DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 04/16/2026. As directed by the amendment: claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, 10, and 13 has/have been amended; claim(s) 12 has/have been cancelled and new claim(s) 20 has/have been added. Thus, claims 1-11 and 13-20 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, and 14-19] is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mongin et al (US 2019/0141799) in view of Xu et al (WO 2018223947 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mongin discloses a control method for a heating device, the heating device comprising an electromagnetic wave generation module configured to generate an electromagnetic wave signal for heating an object to be processed, the control method comprising:
determining or obtaining attribute information of the object to be processed, the attribute information at least comprising food groups, and each of the food groups comprising at least one food variety (Performed by the operator; [0028] lines 1-9 ---"According to an embodiment, during operation of the defrosting system 100, a user (not illustrated) may place one or more loads (e.g., food and/or liquids) into the defrosting cavity 110, and optionally may provide inputs via the control panel 120 that specify characteristics of the load(s). For example, the specified characteristics may include an approximate weight of the load. In addition, the specified load characteristics may indicate the material(s) from which the load is formed (e.g., meat, bread, liquid).”);
determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information ([0028] lines 14-21 ---"Either way, as will be described in more detail later, information regarding such load characteristics enables the system controller (e.g., system controller 330, FIG. 3) to establish an initial state for the impedance matching network of the system at the beginning of the defrosting operation, where the initial state may be relatively close to an optimal state that enables maximum RF power transfer into the load.”);
and controlling the electromagnetic wave generation module to operate according to the operating power and/or the operating time (Fig. 9 #920 supply high power RF signal).
However, Mongin does not disclose wherein the control method further comprises: obtaining a feature measure reflecting a weight of the object to be processed; determining whether the feature measure is less than or equal to a preset lower limit threshold; controlling the electromagnetic wave generation module to stop operating if YES; and controlling the electromagnetic wave generation module to operate according to an operating parameter if NO.
Nonetheless, Xu in the same field of endeavor being dielectric thawing devices teaches wherein the control method further comprises: obtaining a feature measure reflecting a weight of the object to be processed (Page 1 para. 2 ---" The tray is provided with at least one load cell configured to sense the weight of the object to be
processed and determine the operating power of the radio frequency generating module.”);
determining whether the feature measure is less than or equal to a preset lower limit threshold; controlling the electromagnetic wave generation module to stop operating if YES (Page 1 para. 4 ---" When the weight of the object to be processed is not within the preset range, the work is not started.”);
and controlling the electromagnetic wave generation module to operate according to an operating parameter if NO (Page 1 para. 3 ---" When the weight of the object to be treated is within a predetermined range, starting work;”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mongin by incorporating the operation of the generation module based on a threshold of weight as taught by Xu for the benefit of a better thawing effect and avoiding unnecessary energy waste.
Regarding claim 2, Mongin in view of Xu teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Mongin teaches wherein the attribute information further comprises the feature measure reflecting a weight of the object to be processed ([0028] lines 6-7 ---" For example, the specified characteristics may include an approximate weight of the load.”).
Regarding claim 7, Mongin in view of Xu teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), and Mongin teaches wherein the attribute information further comprises an initial temperature of the object to be processed ([0081] lines 1-4 ---" According to various embodiments, the system controller optionally may receive additional inputs indicating the load type (e.g., meats, liquids, or other materials), the initial load temperature, and/or the load weight.”).
Regarding claim 8, Mongin in view of Xu teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 7), and Mongin teaches wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises:
matching a power base of the operating power according to the feature measure and the initial temperature of the object to be processed in accordance with a preset power base correspondence ([0117] lines 4-8 ---" According to various embodiments, the system controller also and optionally may receive additional inputs indicating the load type (e.g., meats, liquids, or other materials), the initial load temperature, and/or the load weight.”; [0118] lines 1-14 ---" In block 1404 (substantially similar to block 904, FIG. 9), the system controller provides control signals to the variable impedance matching network (e.g., network 360, 400, FIGS. 3, 4) to establish an initial configuration or state for the variable impedance matching network (e.g., the variable impedance matching network is initially configured or calibrated).”), and matching a power coefficient of the operating power according to the food groups in accordance with a preset correspondence of power coefficient and food group (The power coefficient and the preset power coefficient can be chosen by the operator. The operator may choose both to be 1 for simplicity.);
and calculating the operating power according to the power base and the power coefficient, the power base correspondence recording power bases corresponding to different feature measures and different initial temperatures ([0118 7-14 ---" Once the initial variable impedance matching network configuration is established, the system controller then may perform a reconfiguration process 1410 (substantially similar to process 910, FIG. 9) that includes adjusting, if necessary, the configuration of the variable impedance matching network to find an acceptable or best match based on actual measurements that are indicative of the quality of the match.”), and the preset correspondence of power coefficient and food group recording power coefficients corresponding to different food groups, the power coefficient varying depending on the food groups (The power coefficient and the preset power coefficient can be chosen by the operator. The operator may choose both to be 1 for simplicity.).
Regarding claim 9, Mongin in view of Xu teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 7), and Mongin teaches wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises:
matching the operating power according to the food groups, the feature measure, and the initial temperature of the object to be processed in accordance with a preset power correspondence, the power correspondence recording operating power corresponding to different initial temperatures, different food groups, and different feature measures ([0028] lines 1-9 ---" According to an embodiment, during operation of the defrosting system 100, a user (not illustrated) may place one or more loads (e.g., food and/or liquids) into the defrosting cavity 110, and optionally may provide inputs via the control panel 120 that specify characteristics of the load(s). For example, the specified characteristics may include an approximate weight of the load. In addition, the specified load characteristics may indicate the material(s) from which the load is formed (e.g., meat, bread, liquid).”; [0028] lines 14-21 ---" Either way, as will be described in more detail later, information regarding such load characteristics enables the system controller (e.g., system controller 330, FIG. 3) to establish an initial state for the impedance matching network of the system at the beginning of the defrosting operation, where the initial state may be relatively close to an optimal state that enables maximum RF power transfer into the load.”).
Regarding claim 13, Mongin in view of Xu teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Xu teaches further comprising: determining whether the feature measure is more than or equal to a preset upper limit threshold; controlling the electromagnetic wave generation module to stop operating if YES;
and controlling the electromagnetic wave generation module to operate according to an operating parameter if NO (Page 1 para. 3 ---" When the weight of the object to be treated is within a predetermined range, starting work;”.
Regarding claim 14, Mongin in view of Xu teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), and Mongin teaches wherein the feature measure is the weight ([0028] lines 6-7 ---" For example, the specified characteristics may include an approximate weight of the load.”).
Regarding claim 15, Mongin in view of Xu teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), and Mongin teaches wherein the heating device further comprises a cavity capacitor (Fig. 1 #110 cavity) configured for placement of the object to be processed;
and the feature measure is a capacitance of the cavity capacitor ([0030] lines 1-4 ---" During the defrosting operation, the impedance of the load (and thus the total input impedance of the cavity 110 plus load) changes as the thermal energy of the load increases.” Impedance and capacitance share an inverse relationship. Since impedance is known, capacitance is known.).
Regarding claim 16, Mongin in view of Xu teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 15), and Mongin teaches wherein the heating device further comprises a matching module (Fig. 3 #360 variable impedance matching network) configured to adjust an own impedance to adjust a load impedance of the electromagnetic wave generation module, wherein the step of obtaining a feature measure reflecting a weight of the object to be processed comprises:
controlling the electromagnetic wave generation module to generate an electromagnetic wave signal of preset initial power [0028] lines 14-21 ---" Either way, as will be described in more detail later, information regarding such load characteristics enables the system controller (e.g., system controller 330, FIG. 3) to establish an initial state for the impedance matching network of the system at the beginning of the defrosting operation, where the initial state may be relatively close to an optimal state that enables maximum RF power transfer into the load.”;
adjusting the impedance of the matching module, and determining an impedance value of the matching module implementing optimal load matching of the electromagnetic wave generation module ([0048] lines 6-13 ---"When provided to the system controller 330, the temperature information enables the system controller 330 to alter the power of the RF signal supplied by the RF signal source 340 (e.g., by controlling the bias and/or supply voltages provided by the power supply and bias circuitry 350), to adjust the state of the variable impedance matching network 360, and/or to determine when the defrosting operation should be terminated.”);
and determining the capacitance according to the impedance value ([0030] lines 1-4 ---" During the defrosting operation, the impedance of the load (and thus the total input impedance of the cavity 110 plus load) changes as the thermal energy of the load increases.” Impedance and capacitance share an inverse relationship. Since impedance is known, capacitance is known.).
Regarding claim 17, Mongin in view of Xu teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 15), and Mongin teaches wherein the step of obtaining a feature measure reflecting a weight of the object to be processed comprises:
controlling the electromagnetic wave generation module to generate an electromagnetic wave signal of preset initial power [0028] lines 14-21 ---" Either way, as will be described in more detail later, information regarding such load characteristics enables the system controller (e.g., system controller 330, FIG. 3) to establish an initial state for the impedance matching network of the system at the beginning of the defrosting operation, where the initial state may be relatively close to an optimal state that enables maximum RF power transfer into the load.”;
adjusting a frequency of the electromagnetic wave signal in a candidate frequency interval, and determining a frequency value of the electromagnetic wave signal implementing optimal frequency matching of the cavity capacitor ([0114] lines 1-7 ---" With reference still to FIG. 13, it is apparent that by monitoring and detecting the changes in the frequency at which the defrosting system's variable impedance matching network performs reconfiguration, it is possible to determine or infer a temperature range that a current temperature of the food load being defrosted is within, and in some cases an actual temperature of the food load.”);
and determining the capacitance according to the impedance value ([0030] lines 1-4 ---" During the defrosting operation, the impedance of the load (and thus the total input impedance of the cavity 110 plus load) changes as the thermal energy of the load increases.” Impedance and capacitance share an inverse relationship. Since impedance is known, capacitance is known.).
Regarding claim 18, Mongin in view of Xu teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Mongin teaches wherein the food groups are divided according to a content range of a set substance, the set substance being water or protein ([0028] lines 1-9 ---" According to an embodiment, during operation of the defrosting system 100, a user (not illustrated) may place one or more loads (e.g., food and/or liquids) into the defrosting cavity 110, and optionally may provide inputs via the control panel 120 that specify characteristics of the load(s). For example, the specified characteristics may include an approximate weight of the load. In addition, the specified load characteristics may indicate the material(s) from which the load is formed (e.g., meat, bread, liquid).”);
and the operating power is positively correlated with a content of the set substance in the food groups ([0028] lines 14-21 ---" Either way, as will be described in more detail later, information regarding such load characteristics enables the system controller (e.g., system controller 330, FIG. 3) to establish an initial state for the impedance matching network of the system at the beginning of the defrosting operation, where the initial state may be relatively close to an optimal state that enables maximum RF power transfer into the load.”), and/or the operating time is positively correlated with the content of the set substance in the food groups.
Regarding claim 19, Mongin in view of Xu discloses a heating device, and Mongin teaches comprising:
a cavity capacitor (Fig. 3 #310 cavity), configured for placement of an object to be processed;
an electromagnetic wave generation module (Fig. 3 #342 RF signal generator), configured to generate an electromagnetic wave signal for heating the object to be processed in the cavity capacitor (Fig. 3 #310 cavity);
and a controller (Fig. 3 #330 system controller), configured to perform the control method according to claim 1 (Mongin in view of Xu is relied upon to teach the method of claim 1; see the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 20, Mongin discloses a control method for a heating device, the heating device comprising an electromagnetic wave generation module configured to generate an electromagnetic wave signal for heating an object to be processed, the control method comprising:
determining or obtaining attribute information of the object to be processed, the attribute information at least comprising food groups, and each of the food groups comprising at least one food variety (Performed by the operator; [0028] lines 1-9 ---"According to an embodiment, during operation of the defrosting system 100, a user (not illustrated) may place one or more loads (e.g., food and/or liquids) into the defrosting cavity 110, and optionally may provide inputs via the control panel 120 that specify characteristics of the load(s). For example, the specified characteristics may include an approximate weight of the load. In addition, the specified load characteristics may indicate the material(s) from which the load is formed (e.g., meat, bread, liquid).”);
determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information ([0028] lines 14-21 ---"Either way, as will be described in more detail later, information regarding such load characteristics enables the system controller (e.g., system controller 330, FIG. 3) to establish an initial state for the impedance matching network of the system at the beginning of the defrosting operation, where the initial state may be relatively close to an optimal state that enables maximum RF power transfer into the load.”);
and controlling the electromagnetic wave generation module to operate according to the operating power and/or the operating time (Fig. 9 #920 supply high power RF signal).
However, Mongin does not disclose wherein the control method further comprises: obtaining a feature measure reflecting a weight of the object to be processed; determining whether the feature measure is more than or equal to a preset lower limit threshold; controlling the electromagnetic wave generation module to stop operating if YES; and controlling the electromagnetic wave generation module to operate according to an operating parameter if NO.
Nonetheless, Xu in the same field of endeavor being dielectric thawing devices teaches wherein the control method further comprises: obtaining a feature measure reflecting a weight of the object to be processed (Page 1 para. 2 ---" The tray is provided with at least one load cell configured to sense the weight of the object to be
processed and determine the operating power of the radio frequency generating module.”);
determining whether the feature measure is more than or equal to a preset lower limit threshold; controlling the electromagnetic wave generation module to stop operating if YES (Page 1 para. 4 ---" When the weight of the object to be processed is not within the preset range, the work is not started.”);
and controlling the electromagnetic wave generation module to operate according to an operating parameter if NO (Page 1 para. 3 ---" When the weight of the object to be treated is within a predetermined range, starting work;”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mongin by incorporating the operation of the generation module based on a threshold of weight as taught by Xu for the benefit of a better thawing effect and avoiding unnecessary energy waste
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mongin et al (US 2019/0141799) in view of Xu et al (WO 2018223947 A1) as applied to claim 2, further in view of Cigarini et al (US 4,998,001).
Regarding claim 3, Mongin in view of Xu teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), but does not teach wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises: matching a power base of the operating power according to the feature measure in accordance with a preset power base correspondence, and matching a power coefficient of the operating power according to the food groups in accordance with a preset correspondence of power coefficient and food group; and calculating the operating power according to the power base and the power coefficient, the power base correspondence recording power bases corresponding to different feature measures, and the correspondence of power coefficient and food group recording power coefficients corresponding to different food groups, the power coefficient varying depending on the food groups.
Nonetheless, Cigarini in the same field of endeavor being teaches wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises:
matching a power base of the operating power according to the feature measure in accordance with a preset power base correspondence (Col. 3 lines 62-68 and Col. 4 lines 1-5 ---" This extrapolation of the temperature data onto the T axis (as heretofore described) together with the information on the food type fed into the microprocessor by the user enables the microprocessor to determine the food weight with sufficient accuracy and thus operate the magnetron 2 at the power required to thaw and treat the food as required by the user (in the case under examination, thawing and cooking said food in accordance with a preset or at least partially preset program in the microprocessor.”), and matching a power coefficient of the operating power according to the food groups in accordance with a preset correspondence of power coefficient and food group (The power coefficient and the preset power coefficient can be chosen by the operator. The operator may choose both to be 1 for simplicity.);
and calculating the operating power according to the power base and the power coefficient, the preset correspondence of power coefficient and food group recording power bases corresponding to different feature measures (Col. 3 lines 62-68 and Col. 4 lines 1-5 ---" This extrapolation of the temperature data onto the T axis (as heretofore described) together with the information on the food type fed into the microprocessor by the user enables the microprocessor to determine the food weight with sufficient accuracy and thus operate the magnetron 2 at the power required to thaw and treat the food as required by the user (in the case under examination, thawing and cooking said food in accordance with a preset or at least partially preset program in the microprocessor.”), and the power coefficient correspondence recording power coefficients corresponding to different food groups, the power coefficient varying depending on the food groups (Performed by the operator; The operator may choose the power coefficients to be 1 regardless of the different food groups.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mongin in view of Xu by incorporating the matching and calculating steps as taught by Cigarini for the benefit of obtaining the best cooking result. (Cigarini last para. Col. 3)
Regarding claim 4, Mongin in view of Xu teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), but does not teach wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises: matching the operating power according to the food groups and the feature measure in accordance with a preset power correspondence, the power correspondence recording operating power corresponding to different food groups and different feature measures.
Nonetheless, Cigarini teaches wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises:
matching the operating power according to the food groups and the feature measure in accordance with a preset power correspondence, the power correspondence recording operating power corresponding to different food groups and different feature measures (Col. 3 lines 62-68 and Col. 4 lines 1-5 ---" This extrapolation of the temperature data onto the T axis (as heretofore described) together with the information on the food type fed into the microprocessor by the user enables the microprocessor to determine the food weight with sufficient accuracy and thus operate the magnetron 2 at the power required to thaw and treat the food as required by the user (in the case under examination, thawing and cooking said food in accordance with a preset or at least partially preset program in the microprocessor.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mongin in view of Xu by incorporating the matching step as taught by Cigarini for the benefit of obtaining the best cooking result. (Cigarini last para. Col. 3)
Regarding claim 5, Mongin in view of Xu teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), but does not teach wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises: matching a time base of the operating time according to the feature measure in accordance with a preset time base correspondence, and matching a time coefficient of the operating time according to the food groups in accordance with a preset correspondence of time coefficient and food group; and calculating the operating time according to the time base and the time coefficient, the preset correspondence of time coefficient and food group recording time bases corresponding to different feature measures, and the time coefficient correspondence recording time coefficients corresponding to different food groups, the time coefficient varying depending on the food groups.
Nonetheless, Cigarini teaches wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises:
matching a time base of the operating time according to the feature measure in accordance with a preset time base correspondence (Col. 1 lines 10-16 ---" In general in a microwave oven provided with a microprocessor controlling the operation of the microwave generator or magnetron, the food treatment (thawing, thawing plus heating, or thawing plus cooking) can be preplanned by the user by setting the food weight, the food type and the required type of treatment.”), and matching a time coefficient of the operating time according to the food groups in accordance with preset correspondence of time coefficient and food group (The power coefficient and the preset time coefficient can be chosen by the operator. The operator may choose both to be 1 for simplicity.);
and calculating the operating time according to the time base and the time coefficient, the time base correspondence recording time bases corresponding to different feature measures (Col. 1 lines 16-18 ---"These data enable the microprocessor to control the magnetron operation for the time required to obtain the desired treatment.”), and the preset correspondence of time coefficient and food group recording time coefficients corresponding to different groups, the time coefficient varying depending on the food groups (Performed by the operator; The operator may choose the time coefficients to be 1 regardless of the different food groups.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mongin in view of Xu by incorporating the matching and calculating steps as taught by Cigarini for the benefit of obtaining the best cooking result. (Cigarini last para. Col. 3)
Regarding claim 6, Mongin in view of Xu teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), but does not teach wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises: matching the operating time according to the food groups and the feature measure in accordance with a preset time correspondence, the time correspondence recording operating time corresponding to different food groups and different feature measures.
Nonetheless, Cigarini teaches wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises:
matching the operating time according to the food groups and the feature measure in accordance with a preset time correspondence, the time correspondence recording operating time corresponding to different food groups and different feature measures (Col. 1 lines 10-16 ---" In general in a microwave oven provided with a microprocessor controlling the operation of the microwave generator or magnetron, the food treatment (thawing, thawing plus heating, or thawing plus cooking) can be preplanned by the user by setting the food weight, the food type and the required type of treatment.”) (Col. 1 lines 16-18 ---"These data enable the microprocessor to control the magnetron operation for the time required to obtain the desired treatment.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mongin in view of Xu by incorporating the matching step as taught by Cigarini for the benefit of obtaining the best cooking result. (Cigarini last para. Col. 3)
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mongin et al (US 2019/0141799) in view of Xu et al (WO 2018223947 A1) as applied to claim 7, further in view of Cigarini et al (US 4,998,001).
Regarding claim 10, Mongin in view of Xu teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 8), but does not teach wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises: matching a time base of the operating time according to the feature measure in accordance with a preset time base correspondence, and matching a time coefficient of the operating time according to the food groups in accordance with a correspondence of time coefficient and food group; and calculating the operating time according to the time base and the time coefficient, the time base correspondence recording time bases corresponding to different feature measures, and the preset correspondence of time coefficient and food group recording time coefficients corresponding to different food groups, the time coefficient varying depending on the food groups.
Nonetheless, Cigarini teaches wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises:
matching a time base of the operating time according to the feature measure in accordance with a preset time base correspondence (Col. 1 lines 10-16 ---" In general in a microwave oven provided with a microprocessor controlling the operation of the microwave generator or magnetron, the food treatment (thawing, thawing plus heating, or thawing plus cooking) can be preplanned by the user by setting the food weight, the food type and the required type of treatment.”), and matching a time coefficient of the operating time according to the food groups in accordance with a correspondence of time coefficient and food group (The power coefficient and the preset time coefficient can be chosen by the operator. The operator may choose both to be 1 for simplicity.);
and calculating the operating time according to the time base and the time coefficient, the time base correspondence recording time bases corresponding to different feature measures (Col. 1 lines 16-18 ---"These data enable the microprocessor to control the magnetron operation for the time required to obtain the desired treatment.”), and the preset correspondence of time coefficient and food group recording time coefficients corresponding to different food groups, the time coefficient varying depending on the food groups (Performed by the operator; The operator may choose the time coefficients to be 1 regardless of the different food groups.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mongin in view of Xu by incorporating the matching and calculating steps as taught by Cigarini for the benefit of obtaining the best cooking result. (Cigarini last para. Col. 3)
Regarding claim 11, Mongin in view of Xu teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 7), but does not teach wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises: matching the operating time according to the food groups and the feature measure in accordance with a preset time correspondence, the time correspondence recording operating time corresponding to different food groups and different feature measures.
Nonetheless, Cigarini teaches wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises:
matching the operating time according to the food groups and the feature measure in accordance with a preset time correspondence, the time correspondence recording operating time corresponding to different food groups and different feature measures (Col. 1 lines 10-16 ---" In general in a microwave oven provided with a microprocessor controlling the operation of the microwave generator or magnetron, the food treatment (thawing, thawing plus heating, or thawing plus cooking) can be preplanned by the user by setting the food weight, the food type and the required type of treatment.”) (Col. 1 lines 16-18 ---"These data enable the microprocessor to control the magnetron operation for the time required to obtain the desired treatment.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mongin in view of Xu by incorporating the matching step as taught by Cigarini for the benefit of obtaining the best cooking result. (Cigarini last para. Col. 3)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 13, filed 04/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, and 14-19 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and claims 3-6 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Xu et al (WO 2018223947 A1).
Applicant amended claims 1 to include the limitations of previously indicated allowable claim 12.
However, a new rejection of claim 1, amended with the limitations of claim 12, has been put forward in view of Xu et al (WO 2018223947 A1). Xu teaches controlling a heating module based on a type of food and a threshold of a measured weight. The measured weight threshold is used to control the heating module by adjusting the amount of power rated by the weight of the object to be heated.
Conclusion
/JOE E MILLS JR./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761