recess which is better seen in Fig. 3), and wherein when a geometric shape of the protrusion is not matching with a geometric shape of the recess (p. 10, lines 9-15, p. 9, line 28-p.10, line 8), or when a position of the protrusion in a plane transverse to the longitudinal direction is not matching with a position of the recess in the transverse plane, or when a longitudinal extent of the protrusion is larger than a longitudinal extent of the recess, the mechanical coding and the mechanical counter coding being operable to prevent a fastening of the electronic module to the proximal end of the drug delivery device in a predefined fastening configuration (p. 10, lines 9-15, p. 9, line 28-p.10, line 8, if the incorrect module is used with the incorrect drug delivery device the module is improperly fastened and therefore not in the predefined configuration), the drug delivery device comprising: a drive mechanism (30, Fig. 2) configured to set and/or to deliver a dose of a drug out of the distal end (p. 6, lines 11-21); and wherein the mechanical counter coding (38) is provided at the proximal end and comprises the mechanical counter coding feature (39) to engage with the mechanical coding feature (110) of the mechanical coding of the electronic module (as shown in Fig. 5).
With regard to claim 25, Byerly discloses further comprising a counter fastening element (the surface of 110 which contacts the ridge 41 for holding the module in place is considered the fastening element as read in light of the specification, further definition of the fastening element would be needed to overcome the current rejection) configured to mechanically engage with a complementary shaped fastening element (41) of the electronic module in the predefined fastening configuration (as shown in Fig. 5).
With regard to claim 26, Byerly discloses wherein the mechanical counter coding (38) is defined by at least one of a position, an orientation, and a longitudinal extent of the mechanical counter coding feature relative to the counter fastening element (p. 10, lines 9-15, p. 9, line 28-p.10, line 8, if the incorrect module is used with the incorrect drug delivery device the module is improperly fastened and therefore not in the predefined configuration).
With regard to claim 27, Byerly discloses wherein the mechanical counter coding feature comprises the recess (39) configured to receive or to engage with a complementary shaped and distally extending protrusion (110 which is part of the distally extending protrusion 108) of the coding feature of the mechanical coding when in the predefined fastening configuration (as shown in Fig. 5).
With regard to claim 28, Byerly discloses wherein the recess (39) is provided in at least one of a proximal facing surface (38 is a proximal facing surface as it extends in a proximal direction as shown in Fig. 5, the recess 39 is formed in the side of 38 and therefore considered to be in at least a proximal facing surface) of the drug delivery device, an outside surface of a sidewall of the drug delivery device and an inside surface of the sidewall of the drug delivery device.
With regard to claim 29, Byerly discloses further comprising a drug container filled with the drug (in 22 as shown in Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 30, Byerly discloses A modular system (Fig. 2 and 5) comprising: an electronic module (20) configured for attachment to a proximal end of a drug delivery device (as shown in Fig. 5) in a predefined fastening configuration (the location where it is fastened is considered predefined without further limitations), the drug delivery device comprising an elongated housing (12/14) extending in a longitudinal direction and comprising a distal end (at 24) and the proximal end (generally where 102 is pointing), the electronic module comprising: a mechanical coding comprising a mechanical coding feature (108/110) to engage with a mechanical counter coding feature (38/39) of a mechanical counter coding (38) provided at the proximal end of the drug delivery device, wherein one of the mechanical coding feature and the mechanical counter coding feature comprises a protrusion (the distal end of 108 is considered a feature that extends in the longitudinal direction as it faces up and down parallel to the longitudinal axis and the term feature does not impart any specific structural limitations) extending in the longitudinal direction, and wherein the other one of the mechanical coding feature and the mechanical counter coding feature comprises a recess (39 is a recess, better seen in Fig. 3), and wherein when a geometric shape of the protrusion is not matching with a geometric shape of the recess (p. 10, lines 9-15, p. 9, line 28-p.10, line 8, if the incorrect module is used with the incorrect drug delivery device the module is improperly fastened and therefore not in the predefined configuration), or when a position of the protrusion in a plane transverse to the longitudinal direction is not matching with a position of the recess in the transverse plane, or when a longitudinal extent of the protrusion is larger than a longitudinal extent of the recess, the mechanical coding and the mechanical counter coding being operable to prevent a fastening of the electronic module to the proximal end of the drug delivery device in a predefined fastening configuration (p. 10, lines 9-15, p. 9, line 28-p.10, line 8, if the incorrect module is used with the incorrect drug delivery device the module is improperly fastened and therefore not in the predefined configuration), and the drug delivery device; wherein the mechanical coding (108/110) of the electronic module matches with the mechanical counter coding (39) of the drug delivery device (as shown in Fig. 5, the two components fit together), and wherein the mechanical coding mechanically engages with the mechanical counter coding when the electronic module and the drug delivery device are in the predefined fastening configuration (as shown in Fig. 5).
With regard to claim 31, Byerly discloses further comprising a counter fastening element (the surface of 110 which contacts the ridge 41 for holding the module in place is considered the fastening element as read in light of the specification, further definition of the fastening element would be needed to overcome the current rejection) configured to mechanically engage with a complementary shaped fastening element (41) of the electronic module in the predefined fastening configuration (as shown in Fig. 5).
With regard to claim 32, Byerly discloses wherein the mechanical coding (108) is defined by at least one of a position, an orientation and a longitudinal extent of the mechanical coding feature relative to the fastening element (p. 10, lines 9-15, p. 9, line 28-p.10, line 8).
With regard to claim 33, Byerly discloses further comprising at least one longitudinal extension (Fig. 6, element 106) extending distally from a distal end of the electronic module and configured to extend into or through an aperture at the proximal end of the drug delivery device (extends into the skirt 38 apertures 39).
With regard to claim 34, Byerly discloses wherein the mechanical coding is defined by at least one of a position, an orientation and a longitudinal extent of the mechanical coding feature relative to the longitudinal extension (p. 10, lines 9-15, p. 9, line 28-p.10, line 8).
With regard to claim 35, Byerly discloses wherein the mechanical coding feature (108/110) comprises the protrusion protruding in a longitudinal distal direction (108 is considered longitudinal as it extends up and down along the side of the electronic module) from a distally facing surface (distal surface of the cap 120 as shown in Fig. 5) of the electronic module and configured to engage with a complementary shaped recess (39) of the mechanical counter coding feature.
Conclusion
/Lauren P Farrar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783