DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority / National Stage Entry / Effective Filing Date
Examiner acknowledges that the instant application is a 371 national stage entry to PCT/JP2020/044199, filed on 27 November 2020, claiming priority to application JP2019-225255, filed 13 December 2019. As such, the effective filing date of the instant claims is 13 December 2019.
Response to Amendment / Remarks
The examiner received amendments to the claims with corresponding arguments/remarks dated 11 June 2026, filed with Request for Continued Examination (RCE) in response to the final rejection office action dated 12 March 2026 (hereinafter the document of concern when referencing “outstanding rejections”, “outstanding objections”, “prior office action”, and the like). No new matter was entered by way of amendment.
Regarding the outstanding claim objections, the examiner notes that while the “first setting data item” was corrected in claim 10, it was mistakenly omitted in claim 12. An additional claim objection is presented for claim 12. Further, claim 12 was amended to state “the second model of the inheritance destination”, but is missing “machine tool” following “destination”. An amended claim objection is presented. New claim objections are also present due to amendments received.
Regarding outstanding prior art (35 U.S.C. 103) rejections, the examiner notes that applicant argues on page 12 of the remarks dated 11 June 2026 (hereinafter “the remarks” or “the arguments”) that none of the prior art of note discloses “the inheritance possibility information is set for each one of the first and second setting items”. The examiner notes that arguments are moot as applicant has amended the claim language. The examiner previously presented prior art rejections of the independent claims with a combination of references US 2013/0257627 A1 (Rafael) and US 2019/0095246 A1 (Nakano et al.). Previously, the examiner relied upon broadest reasonable interpretation to consider the "first setting item" to pertain to selected parameters of the prior art and "second setting item" to pertain to component model/vendor/revision of the prior art, as selected parameters are disclosed to be transferred despite differing model/vendor/revision information based upon the second check (see page 13 of the prior office action). However, applicant has now prevented further interpretation in this manner as applicant has specified that both the first and second setting items have pre-established inheritance possibility information. Rafael does not disclose a comparison to determine if machine parameters are individually compatible/inheritable. Instead, Rafael discloses that a user selects parameters that they wish to import (Rafael, Paragraph [0123], for instance). However, this is considered an obvious variant of Rafael. New rejections, necessitated by claim amendment, are found below.
Status of Claims
The most recent revision of the claim set is dated 11 June 2026, received with RCE. Claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, 12, 13-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13-18 are independent claims. Claims 2, 7, 11 are cancelled. Claims 13-18 remain pending but are withdrawn from consideration following the election/restriction requirement made 02 July 2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“reception unit” – claims 1, 8-9
“transmission unit” – claims 1, 6, 8-9
“setting unit” – claims 1, 8
“specifying unit” – claims 1, 9-10, and 12
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Regarding the aforementioned “units”, they are described as residing within components of known structure such as in paragraph [0018] of the specification or the applicable claim, such as within the machine tool or a computer, such as a server. Thus, the examiner is interpreting any physical component, software component, combination thereof, or equivalents to read upon the language of “unit”.
Further, regarding the term “inheritance possibility”, the Applicant noted in previous remarks on file that prior art of note checks compatibility and that "inheritance possibility" is not a compatibility check. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees and considers these terms analogous. The specification of the instant application in paragraphs [0054, 0062, 0075], for instance, discuss variations of what constitutes "inheritance possibility”, but does not clearly and explicitly redefine the term. Thus, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the examiner is considering a compatibility check to be analogous to an "inheritance possibility". Further, as noted in the Non-Final Rejection dated 04 June 2024 of claim 2, the interpretation of "model" is broad, as different "models" of machine may simply be different types, or if a labeled "model" exists for a certain manufacturer, the "model" may have a plurality of revisions that renders each revision incompatible. Therefore, the examiner believes that the intent (and using broadest reasonable interpretation as such) of the claim terminology “model” is to state that the two machines are simply verified to be compatible.
Regarding "setting item", the examiner notes that paragraphs [0058-0064] (as examples) provide the basis for understanding and the applicable claims directly recite that the setting items are included within the setting data (thus, a corresponding 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection is withheld at this time). However, the term is not explicitly limited to a particular definition/particular elements and is therefore being interpreted broadly.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8-10, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: Independent claim 1 states "…set for each one of the first and second settings items.", however, this improperly refers to preceding claim elements. Instead, the claim should state "…for each one of the first setting item and the second setting item."
Claim 8: Independent claim 8 states "…set for each one of the first and second settings items.", however, this improperly refers to preceding claim elements. Instead, the claim should state "…for each one of the first setting item and the second setting item."
Claim 9: Independent claim 9 states "…set for each one of the first and second settings items.", however, this improperly refers to preceding claim elements. Instead, the claim should state "…for each one of the first setting item and the second setting item."
Claim 10: Independent claim 10 states "…set for each one of the first and second settings items.", however, this improperly refers to preceding claim elements. Instead, the claim should state "…for each one of the first setting item and the second setting item."
Claim 10: Claim 10 states "specifying, in response to an acquisition request of the setting data, the first model of the inheritance source machine tool from which setting data is inheritable to the second model by referring to the inheritance possibility information; and", improperly referring to the "second model of the inheritance destination machine tool" as "the second model". The examiner recommends consistent verbiage to prevent a lack of antecedent basis, stating "specifying, in response to an acquisition request of the setting data, the first model of the inheritance source machine tool from which setting data is inheritable to the second model of the inheritance destination machine tool by referring to the inheritance possibility information; and", improperly referring to the "second model of the inheritance destination machine tool".
Claim 12: Independent claim 12 states "…set for each one of the first and second settings items.", however, this improperly refers to preceding claim elements. Instead, the claim should state "…for each one of the first setting item and the second setting item."
Claim 12: Claim 12 states "the receiving the setting data including receiving selectively the first setting data item…" and should state "…the first setting [[data]] item…" to prevent a lack of antecedent basis.
Claim 12: Claim 12 states "…is inheritable to the second model of the inheritance destination by referring…", but "the inheritance destination" lacks antecedent basis, it should state "…the inheritance destination machine tool" to prevent a lack of antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-10, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rafael (US 2013/0257627 A1; hereinafter Rafael) in view of Kera (JP 2015154636 A, published 24 Aug 2015, provided as an English translation PDF with this office action, hereinafter Kera) in further view of Nakano et al. (US 2019/0095246 A1; filed 09 Feb 2018, hereinafter Nakano).
Regarding claims 1 (system – independent), 9 (system – independent), 10 (method – independent), and 12 (apparatus – independent): Rafael discloses A machining system comprising: an information processing system; a first machine tool [which holds a tool inside] and is communicable with the information processing system; and a second machine tool [which holds a tool inside] and is communicable with the information processing system, wherein the information processing system includes: (per claim 1) / An information processing system communicable with a first machine tool [which holds a tool inside] and a second machine tool [which holds a tool inside], the information processing system comprising: (per claim 9) / An inheritance method for allowing inheritance of setting data from a first machine tool [which holds a tool inside] to a second machine tool [which holds a tool inside], the method comprising: (per claim 10) / A non-transitory computer readable medium including an inheritance program for allowing inheritance of setting data from a first machine tool [which holds a tool inside] to a second machine tool [which holds a tool inside], the inheritance program causing an information processing system to execute: (per claim 12) (Paragraph [0079-0082, 0084-0085, 0092-0098, 0102, 0120] and Figure [2, 3, 5, 9A] and Claim [1], Rafael discloses a system, apparatus, non-transitory memory housing instructions, and method comprising first and second field devices (first and second machine tools) connected to (communicable with) an apparatus and asset management system (the remainder of the system constituting an “information processing system”), in an effort to determine compatibility between the first and second field devices to permit a transfer of configuration data/parameters)
a reception unit that receives setting data in the first machine tool; (per claim 1) / a reception unit that receives setting data in the first machine tool, the setting data including a first setting item and a second setting item; (per claim 9) / receiving setting data in the first machine tool; storing the setting data received from the first machine tool into a storage device, the setting data including a first setting item and a second setting item; (per claim 10) / receiving setting data set in the first machine tool; storing the setting data received from the first machine tool into a storage device, the setting data including a first setting item and a second setting item; (per claim 12) (Paragraph [0036-0037, 0081, 0084, 0095, 0102] and Figure [2], Rafael discloses that the apparatus receives/stores data related to the first field device, certain other (generic, as they may be considered any of the other parameters described other than what follows) parameters corresponding to “first setting items” and parameters pertaining to vendor/model/revision as “second setting items”)
a storage device that stores inheritance possibility information from an inheritance source machine tool to an inheritance destination machine tool for each combination of a first model of the inheritance source machine tool and a second model of the inheritance destination machine tool and the setting data received from the first machine tool, (per claim 1) / a storage device that stores inheritance possibility information from an inheritance source machine tool to an inheritance destination machine tool for each combination of a first model of the inheritance source machine tool and a second model of the inheritance destination machine tool and the setting data received from the first machine tool, (per claim 9) / storing inheritance possibility information from an inheritance source machine tool to an inheritance destination machine tool for each combination of a first model of the inheritance source machine tool and a second model of the inheritance destination machine tool, (per claim 10) / storing inheritance possibility information which defines possibility of inheritance of setting data from an inheritance source machine tool to an inheritance destination machine tool for each combination of a first model of the inheritance source machine tool and a second model of the inheritance destination machine tool; (per claim 12) (Paragraph [0082-0086, 0100-0103, 0106, 0117] and Figure [4], Rafael discloses a compatibility check through a memory/database/server (storage devices) that contains 1) data related to compatibility between devices such as vendor, model, and revision with predetermined combinations of compatible field devices (thus “inheritance possibility information”) and 2) data related to the second field device including the model)
[the setting data including a first setting item and a second setting item, the reception unit selectively receiving the first setting item when the first setting item is inheritable and the second setting item is not inheritable, the inheritance possibility information specifying whether or not the first and second setting items are inheritable;] (per claim 1) / [the inheritance possibility information specifying whether or not the first and second setting items are inheritable;] (per claim 9) / [the inheritance possibility information specifying whether or not the first and second setting items are inheritable;] (per claim 10)
a specifying unit that specifies, in response to an acquisition request of the setting data, the first model of the inheritance source machine tool from which the setting data is inheritable to the second model by referring to the inheritance possibility information; and (per claim 1) / a specifying unit that specifies, in response to an acquisition request of the setting data, the first model of the inheritance source machine tool from which the setting data is inheritable to the second model by referring to the inheritance possibility information; and (per claim 9) / specifying, in response to an acquisition request of the setting data, the first model of the inheritance source machine tool from which setting data is inheritable to the second model by referring to the inheritance possibility information; and (per claim 10) / specifying, in response to an acquisition request of the setting data, the first model of the inheritance source machine tool from which setting data is inheritable to the second model of the inheritance destination by referring to the inheritance possibility information; and (per claim 12) (Paragraph [0083-0085] and Figure [4], Rafael discloses specifying the model information of each device and set of compatibility checks based upon model information)
a transmission unit that transmits setting data used in the first model of the inheritance source machine tool specified by the specifying unit from among the setting data stored in the storage device to the second machine tool, and the second machine tool includes a setting unit that allows the second machine tool to inherit the setting data received from the information processing system, (per claim 1) / a transmission unit that transmits setting data used in the first model of the inheritance source machine tool specified by the specifying unit from among the setting data stored in the storage device to the second machine tool, the reception unit receiving [selectively the first setting item when the first setting items is inheritable and the second setting item is not inheritable], (per claim 9) / transmitting setting data used in the first model of the inheritance source machine tool specified by the specifying unit from among the setting data stored in the storage device to the second machine tool, the receiving the setting data including receiving [selectively the first setting item when the first setting item is inheritable and the second setting item is not inheritable], (per claim 10) / transmitting setting data used in the first model of the inheritance source machine tool specified by the specifying unit from among the setting data stored in the storage device to the second machine tool, the receiving the setting data including receiving [selectively the first setting data item when the first setting item is inheritable and the second setting items is not inheritable], (per claim 12) (Paragraph [0032-0034, 0081, 0098, 0117, 0123] and Claim [10-11], Rafael discloses that certain selected parameters (setting data) may be transferred to the second field device from the apparatus pending compatibility check using model information as noted above, despite initial incompatibilities (not “inheritable”) in parameter data pertaining to model/vendor/revision information)
[the inheritance possibility information is set for each one of the first and second setting items.] (per claims 1, 9, 10, 12)
The difference between the disclosure of Rafael and the above-noted claims of the instant application then lies in 1) a compatibility check using pre-established information between a plurality of settings/parameters pertaining to the machine tools and 2) particular disclosure that the devices are specifically machine tools that hold a tool inside. The examiner submits that these are obvious variants of the disclosure of Rafael.
Regarding 1), Rafael does not explicitly disclose a compatibility check using pre-established information between a plurality of settings/parameters pertaining to the machine tools.
However, Kera, in a similar field of endeavor of configuration data sharing and compatibility checking, teaches the setting data including a first setting item and a second setting item, the reception unit selectively receiving the first setting item when the first setting item is inheritable and the second setting items is not inheritable, the inheritance possibility information specifying whether or not the first and second setting items are inheritable; (per claim 1) / the inheritance possibility information specifying whether or not the first and second setting items are inheritable; […] selectively the first setting item when the first setting items is inheritable and the second setting item is not inheritable (per claim 9) / the inheritance possibility information specifying whether or not the first and second setting items are inheritable; […] selectively the first setting item when the first setting item is inheritable and the second setting item is not inheritable (per claim 10) / selectively the first setting data item when the first setting item is inheritable and the second setting items is not inheritable (per claim 12) (Paragraph [0019-0025], Kera teaches that a parameter conversion table storing combinations of compatibility between models A to D of a machine, with a first check of compatible models. Further, Kera teaches that a compatibility check for individual parameters (such as names, particular values, etc.) are further performed. In one case, a value is the same (inheritable first data) and a parameter name is not (second non-inheritable data), and the setting of the value despite the name difference may occur (selectively receiving)) and
the inheritance possibility information is set for each one of the first and second setting items. (per claims 1, 9, 10, 12) (Paragraph [0019-0025], Kera teaches that a parameter conversion table storing combinations of compatibility between models A to D of a machine, with a first check of compatible models. Further, Kera teaches that both model and parameter compatibility may be checked, giving examples where the first and setting items are items like parameter names, parameter values, etc. specifying that the information is stored in tables (Paragraph [0019-0020]))
Rafael and Kera are in a similar field of endeavor of configuration data sharing and compatibility checking. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Rafael to include a compatibility check of parameters (setting items) as taught by Kera for the benefit of verifying compatibility amongst source and destination components (Paragraph [0019] of Kera) when generic components are installed in specific applications (Paragraph [0035] of Kera). Rafael implicitly teaches that a similar check is performed, as Rafael discloses that a user performs a parameter set review and change if needed (Paragraph [0123] of Rafael, for instance). Merely specifying that a known parameter compatibility check is performed by a system rather than a person is an obvious variant of Rafael, constituting a combination of known elements according to known methods to produce predictable results.
Regarding 2), Rafael does not explicitly disclose a machine tool which holds a tool inside.
However, Nakano, in a similar field of endeavor of machine system control, teaches machine tool which holds a tool inside (Paragraph [0070-0071, 0076] and Figure [3], Nakano teaches that a field device may reasonably comprise a CNC machine, with an internal tool used to perform an operation on a workpiece (the workpiece is placed inside of the CNC for the operation), such as devices (tools) for lathe machining, milling machining, etc.)
Rafael and Nakano are in a similar field of endeavor of machine system control. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Rafael to include specific examples of field devices that house tools within the overarching machine such as that found in the teachings of Nakano. Rafael discloses that the field device is merely a generic term for a device with field communication capability (Rafael, Paragraph [0079]), thus leaving the type of device generic. Nakano is relied upon as a disclosure which teaches that field devices may reasonably include CNC machines, for example, which contain tools to perform subtractive manufacturing (Nakano, Paragraph [0070]). One would have been motivated to make this combination to merely apply the broad disclosure of Rafael to a more particular type of field device, such as the CNC of Nakano. Therefore, merely specifying that the device of concern is a “machine tool which holds a tool inside” is an obvious variant of the disclosure of Rafael, as evidenced by the teachings of Nakano. Merely applying the disclosure of Rafael to a more particular type of field device is an obvious variant of the disclosure of Rafael.
Regarding claim 8 (apparatus – independent): Rafael discloses A machine tool [which holds a tool inside] and is communicable with an information processing system that stores inheritance possibility information from an inheritance source machine tool to an inheritance destination machine tool for each combination of a first model of the inheritance source machine tool and a second model of the inheritance destination machine tool, (Paragraph [0079-0086, 0092-0098, 0100-0103, 0106, 0117, 0120] and Figure [2-5, 9A] and Claim [1], Rafael discloses a system, apparatus, non-transitory memory housing instructions, and method comprising first and second field devices (first and second machine tools) connected to (communicable with) an apparatus and asset management system (the remainder of the system constituting an “information processing system”), in an effort to determine compatibility between the first and second field devices to permit a transfer of configuration data/parameters. Rafael further discloses a compatibility check through a memory/database/server (storage devices) that contains 1) data related to compatibility between devices such as vendor, model, and revision with predetermined combinations of compatible field devices (thus “inheritance possibility information”) and 2) data related to the second field device including the model)
[the setting data including a first setting item and a second setting item, the inheritance possibility information specifying whether or not the first and second setting items are inheritable]
the machine tool comprising: a transmission unit that transmits an acquisition request of the setting data to the information processing system; (Paragraph [0079, 0081, 0102, 0105] and Figure [6-7], Rafael discloses that parameters are download from a field device (device transmits parameters, a form of transmitting acquisition request) and that the field device is selectable (the action of selection from a connected field device may be considered an acquisition request as well), and finally “the apparatus 21 may retrieve the information and data by accessing the second field device via the interface 24” (thus, the field device itself transmits information))
a reception unit that receives [selectively the first setting item transmitted from the information processing system in response to the acquisition request when the first setting item is inheritable and the second setting item is not inheritable to the machine tool based on the inheritance possibility information]; and (Paragraph [0081-0082, 0086, 0090, 0101-0104, 0106-0116, 0123, 0128-0134, 0137] and Figure [5-6], Rafael discloses that the field devices receives data pending a compatibility check with the other field device. As noted above, the first compatibility check determines if the model/vendor/revision information (second setting items) is identical, and if not, deems them “logically incompatible”. Then, a second compatibility check is performed based upon a pre-determined look-up table and determines if devices that were identified as “logically incompatible” may still be compatible despite the differences in model/vendor/revision, and promotes the inheritance/transfer of the other parameters selected (first setting items))
a setting unit that allows the machine tool to inherit the setting data received from the information processing system, (Paragraph [0032-0034, 0081, 0098, 0102, 0107, 0129-0134, 0137], Figure [6-7], and Claim [10-11], Rafael discloses that the parameters (setting data) may be transferred/downloaded/exchanged to the second field device from the apparatus)
[the inheritance possibility information is set for each one of the first and second setting items.]
The difference between the disclosure of Rafael and the above-noted claim of the instant application then lies in 1) a compatibility check using pre-established information between a plurality of settings/parameters pertaining to the machine tools and 2) particular disclosure that the devices are specifically machine tools that hold a tool inside. The examiner submits that these are obvious variants of the disclosure of Rafael.
Regarding 1), Rafael does not explicitly disclose a compatibility check using pre-established information between a plurality of settings/parameters pertaining to the machine tools.
However, Kera, in a similar field of endeavor of configuration data sharing and compatibility checking, teaches the setting data including a first setting item and a second setting item, the inheritance possibility information specifying whether or not the first and second setting items are inheritable […] selectively the first setting item transmitted from the information processing system in response to the acquisition request when the first setting item is inheritable and the second setting item is not inheritable to the machine tool based on the inheritance possibility information (Paragraph [0019-0025], Kera teaches that a parameter conversion table storing combinations of compatibility between models A to D of a machine, with a first check of compatible models. Further, Kera teaches that a compatibility check for individual parameters (such as names, particular values, etc.) are further performed. In one case, a value is the same (inheritable first data) and a parameter name is not (second non-inheritable data), and the setting of the value despite the name difference may occur (selectively receiving)) and
the inheritance possibility information is set for each one of the first and second setting items. (Paragraph [0019-0025], Kera teaches that a parameter conversion table storing combinations of compatibility between models A to D of a machine, with a first check of compatible models. Further, Kera teaches that both model and parameter compatibility may be checked, giving examples where the first and setting items are items like parameter names, parameter values, etc. specifying that the information is stored in tables (Paragraph [0019-0020]))
Rafael and Kera are in a similar field of endeavor of configuration data sharing and compatibility checking. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Rafael to include a compatibility check of parameters (setting items) as taught by Kera for the benefit of verifying compatibility amongst source and destination components (Paragraph [0019] of Kera) when generic components are installed in specific applications (Paragraph [0035] of Kera). Rafael implicitly teaches that a similar check is performed, as Rafael discloses that a user performs a parameter set review and change if needed (Paragraph [0123] of Rafael, for instance). Merely specifying that a known parameter compatibility check is performed by a system rather than a person is an obvious variant of Rafael, constituting a combination of known elements according to known methods to produce predictable results.
Regarding 2), Rafael does not explicitly disclose a machine tool which holds a tool inside.
However, Nakano, in a similar field of endeavor of machine system control, teaches machine tool which holds a tool inside (Paragraph [0070-0071, 0076] and Figure [3], Nakano teaches that a field device may reasonably comprise a CNC machine, with an internal tool used to perform an operation on a workpiece (the workpiece is placed inside of the CNC for the operation), such as devices (tools) for lathe machining, milling machining, etc.)
Rafael and Nakano are in a similar field of endeavor of machine system control. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Rafael to include specific examples of field devices that house tools within the overarching machine such as that found in the teachings of Nakano. Rafael discloses that the field device is merely a generic term for a device with field communication capability (Rafael, Paragraph [0079]), thus leaving the type of device generic. Nakano is relied upon as a disclosure which teaches that field devices may reasonably include CNC machines, for example, which contain tools to perform subtractive manufacturing (Nakano, Paragraph [0070]). One would have been motivated to make this combination to merely apply the broad disclosure of Rafael to a more particular type of field device, such as the CNC of Nakano. Therefore, merely specifying that the device of concern is a “machine tool which holds a tool inside” is an obvious variant of the disclosure of Rafael, as evidenced by the teachings of Nakano. Merely applying the disclosure of Rafael to a more particular type of field device is an obvious variant of the disclosure of Rafael.
Regarding claim 3: Parent claim 1 is unpatentable over Rafael in view of Kera in further view of Nakano. Rafael further discloses wherein the second machine tool receives selection of a setting item to be inherited to the second machine tool for setting items included in the setting data received from the information processing system. (The examiner is interpreting this claim to mean that the second machine tool receives a prompt to receive the setting data or that the settings themselves may be selected. Paragraph [0104, 0107, 0123], Rafael discloses that a parameter set may be determined to be changed, such as by a user)
Regarding claim 4: Parent claim 1 is unpatentable over Rafael in view of Kera in further view of Nakano. Rafael further discloses wherein when the second machine tool is in an initial setting state, the second machine tool receives whether to acquire the setting data stored in the storage device. (Paragraph [0082-0086, 0100-0103, 0106, 0117] and Figure [4], Rafael discloses a compatibility check prior to uploading/downloading the configuration/parameter data (the second field device is in a pre-settings transfer state, and is therefore in an “initial setting state”) and “whether to acquire” is dependent upon the compatibility check)
Regarding claim 5: Parent claim 1 is unpatentable over Rafael in view of Kera in further view of Nakano. Rafael further discloses wherein the setting data stored in the storage device includes at least one of screen setting of the first machine tool and machining setting related to machining of the first machine tool. (The examiner notes that “at least one of” means that only one of the limitations is needed to anticipate the claim. Paragraph [0081], Rafael discloses that parameter (Setting) data may include calibration data (at least considered a “machining setting”))
Regarding claim 20: Parent claim 1 is unpatentable over Rafael in view of Kera in further view of Nakano. As noted in the parent claim, Rafael fails to explicitly disclose first and second setting items in an analogous manner as that described above.
However, Kera, in in a similar field of endeavor of configuration data sharing and compatibility checking, teaches wherein the first and second setting items are listed and selectable when the first and second setting items are inheritable. (Paragraph [0031-0032], Kera teaches listing table data and selecting table data when the information is compatible)
Rafael and Kera are in a similar field of endeavor of configuration data sharing and compatibility checking. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the disclosure of Rafael to include a compatibility check of parameters (setting items) as taught by Kera for the benefit of verifying compatibility amongst source and destination components (Paragraph [0019] of Kera) when generic components are installed in specific applications (Paragraph [0035] of Kera). Rafael implicitly teaches that a similar check is performed, as Rafael discloses that a user performs a parameter set review and change if needed (Paragraph [0123] of Rafael, for instance). Merely specifying that a known parameter compatibility check is performed by a system rather than a person is an obvious variant of Rafael, constituting a combination of known elements according to known methods to produce predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rafael in view of Kera in further view of Nakano in further view of Yang et al. (US 2003/0110371 A1; hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 6: Parent claim 1 is unpatentable over Rafael in view of Kera in further view of Nakano. Rafael does not explicitly disclose user authentication to perform setting data.
However, Yang, in a similar field of endeavor of device to device settings transfer, teaches wherein each of the setting data stored in the storage device is associated with identification information of a user, the acquisition request includes identification information of a user logged in to the second machine tool, and the transmission unit transmits, to the second machine tool, setting data associated with the identification information included in the acquisition request from among the setting data stored in the storage device. (The examiner is interpreting this claim to mean that, when attempting to import the settings of the first machine to the second machine, user authentication is required. Paragraph [0016], Yang teaches that user authentication is required to import settings of the home device to the second device by way of username and password)
Rafael and Yang are in a similar field of endeavor of device to device settings transfer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the field device settings transfer disclosure of Rafael to require user authentication prior to transfer as taught by Yang, as this provides additional protection against inadvertent loading of settings (Yang, Paragraph [0016]). Rafael discloses that files may be encrypted to prevent unauthorized user access (Rafael, Paragraph [0100]), and while Rafael does not explicitly state that user authentication is required to import settings, the desire to provide information security is at least implied with this paragraph. Therefore, this constitutes a combination of known elements in accordance with known methods to produce predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rafael in view of Kera in further view of Nakano in further view of Bump et al. (US 2007/0250180 A1; published 25 Oct 2007, hereinafter Bump).
Regarding claim 19: Parent claim 1 is unpatentable over Rafael in view of Kera in further view of Nakano. Rafael does not explicitly disclose user authentication to perform setting data transfer.
However, Bump, in a similar field of endeavor of device to device settings transfer, teaches wherein the possibility of inheritance is associated with an access level that is classified into a level permitting an access of a user to a function of the second machine tool and a level not permitting the access, and the transmission unit transmits the setting data to the second machine tool when the level permits the access of the user to the function of the second machine tool. (Paragraph [0047], Bump teaches that only a user having administrator rights (a user with a certain level of access, thus indicating non-admins, pertaining to a second level of access) may perform certain configuration changes)
Rafael and Bump are in a similar field of endeavor of device to device settings transfer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the field device settings transfer disclosure of Rafael to require user access prior to transfer as taught by Bump, as this ensures that only those with proper knowledge/rights are allowed to change the set of parameters (Bump, Paragraph [0047]). Rafael discloses that files may be encrypted to prevent unauthorized user access (Rafael, Paragraph [0100]), and while Rafael does not explicitly state that user access levels are required to import settings, the desire to provide information security is at least implied with this paragraph. Therefore, this constitutes a combination of known elements in accordance with known methods to produce predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/B.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3658