Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 10 that the “pic_rpl_present_flag is not the claimed "signaling information"-it is a different flag that indicates whether RPL information is actually present in the current picture header, not a PPS-level flag that specifies whether RPL information should be included in the picture header.
The Examiner respectfully submits that the pic_rpl_present_flag, like the claimed signaling information, indicates whether reference picture list information is contained in a picture header of the current picture, as disclosed at least in
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the claimed signalling information is a picture parameter set-level (PPS-level) flag) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Examiner proposes that amending the independent claims to specify that the claimed “signaling information” is found in a picture parameter set (PPS) would place the claims in condition for allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettersson, “AHG17: On selectively signal slice header parameters in PPS.” Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11 16th Meeting: Geneva, CH, 1–11 October 2019, in view of Deshpande, US 2022/0394301 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Pettersson discloses: an image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, the image decoding method comprising:
deriving a temporal motion vector predictor for a current block based on a collocated picture for the current block (Note that the definition of a “slice_collocated_ref_idx” in Section 2.1, halfway through page 6, indicates that this syntax specifies reference index for a collocated picture used for temporal motion vector prediction.);
deriving a motion vector of the current block based on the temporal motion vector predictor (See 2.1, “pps_temporal_mvp_enabled_idc”); and generating a prediction block of the current block based on the motion vector (Section 2.1, these steps follow from using a collocated picture for temporal motion vector prediction; a motion vector is derived, and a prediction block generated based on the motion vector. See also, slice_disable_bdof_dmvr_flag at top of page 7.),
wherein the collocated picture is determined based on identification information of the collocated picture (See pages 4-5, code for a slice_header() includes, on page 5, “slice_collocated_ref_idx”) the identification information being included in a slice header of a current slice including the current block or in a picture header of a current picture including the current block (See Abstract: “This contribution… use[s] the same mechanism provided by the “constant_slice_header_params_enabled_flag” to either signal a parameter value in the PPS or in the slice headers:.”),
wherein whether the identification information of the collocated picture is included in the slice header or the picture header is determined based on both predetermined signaling information and an enabled flag (Pettersson discloses a “constant_slice_header_params_enabled_flag” as a “predetermined signaling information.”),
wherein the signaling information specifies whether the identification information of the collocated picture is included in either the slice header or the picture header (pps_collocated_ref_idx_plus1 equal to 0 specifies that the syntax element slice_collocated_ref_idx is present in slice header of slices referring to the PPS.),
Pettersson fails to explicitly disclose making the identification information location contingent on the value of a TMVP enabled flag, and does not disclose a second enabled flag:
wherein the signaling information specifies whether reference picture list information is included in the picture header,
Deshpande discloses a “pic_rpl_present_flag”, which is a reference picture list signalling flag. pic_rpl_ present_flag equals O specifies that reference picture list signalling is not present in the picture header and may be present in slice headers of slices of the picture, as disclosed in [0223]”
wherein whether the identification information of the collocated picture is included in the slice header or the picture header is determined based on both predetermined signaling information and an enabled flag
wherein, based on (i) the signaling information having a first value and (ii) the first enabled flag specifying that the temporal motion vector predictor is enabled for the current picture, the identification information of the collocated picture can be included in the slice header (),
wherein, based on (i) the signaling information having a first value and (ii) the enabled flag specifying that the temporal motion vector predictor is enabled for the current picture, the identification information of the collocated picture can be included in the slice header,
wherein, based on (i) the signaling information having a second value and (ii) the enabled flag specifying that the temporal motion vector predictor is enabled for the current picture, the identification information of the collocated picture is included in the picture header
wherein whether the identification information of the collocated picture is included in the slice header or the picture header is determined based on both predetermined signaling information and an enabled flag,
wherein the enabled flag specifies whether the temporal motion vector predictor is enabled for the current picture,
However, Deshpande discloses in [0274]: It should be noted that in JVET-P2001, the indication of whether TMVP is used is provided in the picture header, but the information related to which reference picture to use for predicting motion vectors, the collocated picture, is provided in the slice headers.” In other words, both references disclose a TMVP enabled flag. This aspect would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the applicant’s effective filing date, because if TMVP is disabled, there is simply no reference picture to identify, making the location of identification information- slice or picture header- moot.
Deshpande also discloses in Table 31, within a picture header: “if(sps_temporal_mvp_enabled_flag ) {pic_temporal_mvp_enabled_flag}]. Deshpande thus discloses a sequence level (CLVS) MVP enabled flag conditions the checking of picture level MVP enabled flag(s) within said sequence. Therefore Deshpande discloses:
wherein the first enabled flag is encoded based on whether the temporal motion vector predictor is enabled for a coded layer video sequence (CLVS) - a second enabled flag specifying whether the temporal motion vector predictor is enabled for the CL VS being encoded.
Deshpande discloses that a “first flag indicat[es] whether temporal motion vector predictor can be enabled for a picture associated with the picture header and (b) second flag indicating information associated with reference picture list are equal to 1. Deshpande further discloses in [0150], halfway down on page 32, “pic_temporal_mvp_eable_flag specifies whether temporal motion vector predictors can be used for inter prediction for slices associated with the [picture header]. If pic_temporal_mvp_enabled_flag is equal to 0, the syntax elements of the slices associated with the PH shall be constrained such that no temporal motion vector predictor is used in decoding of the slices. Otherwise (pic_temporal_mvp_enabled_flag is equal to 1.),”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to incorporate into Pettersson a check for picture header-level tmvp flag specifying whether tmvp is enabled for a current picture, before checking a flag indicating the location of collocated picture information as being in one of a slice or picture header; checking this flag would prevent superfluous checking for reference picture information in the case that TMVP is not enabled for the current picture. When TMVP is disabled for a picture, the location of reference picture identification information is moot because there is no reference picture, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized before the effective filing date, based at least on [0274] in Deshpande. Thereby checking TMVP as a basis for checking identification information location would reduce computational overhead while decoding. The combination of these two features would merely entail adding the TMVP enabled/disabled check disclosed in Deshpande into Pettersson; one of ordinary skill in the art could have incorporated this check into the video decoder of Lee with predictable results, and without modifying the respective functions of either element. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Image decoding apparatus claim 10 and image encoding method claim 11 correspond substantially to image decoding method claim 1, and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Petersson in view of Deshpande discloses the limitations of claim 11, upon which depends claim 15. This combination, specifically Lee, further discloses: a method of transmitting a bitstream generated by the image encoding method of claim 11 (See [0008]).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersson, in view of Deshpande, in further view of Hendry, US 2021/0195236 A1.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Pettersson in view of Deshpande discloses the limitations of claim 1, upon which depends claim 6. This combination does not disclose: the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the identification information of the collocated picture comprises direction information of a reference picture list including the collocated picture and reference picture index information specifying the collocated picture in the reference picture list.
However, Lee discloses this limitation in an analogous art: See [0080], last 4 lines, “The prediction unit may also obtain or derive a reference picture index or the like indicating the reference picture from the information on the prediction.”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to incorporate directional information as part of an identification information, in order to accurately reference prediction samples in a directional prediction mode. See Lee [0046].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Pettersson, in view of Deshpande, in view of Lee discloses the limitations of claim 6, upon which depends claim 7. This combination, specifically Pettersson, further discloses: the image decoding method of claim 6, wherein, based on the slice header and the picture header not including the reference picture index information, the reference picture index information is inferred as a first value.
Pettersson discloses this limitation in an analogous art. As disclosed at bottom of page 6, the value of slice_collocated_ref_idx is inferred to be equal to 0 when not present in slice header and when ((collocated_from_l0_flag && NumRefIdxActive[ 0 ] > 1 ) | | ( !collocated_from_l0_flag && NumRefIdxActive[ 1 ] > 1 ) is not true. This condition occurs when pps_collocated_ref_idx_plus1 is greater than zero.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettersson, in view of Deshpande, in further view of Hendry, US 2021/0195236 A1.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Pettersson in view of Deshpande discloses the limitations of claim 1, upon which depends claim 8. This combination not disclose: the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the identification information of the collocated picture included in the picture header comprises information on a difference in picture order count (POC) between the collocated picture and the current picture.
Hendry discloses in [0125]-[0126] placing in a picture parameter set (PPS) a delta POC value, which indicates a difference a POC of a current frame and a reference frame.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to incorporate delta POC information, instead of providing an absolute POC value, in a PPS in Petersson, as disclosed in Hendry, in order to conserve bits, simplify the coding process, and thereby improve the user experience. See Hendry [0005].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Petersson, in view of Deshpande, discloses the limitations of claim 1, upon which depends claim 9. However, this combination does not disclose: the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the identification information on the collocated picture included in the picture header comprises information on an absolute value and sign of a difference in picture order count (POC) between the collocated picture and the current picture.
However Hendry discloses in [0125]-[0126] an all_rpl_entries_same_sign_flag that, when equal to 1, indicates another flag is signaled to indicate the sign value of delta POC value entries in a reference picture list (RPL). When this flag is 0, it indicates that all delta POCs in a given RPL have the same sign value, either positive or negative. Additionally, Hendry discloses here that the absolute value is delta POC value is coded using unsigned integer 0-th order Exp-Golomb coding (e.g., ue(v)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to signal both an absolute value of the delta POCs in an RPL, as well as the sign values, either collectively, (all_rpl_entries_same_sign_flag = 1), or individually (all_rpl_entries_same_sign_flag = 0), in order to improve the efficiency of reference picture list coding by reducing bit count for signaling POC values. Such a combination would have entailed no change in the respective functions of the two inventions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results for one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395.
The following claim rejections all reference Dehspande.
Regarding claim 15, A method of transmitting a bitstream generated by the image encoding method of
claim 11 (See [0008]).
Regarding claim 16, The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein, based on the signaling information having the second value specifying that the reference picture list information is included in the picture header, the same collocated picture applies to all slices in the current picture (See [0223] in Deshpande. This is understood from placing a syntax in a picture header- it applies to all slices within the picture referencing that picture header.).
Regarding claim 17, the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein, based on the signaling information having the first value specifying that the reference picture list information is not included in the picture header, different collocated pictures apply to at least some slices in the current picture (This is understood by those of skill in the art).
Regarding claim 18, the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the signaling information construct a signaling condition for the identification information of the collocated picture along with the first enabled flag (See collocated_from_l0_flag in table 31).
Regarding claim 19, the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein, based on the signaling information having the second value, a reference picture index of the collocated picture in the slice header is inferred as a same value as a reference picture index of the collocated picture obtained through the picture header (See [0274 in Deshpande, provided in the slice headers, even though it is required to be the same collocated picture in all slice headers. In one example, according to the techniques herein, when RPL information is provided in a picture header, the collocated picture information is indicated in the picture header. Table 31 illustrates a corresponding relevant portion of a picture_header_rbsp( ) syntax structure and Table 31 illustrates a corresponding relevant portion of a slice_header() syntax structure where a PPS level flag is used to signal in picture header or in slice header for RPL parameters.).
Regarding claim 21, the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein, based on the identification information of the collocated picture not being included in both the slice header and the picture header, a reference picture index of the collocated picture is inferred as a predetermined value (See [0277], “Otherwise (rpll_idx_present_ is equal to 1), the value of pic_collocated_from_l 0_fiag is inferred to be equal to pps_collocated_from_l0_idc-1.’).
Regarding claim 22, the image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the identification information of the collocated picture included in the picture header comprises direction information specifying from which of a reference picture list 0 and a reference picture list 1 the collocated picture is derived (See [0278], “slice_collocated_from_l0_flag equal to 1 specifies that the collocated picture used for temporal motion vector prediction is derived from reference picture list 0. slice_collocated_from_l 0_flag equal to 0 specifies that the collocated picture used for temporal motion vector prediction is derived from reference picture list 1.).
Regarding claim 25, the image decoding apparatus of claim 10, wherein the identification information of the collocated picture included in the picture header comprises direction information specifying from which of a reference picture list 0 and a reference picture list 1 the collocated picture is derived, and a reference picture index specifying the collocated picture in the reference picture list 0 or the reference picture list 1 (See [0278], “slice_collocated_from_l0_flag equal to 1 specifies that the collocated picture used for temporal motion vector prediction is derived from reference picture list 0. slice_collocated_from_l 0_flag equal to 0 specifies that the collocated picture used for temporal motion vector prediction is derived from reference picture list 1.).
Regarding claim 26, the image encoding method of claim 11, wherein the signaling information constructs a signaling condition for the identification information of the collocated picture along with the first enabled flag (See [0274], where Deshpande discloses, “In one example, according to the techniques herein, when RPL information is provided in a picture header, the collocated picture information is indicated in the picture header.).
Regarding claim 27, the image encoding method of claim 11, wherein, based on the signaling information having the second value, the identification information of the collocated picture is signaled once through the picture header for a plurality of slices in the current picture (See [0273], Table 30.).
EXAMINER’S AMENDMENT
1. (Previously Presented) An image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus,
the image decoding method comprising:
deriving a temporal motion vector predictor for a current block based on a collocated picture for the current block;
deriving a motion vector of the current block based on the temporal motion vector predictor; and
generating a prediction block of the current block based on the motion vector,
wherein the collocated picture is determined based on identification information of the collocated picture - the identification information being included in a slice header of a current slice including the current block or in a picture header of a current picture including the current block,
wherein whether the identification information of the collocated picture is included in the slice header or the picture header is determined based on both predetermined signaling information and a first enabled flag,
wherein the signaling information specifies whether the identification information of the
collocated picture is included in either the slice header or the picture header,
wherein the signaling information specifies whether reference picture list information is
included in the picture header,
wherein the first enabled flag specifies whether the temporal motion vector predictor is enabled for the current picture,
wherein, based on (i) the signaling information having a first value and (ii) the first enabled flag specifying that the temporal motion vector predictor is enabled for the current picture, the identification information of the collocated picture can be included in the slice header,
wherein, based on (i) the signaling information having a second value and (ii) the first
enabled flag specifying that the temporal motion vector predictor is enabled for the current picture, the identification information of the collocated picture is included in the picture header, and
wherein the first enabled flag is obtained based on a second enabled flag specifying whether the temporal motion vector predictor is enabled for a coded layer video sequence (CLVS).
2. (Canceled)
3. (Canceled)
4. (Canceled)
5. (Canceled)
6. (Original) The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the identification information of the collocated picture comprises direction information of a reference picture list including the collocated picture and reference picture index information specifying the collocated picture in the reference picture list.
7. (Previously Presented) The image decoding method of claim 6, wherein, based on the slice
header and the picture header not including the reference picture index information, the reference
picture index information is inf erred as a first value.
8. (Original) The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the identification information of
the collocated picture included in the picture header comprises information on a difference in
picture order count (POC) between the collocated picture and the current picture.
9. (Original) The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the identification information of the collocated picture included in the picture header comprises information on an absolute value
and sign of a difference in picture order count (POC) between the collocated picture and the
current picture.
10. (Previously Presented) An image decoding apparatus comprising:
a memory; and
at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
derive a temporal motion vector predictor for a current block based on a collocated picture for the current block;
derive a motion vector of the current block based on the temporal motion vector predictor; and
generate a prediction block of the current block based on the motion vector,
wherein the collocated picture is determined based on identification information of the collocated picture - the identification information being included in a slice header of a current slice including the current block or in a picture header of a current picture including the current block,
wherein whether the identification information of the collocated picture is included in the
slice header or the picture header is determined based on both predetermined signaling information and a first enabled flag,
wherein the signaling information specifies whether the identification information of the
collocated picture is included in either the slice header or the picture header,
wherein the signaling information specifies whether reference picture list information is
included in the picture header,
wherein the first enabled flag specifies whether the temporal motion vector predictor is
enabled for the current picture,
wherein, based on (i) the signaling information having a first value and (ii) the first enabled flag specifying that the temporal motion vector predictor is enabled for the current picture, the identification information of the collocated picture can be included in the slice header,
wherein, based on (i) the signaling information having a second value and (ii) the first enabled flag specifying that the temporal motion vector predictor is enabled for the current picture, the identification information of the collocated picture is included in the picture header,
and
wherein the first enabled flag is obtained based on a second enabled flag specifying whether the temporal motion vector predictor is enabled for a coded layer video sequence (CLVS).
11. (Previously Presented) An image encoding method performed by an image encoding apparatus, the image encoding method comprising:
generating a prediction block of a current block based on a motion vector of the current block;
deriving a temporal motion vector predictor for the current block based on a collocated picture for the current block; and
encoding the motion vector of the current block based on the temporal motion vector predictor,
wherein identification information of the collocated picture is encoded for identifying the collocated picture - the identification information being encoded into a slice header of a current slice including the current block or into a picture header of a current picture including the current block,
wherein signaling information specifying whether the identification information of the collocated picture is included in either the slice header or the picture header is encoded,
wherein the signaling information specifies whether reference picture list information is
included in the picture header,
wherein a first enabled flag specifying whether the temporal motion vector predictor is enabled for the current picture is encoded,
wherein, based on (i) the first enabled flag specifying the temporal motion vector predictor being enabled for the current picture and (ii) the identification information of the collocated picture being encoded into the slice header, the signaling information has a first value,
wherein, based on (i) the first enabled flag specifying the temporal motion vector predictor being enabled for the current picture and (ii) the identification information of the collocated picture being encoded into the picture header, the signaling information has a second value, and
wherein the first enabled flag is encoded based on whether the temporal motion vector predictor is enabled for a coded layer video sequence (CLVS) - a second enabled flag specifying whether the temporal motion vector predictor is enabled for the CL VS being encoded.
12. (Canceled)
13. (Canceled)
14. (Canceled)
15. (Canceled)
16. (Previously Presented) The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein, based on the signaling information having the second value specifying that the reference picture list information is included in the picture header, the same collocated picture applies to all slices in the current picture.
17. (Previously Presented) The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein, based on the signaling information having the first value specifying that the reference picture list information is not included in the picture header, different collocated pictures apply to at least some slices in the current picture.
18. (Previously Presented) The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the signaling information constructs a signaling condition for the identification information of the collocated picture along with the first enabled flag.
19. (Previously Presented) The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein, based on the signaling information having the second value, a reference picture index of the collocated picture in the slice header is inferred as a same value as a reference picture index of the collocated picture obtained through the picture header.
20. (Previously Presented) The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein, based on the identification
information of the collocated picture not being included in both the slice header and the picture
header, a reference picture index of the collocated picture is inferred as a predetermined value.
21. (Previously Presented) The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the identification information of the collocated picture included in the picture header comprises direction information specifying from which of a reference picture list 0 and a reference picture list 1 the collocated picture is derived.
22. (Previously Presented) The image decoding method of claim 21, wherein, based on the direction information not being signaled and a number of entries in the reference picture list 1 being 0, the direction information is inferred as a value specifying that the collocated picture is derived from the
reference picture list 0.
23. (Previously Presented) The image decoding method of claim 1, wherein the collocated picture is a pre-reconstructed picture different from the current picture.
24. (Previously Presented) The image decoding apparatus of claim 10, wherein, based on the signaling
information having the second value, a reference picture index of the collocated picture in the
slice header is inferred as a same value as a reference picture index of the collocated picture
obtained through the picture header.
25. (Previously Presented) The image decoding apparatus of claim 10, wherein the identification information of the collocated picture included in the picture header comprises direction information specifying from which of a reference picture list 0 and a reference picture list 1 the collocated picture is
derived, and a reference picture index specifying the collocated picture in the reference picture
list 0 or the reference picture list 1.
26. (Previously Presented) The image encoding method of claim 1 1, wherein the signaling information constructs a signaling condition for the identification information of the collocated picture along with the first enabled flag.
27. (Previously Presented) The image encoding method of claim 1 1, wherein, based on the signaling information having the second value, the identification information of the collocated picture is signaled once through the picture header for a plurality of slices in the current picture.
28. (New) The image encoding method of claim 11 further comprising transmitting a bitstream generated by the image encoding method.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 6-11, and 16-28 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance. The prior art does not disclose or suggest:
wherein the collocated picture is determined based on identification information of the
collocated picture - the identification information being included in a slice header of a current
slice including the current block or in a picture header of a current picture including the current
block,
wherein whether the identification information of the collocated picture is included in the slice header or the picture header is determined based on both predetermined signaling
information and a first enabled flag,
wherein the signaling information specifies whether the identification information of the collocated picture is included in either the slice header or the picture header,
wherein the signaling information specifies whether reference picture list information is
included in the picture header,
The closest prior art, Pettersson, discloses a constant_slice_header_params_enabled_flag that controls whether various parameter values are signaled in a picture parameter set (PPS) or in a slice header. However, this flag does not specify whether reference picture list information is included in a picture header, as distinct from a PPS or slice header. Deshpande does not cure this deficiency. Notably, the pic_rpl_present_flag disclosed in Deshpande is
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE M LOTFI/Examiner, Art Unit 2425