DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1 and 8-20 are currently pending an under consideration.
The following species consistent the reply filed on 8/08/2025 is under consideration:
, wherein A is 2-trifluoromethyl-pyrid-3-yl, and R11 and R12 are both chloro.
Compact Prosecution
A telephone call was made to Applicants representative, Rong Yang, on 9/29/2026 to amend the claims to remove “preventing” and delete compounds of formula’s (Ia) and (1b) to put the application in condition for allowance. However, Applicants representative requested a Non-Final Office Action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 8/31/2026 is acknowledged and has been considered except where lined through.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites a method of controlling or preventing infestation of a plant by macrophomina spp comprising applying a compound of formula (I). Thus, the instant claims appear to encompass two different “populations” or times in which the compound of formula (I) could be applied to the plant. For example, “controlling” insinuates that the plant has the infestation by macrophomina spp prior to application of the compound of formula (I) which appears to be consistent with the examples within the specification. “Preventing” the infestation reasonably conveys that the plant has not yet gotten the infestation at the time of application of compound of Formula (I). For examination purposes, “preventing” reads on application of compound I to any plant that has not yet been infested with macrophomina spp.
Response to Amendment
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 8/31/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1 and 8-15 as being obvious based upon the prior art combination as set forth in the last Office action because: while the declaration provides direct, controlled, and statistically analyzed evidence of an unexpected technical effect for using Compound 1 to control M. phaseolina in plants the claims appear to encompass two different populations. As noted above, Claim 1 recites a method of controlling or preventing infestation of a plant by macrophomina spp comprising applying a compound of formula (I). Thus, the instant claims appear to encompass two different “populations” or times in which the compound of formula (I) could be applied to the plant. For example, “controlling” insinuates that the plant has the infestation by macrophomina spp prior to application of the compound of formula (I) which appears to be consistent with the examples within the specification. “Preventing” the infestation reasonably conveys that the plant has not yet gotten the infestation at the time of application of compound of Formula (I). For examination purposes, “preventing” reads on application of compound I to any plant that has not yet been infested with macrophomina spp. In the instant case, as noted in the prior art rejections set forth below, the claimed compounds have a broad range of activity against a variety of pathogenic microorganisms. For example, Bayer teaches that the compounds are useful for treating plants including, but not limited to, strawberries and further teaches the compounds are useful for treating phytopathogenic fungi including fungal diseases on roots and stem bases caused by charcoal rot (Macrophomina phaseolina). Moreover, Bayer teaches a number of in vitro test cell tests wherein compound 179 showed efficacy in a number of cell lines including, but not limited to, Alternaria alternata, Botrytis cinerea and Rhizoctonia solani, (examples A-K). Considering that Garrido et al. discuss that fungal pathogens causing strawberry leaf disease includes, but is not limited to, Alternaria alternata, Macrophomina phaseolina and Rhizoctonia solani, it would be prima facia obvious to treat strawberries since the compounds have been shown to be effective against Alternaria alternata, Rhizoctonia solani. Thus, this would read on prevention since the claims do not require Macrophomina phaseolina. It should be noted that:
The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) See MPEP 2144 (IV).
Objections upon re-consideration:
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites compounds having the formula’s Ia and Ib:
. However, the claim does not define any of the variables. While the examiner acknowledges that the claims also recites that the compound of formula (Ia) is a compound of Formula (Ic), wherein the variables of Ic are defined, the chemical formula’s of Ia and Ib also contain variables which are not defined and makes the claims confusing.
Appropriate correction is required.
Rejections Maintained, but Amended in view of Applicants Amendments:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8-20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayer Cropscience (WO2016/066644A1, 2016-05-06, IDS) referred to herein as Bayer in view of Garrido et al. (Genes, Genomes and Genomics 2011; 5(Special Issue 1): 24-39) and Syngenta Participations, AG (WO2015/003951A1, 2015-01-15, IDS) referred to herein as Syngenta.
Bayer teaches the use of N-(Phenylcycloalkyl)carboxamides or N-(Phenylcycloalkyl)thiocarboxamides for the control of phytopathogenic microorganisms in agriculture, wherein a compound of formula (I) is applied to the phytopathogenic microorganisms, their habitat, the plant, the seed thereof, plant parts, plant propagation material or soil on which the plants are grown or intended to be grown in an effective amount (abstract). With regards to the compound of formula (I), Bayer teaches compounds of formula I have the general structure
(page 90). In particular, Bayer teach a specific compound having the general structure of formula I, wherein B is cBu (e.g. cyclobutyl), X1 is H, X2 is H, X3 is Cl, X4 is H, X5 is Cl, Z1 is H, Z2 is H, T is O and A is 2-(trifluoromethyl)-pyridinyl-2-yl in the Cis orientation (cmpd 179, page 100). With regards to the plants, Bayer teaches that useful plants include, but are not limited to, strawberries (page 73). With regards to the phytopathogenic microorganism, Bayer teaches that phytopathogenic microorganisms, in particular phytopathogenic fungi include fungal diseases on roots and stem bases caused by charcoal rot (Macrophomina phaseolina) (page 77, lines 8-10). With regards to the application, Bayer teach that the application rates of each single active ingredient is generally between 0.001 and 15 g per kilogram of seed, preferably between 0.01 and 5 g per kilogram of seed (page 86, lines 20-21). Moreover, Bayer teaches a number of in vitro test cell tests wherein compound 179 showed efficacy in a number of cell lines including, but not limited to, Alternaria alternata, Botrytis cinerea and Rhizoctonia solani, (examples A-K).
Bayer does not specifically select strawberries as the plant, Macrophomina phaseolina as the fungal disease or compound 179 as the compound for the treatment or prevention of fulfil pathogen infestation. Moreover, Bayer does not specifically teach that compound 179 which is in the cis orientation has the (S,S) stereo configuration, wherein if the composition also contains the (R,R) stereo-confirmation, the weight ratio of the (S,S) stereo configuration to the (R,R) stereo configuration is greater than about 1:1. Lastly, Bayer does not specifically teach application at a rate of about 1 to 500 g/ha.
Garrido et al. discuss the main leaf, fruit, crown and root strawberry fungal diseases. With regards to the leaf diseases, the reference teaches that fungal pathogens causing leaf disease includes, but is not limited to, Alternaria alternata, Macrophomina phaseolina and Rhizoctonia solani (Table 1). With regards to the fruit disease, the reference teaches fungal pathogens causing fruit diseases includes, but is not limited to, Botrytis cinerea and Rhizoctonia solani (Table 2). With regards to the crown and root diseases, the reference teaches fungal pathogens causing root and crowns diseases include, but are not limited to, Macrophomina phaseolina and Rhizoctonia solani (Table 3).
Syngenta teaches cis substituted 4-membered carboxamides useful as nematicides having the generic structure
(page 1, lines 6-10). Syngenta further teaches that a potential side product in the synthesis of the compound of formula I is the enantiomer of the compound formula I, e.g. compounds of formula (1aa):
, wherein in compositions comprising both the compound of formula (I) and formula (Iaa), the ratio of the compound of formula (I) to its enantiomer (the compound of formula (Iaa)) must be greater than 1:1 (pages 2-3, lines 21 to line 10). Specifically, the WO document teaches a compound having the structure
wherein Y is CH2, R1 is H, R13 and R14 are 2-Cl and 4-Cl respectively, R15 is H and A is
(P.15, 61.1) which reads on the elected species (Table P and Table 61). With regards to the nematocidal activity, the WO document teaches that the compound are useful for controlling or destroying pests such as insects and/or fungi which occur on plants such as fruit plants, wherein the compounds of formula I have a very advantageous spectrum of activities for protecting against attack and damage by fungi and nematodes (page 55, lines 19-36). Moreover, the WO document teaches that the compounds of the formula I are also suitable for protection of plant propagation material such a seeds, fruit, tubers or nursery plants wherein the compound is treated prior to planting (page 61, lines 13-15). With regards to the plant, the WO document teaches that suitable target plants include strawberries (page 62, lines 3-5). Moreover, Syngenta teaches that compound 61.1, as a preventative, showed a greater than 80% reduction in Meloidogyne spp. (Root-knot nematode) galling (page 135, lines 14-38).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the composition taught by Bayer to having a ratio of greater than 1:1 of the (S,S) stereo configuration to the (R,R) stereo configuration in view of the teachings of Syngenta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Both Bayer and Syngenta teach the same compound, wherein Syngenta teaches that a potential side product in the synthesis of the compound of formula I is the enantiomer of the compound formula I, e.g. compounds of formula (1aa):
, wherein in compositions comprising both the compound of formula (I) and formula (Iaa), the ratio of the compound of formula (I) to its enantiomer (the compound of formula (Iaa)) must be greater than 1:1 (pages 2-3, lines 21 to line 10
Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to apply compound 179 to strawberries as taught by Bayer in view of the teachings of Garrido et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Bayer teaches a number of in vitro test cell tests wherein compound 179 showed efficacy in numerous in vitro cell assays containing fungal pathogens such as Alternaria alternata, Botrytis cinerea and Rhizoctonia solani; and
-Garrido et al. teaches that all of these fungal pathogens cause either leaf, fruit or crown and root disease.
Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to optimize the application rate of compound 179 as taught by Bayer to the plants. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a optimization, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Bayer teach that the application rates of each single active ingredient is generally between 0.001 and 15 g per kilogram of seed, preferably between 0.01 and 5 g per kilogram of seed.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
NOTE: The above portion of the rejection addresses the prevention aspect of the claims since prevention does not require that the plant actually have the claimed fungal pathogen.
In response to this rejection, Applicants maintain the rebuttal of record. Since the Examiner has responded previously to the arguments in the Final office action and has addressed the declaration set forth above, the rejections are maintained for the reasons of record.
Claim(s) 1 and 8-20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syngenta Participations, AG (WO2015/003951A1, 2015-01-15, IDS) referred to herein as Syngenta in view of Desaeger, Johan. 2019.”Meloidogyn Hapla, the Northern Root-Knot Nematode, in Florida Strawberries and Associated Double-Cropped Vegetables: ENY-070 IN1224, 10 2018”.
(Note: the below rejection address the prevention aspect encompassed by the claims as described above which does not require the plant to be infected with the pathogenic microorganism).
Syngenta teaches cis substituted 4-membered carboxamides useful as nematicides having the generic structure
(page 1, lines 6-10). Syngenta further teaches that a potential side product in the synthesis of the compound of formula I is the enantiomer of the compound formula I, e.g. compounds of formula (1aa):
, wherein in compositions comprising both the compound of formula (I) and formula (Iaa), the ratio of the compound of formula (I) to its enantiomer (the compound of formula (Iaa)) must be greater than 1:1 (pages 2-3, lines 21 to line 10). Specifically, the WO document teaches a compound having the structure
wherein Y is CH2, R1 is H, R13 and R14 are 2-Cl and 4-Cl respectively, R15 is H and A is
(P.15, 61.1) which reads on the elected species (Table P and Table 61). With regards to the nematocidal activity, the WO document teaches that the compound are useful for controlling or destroying pests such as insects and/or fungi which occur on plants such as fruit plants, wherein the compounds of formula I have a very advantageous spectrum of activities for protecting against attach and damage by fungi and nematodes (page 55, lines 19-36). Moreover, the WO document teaches that the compounds of the formula I are also suitable for protection of plant propagation material such a seeds, fruit, tubers or nursery plants wherein the compound is treated prior to planting (page 61, lines 13-15). With regards to the plant, the WO document teaches that suitable target plants include strawberries (page 62, lines 3-5). With regards to the application, Syngenta teaches that typical rates of application per hectare is generally 1 to 2000 g of active ingredient per hectare, in particular 10 to 1000 g/ha, preferably 10 to 600 g/ha, such as 50 to 300 g/ha (page 61, lines 11-12). Moreover, Syngenta teaches that compound 61.1, as a preventative, showed a greater than 80% reduction in Meloidogyne spp. (Root-knot nematode) galling (page 135, lines 14-38).
Syngenta does not specifically teach specifically select compound 61.1 for application to strawberries.
Desaeger teaches that root-knot nematodes (Meloidogyne spp.) (RKN) are the most common and destructive plant-parasitic nematodes globally, wherein while it has not been considered a major problem in Florida yet diagnostic studies conducted recently have confirmed a wider distribution of RKN than previously thought (Importance, History and Distribution).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to have applied 61.1 as taught by Syngenta to strawberries for the prevention or treatment of root-knot nematodes (Meloidogyne spp.) in view of the teachings of Desaeger. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Syngenta teaches that compound 61.1, as a preventative, showed a greater than 80% reduction in Meloidogyne spp. (Root-knot nematode) galling; and
-Desaeger teaches that while Root-Knot nematode (Meloidogyne spp.) has not been considered a major problem in Florida yet diagnostic studies conducted recently have confirmed a wider distribution of RKN than previously thought.
In response to this rejection, Applicants maintain the rebuttal of record. Since the Examiner has responded previously to the arguments in the Final office action and has addressed the declaration set forth above, the rejections are maintained for the reasons of record.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 9,867,371 in view of Desaeger, Johan. 2019.”Meloidogyn Hapla, the Northern Root-Knot Nematode, in Florida Strawberries and Associated Double-Cropped Vegtables: ENY-070 IN1224, 10 2018”.
The US Patent claims a method of controlling pests in the soil, the method comprising, applying to the soil a composition comprising
, wherein the pest is a nematode.
The US Patent does not specifically claim administering the compound to a strawberry plant. Nor does the US Patent claim the application rate of 1 to 500g/ha.
Desaeger teaches that root-knot nematodes (Meloidogyne spp.) (RKN) are the most common and destructive plant-parasitic nematodes globally, wherein while it has not been considered a major problem in Florida yet diagnostic studies conducted recently have confirmed a wider distribution of RKN than previously thought (Importance, History and Distribution).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to have applied the compound claimed by the US Patent to strawberries for the prevention or treatment of root-knot nematodes (Meloidogyne spp.) in view of the teachings of Desaeger. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- -Desaeger teaches that while Root-Knot nematode (Meloidogyne spp.) has not been considered a major problem in Florida yet diagnostic studies conducted recently have confirmed a wider distribution of RKN than previously thought.
Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to optimize the application rate of the compound claimed in the US Patent to the plants. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a optimization, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
In response to this rejection, Applicants maintain the rebuttal of record. Since the Examiner has responded previously to the arguments in the Final office action and has addressed the declaration set forth above, the rejections are maintained for the reasons of record.
Claims 1 and 8-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,053,201B2 to Hone and Jones (2021-07-06) in view of Garrido et al. (Genes, Genomes and Genomics 2011; 5(Special Issue 1): 24-39).
The US Patent claims a method of controlling crops of useful plants against damages caused by nematode pests or fungi and protecting plants from propagation material against damages caused by fungi, comprising treating the plants with a composition comprising
.
The US Patent does not specifically claim administering the compound to a strawberry plant. Nor does the US Patent claim the application rate of 1 to 500g/ha
Garrido et al. discuss the main leaf, fruit, crown and root strawberry fungal diseases. With regards to the leaf diseases, the reference teaches that fungal pathogens causing leaf disease includes, but is not limited to, Alternaria alternata, Macrophomina phaseolina and Rhizoctonia solani (Table 1). With regards to the fruit disease, the reference teaches fungal pathogens causing fruit diseases includes, but is not limited to, Botrytis cinerea and Rhizoctonia solani (Table 2). With regards to the crown and root diseases, the reference teaches fungal pathogens causing root and crowns diseases include, but are not limited to, Macrophomina phaseolina and Rhizoctonia solani (Table 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method claimed by the US Patent to treat strawberries as a preventative against fungal damage in view of the teachings of Garrido et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Garrido et al. teaches that numerous fungal pathogens cause either leaf, fruit or crown and root disease.
Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to optimize the application rate of the compound claimed in the US Patent to the plants. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a optimization, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
NOTE: The above portion of the rejection addresses the prevention aspect of the claims since prevention does not require that the plant actually have the claimed fungal pathogen.
In response to this rejection, Applicants maintain the rebuttal of record. Since the Examiner has responded previously to the arguments in the Final office action and has addressed the declaration set forth above, the rejections are maintained for the reasons of record.
Claims 1 and 8-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12446582B2 to Kenneth Mckee (2025-10-21) in view of Bayer Cropscience (WO2016/066644A1, 2016-05-06, IDS) and Garrido et al. (Genes, Genomes and Genomics 2011; 5(Special Issue 1): 24-39).
The US patent claims a method of controlling or preventing infestation of cereal plants by Fusarium pseudograminearum comprising applying to a crop of plants, the locus thereof, or seed thereof a compound of the formula
.
The US Patent does not claim that the method is used to prevent infestation of strawberry plants by Macrophomina phaseolina. Nor does the US Patent claim an application rate of 1 to 500g/ha.
Bayer teaches the use of N-(Phenylcycloalkyl)carboxamides or N-(Phenylcycloalkyl)thiocarboxamides for the control of phytopathogenic microorganisms in agriculture, wherein a compound of formula (I) is applied to the phytopathogenic microorganisms, their habitat, the plant, the seed thereof, plant parts, plant propagation material or soil on which the plants are grown or intended to be grown in an effective amount (abstract). With regards to the compound of formula (I), Bayer teaches compounds of formula I have the general structure
(page 90). In particular, Bayer teach a specific compound having the general structure of formula I, wherein B is cBu (e.g. cyclobutyl), X1 is H, X2 is H, X3 is Cl, X4 is H, X5 is Cl, Z1 is H, Z2 is H, T is O and A is 2-(trifluoromethyl)-pyridinyl-2-yl in the Cis orientation which is identical to the application claimed in both the instant application and the US Patent (cmpd 179, page 100). With regards to the plants, Bayer teaches that useful plants include, but are not limited to, strawberries (page 73). With regards to the phytopathogenic microorganism, Bayer teaches that phytopathogenic microorganisms, in particular phytopathogenic fungi include fungal diseases on roots and stem bases caused by charcoal rot (Macrophomina phaseolina) (page 77, lines 8-10). Moreover, Bayer teaches a number of in vitro test cell tests wherein compound 179 showed efficacy in a number of cell lines including, but not limited to, Alternaria alternata, Botrytis cinerea and Rhizoctonia solani, (examples A-K).
Garrido et al. discuss the main leaf, fruit, crown and root strawberry fungal diseases. With regards to the leaf diseases, the reference teaches that fungal pathogens causing leaf disease includes, but is not limited to, Alternaria alternata, Macrophomina phaseolina and Rhizoctonia solani (Table 1). With regards to the fruit disease, the reference teaches fungal pathogens causing fruit diseases includes, but is not limited to, Botrytis cinerea and Rhizoctonia solani (Table 2). With regards to the crown and root diseases, the reference teaches fungal pathogens causing root and crowns diseases include, but are not limited to, Macrophomina phaseolina and Rhizoctonia solani (Table 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method claimed in the US Patent so as to apply the compound to strawberries in view of the teachings of Bayer and Garrido et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Bayer teaches a number of in vitro test cell tests wherein compound 179 showed efficacy in numerous in vitro cell assays containing fungal pathogens such as Alternaria alternata, Botrytis cinerea and Rhizoctonia solani; and
-Garrido et al. teaches that all of these fungal pathogens cause either leaf, fruit or crown and root disease.
Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to optimize the application rate of the compound claimed in the US Patent to the plants. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a optimization, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
NOTE: The above portion of the rejection addresses the prevention aspect of the claims since prevention does not require that the plant actually have the claimed fungal pathogen.
In response to this rejection, Applicants maintain the rebuttal of record. Since the Examiner has responded previously to the arguments in the Final office action and has addressed the declaration set forth above, the rejections are maintained for the reasons of record.
Claims 1 and 8-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 8-11 and 15-19 of copending Application No. 17783859 or over at least claims 36-46 of copending application 17425119 in view of Bayer Cropscience (WO2016/066644A1, 2016-05-06, IDS) and Garrido et al. (Genes, Genomes and Genomics 2011; 5(Special Issue 1): 24-39).
All of the copending application listed above claim a method of controlling or preventing an infestation within a plants by a particular microorganism comprising applying to a crop of plants, the locus thereof, or seed thereof a compound of the formula
.
For example, the 17783859 application claims that the plant is a peanut plant and the microorganism is Cercospora. The 17425119 application claims that the plant is corn and the microorganism is Fusarium graminearum. Moroever, both the ‘859 and the ‘119 application claims an application rate of 1 to 500 g/ha.
The claims of the copending applications differ from the instant application in that the method is used to prevent infestation of strawberry plants by Macrophomina phaseolina.
Bayer teaches the use of N-(Phenylcycloalkyl)carboxamides or N-(Phenylcycloalkyl)thiocarboxamides for the control of phytopathogenic microorganisms in agriculture, wherein a compound of formula (I) is applied to the phytopathogenic microorganisms, their habitat, the plant, the seed thereof, plant parts, plant propagation material or soil on which the plants are grown or intended to be grown in an effective amount (abstract). With regards to the compound of formula (I), Bayer teaches compounds of formula I have the general structure
(page 90). In particular, Bayer teach a specific compound having the general structure of formula I, wherein B is cBu (e.g. cyclobutyl), X1 is H, X2 is H, X3 is Cl, X4 is H, X5 is Cl, Z1 is H, Z2 is H, T is O and A is 2-(trifluoromethyl)-pyridinyl-2-yl in the Cis orientation which is identical to the application claimed in both the instant application and the US Patent (cmpd 179, page 100). With regards to the plants, Bayer teaches that useful plants include, but are not limited to, strawberries (page 73). With regards to the phytopathogenic microorganism, Bayer teaches that phytopathogenic microorganisms, in particular phytopathogenic fungi include fungal diseases on roots and stem bases caused by charcoal rot (Macrophomina phaseolina) (page 77, lines 8-10). Moreover, Bayer teaches a number of in vitro test cell tests wherein compound 179 showed efficacy in a number of cell lines including, but not limited to, Alternaria alternata, Botrytis cinerea and Rhizoctonia solani, (examples A-K).
Garrido et al. discuss the main leaf, fruit, crown and root strawberry fungal diseases. With regards to the leaf diseases, the reference teaches that fungal pathogens causing leaf disease includes, but is not limited to, Alternaria alternata, Macrophomina phaseolina and Rhizoctonia solani (Table 1). With regards to the fruit disease, the reference teaches fungal pathogens causing fruit diseases includes, but is not limited to, Botrytis cinerea and Rhizoctonia solani (Table 2). With regards to the crown and root diseases, the reference teaches fungal pathogens causing root and crowns diseases include, but are not limited to, Macrophomina phaseolina and Rhizoctonia solani (Table 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method claimed in the copending applications so as to apply the compound to strawberries in view of the teachings of Bayer and Garrido et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Bayer teaches a number of in vitro test cell tests wherein compound 179 showed efficacy in numerous in vitro cell assays containing fungal pathogens such as Alternaria alternata, Botrytis cinerea and Rhizoctonia solani; and
-Garrido et al. teaches that all of these fungal pathogens cause either leaf, fruit or crown and root disease.
NOTE: The above portion of the rejection addresses the prevention aspect of the claims since prevention does not require that the plant actually have the claimed fungal pathogen.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
In response to this rejection, Applicants maintain the rebuttal of record. Since the Examiner has responded previously to the arguments in the Final office action and has addressed the declaration set forth above, the rejections are maintained for the reasons of record.
Claims 1 and 8-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,575,569 or at least claim 1 of US Patent No 12,317,897 or at least claim 1 and 14 of US12,740,560 or at least claim 1 and 12 of US Patent 12,745,771 in view of Bayer Cropscience (WO2016/066644A1, 2016-05-06, IDS) and Garrido et al. (Genes, Genomes and Genomics 2011; 5(Special Issue 1): 24-39).
US Patent No. 12,575,569 claims a method of controlling or preventing an infestation within a plants by a particular microorganism comprising applying to a crop of plants, the locus thereof, or seed thereof a compound of the formula
wherein the plant is a rice plant and the microorganism is Gibberella fujikuroi.
US Patent No 12,317,897 claims a method of controlling or preventing an infestation within a plants by a particular microorganism comprising applying to a crop of plants, the locus thereof, or seed thereof a compound of the formula
wherein the plant is tomato and the microorganism is from Alternaria solani.
US Patent 12745771 claims a method of controlling or preventing infestation of soybean plants by phytopathogenic microorganisms of the family Corynesporascaceae, comprising: applying to a soybean seed a seed treatment composition comprising: a compound of formula (Ic)
and an enantiomer of the compound of formula (Ic); wherein the ratio of the compound of formula (Ic) to the enantiomer is greater than 4:1 in the seed treatment composition. Moreover, the US Patent claims an application rate of 1 to 500g/ha.
US Patent 12740560 claims a method of controlling or preventing infestation of a banana plant by phytopathogenic microorganism Pseudocercospora fijiensis, comprising applying to a crop of the banana plant, a locus thereof, or a propagation material thereof, a composition comprising an effective amount of a cis-configured compound according to formula (Ic)
; and wherein the ratio of the compound of formula (Ic) to its corresponding cis-enantiomer is greater than 4:1. Moreover, the US Patent claims an application rate of 50 to 300 g/ha.
The claims of US Patents differ from the instant application in that the method is used to prevent infestation of strawberry plants by Macrophomina phaseolina. Nor do the US Patents claim an application rate of 1 to 500 g/ha.
Bayer teaches the use of N-(Phenylcycloalkyl)carboxamides or N-(Phenylcycloalkyl)thiocarboxamides for the control of phytopathogenic microorganisms in agriculture, wherein a compound of formula (I) is applied to the phytopathogenic microorganisms, their habitat, the plant, the seed thereof, plant parts, plant propagation material or soil on which the plants are grown or intended to be grown in an effective amount (abstract). With regards to the compound of formula (I), Bayer teaches compounds of formula I have the general structure
(page 90). In particular, Bayer teach a specific compound having the general structure of formula I, wherein B is cBu (e.g. cyclobutyl), X1 is H, X2 is H, X3 is Cl, X4 is H, X5 is Cl, Z1 is H, Z2 is H, T is O and A is 2-(trifluoromethyl)-pyridinyl-2-yl in the Cis orientation which is identical to the application claimed in both the instant application and the US Patent (cmpd 179, page 100). With regards to the plants, Bayer teaches that useful plants include, but are not limited to, strawberries (page 73). With regards to the phytopathogenic microorganism, Bayer teaches that phytopathogenic microorganisms, in particular phytopathogenic fungi include fungal diseases on roots and stem bases caused by charcoal rot (Macrophomina phaseolina) (page 77, lines 8-10). Moreover, Bayer teaches a number of in vitro test cell tests wherein compound 179 showed efficacy in a number of cell lines including, but not limited to, Alternaria alternata, Botrytis cinerea and Rhizoctonia solani, (examples A-K).
Garrido et al. discuss the main leaf, fruit, crown and root strawberry fungal diseases. With regards to the leaf diseases, the reference teaches that fungal pathogens causing leaf disease includes, but is not limited to, Alternaria alternata, Macrophomina phaseolina and Rhizoctonia solani (Table 1). With regards to the fruit disease, the reference teaches fungal pathogens causing fruit diseases includes, but is not limited to, Botrytis cinerea and Rhizoctonia solani (Table 2). With regards to the crown and root diseases, the reference teaches fungal pathogens causing root and crowns diseases include, but are not limited to, Macrophomina phaseolina and Rhizoctonia solani (Table 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to modify the method claimed in the US Patents so as to apply the compound to strawberries in view of the teachings of Bayer and Garrido et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Bayer teaches a number of in vitro test cell tests wherein compound 179 showed efficacy in numerous in vitro cell assays containing fungal pathogens such as Alternaria alternata, Botrytis cinerea and Rhizoctonia solani; and
-Garrido et al. teaches that all of these fungal pathogens cause either leaf, fruit or crown and root disease.
Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to optimize the application rate of the compound claimed in the US Patents to the plants. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a optimization, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
NOTE: The above portion of the rejection addresses the prevention aspect of the claims since prevention does not require that the plant actually have the claimed fungal pathogen.
In response to this rejection, Applicants maintain the rebuttal of record. Since the Examiner has responded previously to the arguments in the Final office action and has addressed the declaration set forth above, the rejections are maintained for the reasons of record.
Conclusion
Therefore, No claim is allowed.
BRANDON J. FETTEROLF, PHD
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1626
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626