DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schilling et al. (US 2019/0152251).
In respect to claims 1, 3, and 5, Schilling et al. disclose a security article comprising: a substrate 14r and an anti-counterfeit label on the substrate [it is noted that a “label” does not denote any particular structure, as claimed, other than adhesion to another substrate]; the label comprising a multifocal microlens array layer 11l (0045), a transparent base film layer 13, and a microimage array 14l (stacked from top to bottom), the multifocal microlens array layer on a first face of the transparent base film and the microimage array layer on a second face of the transparent base film (Fig. 9.4); the multifocal microlens array layer comprising a plurality of microlens arrays, including a first array 14la and a second array 14ra, each having a different focal length and each having “one-to-one correspondence” (0045).
Schilling et al. disclose that the microimage arrays may be formed via a laser (0109; 0210-0211). Schilling et al. further disclose that the laser may be exposed through the lens layer, of which any area may arbitrarily be construed as the “first microlens array” and “second microlens array” (0270-0271). Regardless, although product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
In respect to the amended subject matter, Schilling disclose that each of the first and second microlenses arrays are located at a focal plane of respective lens with respective focal lengths (0045); each of the first microimage array and second mircoimage array may each comprise a tilt image effect which is well known in the art to comprise “microimages each unique with a pitch matching that of the respective microlenses” (it is known in “slicing” an image into little strips, each will be unique (non-repeating)) (0026, 0176-178; Fig. 1); Schilling further discloses that either of the tilt images may further be comprises of moiré image elements, which are well known in the art to comprise “a repeat pattern having a specific [slightly different] pitch relative to the pitch of the first microlenses” (0119-0120). Thus, one microimage array (e.g. the first microimage array) is a tilt image and the second microimage array (also a tilt image) is further encoded with moiré features which is a repeat pattern with a specific pitch.
In respect to claims 2 and 4, Schilling et al. disclose that the multifocal microlens array layer may be in a quadrangular arrangement, including an equal lateral and longitudinal period (Fig. 2.2).
In respect to claim 6, Schilling et al. disclose a period of 35 μm (both directions).
In respect to claim 10, Schilling et al. disclose different focal lengths for the two arrays, and naturally the second microimage array, which is further from the microlens array, will have the larger focal length, as is readily ascertained by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffmuller et al. (US 2013/0270813).
Schilling et al. disclose different focal lengths, but do not disclose particular lengths of each, however, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Furthermore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, namely, selecting standard dimensions of known focusing device, namely, the diameters and/or focal lengths with unexpected result.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In respect to the 35 USC 102 rejection over Schilling, the applicant contends that “Schilling describes image layers formed using a photoresist exposure process to generate partial images or moiré-type effects” however, as pointed out in the Office Action, Schilling explicitly disclose that this photoresist process may be performed with a laser (0211). The applicant further contends that Schilling “do not teach or suggest that the second microimage array is formed in the radiation sensitive substrate through the second microlens array” however, the exposure (which may be laser) is readily inferred to use the same method (Figs. 4.1-4.5) (0282). Regardless, although product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The radiation sensitive substrate is capable of being produced in this manner, particularly with use of different photoresists of different sensitivity (0283).
In respect to the alleged differences in the “image flip and moiré magnifier effects”, Schilling fully discloses the claimed invention as detailed in the Office Action above.
In respect to the 35 USC 103 rejection, the applicant relies on the alleged failures of Schilling, which is not persuasive for the reasons stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE R GRABOWSKI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637