Claims 1-16 are currently presented for Examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
4. The amendment filed on 07/29/2026 has been entered and considered by the examiner. By the amendment, claims 1, 9 and 10 are amended and claim 15-16 are newly added. Following Applicants arguments and amendments made, the, the 102 rejections of the claims is still maintained in view of the amendment made. See office action for detail.
Response to Arguments
Applicant 103 arguments
Currently amended independent claim 1 differs from Schubert at least with respect to the limitations for at least two reasons, 1) they do not simulate the first network itself, and 2) they simulate a device from the opposite side (i.e., an external device) as the claimed embodiments.
For example, with respect to currently amended independent claim 1, the reference to Schubert fails to teach or suggest at least the following limitations:
a simulation unit including at least one processor, connected to the first network port, which is configured to receive network-specific data from the real first network via the first network port, to provide a virtual simulation network of the real first network in accordance with the network-specific data received, and to provide the provided virtual simulation network, via the second network port, for access to the provided virtual simulation network from the real second network,
wherein the simulation unit is further configured to simulate or virtually model the real first network with the virtual simulation network,
wherein the real first network is formed by a plurality of interconnected devices
wherein the real first network is a security-critical network, and
wherein the real second network is a diagnostic network, a local network, or the internet.
Examiner response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As previously discussed in the interview summary dated 06/29/2026, Examiner provides the detail claim interpretation and mapping in view of Schubert. Same response applies here as well.
Schubert still discloses “a simulation unit including at least one processor, connected to the first network port, which is configured to receive network-specific data from the real first network via the first network port, to provide a virtual simulation network of the real first network in accordance with the network-specific data received, and to provide the provided virtual simulation network, via the second network port, for access to the provided virtual simulation network from the real second network”. Schubert discloses a “virtual network simulation module 612” (see fig 6-8 and [0076]) and also teaches the virtual network manager 726 may be configured to create a virtual network based on the data received from the external network interface circuit integration module 718. The virtual network simulation module 612 may communicate with the non-BMS network 504 via the communication driver 720. (see [0087-0088]) The virtual device 800 is configured to represent a non-BMS device as BMS device. (see [0091]) The virtual device manager 848 can receive data point values, device type information, device status information, and other information related to an associated non-BMS device via the virtual network manager 726. In a further embodiment, the virtual device manager 848 emulates multiple network devices based on devices listed the virtual device table 728. See para [0093] In a further embodiment, the virtual device manager 848 emulates multiple network devices based on devices listed the virtual device table 728. See also para 104-the virtual devices 710, 712 are exposed to the BMS network 502.)
Examiner note: From above, Examiner consider the non-BMS network 504 as the first real network, the BMS network 502 as the second real network, first network port as interface 632/620 and second network port as interface 622/618 see fig 6 and the simulation unit as virtual network simulation module 612 Schubert teaches creation of virtual network based on data obtained from multiples devices on the non-BMS network. See [0088] In one embodiment, the virtual network manager 726 is responsible for creation and management of virtual devices 710, 712. Virtual network manager 726 may be configured to create a virtual network based on the data received from the external network interface circuit integration module 718. See also para 104-the virtual devices 710, 712 are exposed to the BMS network 502. Thus, Schubert teaches that the second network obtains access to the virtual network representation created by the simulation unit.
“wherein the simulation unit is further configured to simulate or virtually model the real first network with the virtual simulation network;” (see Schubert [0088]- The virtual network manager 726 may be configured to create a virtual network based on the data received from the external network interface circuit integration module 718. For example, if the external network interface circuit integration module 718 provides data from multiple non-BMS devices or systems, the virtual network manager can create virtual devices associated with the received data. See para [0091-0093-]- The virtual device 800 is configured to represent a non-BMS device as a BMS device to the BMS network. In a further embodiment, the virtual device manager 848 emulates multiple network devices based on devices listed the virtual device table 728.)
According to the published spec [0010]- “The term “virtual” in the present case may be understood to mean that the simulation network simulates or virtually models the first real network”. From the above citation and instant spec, the virtual device manager emulates multiple network devices based on a listing in a virtual device table, fulfilling the concept of virtually modeling or simulating network components.
Regarding the newly added limitation, for claim 1 "wherein the real first network is a security-critical network" (See Schubert [0072]-In some embodiments, the non-BMS network 504 may be a proprietary network associated with the thirty-party devices and systems. For example, metering systems, refrigeration systems, fire safety and/or suppression systems, and/or lighting systems may utilize proprietary or restricted protocols to communicate between devices within the systems.) and "wherein the real second network is a diagnostic network, a local network, or the internet" (see Schubert [0069]-the BMS network 502 may be any other applicable network, such as a local area network (LAN), a wireless local area network (WLAN), an EthernetIP network, or any other applicable network for controlling a building management system). Thus, the 102 is still maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schubert et al (PUB NO: US20190356513A1)
Regarding claim 1
Schubert teaches a transmission device for transmitting data between a real first network and a real second network, (see fig 5-6 and para 73- The BMS 500 is further shown to include a smart gateway 530. The smart gateway 530 is configured to provide an interface between the BMS network 502 and the non-BMS network 504. For example, the smart gateway 530 may convert data transmitted over the non-BMS network 504 into a compatible network protocol, such as BACnet, for use with the BMS network. The smart gateway 530 will be described in further detail below. In one embodiment, the smart gateway can read and write data to both the BMS network 502 and the non-BMS network 504. In some examples, the smart gateway 500 may further have a wireless radio for communicating with one or more user devices, such as mobile device 532. In some embodiments, a user accesses the smart gateway 530 via a mobile device 532, allowing the user access to the non-BMS network 504 and/or the BMS network 502.) wherein the transmission device has a first network port for coupling to the real first network and a second network port for coupling to the real second network (See fig 6 and para 74-82- Turning now to FIG. 6, a schematic view illustrating the smart gateway 530 of FIG. 5 is shown, according to some embodiments. The smart gateway 530 includes a BMS interface circuit 600 and an external network interface circuit 602. The BMS interface circuit 600 may further include a BMS network interface 622. The BMS network interface 622 can provide communication to and from the BMS network 502. The BMS interface circuit 600 further includes a communication interface 618. The communication interface 618 is configured to communicate with a second communication interface 620 located on the external network interface circuit 602. In one embodiment, the external network interface circuit 602 is configured to interface with the non-BMS network 504. The external network interface circuit 602 may interface with the non-BMS network 504 via a non-BMS network communication interface 632. and also comprises:
a simulation unit included at least one processor, connected to the first network port, which is configured to receive network-specific data from the real first network via the first network port, to provide a virtual simulation network of the real first network in accordance with the network-specific data received, and to provide the provided virtual simulation network, via the second network port, for access to the provided virtual simulation network from the real second network. (See para 87-88- and fig 5-7 - The virtual network simulation module 612 may communicate with the non-BMS network 504 via the communication driver 720. The external network interface circuit integration module 718 is configured to translate the data from the external network interface circuit 602, for use in the virtual network simulation module 612. The external network interface circuit integration module 718 may parse the received data by data type, device type, device address, etc. The external network interface circuit integration module 718 can then provide the parsed data to the virtual BMS application layer 714. The virtual network manager 726 may be configured to create a virtual network based on the data received from the external network interface circuit integration module 718. For example, if the external network interface circuit integration module 718 provides data from multiple non-BMS devices or systems, the virtual network manager can create virtual devices associated with the received data. See para 93-Finally, at process block 1208 the virtual devices 710, 712 are exposed to the BMS network 502 by the network layer 704. Exposing virtual devices 710, 712 to the BMS network 502 allows for devices or services on the BMS network 502 to see the virtual devices 710, 712 as field devices associated with the BMS network 502.)
wherein the simulation unit is further configured to simulate or virtually model the real first network with the virtual simulation network. (see Schubert “see [0088]- The virtual network manager 726 may be configured to create a virtual network based on the data received from the external network interface circuit integration module 718. For example, if the external network interface circuit integration module 718 provides data from multiple non-BMS devices or systems, the virtual network manager can create virtual devices associated with the received data. See para [0091-0093-]- The virtual device 800 is configured to represent a non-BMS device as a BMS device to the BMS network. In a further embodiment, the virtual device manager 848 emulates multiple network devices based on devices listed the virtual device table 728.)
wherein the real first network is formed by a plurality of interconnected devices. (See para 71- In one example, the non-BMS network 504 may provide communications between an external network central controller 512, one or more outdoor units 514, a first third party system sub-system 516, and a second third party sub-system 518. As shown in FIG. 5, the first third-party sub-system 516 includes an outdoor unit 520, and two indoor units 522, 524. The outdoor unit may be an outdoor refrigeration unit. The indoor units 522, 524 may be indoor refrigeration units, such as blowers, fan coils and/or air-conditioning units. Similarly, the second third party system 518 may include an outdoor unit 526 and one or more indoor units 528.)
wherein the real first network is a security-critical network, (See Schubert [0072]-In some embodiments, the non-BMS network 504 may be a proprietary network associated with the thirty-party devices and systems. For example, metering systems, refrigeration systems, fire safety and/or suppression systems, and/or lighting systems may utilize proprietary or restricted protocols to communicate between devices within the systems.) and
wherein the real second network is a diagnostic network, a local network, or the internet. (see Schubert [0069]-the BMS network 502 may be any other applicable network, such as a local area network (LAN), a wireless local area network (WLAN), an EthernetIP network, or any other applicable network for controlling a building management system)
Regarding claim 2
Schubert teaches the transmission device as claimed in claim 1. Schubert further teaches wherein the simulation unit is also configured to simulate the virtual simulation network in accordance with at least three different simulation levels. (See fig 7 and para 83-Turning now to FIG. 7 an interface diagram showing the interaction between the gateway executable module 610 and the virtual network simulation module 612 of the BMS interface circuit is shown, according to some embodiments. As shown in FIG. 7, the gateway executable module 610 can include a data access component 700, a BMS application layer 702, a network layer 704, an IP datalink layer 706 and a virtual datalink layer 708. The virtual simulation module 612 is shown to include a first virtual device 710 and a second virtual device 712. While only two virtual devices 710, 712 are shown, it is contemplated that multiple virtual devices may be located within the virtual simulation module 612. In one embodiment, the virtual simulation module 612 may include up to two-hundred virtual devices. However, in other embodiments, the virtual network simulation module 612 may include more than two-hundred virtual devices or less than two-hundred virtual devices. The virtual network simulation module 612 may further include a BMS application layer 714, a network layer 716, an external network interface circuit integration module 718, a communication driver 720, and a virtual datalink layer 722.)
Regarding claim 3
Schubert teaches the transmission device as claimed in claim 2. Schubert further teaches wherein the simulation unit is configured, depending on the network-specific data received, to simulate the virtual simulation network in a first simulation level of the at least three different simulation levels by at least one network topology of the real first network, (see para 83-89- In a further embodiment, the virtual BMS application layer 714 can be configured to map the received data into a virtual device table 728. In one embodiment, the virtual device table 728 may be populated with data related to one or more of virtual devices 710, 712. In one embodiment, the virtual device table 728 may be configured to represent a list of virtual BACnet objects; however other data object types are contemplated. In one embodiment, the virtual device table 728 is modified for each virtual device 710, 712 created by the virtual network manager 726. The virtual device table 728 may further provide mapping between the virtual devices 710, 712 and the associated non-BMS devices.)
in a second simulation level of the at least three different simulation levels by at least one layer of a network protocol and/or a display of a service based on the real first network, (see para 86- The network layer 704 can modify the data stored in the one or more virtual devices 710, 712 to be presented over a network. In one embodiment, the network layer 704 modifies the data stored in the virtual devices 710, 712 for transmission over a BMS network using a BACnet protocol.)
and in a third simulation level of the at least three different simulation levels by at least one content-plausible web page based on the real first network. (See para 77- The webserver 614 is configured to process and deliver web pages to a user. In one embodiment, the webserver 614 may be an HTTP webserver. The webserver 614 may be configured to deliver images, such as HTML documents to a user via the mobile device 532. The webserver 614 may support server-side scripting, Active Server Pages, or other scripting languages. The webserver 614 may further be configured to provide information or generate web-pages to devices in a local network. For example, the webserver 614 may be configured to provide web-pages to devices which are connected directly to the smart gateway 530, such as via wireless radio 616. In some embodiments, the webserver 614 can provide a web-portal for a user to access the smart gateway 530. In some embodiments, the user can access the smart gateway 530 via mobile device 532 by accessing the web-portal (e.g. website) generated by the webserver 614. In some embodiments, the web-portal provides basic information associated with the smart gateway 530, such as configuration data, network data, status, errors, etc. In further embodiments, the web-portal may allow the user to fully configure the smart gateway 530 via the mobile device 532. For example, the user may be able to connect the smart gateway 530 to both the BMS network 502 and the non-BMS network 504 via the web-portal. In still further embodiments, the user may be able to configure the one or more devices associated with the non-BMS network 504 via the web-portal. This can allow a user to quickly and easily configure the smart gateway 530 such to provide the interface between the BMS network 502 and the non-BMS network 504.)
Regarding claim 4
Schubert teaches the transmission device as claimed in claim 1. Schubert further teaches wherein the transmission device further comprises a configuration unit including at least one processor, which is configured to receive network-specific data from the real first network via the first network port, to analyze the data and to use the analyzed network-specific data as configuration data for configuring the virtual simulation network. (See para 94-95-At process block 900, the external network interface circuit 602 is initialized. At process block 904, the external network interface circuit 602 communicates with the non-BMS network 504 to discover all devices and/or subsystems on the non-BMS network 504. In one example, the external network interface circuit 602 communicates with the non-BMS network 504 via the non-BMS communication interface 632. At process block 908, the discovered devices can be polled to obtain values for one or more data points associated with the discovered devices. In one embodiment, the external network interface circuit 602 performs the polling. In one embodiment, the polling may be conducted immediately upon the data structures being set up at process block 906. In other embodiments, the polling may be conducted at regular intervals to ensure that the device data is current. Once the discovered devices have been polled, the device data structures are updated at process block 910. At process block 912, the external network interface circuit 602 can schedule and parse the data to be sent to the BMS interface circuit. See para 100-102-The external network interface circuit 602 then transmits data packet 1110 to the virtual network manager 726. The virtual network manager 726 may then receive the data packet 1110 and update the virtual device at process block 1112. virtual network manager 726 may then receive the data packet 1110 and update the virtual device at process block 1118)
Regarding claim 5
Schubert teaches the transmission device as claimed in claim 4. Schubert further teaches wherein the configuration unit is further configured to configure the virtual simulation network automatically using the configuration data at least at a specific point in time, the at least one specific point in time comprising a point in time during the operation of the simulation unit. (See para 100-102- The virtual network manager 726 may then receive the data packet 1110 and update the virtual device at process block 1112. In some embodiments, the virtual network manager 726 may also indicate modify the virtual device to indicate that it is “Online” after receiving updated data if the virtual device was previously indicated as “Offline.” See also para 67- For example, building subsystems 428 can generate temporal (i.e., time-series) data indicating the performance of BMS 400 and the various components thereof.)
Regarding claim 6
Schubert teaches the transmission device as claimed in claim 4. Schubert further teaches wherein the transmission device is configured to run the simulation unit and the configuration unit in parallel. (See para 83-84-Turning now to FIG. 7 an interface diagram showing the interaction between the gateway executable module 610 and the virtual network simulation module 612 of the BMS interface circuit is shown, according to some embodiments. See para 93-94-The virtual device 800 may further include a virtual device manager 848. The virtual device manager 848 is configured to interface with the virtual network manager 726. The virtual device manager 848 can receive data point values, device type information, device status information, and other information related to an associated non-BMS device via the virtual network manager 726. See para 108- Also two or more steps may be performed concurrently or with partial concurrence.)
Regarding claim 8
Schubert teaches the transmission device as claimed in claim 1. Schubert further teaches wherein the transmission device is configured to carry out data transmission between the real first network and the real second network in a transmission layer, layer 2 according to the OSI/ISO Layer model. (See para 86- The IP datalink layer 706 is configured to access an IP based network. For example, where the BMS network 502 is BACnet IP, the IP datalink layer may package and transmit the data modified by the network layer 704 over the BACnet IP network. In other examples, the IP datalink layer 706 may be used where the BMS network 502 is any type of IP based network. The virtual datalink layer 708 may be configured to receive and transmit data to the virtual network simulation module 612. In one embodiment, the virtual datalink layer 708 communicates with the virtual network simulation module 612 via the virtual data link layer 722.)
Regarding claim 9
Schubert teaches the transmission device as claimed in claim 1. Schubert further teaches wherein the real first network comprises a control network, (see para 71-72In some embodiments, the non-BMS network 504 may be a proprietary network associated with the thirty-party devices and systems. For example, metering systems, refrigeration systems, fire safety and/or suppression systems, and/or lighting systems may utilize proprietary or restricted protocols to communicate between devices within the systems. However, the first third-party sub-system 516 and the second third-party sub-system 518 may be other types of sub-systems, such as chiller systems, HVAC system, AHU's, VAV's, security systems, or other system associated with a building management system)
Regarding claim 14
Schubert teaches the transmission device as claimed in claim 1. Schubert further teaches wherein at least the simulation unit, the configuration unit the first network port and the second network port are implemented in a common housing. (see para [0073-0074], [0076-0077] and [0080-0082] and see fig 4 and para 51- Processor 406 can be implemented as a general purpose processor, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), one or more field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), a group of processing components, or other suitable electronic processing components.)
Examiner note: Smart gateway 530 contains all components in one device.
Regarding claim 15
Schubert teaches the transmission device as claimed in claim 1. Schubert further teaches wherein the transmission device is partially or completely configured as a gateway. (See para 73-The BMS 500 is further shown to include a smart gateway 530. The smart gateway 530 is configured to provide an interface between the BMS network 502 and the non-BMS network 504.)
Regarding claim 16
Schubert teaches the transmission device as claimed in claim 1. Schubert further teaches wherein the first network port is a physical network port. (See para 50- For example, interfaces 407, 409 can include an Ethernet card and port for sending and receiving data via an Ethernet-based communications link or network. See also para 79- In other examples, the communication interfaces 618, 620 may be other types of serial interfaces such as RS-232, RS-485, or other applicable serial communication types.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schubert et al (PUB NO: US20190356513A1) in view of Litichever et al. (PUB NO: US20200389469A1)
Regarding claim 7
Schubert teaches the transmission device as claimed in claim 1. Schubert does not teach wherein the transmission device configured to receive the data from the real first network via a network switch arranged between the real first network and the first network port, wherein at least one input of the network switch is connected to the real first network for data transmission and a mirror port implemented as an output of the network switch is connected to the first network port for data transmission.
In the related field of invention, Litichever teaches wherein the transmission device configured to receive the data from the real first network via a network switch arranged between the real first network and the first network port, wherein at least one input of the network switch is connected to the real first network for data transmission and a mirror port implemented as an output of the network switch is connected to the first network port for data transmission. (See para 186-188-A switch is a device in a computer network that connects together other devices. Multiple data cables are plugged into a switch to enable communication between different networked devices. Switches manage the flow of data across a network by transmitting a received network packet only to the one or more devices for which the packet is intended. Each networked device connected to a switch can be identified by its network address, allowing the switch to direct the flow of traffic maximizing the security and efficiency of the network. A switch is more intelligent than an Ethernet hub, which simply retransmits packets out of every port of the hub except the port on which the packet was received, unable to distinguish different recipients, and achieving an overall lower network efficiency. An Ethernet switch operates at the data link layer (layer 2) of the OSI model to create a separate collision domain for each switch port. Each device connected to a switch port can transfer data to any of the other ports at any time and the transmissions will not interfere. Managed switches have one or more methods to modify the operation of the switch. Common management methods include: a Command-Line Interface (CLI) accessed via serial console, telnet or Secure Shell, an embedded Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP) agent allowing management from a remote console or management station, or a web interface for management from a web browser. Examples of configuration changes that one can do from a managed switch include: enabling features such as Spanning Tree Protocol or port mirroring, setting port bandwidth, creating or modifying virtual LANs (VLANs), etc.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart gateway device for providing communications between multiple networks as disclosed by Schubert to include wherein the transmission device configured to receive the data from the real first network via a network switch arranged between the real first network and the first network port, wherein at least one input of the network switch is connected to the real first network for data transmission and a mirror port implemented as an output of the network switch is connected to the first network port for data transmission as taught by Litichever in the system of Schubert in order to for protecting a network (such as a vehicular or automotive network) from malware by performing analysis of received messages not at the point of entry of the messages, and in particular, redirecting (such as by tunneling) the received messages for analysis by an analyzer in the network. Another motivation in order to improve network performance and monitoring. (See para 002 0198, Litichever)
Regarding claim 10
Schubert teaches the transmission device as claimed in claim 1. Schubert does not teach wherein the transmission device is partially or completely configured as a unidirectional data diode or as a firewall.
In the related field of invention, Litichever teaches wherein the transmission device is partially or completely configured as a unidirectional data diode or as a firewall. (See para 197-In the network for an enterprise, a computer server acting as a gateway node is often also acting as a proxy server and a firewall server.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart gateway device for providing communications between multiple networks as disclosed by Schubert to include wherein the transmission device is partially or completely configured as a unidirectional data diode or as a firewall as taught by Litichever in the system of Schubert in order to for protecting a network (such as a vehicular or automotive network) from malware by performing analysis of received messages not at the point of entry of the messages, and in particular, redirecting (such as by tunneling) the received messages for analysis by an analyzer in the network. Another motivation is to improve network performance and monitoring. (See para 002, 0198, Litichever)
Regarding claim 11
Schubert teaches the transmission device as claimed in claim 1. Schubert does not teach wherein the transmission device is configured to provide the real second network with a routing table comprising a plurality A of IP addresses of nodes of the real first network.
In the related field of invention, Litichever teaches wherein the transmission device is configured to provide the real second network with a routing table comprising a plurality A of IP addresses of nodes of the real first network. (See para 190-197-A router is a networking device that forwards data packets between computer networks. Routers perform the traffic directing functions on the Internet. A data packet is typically forwarded from one router to another router through the networks that constitute an internetwork until it reaches its destination node. A router is connected to two or more data lines from different networks. When a data packet comes in on one of the lines, the router reads the network address information in the packet to determine the ultimate destination. Then, using information in its routing table or routing policy, it directs the packet to the next network on its journey. When multiple routers are used in interconnected networks, the routers can exchange information about destination addresses using a routing protocol. Each router builds up a routing table listing the preferred routes between any two systems on the interconnected networks. The main purpose of a router is to connect multiple networks and forward packets destined either for its own networks or other networks. A router is considered a layer-3 device because its primary forwarding decision is based on the information in the layer-3 IP packet, specifically the destination IP address. When a router receives a packet, it searches its routing table to find the best match between the destination IP address of the packet and one of the addresses in the routing table. Once a match is found, the packet is encapsulated in the layer-2 data link frame for the outgoing interface indicated in the table entry. In the network for an enterprise, a computer server acting as a gateway node is often also acting as a proxy server and a firewall server. A gateway is often associated with both a router, which knows where to direct a given packet of data that arrives at the gateway, and a switch, which furnishes the actual path in and out of the gateway for a given packet.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart gateway device for providing communications between multiple networks as disclosed by Schubert to include wherein the transmission device is configured to provide the real second network with a routing table comprising a plurality A of IP addresses of nodes of the real first network as taught by Litichever in the system of Schubert in order to for protecting a network (such as a vehicular or automotive network) from malware by performing analysis of received messages not at the point of entry of the messages, and in particular, redirecting (such as by tunneling) the received messages for analysis by an analyzer in the network. (See para 002, Litichever)
Regarding claim 12
Schubert teaches the transmission device as claimed in claim 1. Schubert does not teach wherein the transmission device is configured to provide the real second network with at least one specific IP address of a specific node of the real first network.
In the related field of invention, Litichever teaches wherein the transmission device is configured to provide the real second network with at least one specific IP address of a specific node of the real first network. (See para 190-197-A router is a networking device that forwards data packets between computer networks. Routers perform the traffic directing functions on the Internet. A data packet is typically forwarded from one router to another router through the networks that constitute an internetwork until it reaches its destination node. A router is connected to two or more data lines from different networks. When a data packet comes in on one of the lines, the router reads the network address information in the packet to determine the ultimate destination. Then, using information in its routing table or routing policy, it directs the packet to the next network on its journey. When multiple routers are used in interconnected networks, the routers can exchange information about destination addresses using a routing protocol. Each router builds up a routing table listing the preferred routes between any two systems on the interconnected networks. The main purpose of a router is to connect multiple networks and forward packets destined either for its own networks or other networks. A router is considered a layer-3 device because its primary forwarding decision is based on the information in the layer-3 IP packet, specifically the destination IP address. When a router receives a packet, it searches its routing table to find the best match between the destination IP address of the packet and one of the addresses in the routing table. Once a match is found, the packet is encapsulated in the layer-2 data link frame for the outgoing interface indicated in the table entry. In the network for an enterprise, a computer server acting as a gateway node is often also acting as a proxy server and a firewall server. A gateway is often associated with both a router, which knows where to direct a given packet of data that arrives at the gateway, and a switch, which furnishes the actual path in and out of the gateway for a given packet.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the smart gateway device for providing communications between multiple networks as disclosed by Schubert to include wherein the transmission device is configured to provide the real second network with at least one specific IP address of a specific node of the real first network as taught by Litichever in the system of Schubert in order to for protecting a network (such as a vehicular or automotive network) from malware by performing analysis of received messages not at the point of entry of the messages, and in particular, redirecting (such as by tunneling) the received messages for analysis by an analyzer in the network. (See para 002, Litichever)
Regarding claim 13
The combination of Schuber and Litichever teaches the transmission device as claimed in claim 11. Schubert further teaches wherein the network-specific data comprises measured values, at least a number T of nodes of the real first network, operating states of nodes of the real first network and/or a technical process executed by at least one node of the real first network. (See para 92-93-The data points may be binary output data points 804, binary input data points 806, analog output data points 808, analog input data points 810, multi-state outputs 812, and multi-state inputs 814. The binary input data points 806 may include data points such as a run/stop input 822, a filter sign 824, a communication state 826, an alarm signal 828, and a prohibit operation input 830. The analog output data points 808 may include an indoor temperature setpoint output 832. The analog input data points 810 may include an indoor intake temperature input 834 and an indoor temperature setpoint 836. The multi-state output data points 812 may include an operation mode output 838 and a fan speed output 840. The multi-state input data points 814 may include data points such as an operation mode state input 842, an alarm code 844, and a fan speed input 846.)
Conclusion
7. All claims 1-16 are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10348767 B1 Lee et al.
Discussing a method for better cloud computing security to protect against attacks and reduce network vulnerability.
US 8010469 B2 Kapoor et al.
Discussing a system for flow processing and switching, security, and other network applications, including a facility that processes a data flow to address patterns relevant to a variety of conditions are directed at internal network security, virtualization, and web connection security.
/PURSOTTAM GIRI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2186