DETAILED ACTION
Amendment Entered
This Office action is responsive to the Amendment filed on April 20th, 2026. The examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 3, and 15 as well as the addition of claims 16-18. Claims 1-18 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed April 20th, 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the concentration of one or more gases in the first gas” in claim 1 line 19 should recite “the concentration of the specific gas in the first gas”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (claims 2-14 and 16-17 by virtue of dependency) recites “a specific gas” in lines 11-12 and “the concentration of the specific gas” in line 14. It is unclear if a specific gas in lines 11-12 is referring to the same specific gas or a different specific gas than recited in line 10. Further, it is unclear whether the sensitivities of the concentration to the specific gas in line 14 is referring to the concentration of the specific gas of the first gas or the concentration of the specific gas for the second gas. For examination purposes it will be treated that specific gas of the first gas and the specific gas of the second gas are referring to the same specific gas and the sensitivities to the concentration are to the same specific gas. The limitation in lines 11-12 is suggested to recite “the concentration of the specific gas”.
Claim 16 (claim 17 by virtue of dependency) recites “a gas” in line 4. It is unclear if this is in addition to the first and second gas or referring to the first and second gas. The limitation is suggested to recite “the first gas and the second gas supplied to the chamber …”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 10 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda (JP2004093555A English Translation – previously cited) in view of Takeshita 2006 (JP 2006132948 A English Translation – previously cited), further in view of Okubo (JP H11218512 A English Translation), further in view of Londergan (US 20140238100 A1), and further in view of Takeshita 2005 (JP 2005315836 A English Translation – previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Ueda discloses a health condition estimation system (intestinal gas component measurement device 1, fig. 1; “estimate bacterial species”, page 4 lines 3-9) comprising: a sensor unit (intestinal gas component measurement device 1, fig. 1) comprising a supply unit (sample collection section 2 comprising sample collection tube 21 & suction pump 44, fig. 1) configured to inhale a first gas through a first inlet (sample collection tube 21, fig. 1, “ambient atmosphere gas G … around the buttocks”, page 9 lines 9-11 & page 10 lines 1-4 & page 12 lines 1-5) and inhale a second gas through a second inlet (suction pump 44, fig. 1, “air or nitrogen gas”; “carrier gas (air) that sends the ambient atmosphere sample S”; “ambient atmosphere sample S”, page 5 line 7 & page 10 lines 6-12 & page 12 lines 14-17 (see also page 6 lines 2-6)), the first gas and the second gas being different in obtaining position and obtaining time (fig. 1, page 12 lines 1-17), wherein the first inlet is positioned to be exposed inside a toilet bowl (unlabeled but as seen in fig. 1), wherein the first gas is inhaled during defecation (“ambient gas G around the anus … constantly measures the carbon dioxide concentration … intestinal gas has been released … concentration is measured and stored”, page 12 lines 1-17) and the second gas is inhaled after defecation (“next … ambient atmosphere sample S … carrier gas … detector 45”, page 12 lines 1-17); a sensor unit (intestinal gas diffusion detection unit 3 comprising detector 32 & intestinal gas component analysis section 4 comprising detector 45, fig. 1) comprising a plurality of sensors (detector 32 detector 45, fig. 1), wherein the sensor unit (intestinal gas diffusion detection unit 3 comprising detector 32 & intestinal gas component analysis section 4 comprising detector 45, fig. 1) is configured to receive the first gas and the second gas from the supply unit (fig. 1, “indicator gas detector 32 constantly measures the carbon dioxide concentration … ambient atmosphere sample S … detector 45,”, page 12 lines 1-17) and output a first signal with a first signal value in accordance with a concentration of a specific gas in a first period in which the first gas is inhaled (“carbon dioxide … intestinal gas … concentration is measured and stored”, page 12 lines 1-17 (see also page 3 lines 7-20)) and a second signal with a second signal value in accordance with a concentration of a specific gas in a second period in which the second gas is inhaled (“carbon dioxide”; “concentration of the gas component to be detected is determined”; “amount of ionization converted into an electrical signal and output”, page 4 lines 2-15 & page 11 line 1 - page 12 line 17); and a controller (control/calculation processing unit 5, fig. 1) comprising one or more processors and memory (microcomputer 51, fig. 1, “pre-stored in a microprocessor”, page 8 lines 10-12), the controller configured to receive gas information comprising the first signal with the first signal value and the second signal with the second signal value (“concentration is measured and stored … amount of ionization converted into an electrical signal and output … is processed by the control and calculation processing unit 5”, page 10 lines 4-6 & page 12 lines 1-17) and generate health information using the gas information (“estimate the bacterial species from the odorous components or their component ratios”; “estimate the species of bacteria … information about the human body, particularly the large intestine system, can be obtained”, page 4 lines 5-15 & page 13 line 16 – page 14 line).
Ueda does not expressly disclose wherein the second inlet is positioned to be exposed outside the toilet bowl.
However, Takeshita 2006 directed to an apparatus for automatically detecting occult blood in stool fixed to a seat-type toilet 300 (fig. 2) discloses a first inlet (gas suction device 210 having gas intake port 212, fig. 2) and a second inlet (induction air device having outside air intake port 226, fig. 2), wherein the first inlet is positioned to be exposed inside a toilet bowl (fig. 2, gas intake port 212 … within the waste tank space, page 10 lines 1-2) and the second inlet is positioned to be exposed outside the toilet bowl (fig. 2, outside air intake port 226 provided on the outer wall of the main body 202, page 11 lines 4-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda such that the second inlet is positioned to be exposed outside the toilet bowl, in view of the teachings of Takeshita 2006, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of compression pump 44 that supplies the carrier gas (air) for the induction air device having the outside air intake port of Takeshita and would aid in providing the carrier (gas) air.
Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006 hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein at least two of the plurality of sensors of the sensor unit are arranged in a chamber.
However, Okubo directed to gas measuring device discloses a plurality of sensors (multiple odor sensors 28, fig. 1, para. [0015, 0033]), wherein at least two of the plurality of sensors of the sensor unit are arranged in a chamber (flow cell 27, fig. 1) (“flow cell 27 equipped with multiple odor sensors 28”, para. [0015]). Okubo further discloses that each channel/odor sensor is given different response characteristics (para. [0015], fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006 hereinabove, such that at least two of the plurality of sensors of the sensor unit are arranged in a chamber, in view of the teachings of Okubo, as this would aid in improving the ability to distinguish between odors by incorporating the flow cell equipped with multiple odor sensors having different response characteristics (Okubo, para. [0003, 0015]).
Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006 and Okubo hereinabove, does not expressly disclose each of the at least two sensors having different sensitivities to the concentration of the specific gas and configured to simultaneously generate signals in response to the specific gas.
However, Londergan directed to obtaining accurate gas sensor data from at least one gas sensor discloses a sensor unit comprising a plurality of sensors (“plurality of sensors 2050”, para. [0130, 0141]), at least two sensors of the plurality of sensors (gas sensors 2052 comprising a first gas sensor 2053 and a second gas sensor 2054, para. [0130], fig. 6-7A) and each of the at least two sensors having different sensitivities to the concentration of the specific gas (“first gas sensor 2053 and a second gas sensor 2054 with a different sensitivity to sensing a specific gas due to doping … improve the accuracy”; “carbon dioxide”, para. [0011, 0017, 0027, 0130]) and configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) simultaneously generate signals in response to the specific gas (“receive gas sensor data from at least one gas sensor … MOS gas sensor”; “same target gas … the response from two or more sensors”, para. [0061, 0067, 0076, 0127, 0130], figs. 4 & 8, (Examiner note: para. [0012-0013] of the instant application disclose that the sensors are metal oxide semiconductors. Para. [0060-0061] of Londergan discloses that the gas sensors are Metal Oxide Semiconductor (MOS) sensors having first and second gas sensors and therefore are capable of simultaneously generating signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006 and Okubo hereinabove, such that each of the at least two sensors have different sensitivities to the concentration of the specific gas and are configured to simultaneously generate signals in response to the specific gas, in view of the teachings of Londergan, as this would aid in improving the accuracy of sensing the concentration of the specific gas.
Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, and Okubo, and Londergan hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the controller analyzes the concentration of one or more gases in the first gas to calculate a number of bacteria in the first gas for one or more types of intestinal bacteria, wherein the generated health information comprises a ratio of the one or more types of intestinal bacteria.
However, Takeshita 2005 directed to a technique for detecting excretory gases present in a toilet bowl and judging a person's health condition based on the detection results discloses one or more gas sensors for detecting each of the one or more types of gas (para. [0093, 0118]) and a control device 11 including a storage unit 23 and CPU 21 (para. [0011, 0033, 0093]), wherein the controller (control device 11, para. [0011, 0033, 0093]) analyzes the concentration of one or more gases in the first gas to calculate a number of bacteria in the first gas for one or more types of intestinal bacteria (“extracts an intestinal parameter … signal value … the number (or amount) of bifidobacteria”; “intestinal condition may be determined based on the signal values”, para. [0014, 0063, 0093, 0118]), wherein the generated health information comprises a ratio of the one or more types of intestinal bacteria (“proportion of the number (or amount) of bifidobacteria out of the total number (or total amount) of intestinal bacteria, or the proportion of the number (or amount) of harmful bacteria out of the total number (or total amount) of intestinal bacteria”, para. [0014, 0063]). Takeshita 2005 further discloses that the intestinal condition is determined based on the intestinal health determination table 71, and allows the user to have the state of their intestines assessed without having to go through the trouble of collecting excreted stool and sending it to a specialist institution (para. [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, and Okubo, and Londergan hereinabove, such that the controller analyzes the concentration of one or more gases in the first gas to calculate a number of bacteria in the first gas for one or more types of intestinal bacteria, wherein the generated health information comprises a ratio of the one or more types of intestinal bacteria, in view of the teachings of Takeshita 2005, as this would aid in determining an intestinal condition by assessing the state of a user’s intestines without having to go through the trouble of collecting excreted stool and sending it to a specialist institution.
Regarding claim 4, Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, and Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, discloses the health condition estimation system according to Claim 1, wherein: the specific gas includes at least one of hydrogen, carbon dioxide, methane, hydrogen sulfide, methyl mercaptan, dimethyl sulfide, carboxylic acid, and amine (“carbon dioxide, methane or hydrogen used as the indicator gas”, page 3 lines 16-19).
Regarding claim 5, Regarding claim 4, Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, and Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, discloses the health condition estimation system according to Claim 1. , Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006 and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, does not disclose wherein: the controller is configured to generate the health information additionally based on a subject's physical information.
However, Takeshita 2005 discloses wherein: the controller (control device 11 having CPU 21, para. [0089-0091]) is configured to generate the health information additionally based on a subject's physical information (“table for determining intestinal health for each user attribute … age range, gender, or individual”, para. [0081, 0084-0091]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Regarding claim 4, Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, and Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, such that the controller is configured to generate the health information additionally based on a subject's physical information, in view of the teachings of Takeshita 2005, as this would aid in providing a more accurate intestinal health assessment in which the differences in user attributes are corrected.
Regarding claim 6, Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, and Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, discloses the health condition estimation system according to Claim 1. Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, and Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, does not disclose wherein: the physical information includes at least one of sex, age, height, weight, and body fat percentage.
However, Takeshita 2005 discloses wherein: the physical information includes at least one of sex, age, height, weight, and body fat percentage (“age, gender”, para. [0081, 0084-0091]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, and Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, such that the physical information includes at least one of sex, age, height, weight, and body fat percentage, in view of the teachings of Takeshita 2005, as this would aid in providing a more accurate intestinal health assessment in which the differences in user attributes are corrected.
Regarding claim 10, Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, and Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, discloses the health condition estimation system according to Claim 1. Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, and Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, does not disclose wherein: the health information is at least one of a ratio of intestinal bacteria, a ratio of categories that classify intestinal bacteria, and a health advice based on an intestinal bacterial status.
However, Takeshita 2005 discloses wherein: the health information is at least one of a ratio of intestinal bacteria (“proportion of the number (or amount) of bifidobacteria out of the total number (or total amount) of intestinal bacteria, or the proportion of the number (or amount) of harmful bacteria out of the total number (or total amount) of intestinal bacteria”, para. [0014, 0061-0063]), a ratio of categories that classify intestinal bacteria (“sub-range among the first to third sub-ranges to which the calculated Br belongs”, para. [0014, 0061-0063, 0074]), and a health advice based on an intestinal bacterial status.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, and Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, such that the health information is at least one of a ratio of intestinal bacteria, a ratio of categories that classify intestinal bacteria, and a health advice based on an intestinal bacterial status, in view of the teachings of Takeshita 2005, as this would aid in determining the intestinal health level by assessing the state of a users intestines without having to go through the trouble of collecting excreted stool and sending it to a specialist institution.
Regarding claim 16, Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, and Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, discloses the health condition estimation system according to Claim 1. Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, and Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the supply unit further comprises a supply passage connected to the chamber and an exhaust passage coupled to the chamber, wherein the first gas and the second gas are supplied to the chamber through the supply passage, and a gas supplied to the chamber is exhausted from the chamber through the exhaust passage.
However, Okubo discloses a supply unit (12, 16, 18, as seen in fig. 1, “gas flow path”, para. [0013-0015]) wherein the supply unit (12, 16, 18, as seen in fig. 1, “gas flow path”, para. [0013-0015]) further comprises a supply passage (unlabeled, but as seen in fig. 1, flow paths connected to port a & port e, para. [0014-0015]) connected to the chamber (“flow path … port e … connected to a flow cell 27”, para. [0014-0015]) and an exhaust passage coupled to the chamber (third discharge passage 29, para. [0015], fig. 1), wherein the first gas and the second gas are supplied to the chamber through the supply passage (“flow path 14 flows to the flow cell 27 … flow path 12 … flow through the flow cell 27”, para. [0020-0021]), and a gas supplied to the chamber is exhausted from the chamber through the exhaust passage (“gas … discharged from the outlet of the third discharge flow path 29”, para. [0020], fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, and Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, such that the supply unit further comprises a supply passage connected to the chamber and an exhaust passage coupled to the chamber, wherein the first gas and the second gas are supplied to the chamber through the supply passage, and a gas supplied to the chamber is exhausted from the chamber through the exhaust passage, in view of the teachings of Okubo, as this would aid in supplying sample gas to be measured to the odor sensors/detectors and discharging the sample gas so that the odor sensors/detectors recover and return to a state for detecting sample components (Okubo, para. [0027]).
Regarding claim 17, Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, discloses the health condition estimation system according to Claim 16, further comprising a valve (46, fig. 1) connected to the supply passage (42, fig. 1), a first supply passage connected to the first inlet (unlabeled, but the passage from 22 to 46 as seen in, fig. 1), and a second supply passage connected to the second inlet (unlabeled, but the passage from 44 to 46 as seen in fig. 1).
Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, does not disclose a three-way valve, wherein the three-way valve is configured to switch communication with the supply passage to either of the first supply passage or the second supply passage to selectively supply the first gas or the second gas to the chamber.
However, Okubo directed to a gas measuring device, discloses a three-way valve (three-way valve 17, fig. 1) connected to the supply passage (unlabeled, but as seen in fig. 1, flow paths connected to port a & port e, para. [0014-0015]), wherein the three-way valve (three-way valve 17, fig. 1) is configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) switch communication with the supply passage to either of the first supply passage or the second supply passage to selectively supply the first gas or the second gas to the chamber (“sample gas flow path 16 and the first nitrogen gas flow path 12 are selectively connected … valve 17”; “switches the three-way valve … flow path 16”; “switches the three-way valve … flow path 12” , para. [0014, 0019, 0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, such that the system comprises a three-way valve, the three-way valve configured to switch communication with the supply passage to either of the first supply passage or the second supply passage to selectively supply the first gas or the second gas to the chamber, in view of the teachings of Okubo, as this would aid in selectively supplying the sample gas to be measured and the carrier gas to the sensors/detectors.
Regarding claim 15, Ueda discloses a health condition estimation method (intestinal gas component measurement device 1, fig. 1; “estimate bacterial species”; “method”, page 4 lines 3-9 & page 12 line 1) comprising: inhaling a first gas through a first inlet (sample collection tube 21, fig. 1, “ambient atmosphere gas G … around the buttocks”, page 9 lines 9-11 & page 10 lines 1-4 & page 12 lines 1-5) and inhaling a second gas through a second inlet (suction pump 44, fig. 1, “air or nitrogen gas”; “carrier gas (air) that sends the ambient atmosphere sample S”; “ambient atmosphere sample S”, page 5 line 7 & page 10 lines 6-12 & page 12 lines 14-17 (see also page 6 lines 2-6)), the first gas and the second gas being different in obtaining position and obtaining time (fig. 1, page 12 lines 1-17), wherein the first inlet is positioned to be exposed inside a toilet bowl (unlabeled but as seen in fig. 1), wherein the first gas is inhaled during defecation (“ambient gas G around the anus … constantly measures the carbon dioxide concentration … intestinal gas has been released … concentration is measured and stored”, page 12 lines 1-17) and the second gas is inhaled after defecation (“next … ambient atmosphere sample S … carrier gas … detector 45”, page 12 lines 1-17); separately supplying the first gas and the second gas to a sensor unit (intestinal gas diffusion detection unit 3 comprising detector 32 & intestinal gas component analysis section 4 comprising detector 45, fig. 1) comprising a plurality of sensors (detector 32 detector 45, fig. 1, page 12 lines 1-17 that outputs a signal with a signal value in accordance with a concentration of a specific gas (“carbon dioxide … intestinal gas … concentration is measured and stored”, page 12 lines 1-17 (see also page 3 lines 7-20)) & “concentration of the gas component to be detected is determined”; “amount of ionization converted into an electrical signal and output”, page 11 lines 1-3 & page 12 lines 1-17); and generating health information using gas information (“estimate the bacterial species from the odorous components or their component ratios”; “estimate the species of bacteria … information about the human body, particularly the large intestine system, can be obtained”, page 4 lines 5-15 & page 13 line 16 – page 14 line) based on a first signal output by the sensor unit in a first period in which the first gas is supplied to the sensor unit (“carbon dioxide … intestinal gas … concentration is measured and stored”, page 12 lines 1-17 (see also page 3 lines 7-20)) and a second signal output by the sensor unit in a second period in which the second gas is supplied to the sensor unit (“concentration of the gas component to be detected is determined”; “amount of ionization converted into an electrical signal and output”, page 11 lines 1-3 & page 12 lines 1-17).
Ueda does not expressly disclose wherein the second inlet is positioned to be exposed outside the toilet bowl.
However, Takeshita 2006 directed to an apparatus for automatically detecting occult blood in stool fixed to a seat-type toilet 300 (fig. 2) discloses a first inlet (gas suction device 210 having gas intake port 212, fig. 2) and a second inlet (induction air device having outside air intake port 226, fig. 2), wherein the first inlet is positioned to be exposed inside a toilet bowl (fig. 2, gas intake port 212 … within the waste tank space, page 10 lines 1-2) and the second inlet is positioned to be exposed outside the toilet bowl (fig. 2, outside air intake port 226 provided on the outer wall of the main body 202, page 11 lines 4-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda such that the second inlet is positioned to be exposed outside the toilet bowl, in view of the teachings of Takeshita 2006, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of compression pump 44 that supplies the carrier gas (air) for the induction air device having the outside air intake port of Takeshita and would aid in providing the carrier (gas) air.
Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006 hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein at least two of the plurality of sensors of the sensor unit are arranged in a chamber.
However, Okubo directed to gas measuring device discloses a plurality of sensors (multiple odor sensors 28, fig. 1, para. [0015, 0033]), wherein at least two of the plurality of sensors of the sensor unit are arranged in a chamber (flow cell 27, fig. 1) (“flow cell 27 equipped with multiple odor sensors 28”, para. [0015]). Okubo further discloses that each channel/odor sensor is given different response characteristics (para. [0015], fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006 hereinabove, such that at least two of the plurality of sensors of the sensor unit are arranged in a chamber, in view of the teachings of Okubo, as this would aid in improving the ability to distinguish between odors by incorporating the flow cell equipped with multiple odor sensors having different response characteristics (Okubo, para. [0003, 0015]).
Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006 and Okubo hereinabove, does not expressly disclose each of the at least two sensors having different sensitivities to the concentration of the specific gas and configured to simultaneously generate signals in response to the specific gas.
However, Londergan directed to obtaining accurate gas sensor data from at least one gas sensor discloses a sensor unit comprising a plurality of sensors (“plurality of sensors 2050”, para. [0130, 0141]), at least two sensors of the plurality of sensors (gas sensors 2052 comprising a first gas sensor 2053 and a second gas sensor 2054, para. [0130], fig. 6-7A) and each of the at least two sensors having different sensitivities to the concentration of the specific gas (“first gas sensor 2053 and a second gas sensor 2054 with a different sensitivity to sensing a specific gas due to doping … improve the accuracy”; “carbon dioxide”, para. [0011, 0017, 0027, 0130]) and configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) simultaneously generate signals in response to the specific gas (“receive gas sensor data from at least one gas sensor … MOS gas sensor”; “same target gas … the response from two or more sensors”, para. [0061, 0067, 0076, 0127, 0130], figs. 4 & 8, (Examiner note: para. [0012-0013] of the instant application disclose that the sensors are metal oxide semiconductors. Para. [0060-0061] of Londergan discloses that the gas sensors are Metal Oxide Semiconductor (MOS) sensors having first and second gas sensors and therefore are capable of simultaneously generating signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006 and Okubo hereinabove, such that each of the at least two sensors have different sensitivities to the concentration of the specific gas and are configured to simultaneously generate signals in response to the specific gas, in view of the teachings of Londergan, as this would aid in improving the accuracy of sensing the concentration of the specific gas.
Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, and Londergan hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the gas information comprises a concentration of one or more gases in the first gas and a number of bacteria in the first gas for one or more types of intestinal bacteria.
However, Takeshita 2005 directed to a technique for detecting excretory gases present in a toilet bowl and judging a person's health condition based on the detection results discloses one or more gas sensors for detecting each of the one or more types of gas (para. [0093, 0118]) and gas information (“extracts an intestinal parameter … signal value … the number (or amount) of bifidobacteria”; “intestinal condition may be determined based on the signal values”, para. [0014, 0063, 0093, 0118]), wherein the gas information comprises a concentration of one or more gases in the first gas and a number of bacteria in the first gas for one or more types of intestinal bacteria (“proportion of the number (or amount) of bifidobacteria out of the total number (or total amount) of intestinal bacteria, or the proportion of the number (or amount) of harmful bacteria out of the total number (or total amount) of intestinal bacteria”, para. [0014, 0063]). Takeshita 2005 further discloses that the intestinal condition is determined based on the intestinal health determination table 71, and allows the user to have the state of their intestines assessed without having to go through the trouble of collecting excreted stool and sending it to a specialist institution (para. [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, and Londergan hereinabove, such that the gas information comprises a concentration of one or more gases in the first gas and a number of bacteria in the first gas for one or more types of intestinal bacteria, in view of the teachings of Takeshita 2005, as this would aid in determining an intestinal condition by assessing the state of a user’s intestines without having to go through the trouble of collecting excreted stool and sending it to a specialist institution.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda in view of Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cheng (US 20160249838 A1 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 2, Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005, discloses the health condition estimation system according to Claim 1. Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, does not disclose wherein: the first signal output by the sensor unit in the first period in which the first gas is received by the sensor unit is a signal output by the sensor unit in each of time sections, which are obtained by dividing the first period in which the first gas is received by the sensor unit into a plurality of first time sections, the second signal output by the sensor unit in the second period in which the second gas is received by the sensor unit is a signal output by the sensor unit in each of time sections, which are obtained by dividing the second period in which the second gas is received by the sensor unit into a plurality of second time sections, the gas information includes at least one of a signal value of a first signal output by the sensor unit in each of the plurality of first time sections, or at least either of at least one of a mean, median, and slope based on the signal value in each of the first time sections, and a difference in at least one of the mean, median, and slope from a different first time section, and a signal value of a second signal output by the sensor unit in each of the plurality of second time sections, or at least either of at least one of a mean, median, and slope based on the signal value in each of the second time sections, and a difference in at least one of the mean, median, and slope from a different second time section.
However, Cheng directed to systems for monitoring Carbon Dioxide (CO.sub.2) discloses wherein: the first signal output by the sensor unit in the first period in which the first gas is received by the sensor unit is a signal output by the sensor unit in each of time sections (sections 202, 204, 206, fig. 2A), which are obtained by dividing the first period in which the first gas is received by the sensor unit into a plurality of first time sections (“a subset of data within a certain period of time or window … data collected within the past 2 seconds or 5 seconds. The calculation repeats on different subsets of data as the window moves (i.e., center of the subset changes) … more sensitive to the change or shorter trend, the system can be configured to use a smaller window”, para. [0027]), the second signal output by the sensor unit in the second period in which the second gas is received by the sensor unit is a signal output by the sensor unit in each of time sections (sections 202, 204, 210, fig. 2B), which are obtained by dividing the second period in which the second gas is received by the sensor unit into a plurality of second time sections (“a subset of data within a certain period of time or window, for example, the data collected within the past 2 seconds or 5 seconds. The calculation repeats on different subsets of data as the window moves (i.e., center of the subset changes) … more sensitive to the change or shorter trend, the system can be configured to use a smaller window”, para. [0027]), and the gas information includes at least one of a signal value of a first signal output by the sensor unit in each of the plurality of first time sections (“average value of a subset of data”, para. [0027], fig. 2A), or at least either of at least one of a mean, median, and slope based on the signal value in each of the first time sections (average value of a subset of data within a certain period of time or window … slopes of a changing curve of CO2 level may be used”, para. [0027-0028]), and a difference in at least one of the mean, median, and slope from a different first time section (“slopes of a changing curve … beginning slope and the ending slope”, para. [0028]), and a signal value of a second signal output by the sensor unit in each of the plurality of second time sections (“average value of a subset of data”, para. [0027], fig. 2B), or at least either of at least one of a mean, median, and slope based on the signal value in each of the second time sections (average value of a subset of data within a certain period of time or window … slopes of a changing curve of CO2 level may be used”, para. [0027-0028]), and a difference in at least one of the mean, median, and slope from a different second time section (“slopes of a changing curve … beginning slope and the ending slope”, para. [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, such that the first signal output by the sensor unit in the first period in which the first gas is received by the sensor unit is a signal output by the sensor unit in each of time sections, which are obtained by dividing the first period in which the first gas is received by the sensor unit into a plurality of first time sections, the second signal output by the sensor unit in the second period in which the second gas is received by the sensor unit is a signal output by the sensor unit in each of time sections, which are obtained by dividing the second period in which the second gas is received by the sensor unit into a plurality of second time sections, and the gas information includes at least one of a signal value of a first signal output by the sensor unit in each of the plurality of first time sections, or at least either of at least one of a mean, median, and slope based on the signal value in each of the first time sections, and a difference in at least one of the mean, median, and slope from a different first time section, and a signal value of a second signal output by the sensor unit in each of the plurality of second time sections, or at least either of at least one of a mean, median, and slope based on the signal value in each of the second time sections, and a difference in at least one of the mean, median, and slope from a different second time section, in view of the teachings of Cheng, as this would aid in making the system more sensitive to the shorter changes or trends and detecting the trend or change of the gas using smaller windows for a subset of data.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda in view of Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Cheng, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hasegawa 9875 (US 20170089875 A1 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 3, Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Cheng hereinabove, discloses the health condition estimation system according to Claim 2. Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Takeshita 2005, and Cheng hereinabove, does not disclose wherein: the gas information includes a ratio of signal values of signals output by the plurality of sensors in each of the plurality of time sections.
However, Hasegawa 9875 directed to a biological information measurement system discloses gas information includes a ratio of signal values of signals output by the plurality of sensors in each of the plurality of time sections (figs. 32 & 37A-C, “plotted points … acquired by calculating a ratio between a response value … and a response value …”; “correction ratio … depending on a used period of each of the sensors”, para. [0330-0331, 0352]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Cheng hereinabove, such that the gas information includes a ratio of signal values of signals output by the plurality of sensors in each of the plurality of time sections, in view of the teachings of Hasegawa 9875, as this would aid in improving the accuracy of concentration or content of the gas component to be detected and correcting the output of the sensors with respective correction ratios.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda in view of Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Infocom Corp, et al. (JP 2012165716 A English Translation – previously cited) (herein Infocom).
Regarding claim 7, Ueda, as modified by T Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, discloses the health condition estimation system according to Claim 1. Ueda, as modified by T Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, does not disclose wherein: the controller is configured to generate the health information additionally based on a subject's food intake information.
However, Infocom directed to a system and computer software for supporting dietary and other measures for health promotion based on the determination of the type of intestinal resident bacteria (para. [0001, 0032]) discloses wherein: the controller (“computer software”, para. [0032]) is configured to generate the health information additionally based on a subject's food intake information (“dietary habits … dietary type … intake of specific food items … nutrients”, para. [0019, 0033, 0038-0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by T Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, such that the controller is configured to generate the health information additionally based on a subject's food intake information, in view of the teachings of Infocom, as this would aid in determining the effectiveness of nutritional supplements such as probiotic preparations based on dietary type (dietary cluster) and disease type (disease cluster) and provide dietary support for health promotion.
Regarding claim 8, Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Infocom hereinabove, discloses the health condition estimation system according to Claim 7. Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Infocom hereinabove, does not disclose wherein: the food intake information includes at least one of a food ingested by the subject, and a nutrient contained in the ingested food.
However, Infocom discloses the food intake information (“dietary type”, para. [0019]) includes at least one of a food ingested by the subject, and a nutrient contained in the ingested food (“total intake of specific dietary items or the proportion of nutrients (protein carbohydrates, lipids …”, para. [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Infocom hereinabove, such that the food intake information includes at least one of a food ingested by the subject, and a nutrient contained in the ingested food, in view of the teachings of Infocom, as this would aid in determining the effectiveness of nutritional supplements such as probiotic preparations based on dietary type (dietary cluster) and disease type (disease cluster) and provide dietary support for health promotion.
Regarding claim 9, Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Infocom hereinabove, discloses the health condition estimation system according to Claim 8. Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Infocom hereinabove, does not disclose wherein: the nutrient includes at least one of dietary fiber, starch, an oligosaccharide, a carbohydrate digestive enzyme inhibitor, and a protein.
However, Infocom discloses the nutrient (“nutrients”, para. [0019]) includes at least one of dietary fiber, starch, an oligosaccharide, a carbohydrate digestive enzyme inhibitor, and a protein (protein, carbohydrates, lipids, vitamins, minerals, dietary fiber”, para. [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Infocom hereinabove, such that the food intake information includes at least one of a food ingested by the subject, and a nutrient contained in the ingested food, in view of the teachings of Infocom, as this would aid in determining the effectiveness of nutritional supplements such as probiotic preparations based on dietary type (dietary cluster) and disease type (disease cluster) and provide dietary support for health promotion.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda in view of Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hasegawa 0170 (US 20160220170 A1 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 11, Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, discloses the health condition estimation system according to Claim 1. Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, does not disclose wherein: in a case where a subject's intestinal bacterial status is obtained, the controller associates the intestinal bacterial status with identification information of the subject.
However, Hasegawa 0170 directed to a diagnosis system comprising a controller (fig. 2) discloses wherein: in a case where a subject's intestinal bacterial status is obtained (“physical condition … intestinal environment”; “intestinal bacteria”, para. [0229, 0314], fig. 20), the controller associates the intestinal bacterial status with identification information of the subject (“stores the physical condition display table, defecation dates and times of a test subject in association with identification information on the test subject”, para. [0159, 0240, 0287, 0298]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, such that in a case where a subject's intestinal bacterial status is obtained, the controller associates the intestinal bacterial status with identification information of the subject, in view of the teachings of Hasegawa 0170, as this would aid in recording and mutually relating, in a database, measurement data, reliability data, along with a measurement date and time, with identification information of each test subject.
Regarding claim 12, Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Hasegawa 0170 hereinabove, discloses the health condition estimation system according to Claim 11. Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Hasegawa 0170 hereinabove, does not disclose wherein: the controller is configured to give the intestinal bacterial status along with the identification information of the subject, which is associated with the intestinal bacterial status, to an analysis apparatus.
However, Hasegawa 0170 directed to a diagnosis system comprising a controller (fig. 2) discloses wherein: the controller (remote control 8 provided with the built-in data analyzer, fig. 2, para. [0154]) is configured to give the intestinal bacterial status (“physical condition … intestinal environment”; “intestinal bacteria”, para. [0229, 0314], fig. 20) along with the identification information of the subject (identification information, para. [0155]), which is associated with the intestinal bacterial status (“stores the physical condition display table, defecation dates and times of a test subject in association with identification information on the test subject”, para. [0159, 0240, 0287]), to an analysis apparatus (“remote control side 8 is communicatively connected to the server 12 … includes a data analysis circuit, para. [0158-0159]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Hasegawa 0170 hereinabove, such that the controller is configured to give the intestinal bacterial status along with the identification information of the subject, which is associated with the intestinal bacterial status, to an analysis apparatus, in view of the teachings of Hasegawa 0170, as this would aid in recording and mutually relating, in a database, measurement data, reliability data, along with a measurement date and time, with identification information of each test subject.
Regarding claim 13, Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Hasegawa 0170 hereinabove, discloses the health condition estimation system according to Claim 12. Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Hasegawa 0170 hereinabove, does not disclose wherein: the controller is configured to obtain an estimation formula for calculating the health information at least based on the gas information, which is updated by the analysis apparatus.
However, Hasegawa 0170 directed to a diagnosis system comprising a controller (fig. 2) discloses wherein: the controller (remote control 8 provided with the built-in data analyzer, fig. 2, para. [0154]) is configured to obtain an estimation formula for calculating the health information at least based on the gas information, which is updated by the analysis apparatus (“declares the information on the above via the device 10 … physical condition display table and the diagnosis table are created for each age and sex of test subjects, and are updated in succession to be suited to each piece of information inputted to the server 12”, para. [0300-0301], fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Hasegawa 0170 hereinabove, such that the controller is configured to obtain an estimation formula for calculating the health information at least based on the gas information, which is updated by the analysis apparatus, in view of the teachings of Hasegawa 0170, as this would aid in providing a latest physical condition display table which is suited to the test subject who performed measurement of physical condition.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda in view of Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Hasegawa 0170, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Ikeda (US 20190195763 A1 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 14, Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Hasegawa 0170 hereinabove, discloses the health condition estimation system according to Claim 11. Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Hasegawa 0170 hereinabove, does not disclose wherein: the controller is configured to update an estimation formula for calculating the health information at least based on the gas information by conducting a multiple regression analysis based on the intestinal bacterial status associated with information used for generating the health information.
However, Hasegawa 0170 directed to a diagnosis system comprising a controller (fig. 2) discloses wherein: the controller (remote control 8 provided with the built-in data analyzer, fig. 2, para. [0154]) is configured to update an estimation formula for calculating the health information at least based on the gas information (“declares the information on the above via the device 10 … physical condition display table and the diagnosis table are created for each age and sex of test subjects, and are updated in succession to be suited to each piece of information inputted to the server 12”, para. [0300-0301], fig. 13) by conducting analysis based on the intestinal bacterial status associated with information used for generating the health information (“analyzed … health improvement measure … defecation gas data … associated … intestinal bacteria”, para. [0314]). Hasegawa further discloses by associating the time-dependent change characteristic of the test subject defecation gas data with supplements, health food, medicines, dietary habits, exercise habits and the like, the effect of the measures for health can be verified.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Hasegawa 0170 hereinabove, such that the controller is configured to update an estimation formula for calculating the health information at least based on the gas information by conducting analysis based on the intestinal bacterial status associated with information used for generating the health information, in view of the teachings of Hasegawa 0170, as this would aid in verifying the effect of the measures for health by associating the time-dependent change characteristic of the test subject defecation gas data with supplements, health food, medicines, dietary habits, exercise habits and the like.
Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Hasegawa 0170 hereinabove, does not disclose conducting a multiple regression analysis based on the intestinal bacterial status associated with information used for generating the health information.
However, Ikeda discloses conducting a multiple regression analysis (“calculating the concentration of the component to be detected … multiple regression analysis”, para. [0043-0045], figs. 3A-3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, and Hasegawa 0170 hereinabove, such that the controller is configured to conduct a multiple regression analysis, in view of the teachings of Ikeda, as this would aid in calculating the concentration of the component to be detected and verifying the effect of the measure of health by using multiple regression analysis to analyze the health improvement measure and defecation gas data.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda in view of Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, Takeshita 2005, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Imoto (US 20050252273 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, discloses the health condition estimation method according to Claim 15.
Ueda further discloses storing signals obtained from the plurality of sensors (page 10 lines 4-6 & 11 lines 13-19 & page 12 lines 1-17).
Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the separately supplying comprises: driving an air supply unit to supply the second gas from the second inlet to the chamber through a supply passage; storing signals continuously obtained from the plurality of sensors while the second gas is supplied to the chamber; stopping the air supply unit after a second gas detection time has elapsed; driving the air supply unit to supply the first gas from the first inlet to the chamber through the supply passage; and storing signals continuously obtained from the plurality of sensors while the first gas is supplied to the chamber.
However, Imoto directed to a gas detector discloses wherein the separately supplying (fig. 1) comprises: driving an air supply unit (syringe 3, figs. 1-2, “step 1”, para. [0066-0067]) to supply the second gas from the second inlet (gas cylinder 9 & piping 12b & valve 8b, fig. 1) to the chamber (7, figs. 1 & 5B) through a supply passage (piping 12a & 12b, as seen in fig. 1) (“second valve 8b, opened … zero gas is introduced into sensor unit 7”, para. [0066-0067, 0090]); measuring signals continuously obtained from the plurality of sensors ( sensors 30a, 30b, and 30c, fig. 5B & 7) while the second gas is supplied to the chamber (step 1 & 1st time, figs. 2 & 7-8, “zero point of sensor signal 17 is measured”, para. [0067]); stopping the air supply unit after a second gas detection time has elapsed (as seen in fig. 2, “second valve 8b closed”, para. [0068, 0090, 0103]); driving the air supply unit (syringe 3, figs. 1-2, “step 2”, para. [0068-0069]) to supply the first gas from the first inlet (intake port 14, fig. 1) to the chamber through the supply passage (piping 12a & 12b, as seen in fig. 1) (“first valve 8a opened … test gas is introduced … into sensor unit 7”, para. [0068-0069, 0090]); and measuring signals continuously obtained from the plurality of sensors while the first gas is supplied to the chamber (step 2 & 2nd time, figs. 2 & 7-8, “zero point of sensor signal 17 is measured”, para. [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ueda, as modified by Takeshita 2006, Okubo, Londergan, and Takeshita 2005 hereinabove, such that the separately supplying comprises: driving an air supply unit to supply the second gas from the second inlet to the chamber through a supply passage; storing signals continuously obtained from the plurality of sensors while the second gas is supplied to the chamber; stopping the air supply unit after a second gas detection time has elapsed; driving the air supply unit to supply the first gas from the first inlet to the chamber through the supply passage; and storing signals continuously obtained from the plurality of sensors while the first gas is supplied to the chamber, in view of the teachings of Imoto, as this would aid in accurate measurement of odor in ambient gas by alternately introducing ambient gas and test gas to make measurements.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/A.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/AURELIE H TU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791