DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment received March 13, 2026. Claims 1-3 and 5 were amended. Claims 1-5 are pending.
The rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn due to the amendment of claim 5.
The rejection of claims 1 and 2 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hatakeyama et al. (US 2014/0005399 A1)(listed on 02/23/2023 I.D.S.) as set forth in the last office action is withdrawn due to the amendment of claim 1.
The rejection of claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (US 2014/0005399 A1) as specifically set forth in the last office action is withdrawn due to the amendment of parent claims 1 and 2.
The rejection of claims 3 and 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (US 2014/0005399 A1) ) as specifically set forth in the last office action is withdrawn due to the amendment of claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 defines Q6 and Q8 variables, but the variables are no longer shown in a chemical structure. Accordingly, the intended meaning of Q6 and Q8 is not understood. Clarification and/or correction are required. Claim 4 is included in the rejection as claim 4 depends from claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2020/0176684 A1).
Lee et al. discloses compounds for an organic electroluminescent device (see abstract). At least the following specific compound TA-04 is taught (see top of page 9):
.
The above TA-04 is considered to comprise core (A) of claim 1. With respect to claim 2, TA-04 is considered to be within instant formula (V) where Q7 is no bond, Q5 is B, Q3 and Q4 are NR12, and a1, a, b, c, and d are each zero. Regarding claim 4, an example device was made using TA-04 (see Table 2, and par. 143-144) where electrodes were provided corresponding to instant first and second “electrical contact”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (US 2014/0005399 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Hatakeyama et al. teaches II’-1 where X may be B (par. 25) and Rs may bond together (see par. 27-28) per at least instant formula IV of dependent claim 2:
.
With respect to claim 4, Hatakeyama et al. teaches compounds of the reference are used in forming a device such as an organic light emitting element (see par. 1 and claims 9 and 10 on page 77). The material is placed between a positive and a negative electrode (see par. 166). While a specific example compound per instant claims 1 and 2 does not appear to be shown, given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed a compound within formula(s) defined by Hatakeyama discussed above for use within a functional layer of a light emitting device structure wherein the resultant compound(s) and device structure would also meet the limitations of the instant claims. One would expect to achieve an operational device within the disclosure of Hatakeyama with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
With respect to claim 3, Hatakeyama et al. teaches at least formula III’-1 (par. 33):
.
where X may be B (see par. 34) and adjacent Rs may form a further ring (see par. 36) per instant formula VIII. With respect to claim 5, Hatakeyama et al. teaches compounds of the reference are used in forming a device such as an organic light emitting element (see par. 1 and claims 9 and 10 on page 77). The material is placed between a positive and a negative electrode (see par. 166). While a specific example compound per instant claim 3 does not appear to be shown, given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed a compound within formula(s) defined by Hatakeyama for use in a functional layer of a light emitting device structure wherein the resultant compound(s) and device structure would also meet the limitations of the instant claims. One would expect to achieve an operational device within the disclosure of Hatakeyama with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
While instant compound claims 1 and 3 have been amended to remove particular formulas from the claims, the office submits Hatakeyama et al. continues to teach formulas that render claimed compounds obvious as described in the above rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAWN L GARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786