DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/07/2022, 06/01/2023, 10/03/2023, 11/03/2023, and 06/13/2024 were filed. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 8, and 10 and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 3 and 8 recite the limitation “power coefficient.” The specification does not adequately describe what a power coefficient is, why it is necessary for the operation of the invention or how it is derived.
Claims 3 and 8 recite the limitation “preset power coefficient.” The specification does not adequately describe what a power coefficient is, why it is necessary for the operation of the invention or how it is derived.
Claims 5 and 10 recite the limitation “time coefficient.” The specification does not adequately describe what a time coefficient is, why it is necessary for the operation of the invention or how it is derived.
Claims 5 and 10 recite the limitation “preset time coefficient.” The specification does not adequately describe what a time coefficient is, why it is necessary for the operation of the invention or how it is derived.
Claims 3, 5, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 8 recite the limitation “power coefficient.” It is unclear what a power coefficient is. Applying BRI, a coefficient is well known to be a scaling factor. The power coefficient appears to be an arbitrary scaling factor for power. Since the power coefficient appears to be arbitrary, Examiner will choose the power coefficient to be 1, so the scale of power is not altered. Examiner suggests further defining what a “power coefficient” is or its function.
Claims 3 and 8 recite the limitation “preset power coefficient.” It is unclear what a power coefficient is. Applying BRI, a coefficient is well known to be a scaling factor. The preset power coefficient appears to be an arbitrary scaling factor for power. Since the preset power coefficient appears to be arbitrary, Examiner will choose the preset power coefficient to be 1, so the scale of power is not altered. Examiner suggests further defining what a “preset power coefficient” is or its function.
Claims 5 and 10 recite the limitation “time coefficient.” It is unclear what a power coefficient is. Applying BRI, a coefficient is well known to be a scaling factor. The time coefficient appears to be an arbitrary scaling factor for time. Since the time coefficient appears to be arbitrary, Examiner will choose the time coefficient to be 1, so the scale of time is not altered. Examiner suggests further defining what a “time coefficient” is or its function.
Claims 5 and 10 recite the limitation “preset time coefficient.” It is unclear what a power coefficient is. Applying BRI, a coefficient is well known to be a scaling factor. The preset time coefficient appears to be an arbitrary scaling factor for time. Since the preset time coefficient appears to be arbitrary, Examiner will choose the preset time coefficient to be 1, so the scale of time is not altered. Examiner suggests further defining what a “preset time coefficient” is or its function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mongin et al (US 2019/0141799).
Regarding claim 1, Mongin discloses a control method for a heating device, the heating device comprising an electromagnetic wave generation module configured to generate an electromagnetic wave signal for heating an object to be processed, the control method comprising:
determining or obtaining attribute information of the object to be processed, the attribute information at least comprising food groups, and each of the food groups comprising at least one food variety (Performed by the operator; [0028] lines 1-9 ---"According to an embodiment, during operation of the defrosting system 100, a user (not illustrated) may place one or more loads (e.g., food and/or liquids) into the defrosting cavity 110, and optionally may provide inputs via the control panel 120 that specify characteristics of the load(s). For example, the specified characteristics may include an approximate weight of the load. In addition, the specified load characteristics may indicate the material(s) from which the load is formed (e.g., meat, bread, liquid).”);
determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information ([0028] lines 14-21 ---"Either way, as will be described in more detail later, information regarding such load characteristics enables the system controller (e.g., system controller 330, FIG. 3) to establish an initial state for the impedance matching network of the system at the beginning of the defrosting operation, where the initial state may be relatively close to an optimal state that enables maximum RF power transfer into the load.”);
and controlling the electromagnetic wave generation module to operate according to the operating power and/or the operating time (Fig. 9 #920 supply high power RF signal).
Regarding claim 2, Mongin teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Mongin teaches wherein the attribute information further comprises a feature measure reflecting a weight of the object to be processed ([0028] lines 6-7 ---" For example, the specified characteristics may include an approximate weight of the load.”).
Regarding claim 7, Mongin teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), and Mongin teaches wherein the attribute information further comprises an initial temperature of the object to be processed ([0081] lines 1-4 ---" According to various embodiments, the system controller optionally may receive additional inputs indicating the load type (e.g., meats, liquids, or other materials), the initial load temperature, and/or the load weight.”).
Regarding claim 8, Mongin teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 7), and Mongin teaches wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises:
matching a power base of the operating power according to the feature measure and the initial temperature of the object to be processed in accordance with a preset power base correspondence ([0117] lines 4-8 ---" According to various embodiments, the system controller also and optionally may receive additional inputs indicating the load type (e.g., meats, liquids, or other materials), the initial load temperature, and/or the load weight.”; [0118] lines 1-14 ---" In block 1404 (substantially similar to block 904, FIG. 9), the system controller provides control signals to the variable impedance matching network (e.g., network 360, 400, FIGS. 3, 4) to establish an initial configuration or state for the variable impedance matching network (e.g., the variable impedance matching network is initially configured or calibrated).”), and matching a power coefficient of the operating power according to the food groups in accordance with a preset power coefficient correspondence (The power coefficient and the preset power coefficient can be chosen by the operator. The operator may choose both to be 1 for simplicity.);
and calculating the operating power according to the power base and the power coefficient, the power base correspondence recording power bases corresponding to different feature measures and different initial temperatures ([0118 7-14 ---" Once the initial variable impedance matching network configuration is established, the system controller then may perform a reconfiguration process 1410 (substantially similar to process 910, FIG. 9) that includes adjusting, if necessary, the configuration of the variable impedance matching network to find an acceptable or best match based on actual measurements that are indicative of the quality of the match.”), and the power coefficient correspondence recording power coefficients corresponding to different food groups (The power coefficient and the preset power coefficient can be chosen by the operator. The operator may choose both to be 1 for simplicity.).
Regarding claim 9, Mongin teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 7), and Mongin teaches wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises:
matching the operating power according to the food groups, the feature measure, and the initial temperature of the object to be processed in accordance with a preset power correspondence, the power correspondence recording operating power corresponding to different initial temperatures, different food groups, and different feature measures ([0028] lines 1-9 ---" According to an embodiment, during operation of the defrosting system 100, a user (not illustrated) may place one or more loads (e.g., food and/or liquids) into the defrosting cavity 110, and optionally may provide inputs via the control panel 120 that specify characteristics of the load(s). For example, the specified characteristics may include an approximate weight of the load. In addition, the specified load characteristics may indicate the material(s) from which the load is formed (e.g., meat, bread, liquid).”; [0028] lines 14-21 ---" Either way, as will be described in more detail later, information regarding such load characteristics enables the system controller (e.g., system controller 330, FIG. 3) to establish an initial state for the impedance matching network of the system at the beginning of the defrosting operation, where the initial state may be relatively close to an optimal state that enables maximum RF power transfer into the load.”).
Regarding claim 14, Mongin teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), and Mongin teaches wherein the feature measure is the weight ([0028] lines 6-7 ---" For example, the specified characteristics may include an approximate weight of the load.”).
Regarding claim 15, Mongin teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), and Mongin teaches wherein the heating device further comprises a cavity capacitor (Fig. 1 #110 cavity) configured for placement of the object to be processed;
and the feature measure is a capacitance of the cavity capacitor ([0030] lines 1-4 ---" During the defrosting operation, the impedance of the load (and thus the total input impedance of the cavity 110 plus load) changes as the thermal energy of the load increases.” Impedance and capacitance share an inverse relationship. Since impedance is known, capacitance is known.).
Regarding claim 16, Mongin teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 15), and Mongin teaches wherein the heating device further comprises a matching module (Fig. 3 #360 variable impedance matching network) configured to adjust an own impedance to adjust a load impedance of the electromagnetic wave generation module, wherein the step of obtaining a feature measure reflecting a weight of the object to be processed comprises:
controlling the electromagnetic wave generation module to generate an electromagnetic wave signal of preset initial power [0028] lines 14-21 ---" Either way, as will be described in more detail later, information regarding such load characteristics enables the system controller (e.g., system controller 330, FIG. 3) to establish an initial state for the impedance matching network of the system at the beginning of the defrosting operation, where the initial state may be relatively close to an optimal state that enables maximum RF power transfer into the load.”;
adjusting the impedance of the matching module, and determining an impedance value of the matching module implementing optimal load matching of the electromagnetic wave generation module ([0048] lines 6-13 ---"When provided to the system controller 330, the temperature information enables the system controller 330 to alter the power of the RF signal supplied by the RF signal source 340 (e.g., by controlling the bias and/or supply voltages provided by the power supply and bias circuitry 350), to adjust the state of the variable impedance matching network 360, and/or to determine when the defrosting operation should be terminated.”);
and determining the capacitance according to the impedance value ([0030] lines 1-4 ---" During the defrosting operation, the impedance of the load (and thus the total input impedance of the cavity 110 plus load) changes as the thermal energy of the load increases.” Impedance and capacitance share an inverse relationship. Since impedance is known, capacitance is known.).
Regarding claim 17, Mongin teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 15), and Mongin teaches wherein the step of obtaining a feature measure reflecting a weight of the object to be processed comprises:
controlling the electromagnetic wave generation module to generate an electromagnetic wave signal of preset initial power [0028] lines 14-21 ---" Either way, as will be described in more detail later, information regarding such load characteristics enables the system controller (e.g., system controller 330, FIG. 3) to establish an initial state for the impedance matching network of the system at the beginning of the defrosting operation, where the initial state may be relatively close to an optimal state that enables maximum RF power transfer into the load.”;
adjusting a frequency of the electromagnetic wave signal in a candidate frequency interval, and determining a frequency value of the electromagnetic wave signal implementing optimal frequency matching of the cavity capacitor ([0114] lines 1-7 ---" With reference still to FIG. 13, it is apparent that by monitoring and detecting the changes in the frequency at which the defrosting system's variable impedance matching network performs reconfiguration, it is possible to determine or infer a temperature range that a current temperature of the food load being defrosted is within, and in some cases an actual temperature of the food load.”);
and determining the capacitance according to the impedance value ([0030] lines 1-4 ---" During the defrosting operation, the impedance of the load (and thus the total input impedance of the cavity 110 plus load) changes as the thermal energy of the load increases.” Impedance and capacitance share an inverse relationship. Since impedance is known, capacitance is known.).
Regarding claim 18, Mongin teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Mongin teaches wherein the food groups are divided according to a content range of a set substance, the set substance being water or protein ([0028] lines 1-9 ---" According to an embodiment, during operation of the defrosting system 100, a user (not illustrated) may place one or more loads (e.g., food and/or liquids) into the defrosting cavity 110, and optionally may provide inputs via the control panel 120 that specify characteristics of the load(s). For example, the specified characteristics may include an approximate weight of the load. In addition, the specified load characteristics may indicate the material(s) from which the load is formed (e.g., meat, bread, liquid).”);
and the operating power is positively correlated with a content of the set substance in the food groups ([0028] lines 14-21 ---" Either way, as will be described in more detail later, information regarding such load characteristics enables the system controller (e.g., system controller 330, FIG. 3) to establish an initial state for the impedance matching network of the system at the beginning of the defrosting operation, where the initial state may be relatively close to an optimal state that enables maximum RF power transfer into the load.”), and/or the operating time is positively correlated with the content of the set substance in the food groups.
Regarding claim 19, Mongin discloses a heating device, comprising:
a cavity capacitor (Fig. 3 #310 cavity), configured for placement of an object to be processed;
an electromagnetic wave generation module (Fig. 3 #342 RF signal generator), configured to generate an electromagnetic wave signal for heating the object to be processed in the cavity capacitor (Fig. 3 #310 cavity);
and a controller (Fig. 3 #330 system controller), configured to perform the control method according to claim 1 (Mongin is relied upon to teach the method of claim 1; see the rejection of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mongin et al (US 2019/0141799) as applied to claim 2, in view of Cigarini et al (US 4,998,001).
Regarding claim 3, Mongin teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), but does not teach wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises: matching a power base of the operating power according to the feature measure in accordance with a preset power base correspondence, and matching a power coefficient of the operating power according to the food groups in accordance with a preset power coefficient correspondence; and calculating the operating power according to the power base and the power coefficient, the power base correspondence recording power bases corresponding to different feature measures, and the power coefficient correspondence recording power coefficients corresponding to different food groups.
Nonetheless, Cigarini in the same field of endeavor being teaches wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises:
matching a power base of the operating power according to the feature measure in accordance with a preset power base correspondence (Col. 3 lines 62-68 and Col. 4 lines 1-5 ---" This extrapolation of the temperature data onto the T axis (as heretofore described) together with the information on the food type fed into the microprocessor by the user enables the microprocessor to determine the food weight with sufficient accuracy and thus operate the magnetron 2 at the power required to thaw and treat the food as required by the user (in the case under examination, thawing and cooking said food in accordance with a preset or at least partially preset program in the microprocessor.”), and matching a power coefficient of the operating power according to the food groups in accordance with a preset power coefficient correspondence (The power coefficient and the preset power coefficient can be chosen by the operator. The operator may choose both to be 1 for simplicity.);
and calculating the operating power according to the power base and the power coefficient, the power base correspondence recording power bases corresponding to different feature measures (Col. 3 lines 62-68 and Col. 4 lines 1-5 ---" This extrapolation of the temperature data onto the T axis (as heretofore described) together with the information on the food type fed into the microprocessor by the user enables the microprocessor to determine the food weight with sufficient accuracy and thus operate the magnetron 2 at the power required to thaw and treat the food as required by the user (in the case under examination, thawing and cooking said food in accordance with a preset or at least partially preset program in the microprocessor.”), and the power coefficient correspondence recording power coefficients corresponding to different food groups (Performed by the operator; The operator may choose the power coefficients to be 1 regardless of the different food groups.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mongin by incorporating the matching and calculating steps as taught by Cigarini for the benefit of obtaining the best cooking result. (Cigarini last para. Col. 3)
Regarding claim 4, Mongin teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), but does not teach wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises: matching the operating power according to the food groups and the feature measure in accordance with a preset power correspondence, the power correspondence recording operating power corresponding to different food groups and different feature measures.
Nonetheless, Cigarini teaches wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises:
matching the operating power according to the food groups and the feature measure in accordance with a preset power correspondence, the power correspondence recording operating power corresponding to different food groups and different feature measures (Col. 3 lines 62-68 and Col. 4 lines 1-5 ---" This extrapolation of the temperature data onto the T axis (as heretofore described) together with the information on the food type fed into the microprocessor by the user enables the microprocessor to determine the food weight with sufficient accuracy and thus operate the magnetron 2 at the power required to thaw and treat the food as required by the user (in the case under examination, thawing and cooking said food in accordance with a preset or at least partially preset program in the microprocessor.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mongin by incorporating the matching step as taught by Cigarini for the benefit of obtaining the best cooking result. (Cigarini last para. Col. 3)
Regarding claim 5, Mongin teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), but does not teach wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises: matching a time base of the operating time according to the feature measure in accordance with a preset time base correspondence, and matching a time coefficient of the operating time according to the food groups in accordance with a preset time coefficient correspondence; and calculating the operating time according to the time base and the time coefficient, the time base correspondence recording time bases corresponding to different feature measures, and the time coefficient correspondence recording time coefficients corresponding to different food groups.
Nonetheless, Cigarini teaches wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises:
matching a time base of the operating time according to the feature measure in accordance with a preset time base correspondence (Col. 1 lines 10-16 ---" In general in a microwave oven provided with a microprocessor controlling the operation of the microwave generator or magnetron, the food treatment (thawing, thawing plus heating, or thawing plus cooking) can be preplanned by the user by setting the food weight, the food type and the required type of treatment.”), and matching a time coefficient of the operating time according to the food groups in accordance with a preset time coefficient correspondence (The power coefficient and the preset time coefficient can be chosen by the operator. The operator may choose both to be 1 for simplicity.);
and calculating the operating time according to the time base and the time coefficient, the time base correspondence recording time bases corresponding to different feature measures (Col. 1 lines 16-18 ---"These data enable the microprocessor to control the magnetron operation for the time required to obtain the desired treatment.”), and the time coefficient correspondence recording time coefficients corresponding to different food groups (Performed by the operator; The operator may choose the time coefficients to be 1 regardless of the different food groups.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mongin by incorporating the matching and calculating steps as taught by Cigarini for the benefit of obtaining the best cooking result. (Cigarini last para. Col. 3)
Regarding claim 6, Mongin teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 2), but does not teach wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises: matching the operating time according to the food groups and the feature measure in accordance with a preset time correspondence, the time correspondence recording operating time corresponding to different food groups and different feature measures.
Nonetheless, Cigarini teaches wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises:
matching the operating time according to the food groups and the feature measure in accordance with a preset time correspondence, the time correspondence recording operating time corresponding to different food groups and different feature measures (Col. 1 lines 10-16 ---" In general in a microwave oven provided with a microprocessor controlling the operation of the microwave generator or magnetron, the food treatment (thawing, thawing plus heating, or thawing plus cooking) can be preplanned by the user by setting the food weight, the food type and the required type of treatment.”) (Col. 1 lines 16-18 ---"These data enable the microprocessor to control the magnetron operation for the time required to obtain the desired treatment.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mongin by incorporating the matching step as taught by Cigarini for the benefit of obtaining the best cooking result. (Cigarini last para. Col. 3)
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mongin et al (US 2019/0141799) as applied to claim 7, in view of Cigarini et al (US 4,998,001).
Regarding claim 10, Mongin teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 8), but does not teach wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises: matching a time base of the operating time according to the feature measure in accordance with a preset time base correspondence, and matching a time coefficient of the operating time according to the food groups in accordance with a preset time coefficient correspondence; and calculating the operating time according to the time base and the time coefficient, the time base correspondence recording time bases corresponding to different feature measures, and the time coefficient correspondence recording time coefficients corresponding to different food groups.
Nonetheless, Cigarini teaches wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises:
matching a time base of the operating time according to the feature measure in accordance with a preset time base correspondence (Col. 1 lines 10-16 ---" In general in a microwave oven provided with a microprocessor controlling the operation of the microwave generator or magnetron, the food treatment (thawing, thawing plus heating, or thawing plus cooking) can be preplanned by the user by setting the food weight, the food type and the required type of treatment.”), and matching a time coefficient of the operating time according to the food groups in accordance with a preset time coefficient correspondence (The power coefficient and the preset time coefficient can be chosen by the operator. The operator may choose both to be 1 for simplicity.);
and calculating the operating time according to the time base and the time coefficient, the time base correspondence recording time bases corresponding to different feature measures (Col. 1 lines 16-18 ---"These data enable the microprocessor to control the magnetron operation for the time required to obtain the desired treatment.”), and the time coefficient correspondence recording time coefficients corresponding to different food groups (Performed by the operator; The operator may choose the time coefficients to be 1 regardless of the different food groups.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mongin by incorporating the matching and calculating steps as taught by Cigarini for the benefit of obtaining the best cooking result. (Cigarini last para. Col. 3)
Regarding claim 11, Mongin teaches the method as appears above (see the rejection of claim 7), but does not teach wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises: matching the operating time according to the food groups and the feature measure in accordance with a preset time correspondence, the time correspondence recording operating time corresponding to different food groups and different feature measures.
Nonetheless, Cigarini teaches wherein the step of determining operating power and/or operating time of the electromagnetic wave generation module according to the attribute information comprises:
matching the operating time according to the food groups and the feature measure in accordance with a preset time correspondence, the time correspondence recording operating time corresponding to different food groups and different feature measures (Col. 1 lines 10-16 ---" In general in a microwave oven provided with a microprocessor controlling the operation of the microwave generator or magnetron, the food treatment (thawing, thawing plus heating, or thawing plus cooking) can be preplanned by the user by setting the food weight, the food type and the required type of treatment.”) (Col. 1 lines 16-18 ---"These data enable the microprocessor to control the magnetron operation for the time required to obtain the desired treatment.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mongin by incorporating the matching step as taught by Cigarini for the benefit of obtaining the best cooking result. (Cigarini last para. Col. 3)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior art does not disclose, teach or suggest operating the electromagnetic wave generator based on a weight threshold.
Conclusion
/JOE E MILLS JR./Examiner, Art Unit 3761