DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: control device 8 (page 5 of the Specification). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Although the Instant Application is a 371 (National Stage) application and as a result is not subject to 37 CFR for the application’s drawings, international applications have a similar drawing requirement where “reference signs not mentioned in the description shall not appear in the drawings, and vice versa” (MPEP 1825, PCT Rule 11.13).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: recommend stating what the acronym “FI” stands for in the Specification, which describes using an “FI optic.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 of claim 1 and line 1 of claims 2-4, recommend inserting “method” into the claims: “…in which method…” in order to clarify that the antecedent for “which” in each of the lines is the claimed method. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: a “beam shaping element” in claim 5. The generic placeholder is “element,” and the functional limitation is “beam shaping.” Structure that is used from the Specification to cover the claimed functional limitation includes a “diffractive optical element.” Claim 6 has sufficient structure such that 35 USC 112(f) is not invoked for this claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wieland et al. (US-20170008122-A1) in view of Marjanovic et al. (US-20150165548-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wieland teaches a method for cutting a glass element (“processes of cutting and drilling in a…glass substrate sheet,” abstract; substrate 12, fig. 1) with a processing laser (“single laser system,” para 0070; laser used to produce the beam ), in which the processing laser is operated in a first processing step (step 206, fig. 12) as a perforation laser (“creates a first set of defects, such as pilot hole patterns,” para 0066; drilling holes is construed as being a “perforation”), with which a perforation (fig. 4) is produced in the glass element along an intended cutting line (“the first plurality of defects is disposed within the closed boundary,” para 0064; crack 34 is construed as the claimed “cutting line,” fig. 4), and in which the same processing laser (“single optical head,” para 0066) is operated in a second processing step (step 208, fig. 12) with a modified laser beam as a separating laser (“a second set of defects adapted to perforate and separate (i.e. cut) the larger substrates (e.g., glass sheet substrates) into wafers, panels, or sub-panels,” para 0066; para 0099 teaches how by modifying the “burst number,” microcracks form instead of defects/perforations; construed such that a “modified laser beam” is a laser beam modified based on its burst number or pulse rate), with which a splitting of filaments (crack 34 splits defects 36, fig. 4) forming the perforation is effected (fig. 4), the filaments (defects 36, fig. 4) forming the perforation being split by ablative laser processing (“the crack 34 and laser formed defects may be used to cut or score the substrate 32,” para 0092; forming a closed boundary to create “micro cracks” or crack 34 with the second set of defects, as opposed to pilot holes which are construed as being the defects 36 in fig. 4, is taught in paras 0012, 0030-0031, 0037, 0073, 0092-0093, and 0116), characterized in that a laser beam (laser beam 14, fig. 1) of the processing laser is split in the second processing step by beam shaping (beam 14 is split by axicon 18, fig. 1) into a plurality of partial beams (axicon 18 splits beam 14 into four different beams, each with their own focal point, fig. 1), a notch (crack 34, fig. 4) being produced in the second processing step (“a boundary edge is formed by a second plurality of defects and a plurality of micro cracks extending between the second plurality of defect,” para 0031) in a region of the previously introduced perforation (defects 36, fig. 4) by ablative laser processing (steps 206 and 208, fig. 12).
Wieland, figs. 1, 4, and 12
Wieland does not explicitly disclose a notch with a bevel.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser cutting glass substrates, Marjanovic teaches a notch (break in the substrates, fig. 7C) with a bevel (the right substrate is chamfered on the top and bottom, fig. 7C; construed as having two bevels).
Marjanovic, fig. 7C
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Wieland to include, a notch with a bevel, in view of the teachings of Marjanovic, by creating a chamfered edge during a picosecond process, as taught by Marjanovic, while creating the second plurality of defects using the picosecond process, as taught by Wieland, in order to form a chamfered shape for a glass substrate, which has improved strength, by using an ultra-short pulse laser that is faster, cleaner, cheaper, more repeatable, and more reliable than other alternative technologies, such as using thermal or mechanical sources, which often require post-cut grinding and polishing to remove subsurface damage (Marjanovic, paras 0002, 0005, 0007, and 0061).
Regarding claim 2, Wieland teaches in which an ultrashort pulse laser (“duration in a range of between greater than about 1 picosecond and less than about 100 picoseconds,” para 0029; page 3 of the Specification in the Instant Application describes ultrashort pulses as being in the pico- to femtosecond range) is used as the processing laser (laser used in fig. 1; par 0070).
Claims 3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wieland et al. (US-20170008122-A1) in view of Marjanovic et al. (US-20150165548-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kumkar et al. (US-20220032398-A1, effective filing date of 15 April 2019).
Regarding claim 3, Wieland teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose in which the laser beam of the processing laser is divided into six partial beams by beam shaping in the second processing step.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser cutting glass substrates, Kumkar teaches in which the laser beam (laser beam 12, fig. 11a) of the processing laser is divided into six partial beams (two partial beams 5a-b, fig. 11a, para 0075; construed as dividing each of the four partial beams taught by Wieland in fig. 1 to two or a total of eight partial beams) by beam shaping in the second processing step (beams are shaped and produced by axicon 20 and polarizing element 1b, fig. 11a; para 0075).
Kumkar, fig. 11a
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Wieland to include, in which the laser beam of the processing laser is divided into six partial beams by beam shaping in the second processing step, in view of the teachings of Kumkar, by using a polarizing element 1b, as taught by Kumkar, after the axicon 18, as taught by Wieland, in order to use a birefringent polarizer to split each of the laser beams into a pair of partial beams that are polarized perpendicularly to each other, for the advantage of preventing undesired interference effects on the partial beams, which is avoided because the superposition of perpendicularly polarized beams are less likely to give rise to interference effects, e.g., a waveform that oscillates in a vertical direction is superimposed with a waveform in a horizontal direction such that the two waveforms do not directly overlap with each other because of the polarization, reducing the likelihood of interference effects (Kumkar, paras 0008 and 0025-0027).
Regarding claim 5, Wieland teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein a beam shaping element is pivoted into a beam path of the processing laser for the second processing step.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser cutting glass substrates, Kumkar teaches wherein a beam shaping element (diffractive optical element 18 and polarizing element 1a, fig. 10b) is pivoted (“rotate,” para 0073; rotary drive 24, fig. 10b) into a beam path (laser beam 12, fig. 10b) of the processing laser for the second processing step (paras 0050 and 0074 describe how rotation can be used to control a “splitting ratio” of the polarized beams; construed such that by changing this ratio, Wieland’s “second set of laser parameters” can be achieved).
Kumkar, fig. 10b
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Wieland to include, wherein a beam shaping element is pivoted into a beam path of the processing laser for the second processing step, in view of the teachings of Kumkar, by using a diffractive optical element 18 and polarizing element 1a, as taught by Kumkar, instead of the axicon 18, as taught by Wieland, in order to use a diffractive optical element 18 and birefringent polarizer 1a to split each of the laser beams into a pair of partial beams that are polarized and which can be rotated relative to each other, to control a splitting ratio of the intensity of the power between the two beams, for the advantage of increasing the interference effects / reducing the splitting ratio during the first set of laser parameters (step 206 of Wieland) and decreasing the interference effects / increasing the splitting ratio during the second set of laser parameters (step 208 of Wieland), because the superposition of perpendicularly polarized beams gives rise to interference effects, e.g., a waveform that oscillates in a vertical direction when superimposed with a waveform in a horizontal direction reduces the likelihood of interference effects, but when the two beams are not polarized and overlap with each other, the likelihood of interference effects increases (Kumkar, paras 0008, 0025-0027, and 0050-0051).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wieland in view of Marjanovic and Kumkar as set forth above regarding claim 5 teaches the invention of claim 6. Specifically, Kumkar teaches wherein a diffractive optical element (diffractive optical element 18, fig. 10b) is used as the beam shaping element (diffractive optical element 18 and polarizing element 1a, fig. 10b).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wieland et al. (US-20170008122-A1) in view of Marjanovic et al. (US-20150165548-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Tamura et al. (US-20190221985-A1).
Wieland teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose in which a plasma is generated in the glass element by the processing laser during operation as a separating laser.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser cutting glass substrates, Tamura teaches in which a plasma (plasma “P,” fig. 3B) is generated in the glass element by the processing laser during operation as a separating laser (first laser beam “L1,” fig. 3A; para 0034).
Tamura, figs. 3A-3E
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Wieland to include, in which a plasma is generated in the glass element by the processing laser during operation as a separating laser, in view of the teachings of Tamura, by allowing a plasma to form using a time of 20-2000 picoseconds, as taught by Tamura, in between the first-set-laser-parameter step 206 and the second-set-laser-parameter step 208, as taught by Wieland, in order to use the generated plasma for a light-absorbing effect when the second laser beam L2 is directed to the glass substrate, for the benefit of efficiently transmitting the energy of the second laser beam into the transparent material in an optimal manner (Tamura, paras 0004 and 0034-0037; para 0045 teaches that the optimal time between beams is 20-2000 picoseconds; Wieland has a similar teaching in paras 0083-0084 where ionization (plasma is ionized gas) causes a “nonlinear effect” in absorbing laser beam intensity).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Greenberg et al. (US-10668561-B2) teach using diffractive optical elements and axicons to form several spots.
Flamm et al. (US-20230347451-A1) teach forming bevels in glass substrates.
Mishchik et al. (US-11883903-B2) is similar to US-10668561-B2.
/ERWIN J WUNDERLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 8/6/2025