DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendment filed 02/24/2026. The previous 112 rejections have been withdrawn in response to applicant’s amendment. Claims 1-20 are pending with claims 14-20 withdrawn in response to restriction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 2017/0130647 A) in view of Douno (JP 2005304960 A).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a soft actuator comprising: a first spring bundle (#100 fig 5-7, par 0034 discloses element 110 as springs thus 100 is a spring bundle), and configured to be capable of being changed between a contraction state and a relaxation state according to a change of temperature (par 0034), wherein several numbers to hundred numbers of fine wires are formed as a single bundle which is the first spring bundle (#110 fig 5-7, par 0034 discloses 110 is realized by spring shaped wires, disclosing wires plural thus discloses several numbers, par 0035 further discloses the drive unit consisting of a pair of first shape memory alloy springs, and that the number of springs 110 may be one or more thus disclosing several numbers).
Park discloses supplying electricity to the spring bundle/fine wires from both a first end and a second end (par 0013-0016) but is silent to the use of a first conductive pad having a first connector electrically connected to a first end of the first spring bundle; and a second conductive pad having a second connector electrically connected to a second end of the first spring bundle, wherein the first connector is fixed between the first conductive pad and the first spring bundle, and the second connector is fixed between the second conductive pad and the first spring bundle.
Douno teaches a device with a first spring bundle (#4 fig 1) having a plurality of fine wires, and configured to be capable of being changed between a contraction state and a relaxation state according to a change of temperature (par 0022); a first conductive pad (#2a fig 1, par 0024 “electrode portion”) having a first connector (#21 fig 1) electrically connected to a first end of the first spring bundle (par 0024, fig 1); and a second conductive pad (#3a fig 1) having a second connector (#31 fig 1) electrically connected to a second end of the first spring bundle (par 0024, fig 1), wherein the first connector is fixed between the first conductive pad and the first spring bundle, and the second connector is fixed between the second conductive pad and the first spring bundle (par 0024 and Fig. 1 electrodes #21 a located between #2a and the springs #4, while electrodes #31 are located between #3a and springs #4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize electrode pads and connectors as taught by Douno for the electric connections of Park as doing so allows for secure electrical connections of the springs while allowing for each spring to be individually disconnected and replaced when needed.
Regarding claim 3, modified Park discloses the actuator of claim 1. Park further discloses each of the fine wires is a shape memory alloy which is driven according to the change of temperature (par 0034).
Regarding claim 5, modified Park discloses the actuator of claim 1. Park further discloses an outer cover (#121 fig 5-7) having a flexible material (see fig 5-7), and having the first spring bundle inside of the outer cover, wherein the first and second conductive pads are fixed to the outer cover (as park has end “stoppers” 123 and 125 fixed to the cover it is seen that with modifications of Douno the conductive pads would be fixed to the outer cover too).
Regarding claim 6, modified Park discloses the actuator of claim 5. Park further discloses an additional component integrally fixed to the first and second connectors (#400 and 500 fig 5-7), and having a material less flexible than the outer cover (see fig 5-7 showing structured joint/skeleton components 400 and 500).
Park is silent to the additional component being fabric. However, Douno teaches the use of fabric (#6 fig 1) for attaching the device to the users body.
It would have been obvious to use a fabric as taught by Douno for the skeletal components of modified Park as doing so can provide added comfort to the user compared to stiffer materials such as metal, while still maintaining proper connection for the joints and “artificial muscles” of Park.
Regarding claim 8, modified Park discloses the actuator of claim 6. Park is silent to the additional fabric comprises an opening portion for an eyelet.
Douno teaches the use of male and female member fasteners (8a, 8b fig 1, par 0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an eyelet/opening and a button for the fastener of Douno/modified Park as a known and inexpensive method for fastening fabrics.
Regarding claim 9, modified Park discloses the actuator of claim 1. Park further discloses the temperature changes according to a current supplied from outside the soft actuator(par 0013).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses a soft actuator comprising: spring bundles having a first spring bundle (#100 fig 5-7, par 0034 discloses element 110 as springs thus 100 is a spring bundle) and a second spring bundle (#200 fig 5-7), and configured to be capable of being changed between a contraction state and a relaxation state according to a change of temperature (par 0034), wherein each of the first and second spring bundles is a spring bundle and several numbers to hundred numbers of fine wires are formed as a single bundle which is the first spring bundle (#110 fig 5-7, par 0034 discloses 110 is realized by spring shaped wires, disclosing wires plural thus discloses several numbers, par 0035 further discloses the drive unit consisting of a pair of first shape memory alloy springs, and that the number of springs 110 may be one or more thus disclosing several numbers).
Park is silent to electrodes electrically connected to the first and second spring bundles, and having a first conductive pad, a middle conductive pad and a second conductive pad, wherein the first conductive pad has a first connector electrically connected to a first end of the first spring bundle, wherein the second conductive pad has a second connector electrically connected to a second end of the second spring bundle, wherein the middle conductive pad has a middle connector electrically connecting the first and second spring bundles with each other.
Douno teaches a device with a first and second spring bundles (#4 fig 1, 10) having a plurality of fine wires, and configured to be capable of being changed between a contraction state and a relaxation state according to a change of temperature (par 0022); a first conductive pad (#2a fig 1, 10, par 0024 “electrode portion”), a middle conductive pad (#30 fig 10, par 0042) and a second conductive pad (2b fig 1, 10) wherein the first conductive pad has a first connector (#21 fig 1) electrically connected to a first end of the first spring bundle (par 0024, fig 1); wherein the second conductive pad has a second connector (#21 fig 1) electrically connected to a second end of the second spring bundle (par 0024, fig 1), wherein the middle conductive pad has a middle connector electrically connecting the first and second spring bundles with each other (#31 fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize electrode pads and connectors as taught by Douno for the electric connections of Park as doing so allows for secure electrical connections of the springs while allowing for each spring to be individually disconnected and replaced when needed. Further connecting the spring bundles in series allows for the use of only 1 power source connection rather than multiple.
Regarding claim 12, modified Park discloses the actuator of claim 10. Park further discloses an external current receiver formed from the first conductive pad, and configured to receive a current from outside of the soft actuator to form an electric path between the spring bundles and the electrodes (par 0013).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Docherty (WO 2006024938 A2).
Regarding claim 2, modified Park discloses the actuator of claim 1. Park is silent to the first connector is fixed between the first conductive pad and the first spring bundle via sewing, and the second connector is fixed between the second conductive pad and the first spring bundle.
Docherty teaches the use of conductive pads/tape with resistive wire and fixing them together via sewing (par 00028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the conductive pads and connectors of modified Park via sewing as doing so can ensure electrical connection between the components (Docherty par 00028).
Claims 4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Park as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Tachi (US 2010/0151426 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Park discloses the actuator of claim 1. Park is silent to each of the first and second conductive pads has a foldable conductive material.
Tachi teaches a flexible conductive substrate capable of being folded (par 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a foldable conductive material as taught by Tachi for the conductive pads of Park as doing so prevents breakage of the conductive pad and allows for the conductive pad to be folded around the connector to ensure electrical connection on two sides.
Regarding claim 7, modified Park discloses the actuator of claim 6. Modified Park is silent to each of the first and second connectors is folded at least one time, and the additional fabric is inserted into and fixed to a folded portion of each of the first and second connectors.
Tachi teaches a flexible conductive substrate capable of being folded (par 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a foldable conductive material as taught by Tachi for the connectors of modified Park as doing so allows for the additional fabric to be sandwiched between the folded sides of the connector allowing for more secure engagement thus preventing disconnect.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Park as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Park98 (KR 101784298 B1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Park is silent to wherein the spring bundles further comprises at least one middle spring bundle disposed between the first spring bundle and the second spring bundle, wherein the middle spring bundle comprises a plurality of the middle connectors.
Park98 teaches a similar shape memory alloy spring actuation device (abstract) with a spring bundle with first springs, second springs and middle spring bundle disposed between the first spring bundle and the second spring bundle, wherein the middle spring bundle comprises a plurality of the middle connectors (see annotated Park98 fig 1 below).
Annotated Park 98 fig 1
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate middle spring bundles as taught by Park98 onto the actuator of modified Park as doing so allows for further control of expansion and contraction of the springs and thus further control of the actuation for the user.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park82 (KR 20180099982 A).
Regarding claim 13 modified Park discloses the soft actuator of claim 1. Park further discloses wherein the soft actuator is disposed at a flexor or an extensor (see fig 5-7 showing a flexion/extension joint).
Modified Park is silent to a sensor configured to sense a motion of a user; and a controller configured to control the contraction state or the relaxation state of the soft actuator, based on a signal of the sensor.
Park82 teaches an actuation device with a sensor configured to sense a motion of a user; and a controller configured to control the contraction state or the relaxation state of the soft actuator, based on a signal of the sensor (pg 6 par 4-7 discussing intention recognition sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize intention recognition sensors as taught by Park82 with the soft actuator of modified Park as doing so allows for the actuation of the shape memory springs to be responsive to the intended motion of the user thus aiding the user in their intended motions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Park fails to disclose the spring bundles consisting of several to hundreds of fine wires, specifically asserting that Park discloses “a single-wire-extending type coil spring” relying on figs 1-3 (see pg 8-9 of the response filed 02/24/2026). However as noted in the rejections above Park discloses “the first shape memory alloy spring 110 is realized by spring-shaped wires” in par 0034 and “the number of the first shape memory alloy springs 110 may be one or more” in par 0035 thus disclosing multiple/several springs/wire make up the spring bundle 110. Thus applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the examiner maintains the rejection.
Further applicant asserts that par 0034 of Park discloses a spring manufacturing process (see pg 8 of the response filed 02/24/2025). This statement suggests that applicant is relying on a different translation of the Park reference. Applicant is reminded that the translation of Park (and other foreign references) relied upon was provided in the action mailed 11/25/2025.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Holschuh US 2017/0304136 A1 discloses plurality of wires/springs for spring bundles (see fig 11)
Weidner US 2019/0282426 A1 discloses a muscle strength support utilizing shape memory springs
Jang US 20210045954 A1 discloses a shape memory spring actuator for the spine
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRA B DAHER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799