DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 15, 16, 19-29, are pending and being examined.
Response to Amendment
The previous rejections are maintained and the arguments are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 16, 19-29, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0342088 A1 to Hatakeyama et al. (hereinafter Hatakeyama) and further in view of US 2012/0128891 A1 to Takei et al. (hereinafter Takei).
Regarding claims 15, 16, 19-25, 27, 28, Hatakeyama teaches resist underlayer film forming composition comprising a novolac resin (See abstract), wherein the novolac resin has the formula
obtained by reacting 6,6’-(9H-fluoren-9,9-diyl)di(2-naphthol) with 4-(trifluoromethyl)benzaldehyde (para 147-149), which meets the claimed formula (1) cited in claims 15, 16, 19-29. Hatakeyama also teaches the composition contains a crosslinking agent (para 99-106) and an acid generator (para 107-108).
Hatakeyama further teaches a patterning process comprising forming a resist underlayer film on a substate using the above resist underlayer composition, forming an inorganic intermediate hard mask film on the resist underlayer film to form an antireflection film, forming a resist upper layer film on the antireflection film, exposing the region to light and developing to form a resist pattern in the resist upper layer film, transferring the pattern to the antireflection film by etching, transferring the pattern to the inorganic hard mask intermediate film by etching, and transferring the pattern to the resist underlayer by etching (para 139) wherein the resist upper layer is formed from an ArF Resist film composition of a resist polymer, and acid generator (para 189-191), which meets the curable composition adhesive layer. The above meets the method of claims 15, 16, 19-29. Hatakeyama further teaches the above composition comprising the novolac resin has good filling property, generates little outgass and is excellent in dry-etching resistance and heat resistance (para 15, 17, and 25).
Hatakeyama does not explicitly teach forming the resist pattern by contacting the curable composition with a mold such as in nanoimprinting.
However, Takei teaches resist underlayer film used in nanoimprint lithography (See abstract), which is the same field of the Applicant’s invention of resist underlayer processed by nanoimprinting. Take further teaches a nanoimprinting process by photo-imprint by forming a resist pattern by using a light transmittable template (mold) (para 154), wherein the template is pressed against the upper resist layer with heat-baking and/or light-irradiation, and is parted to form a resist pattern, wherein the resist underlayer is etched according to the resist pattern to form the semiconductor device. (para 154-164). Takei further teaches that the nanoimprinting process with photo-imprint is excellent in alignment position and productivity, causes a small amount of defects, and takes a shorter processing time, and is suitable for finer processing. (para 154).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to use the nanoimprinting process of Takei to form the resist pattern of Hatakeyama because Takei teaches the same field of the Applicant’s invention of resist underlayer processed by nanoimprinting and Takei further teaches that the nanoimprinting process with photo-imprint is excellent in alignment position and productivity, causes a small amount of defects, and takes a shorter processing time, and is suitable for finer processing. (para 154).
Regarding claims 26 and 29, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the novolac composition of Hatakeyama to have the claimed pure-water contact angle properties of the claimed invention because Hatakeyama teaches a substantially identical novolac composition to the claimed invention such as a novolac resin obtained from reacting 6,6’-(9H-fluoren-9,9-diyl)di(2-naphthol) with 4-(trifluoromethyl)benzaldehyde, which is meets the claimed formula A of claim 5, and similarly uses the 4-(trifluoromethyl)benzaldehyde of the Applicant’s Synthesis Examples, and the Applicant recites in their specification that novolacs having the trifluoromethyl groups will exhibit the specific high pure-water contact angle (para 223-226 of US publication). See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Claim(s) 15, 16, 19-21, 23-29, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/043410 A1 in which US 2019/0212649 A1 to Saito et al. is used below as the US equivalent. (hereinafter Saito) and further in view of US 2012/0128891 A1 to Takei et al. (hereinafter Takei).
Regarding claims 15, 16, 19-21, 23-25, 27, 28, Saito teaches resist underlayer film forming composition comprising a polymer (See abstract), wherein the polymer unit has the formula
(para 55) obtained by N,N’diphenyl-1,4-phenylene diamine with 4-tert-butylbenzaldehyde (para 147-149), which meets the claimed formula (1) cited in claims 15, 16, 19-21, 23-29. Saito also teaches the composition contains a crosslinking agent (para 56-62) and an acidic catalyst (para 63-65). Saito further teaches a resist patterning process comprising forming a resist underlayer film on a substrate and baking to cure and form an underlayer film. (para 77). A resist is applied on the resist underlayer film irradiated by an electron beam or light and baked to form a pattern, and the resist underlayer film is developed and patterned by etching (para 77), wherein the resist is a novolac resin photoresist with a binder and photoacid generator (i.e. curable resin), (para 73-74). Saito further teaches a hard mask such as silicon nitride oxide can be applied on the resist underlayer film and forming a resist film on the hard mask before the irradiating/patterning/etching step (para 84). The above meets the method of claims 15, 16, 19-21, 23-29.
Saito does not explicitly teach forming the resist pattern by contacting the curable composition with a mold such as in nanoimprinting.
However, Takei teaches resist underlayer film used in nanoimprint lithography (See abstract), which is the same field of the Applicant’s invention of resist underlayer processed by nanoimprinting. Takei further teaches a nanoimprinting process by photo-imprint by forming a resist pattern by using a light transmittable template (mold) (para 154), wherein the template is pressed against the upper resist layer with heat-baking and/or light-irradiation, and is parted to form a resist pattern, wherein the resist underlayer is etched according to the resist pattern to form the semiconductor device. (para 154-164). Takei further teaches that the nanoimprinting process with photo-imprint is excellent in alignment position and productivity, causes a small amount of defects, and takes a shorter processing time, and is suitable for finer processing. (para 154).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to use the nanoimprinting process of Takei to form the resist pattern of Saito because Takei teaches the same field of the Applicant’s invention of resist underlayer processed by nanoimprinting and Takei further teaches that the nanoimprinting process with photo-imprint is excellent in alignment position and productivity, causes a small amount of defects, and takes a shorter processing time, and is suitable for finer processing. (para 154).
Regarding claims 26 and 29, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the novolac composition of Saito to have the claimed pure-water contact angle properties of the claimed invention because Saito teaches a substantially identical novolac composition to the claimed invention such as a novolac resin obtained from N,N’diphenyl-1,4-phenylene diamine with 4-tert-butylbenzaldehyde, which is meets the claimed formula A of claim 1-4, and similarly uses the 4-tert-butylbenzaldehyde of the Applicant’s Synthesis Examples, and the Applicant recites in their specification that novolacs having the 4-tert-butyl groups will exhibit the specific high pure-water contact angle (para 223-226 of US publication). See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Claim(s) 15, 16, 19-29, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017/188263 A1 in which US 2019/0137878 A1 to Tokunaga et al. is used below as the US equivalent. (hereinafter Tokunaga) and further in view of US 2012/0128891 A1 to Takei et al. (hereinafter Takei).
Regarding claims 15, 16, 19-25, 27, 28, Tokunaga teaches resist underlayer film forming composition comprising a novolac resin (See abstract), wherein the novolac resin has the formula
(para 50) obtained by carbazole with 4-(trifluoromethyl)benzaldehyde (para 97), which meets the claimed formula (1) cited in claims 15, 16, 19-29. Tokunaga also teaches the composition contains a crosslinking agent (para 55-63) and an acidic catalyst (para 64-65). Tokunaga further teaches a resist patterning process comprising forming a resist underlayer film on a substrate by applying the resist underlayer film forming composition on the substrate and baking to curing and form an underlayer film. (para 73). A resist is applied on the resist underlayer film irradiated by an electron beam or light and baked to form a pattern, and the resist underlayer film is developed and patterned by etching (para 74 and 84), wherein the resist is a novolac resin photoresist with a binder and photoacid generator (i.e. curable resin), (para 75). Tokunaga further teaches a hard mask such as silicon nitride oxide can be applied on the resist underlayer film and forming a resist film on the hard mask before the irradiating/patterning/etching step (para 88 and See method claims 10-12). The above meets the method of claims 15, 16, 19-29.
Tokunaga does not explicitly teach forming the resist pattern by contacting the curable composition with a mold such as in nanoimprinting.
However, Takei teaches resist underlayer film used in nanoimprint lithography (See abstract), which is the same field of the Applicant’s invention of resist underlayer processed by nanoimprinting. Takei further teaches a nanoimprinting process by photo-imprint by forming a resist pattern by using a light transmittable template (mold) (para 154), wherein the template is pressed against the upper resist layer with heat-baking and/or light-irradiation, and is parted to form a resist pattern, wherein the resist underlayer is etched according to the resist pattern to form the semiconductor device. (para 154-164). Takei further teaches that the nanoimprinting process with photo-imprint is excellent in alignment position and productivity, causes a small amount of defects, and takes a shorter processing time, and is suitable for finer processing. (para 154).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to use the nanoimprinting process of Takei to form the resist pattern of Tokunaga because Takei teaches the same field of the Applicant’s invention of resist underlayer processed by nanoimprinting and Takei further teaches that the nanoimprinting process with photo-imprint is excellent in alignment position and productivity, causes a small amount of defects, and takes a shorter processing time, and is suitable for finer processing. (para 154).
Regarding claims 26 and 29, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the novolac composition of Tokunaga to have the claimed pure-water contact angle properties of the claimed invention because Tokunaga teaches a substantially identical novolac composition to the claimed invention such as a novolac resin obtained from carbazole with 4-(trifluoromethyl)benzaldehyde, which is the same carbazole and 4-(trifluoromethyl)benzaldehyde used to form the novolac resins of Applicant’s Synthesis Examples, and the Applicant recites in their specification that novolacs having the trifluoromethyl groups will exhibit the specific high pure-water contact angle (para 223-226 of US publication). See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). On page 3, the Applicant argues Takei does not teach the novolac resins for the resist underlayer. This is not persuasive because, as cited in the previous office action, Hatakeyama, Saito, and/or Tokunaga, teaches the novolac resin as the resist underlayer, an adhesion layer, and an upper resist layer (i.e. curable composition), and irradiation curing, while Takei teaches the nanoimprinting method of forming the resist pattern by contacting with a mold. Takei also teaches the motivation by stating that the nanoimprinting process with photo-imprint is excellent in alignment position and productivity, causes a small amount of defects, and takes a shorter processing time, and is suitable for finer processing. (para 154).
On page 3-4, the Applicant argues that there is no reasonable expectation of success because Takei relates to a different field than Hatakeyama, Saito, and/or Tokunaga and that the rejection amounts to a mere allegation that nanoimprint processing is obvious because it is already known in the art. This is not persuasive because, as cited in the previous office action, all the prior art references are in the same field of Applicant's invention of resist underlayer films and resist pattern methods. Furthermore, the rejection is not merely based on just nanoimprinting is already known in the art, but that the nanoimprint processing is already known in the art and the art (i.e. Takei) teaches that the nanoimprinting process with photo- imprint is excellent in alignment position and productivity, causes a small amount of defects, and takes a shorter processing time, and is suitable for finer processing. (para 154). Thus, there would be a reasonable expectation of success because all of prior art references are in the same field of Applicant's invention of resist underlayer films and resist pattern formation, Takei teaches that the nanoimprinting process is a known process in the art, and Takei further gives motivation stating that photo-imprint is excellent in alignment position and productivity, causes a small amount of defects, and takes a shorter processing time, and is suitable for finer processing. (para 154). On page 4, the Applicant argues that Takei does not teach the claimed adhesion layer and/or silicone layer of claim 16. This is not persuasive because Hatakeyama, Saito, and/or Tokunaga teaches the adhesion layer upon the resist underlayer.
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766