DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Amendment filed 09/25/25.
Response to Amendment
The objection to the disclosure as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 06/25/25 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The objection to Claim 8 as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 06/25/25 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 06/25/25 is overcome by the cancellation of the claim.
The rejection of Claims 4, 6, and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2020/0203623 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 06/25/25 is overcome by the cancellation of the claims.
The rejection of Claims 1-3, 5, and 9-13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2020/0203623 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 06/25/25 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 14 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2020/0203623 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 06/25/25 is herein amended due to the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2020/0203623 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-3, 5, and 9-13, Lee et al. discloses the following organic electroluminescent (EL) device (organic light emitting device):
comprising anode (110), hole-injecting layer (120), light-emitting layer (140), electron-transporting layer (150), electron-injecting layer (160), and cathode (170); a compound of Formula 1 as shown below:
([0055]) where X1 = O or S (only), R1 = aryl or heterocyclic ([0067]), and L3 = single bond, arylene, or heteroarylene ([0065]) is combined in a mixture with a second compound (of Formula 2) at a ratio of 2:8 to 8:2 to form a host material for the light-emitting layer (Abstract; [0010], [0013], [0046], [0138]). Lee et al. discloses that the organic EL device can alternatively comprise a plurality of stacks (ST1 and ST2), wherein each stack comprise a hole-transporting layer, light-emitting layer, and electron-transporting layer (Fig. 3; [0038]). The light-emitting layers in each of the stacks comprise different host materials ([0043]). An embodiment (of Formula 1) is disclosed:
(page 19) such that p = 0, a = 1, L = direct bond, b = 1, Ar = unsubstituted aryl group having 6 carbon atoms (phenyl), and N-het = Applicant’s Chemical Formula A (with Y1 = Y3 = Y5 = N and Y2 = Y4 = CRa (with Ra = unsubstituted aryl having 6 or 10 carbon atoms (phenyl or naphthyl))) of Applicant’s Chemical Formulae 1 and 1-2; Z1-3 = N, q1-2 = 0, r1-2 = 1 and Ar1-2 = unsubstituted aryl group having 6 or 10 carbon atoms (phenyl or naphthyl) of Applicant’s Chemical Formula A-1. However, Lee et al. does not explicitly disclose an embodiment that fully reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1, particularly in regards to the nature of X. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to modify the above compound as disclosed by Lee et al. (above) such that X = O. The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves an exchange of one atomic linking group (S) for a functional equivalent (O) of the same group and valency (and thus can be expected to have highly similar chemical and physical properties) selected from a highly finite list as envisioned by Lee et al.’s general formula, thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claims 14 and 15, Lee et al. discloses additional embodiments such as the following:
(page 36). However, Lee et al. does not explicitly disclose another embodiment that fully reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1, particularly in regards to the nature of the N-het group. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to modify compound 1-173 as disclosed by Lee et al. (above) such that p = 0, a = 1, L = direct bond, b = 1, Ar = unsubstituted aryl group having 6 carbon atoms (phenyl), and N-het = Applicant’s Chemical Formula A (with Y1 = Y3 = Y5 = N and Y2 = Y4 = CRa (with Ra = unsubstituted aryl having 6 or 10 carbon atoms (phenyl or naphthyl))) of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1. The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves an exchange one of linking group (dibenzofuranylene) for a functional equivalent (single bond) selected from a highly finite list as disclosed by Lee et al. (in regards to the scope of the L3 group), thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Lee et al. further discloses that the organic EL device can alternatively additional stacks (such as ST2), wherein each stack comprise a hole-transporting layer, light-emitting layer, and electron-transporting layer (Fig. 3; [0038]); notice that the entirely of the organic layers interposed between the electrodes can also be defined to be a single organic layer (organic material layer). The light-emitting layers in each of the stacks comprise different host materials ([0043]). It would have been obvious to incorporate the host composition comprising alternative embodiments (of Formula 1) as disclosed by Lee et al. into the light-emitting layers of additional stacks (such as ST2). The motivation is provided by the fact that the incorporation merely involves the selection of an alternative embodiment of Formula 1 selected from a highly finite list as disclosed by Lee et al. for use as host material of a light-emitting layer that is distinct from the emission profile of the first stack (ST1), thus rendering the utilization predictable with a reasonable expectation of success. Notice that the use of consistent thicknesses of the light-emitting layers (and the ratios between the compounds of Formulae 1 and 2 in the compositions) would result in a weight ratio of 5:5 between the two types of heterocyclic compound of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is provided by Lee et al. (US 2020/0203623 A1), which discloses a composition comprising compounds of the following form:
([0010]); an embodiment is disclosed:
(page 19). However, it is the position of the Office that neither Lee et al. singly nor in combination with any other prior art discloses any of the specific compounds as recited in the claim, particularly in regards to the nature and bonding positions of the substituents attached to the core condensed heterocyclic group of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1.
Response to Arguments
13. The Office has carefully reviewed the Declaration filed 10/08/25.
14. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the deficiencies of the previously cited prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as set forth above. Furthermore, the Office finds the Applicant’s arguments in view of the unexpected (experimental) data unpersuasive as the data is not commensurate with the scope of the claims. Notice the rather narrow scope of the inventive compounds tested to demonstrate unexpected properties, particularly in contrast to the wide scope of the -(L)a-(Ar)b group as recited in the claims corresponding to a wide array of compounds with properties which cannot be reasonably extrapolated from the Applicant’s data.
Conclusion
15. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786