DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the amendments and arguments filed August 12th, 2026. Claims 1-6 and 8-13 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 8, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a ratio of the actual torque acting on each of the wheel and the target torque” (emphasis added) in line 15 of the claim which is improper grammar and likely a typo where applicant missed pluralizing the word “wheel” when amending the claim;
Claim 4 marks its dependency on claim 1 as an amendment, however claim 4 filed April 28th, 2026 was already dependent on claim 1;
Claim 8 is marked as “Currently Amended” however the claim is identical to the claim 12 filed April 28th, 2026 and has no amendments annotated, thus claim 12 should be marked “Previously Presented”;
Claim 12 is marked as “Currently Amended” however the claim is identical to the claim 12 filed April 28th, 2026 and has no amendments annotated, thus claim 12 should be marked “Previously Presented”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: measuring unit in claims 7 and 14 and calculating unit in claims 1-3 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 112(b) because the claim limitation “calculating unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The calculation units recited lack any indication of what these units are whether explicitly or by example. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
For the sake of the prior art rejection below, the examiner interprets that the “calculating unit” is a general purpose computer programmed to perform the calculations recited in the claims.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the calculating computer" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 depends upon claim 1 thus is rejected under 112(b) due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited of record Skarie et al. (US Pub. No. 20020079707 A1), herein after Skarie, in further view of previously cited of record Folk; Heath (US Pub. No. 20100076660 A1), herein after Folk, in further view of previously cited of record Cooper et al. (US Pub. No. 20130173094 A1), herein after Cooper, in further view of Krohn et al. (US Patent No. 4849891 A), herein after Krohn, and further in view of previously cited of record Tione et al. (US Pub. No. 20210039615 A1), herein after Tione.
Regarding claim 1, Skarie teaches [a]n apparatus for controlling dispensing of adhesion-increasing agent of a rail vehicle, the apparatus comprising (Skarie: Para. 0017, teaching an apparatus for dispensing a traction enhancing material such as sand on a railroad track to control a train's traction with the track): at least two devices configured to dispense adhesion-increasing agent, which are each assigned to a respective wheel of a rail vehicle (Skarie: Para. 0041, teaching a valve for dispensing the sand; and Para. 0085, teaching that each wheel is monitored and each has their own valve assembly that is controlled according to the methods described); at least two wheel speed sensors, which measure the wheel speed or rotational wheel speed of each of the wheels (Skarie: Para. 0077, teaching the use of one or more wheel speed sensors to determine the speed that the wheels are spinning; and Para. 0098, teaching that there are wheel speed sensors assigned to the front wheels and the back wheels) and/or at least two wheel acceleration sensors, which measures wheel acceleration of each of the wheels (Skarie: Para. 0078, teaching the use of accelerometers which measure the acceleration of the vehicle and its speed; Para. 0082, teaching that the vehicle speed and acceleration from the accelerometers are compared to the wheel speed to determine if they match; and Para. 0085, teaching that each wheel is monitored and each has their own valve assembly that is controlled according to the methods described); a calculating unit configured... to receive data from the at least two wheel speed sensors, and/or the at least two wheel acceleration sensors, and/or the at least two torque sensors, ascertain a calculation result in the form of a ratio of the wheel speed or rotational wheel speed of each of the wheels and a speed of the rail vehicle... and to control the amount of adhesion-increasing agent dispensed by each of the two device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent based on changes in any of the ratios at each of the respective wheels (Skarie: Para. 0075, teaching a controller that takes inputs from the various sensors to perform the various calculations of the invention; Para. 0082, teaching that the wheel speed and ground speed are compared to determine if they match while the wheel is stopped and, depending on the comparison, releasing sand to decelerate the train, and as the wheel and ground speed has changed, repeating the process to account for the new wheel speed and ground speed till the wheel speed and ground speed matches; and Para. 0086, teaching that the adjustment of the wheel speed and ground speed also applies to situations where the wheels are spinning excessively).
Skarie is silent to at least two torque sensors, which measures torque acting on each of the wheels; a calculating unit configured to communicate with the at least two devices via a data bus and that the calculating unit is configured to... ascertain a calculation result in the form of... ratio of the wheel acceleration of each of the wheels and the acceleration in the longitudinal direction of the rail vehicle and the ratio of the actual torque acting on each of the wheel and the target torque.
In a similar field, Folk teaches at least two torque sensors, which measures torque acting on each of the wheels (Folk: Para. 0021, teaching the use of multiple torque and wheel speed sensors at each wheel to determine the actual torque of the wheel when slippage occurs) for the benefit of determining how to control the slippage of the wheels.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the sensors for monitoring the wheel speed and acceleration at each wheel of a train from Skarie to also monitor the torque applied to the wheels, as taught by Folk, for the benefit of determining how to control the slippage of the wheels.
Skarie in view of Folk are silent to a calculating unit configured to communicate with the at least two devices via a data bus and that the calculating unit is configured to... ascertain a calculation result in the form of... ratio of the wheel acceleration of each of the wheels and the acceleration in the longitudinal direction of the rail vehicle and the ratio of the actual torque acting on each of the wheel and the target torque.
In a similar field, Cooper teaches a calculating unit configured to communicate with the at least two devices via a data bus (Cooper: Para. 0022 and 0026, teaching that control units for controlling the dispensing of sand on a railroad track monitor the amount of sand each respective control unit used and the control units are in communication with each other on their usage and remaining amount of sand) for the benefit of ensuring a consistent level of wear on the wheels and usage of sand across the wheels of the train.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the sand dispersal system at each wheel of a train from Skarie in view of Folk with the communication between each controller of the sand dispersing of each wheel, as taught by Cooper, for the benefit of ensuring a consistent level of wear on the wheels and usage of sand across the wheels of the train.
Skarie in view of Folk in view further of Cooper are silent to the calculating unit is configured to... ascertain a calculation result in the form of... ratio of the wheel acceleration of each of the wheels and the acceleration in the longitudinal direction of the rail vehicle and the ratio of the actual torque acting on each of the wheel and the target torque.
In a similar field, Krohn teaches a calculating unit configured to... ascertain a calculation result in the form of... a ratio of the wheel acceleration of each of the wheels and the acceleration in the longitudinal direction of the rail vehicle... and to control the amount of [deceleration] based on changes in any of the ratios at each of the respective wheels (Krohn: Page 8 col. 5 lines 51-68, teaching comparing the acceleration experienced by each wheel to the acceleration of the vehicle and controlling deceleration at each wheel accordingly) for the benefit of reducing slippage of the wheels.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the sand dispersal system at each wheel of a train based on the speed and acceleration of the train and the speed of its wheels from Skarie in view of Folk in view further of Cooper to also consider the acceleration of the wheels, as taught by Krohn, for the benefit of reducing slippage of the wheels.
Skarie in view of Folk in view further of Cooper in further view of Krohn are silent to the calculating unit is configured to... ascertain a calculation result in the form of... the ratio of the actual torque acting on each of the wheel and the target torque.
In a similar field, Tione teaches a calculating unit configured to... ascertain a calculation result in the form of... a ratio of the actual torque acting on each of the wheel and the target torque, and to control the amount of adhesion-increasing agent dispensed by each of the two device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent based on changes any of one of the ratios at each of the respective wheels (Tione: Para. 0062, teaching that the difference between a desired torque and the actual torque being applied by the wheels and adjusting the amount of adhesion material dispensed accordingly) for the benefit of improving the responsiveness of the dispersion of adhesion material based on the dynamics of the vehicle and its wheels.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the sand dispersal system at each wheel of a train based on the speed and acceleration of the train and its wheels from Skarie in view of Folk in view further of Cooper in further view of Krohn to also adjust the dispersion based on the torque applied by the wheel and the desired torque, as taught by Tione, for the benefit of improving the responsiveness of the dispersion of adhesion material based on the dynamics of the vehicle and its wheels.
Regarding claim 2, Skarie, Folk, Cooper, Krohn, and Tione remain as applied as in claim 1, and Skarie goes on to further teach [t]he apparatus of claim 1, wherein the calculating unit is configured to determine the ratio of the wheel speed of at least one further wheel and the speed of the rail vehicle and/or the ratio of the wheel acceleration of at least one further wheel and the acceleration in the longitudinal direction of the rail vehicle and/or the ratio of the actual wheel torque acting on the wheel and the target wheel torque of at least one further wheel, and to take this calculation result into consideration for controlling the dispensing of adhesion-increasing agent by the device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent (Skarie: Para. 0085, teaching that the control of the dispensing of sand based on the vehicle speed and wheel speed can be done for each wheel of the train; and Para. 0098, teaching that the wheels are monitored for if their conditions are matching).
Regarding claim 3, Skarie, Folk, Cooper, Krohn, and Tione remain as applied as in claim 1, and Skarie goes on to further teach [t]he apparatus of claim 1, wherein the data of a plurality of wheels are used for controlling each device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent (Skarie: Para. 0085, teaching that the control of the dispensing of sand based on the vehicle speed and wheel speed can be done for each wheel of the train; and Para. 0098, teaching that the wheels are monitored for if their conditions are matching).
Regarding claim 4, Skarie, Folk, Cooper, Krohn, and Tione remain as applied as in claim 1, and Cooper goes on to further teach [t]he apparatus of claim 1, wherein the data bus is configured to enable communication by the calculating computer with other calculating computers to communicate and also to exchange measurement results and calculation results (Cooper: Para. 0022 and 0026, teaching that control units for controlling the dispensing of sand on a railroad track monitor the amount of sand each respective control unit used and the control units are in communication with each other on their usage and remaining amount of sand).
Regarding claim 5, Skarie, Folk, Cooper, Krohn, and Tione remain as applied as in claim 4, and Cooper goes on to further teach [t]he apparatus of claim 4, wherein the maximum dispensing rate of adhesion-increasing agent is set for the at least two devices for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent, and, in response to at least one calculating unit determines that the dispensing rate of adhesion-increasing agent calculated for the respective device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent is above a set maximum dispensing rate for adhesion-increasing agent for the respective device, the calculating unit is configured to communicate the deviation between the calculated dispensing rate of adhesion-increasing agent and the maximum dispensing rate of adhesion-increasing agent by way of the data bus to another calculating unit, wherein the other calculating unit is configured to correspondingly supplement the deviation of the dispensing rate of adhesion-increasing agent ascertained by this other calculating unit for the other device respectively for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent, as long as the maximum dispensing rate of adhesion-increasing agent of this device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent is not exceeded (Cooper: Para. 0030, teaching that the separate control units communicate with a master control unit that monitors the various resource levels of sand that each control unit has left and based on the required usage controls the usage of control units that have more sand available).
Regarding claim 6, Skarie, Folk, Cooper, Krohn, and Tione remain as applied as in claim 1, and Skarie goes on to further teach [t]he apparatus of claim 1, wherein upper and/or lower limit values are specified for controlling the dispensing of adhesion-increasing agent by at least one device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent, and, in response to the limits being exceeded or not reached, the dispensing of adhesion-increasing agent by the device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent is increased or reduced (Skarie: Para. 0059, teaching that the prior art controls the limit of how much sand is dispensed by controlling how much sand is put into a hopper that is used for dispensing sand; and Para. 0088, teaching that the invention monitors the level of sand in the hopper and increases the amount if it is below a threshold).
Claims 8-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skarie in view of Krohn in further view of Tione.
Regarding claim 8, Skarie teaches [a] method for controlling dispensing of adhesion-increasing agent of a rail vehicle, the method comprising (Skarie: Para. 0019, teaching a method for dispensing a traction enhancing material such as sand on a railroad track to control a train's traction with the track): detecting speed and acceleration in the longitudinal direction of a rail vehicle (Skarie: Para. 0078, teaching the use of accelerometers which measure the acceleration of the vehicle and its speed); detecting wheel speed and/or rotational wheel speed and wheel acceleration of a wheel of the rail vehicle and/or the actual wheel torque acting on the wheel (Skarie: Para. 0077, teaching the use of wheel speed sensor to determine the speed that the wheels are spinning; Para. 0078, teaching the use of accelerometers which measure the acceleration of the vehicle and its speed; and Para. 0082, teaching that the vehicle speed and acceleration from the accelerometers are compared to the wheel speed to determine if they match); determining a ratio of the wheel speed or rotational wheel speed of the wheel and the speed of the rail vehicle... controlling the dispensing of adhesion-increasing agent by a device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent based on changes in the determined ratio of the wheel speed or rotational wheel speed of the wheel and the speed of the rail vehicle... (Skarie: Para. 0075, teaching a controller that takes inputs from the various sensors to perform the various calculations of the invention; Para. 0082, teaching that the wheel speed and ground speed are compared to determine if they match while the wheel is stopped and, depending on the comparison, releasing sand to decelerate the train, and as the wheel and ground speed has changed, repeating the process to account for the new wheel speed and ground speed till the wheel speed and ground speed matches; and Para. 0086, teaching that the adjustment of the wheel speed and ground speed also applies to situations where the wheels are spinning excessively).
Skarie is silent to the calculating unit is determining... a ratio of the wheel acceleration of the wheel and the acceleration in the longitudinal direction of the rail vehicle and a ratio of the actual torque acting on the wheel and the target torque, controlling the dispensing of adhesion-increasing agent by a device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent based on... changes in the ratio of the wheel acceleration of the wheel and the acceleration in the longitudinal direction of the rail vehicle and changes in the ratio of the actual torque acting on the wheel and the target torque.
In a similar field, Krohn teaches detecting… wheel acceleration of a wheel of the rail vehicle and/or the actual wheel torque acting on the wheel (Herden: Para. 0034 and 0035, teaching dispensing of scattering material such as sand onto a train track based on the movements of the wheels as detected in a movement signal; and Para. 0051, teaching that the movement signal is based on the speed and acceleration of the wheels and it can be evaluated based on the speed of the rail vehicle); determining... a ratio of the wheel acceleration of the wheel and the acceleration in the longitudinal direction of the rail vehicle... controlling the [deceleration of the vehicle] based on... changes in the ratio of the wheel acceleration of the wheel and the acceleration in the longitudinal direction of the rail vehicle... (Herden: Para. 0034 and 0035, teaching dispensing of scattering material such as sand onto a train track based on the movements of the wheels as detected in a movement signal; and Para. 0051, teaching that the movement signal is based on the speed and acceleration of the wheels and it can be evaluated based on the speed of the rail vehicle) for the benefit of reducing slippage of the wheels.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the sand dispersal system at each wheel of a train based on the speed and acceleration of the train and the speed of its wheels from Skarie to also consider the acceleration of the wheels, as taught by Krohn, for the benefit of reducing slippage of the wheels.
Skarie in view of Krohn are silent to determining... a ratio of the actual torque acting on the wheel and the target torque, controlling the dispensing of adhesion-increasing agent by a device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent based on... changes in the ratio of the actual torque acting on the wheel and the target torque.
In a similar field, Tione teaches determining... a ratio of the actual torque acting on the wheel and the target torque, controlling the dispensing of adhesion-increasing agent by a device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent based on... changes in the ratio of the actual torque acting on the wheel and the target torque (Tione: Para. 0062, teaching that the difference between a desired torque and the actual torque being applied by the wheels and adjusting the amount of adhesion material dispensed accordingly) for the benefit of improving the responsiveness of the dispersion of adhesion material based on the dynamics of the vehicle and its wheels.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the sand dispersal system at each wheel of a train based on the speed and acceleration of the train and its wheels from Skarie in view of Herden to also adjust the dispersion based on the torque applied by the wheel and the desired torque, as taught by Tione, for the benefit of improving the responsiveness of the dispersion of adhesion material based on the dynamics of the vehicle and its wheels.
Regarding claim 9, Skarie, Krohn, and Tione remain as applied as in claim 8, and Skarie goes on to further teach [t]he method of claim 8, wherein, during control of the dispensing of adhesion-increasing agent, at least one further ratio of the determined ratios, which was determined for one or further wheels, is/are additionally used for controlling the dispensing of adhesion-increasing agent by a device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent (Skarie: Para. 0085, teaching that the control of the dispensing of sand based on the vehicle speed and wheel speed can be done for each wheel of the train; and Para. 0098, teaching that the wheels are monitored for if their conditions are matching).
Regarding claim 10, Skarie, Krohn, and Tione remain as applied as in claim 8, and Skarie goes on to further teach [t]he method of claim 8, wherein a device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent is provided for a specific number n of wheels (Skarie: Para. 0085, teaching that the control of the dispensing of sand based on the vehicle speed and wheel speed can be done for each wheel of the train; and Para. 0098, teaching that the wheels are monitored for if their conditions are matching).
Regarding claim 13, Skarie, Krohn, and Tione remain as applied as in claim 8, and Skarie goes on to further teach [t]he method of claim 8, wherein upper and/or lower limit values are specified for controlling the dispensing of adhesion-increasing agent by the device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agents, and, in response to these limits being exceeded or not reached, the dispensing of adhesion-increasing agent by the device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent is increased or reduced (Skarie: Para. 0059, teaching that the prior art controls the limit of how much sand is dispensed by controlling how much sand is put into a hopper that is used for dispensing sand; and Para. 0088, teaching that the invention monitors the level of sand in the hopper and increases the amount if it is below a threshold).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skarie in view of Krohn in further view of Tione as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Cooper.
Regarding claim 11, Skarie, Krohn, and Tione remain as applied as in claim 8, however they are silent to [t]he method of claim 8, wherein at least two devices for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent, which are provided on a rail vehicle, are connected to the data bus and exchange operational and control parameters.
In a similar field, Cooper teaches [t]he method of claim 8, wherein at least two devices for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent, which are provided on a rail vehicle, are connected to the data bus and exchange operational and control parameters (Cooper: Para. 0022 and 0026, teaching that control units for controlling the dispensing of sand on a railroad track monitor the amount of sand each respective control unit used and the control units are in communication with each other on their usage and remaining amount of sand) for the benefit of ensuring a consistent level of wear on the wheels and usage of sand across the wheels of the train.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the sand dispersal system at each wheel of a train from Skarie in view of Krohn in further view of Tione with the communication between each controller of the sand dispersing of each wheel, as taught by Cooper, for the benefit of ensuring a consistent level of wear on the wheels and usage of sand across the wheels of the train.
Regarding claim 12, Skarie, Krohn, Tione, and Cooper remain as applied as in claim 11, and Cooper goes on to further teach [t]he method as claimed in claim 11, wherein a maximum dispensing rate of adhesion-increasing agent is set respectively for the at least two devices for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent, and, if a calculating unit finds that the dispensing rate of adhesion-increasing agent calculated for the respective device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent lies above the maximum dispensing rate of adhesion-increasing agent, the deviation between the calculated dispensing rate of adhesion-increasing agent and the maximum dispensing rate of adhesion-increasing agent is communicated by way of the data bus to another calculating unit, in order that the latter correspondingly supplements the deviation in addition to the dispensing rate of adhesion-increasing agent ascertained by this calculating unit for the other device respectively for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent, as long as the maximum dispensing rate of adhesion-increasing agent of this device for dispensing adhesion-increasing agent is not exceeded (Cooper: Para. 0030, teaching that the separate control units communicate with a master control unit that monitors the various resource levels of sand that each control unit has left and based on the required usage controls the usage of control units that have more sand available).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 12th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed August 12th, 2026 with respect to the 112(a) and 112(b) rejections of claims 1-6 in light of the 112(f) interpretations have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends (see page 8 lines 10-28, filed August 12th, 2026) that the calculating unit has a structure of a computer as evidenced by the fact that it is in communication with other calculating units via a data bus and data buses allow computers to communicate. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that the fact that data buses are used to allow computers to communicate does not provide sufficient definite support of what the structure of the calculating unit is as required by 112(f) as the calculating unit could just be a program in a computer rather than the calculating unit being the computer itself and that the computer with the calculating unit program is what uses the data bus to communicate.
Applicant's arguments filed August 12th, 2026 with respect to the 103 rejection of claims 1-6 in view of Skarie in view of Folk in further view of Cooper in view of Krohn in further view of Tione have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends (see page 7 lines 9-26, filed August 12th, 2026) that Tione is deficient in teaching the regulated release rate of the adhesion-increasing agent based on a ratio of torque acting on the wheels. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that the BRI of the term “ratio” was noted in the Final Rejection dated April 4th, 2025, in page 23 line 16 through page 25 line 2 can read upon a difference between an actual torque acting on the wheels and a target torque as noted in page 4 paragraph 0022 lines 13-17 of applicant’s specification. This relates to paragraph 0062 of Tione which teaches calculating “the difference between the instantaneous effective braking torque value CFe of its applied braking torque and its instantaneous requested braking torque value CFr” (emphasis added) which reads upon the BRI of “a ratio of the actual torque acting on each of the wheel and the target torque” as claimed.
Applicant contends (see page 7 lines 16-26, filed August 12th, 2026) that the prior art is deficient in teaching the claimed invention of “based on changes in the determined ratio of the wheel speed or rotational wheel speed of the wheel and the speed of the rail vehicle and changes in the ratio of the wheel acceleration of the wheel and the acceleration in the longitudinal direction of the rail vehicle and changes in the ratio of the actual torque acting on the wheel and the target torque” in claim 8. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that the BRI of claim 8 is written in such a way that the dispersion of adhesion increasing agent does not require all ratios to be taught, rather it is sufficient if the prior art teaches either dispersion of the increasing agent “based on changes in the determined ratio of the wheel speed or rotational wheel speed of the wheel and the speed of the rail vehicle and changes in the ratio of the wheel acceleration of the wheel and the acceleration in the longitudinal direction of the rail vehicle and changes in the ratio of the actual torque acting on the wheel and the target torque” (emphasis added). The inclusion of “or” between the ratio of the wheel speed and the rest of the factors means either the ratio of the wheel speed is required or the other factors taken together are required.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663