Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-15 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. This application is a national stage entry of and claims priority to Application Serial No. PCT/NL2020/050782, filed 12/11/2020, and further claims priority to foreign application NL2024431, filed 12/11/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
All references from IDS(s) received 9/29/2022, 03/06/2025, and 06/17/2025 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments in the filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered and have been found persuasive.
In a non-final dated 07/17/2025, Claims 1-15 were examined upon their merits.
In a non-final dated 07/17/2025, Claims 1-15 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. Claim 15 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112.
In response, the Applicant amended claims 1 and 15 and cancelled claims 3 and 6-8. The rejections for the cancelled claims is moot and withdrawn.
With respect to the 112 rejection, the applicant amended claim 15 to strikethrough “preferably.” Therefore the 112 rejection is moot and withdrawn.
With respect to the 103 rejection, the Applicant argued that the primary reference provided by the Examiner (Graaf) fails to teach the instantly claimed invention of using the compound for explicitly memory function and/or plaque load in Alzheimer’s disease. Although the Examiner agrees with this argument, it would still be obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time. The Examiner acknowledges that the Applicant provided results to show that the compounds have significant function in memory function and/or plaque load in Alzheimer’s disease, however because the compound is taught by the primary reference for Alzheimer’s disease it would be considered expected results, since memory function and/or plaque load would be considered symptomatic/functionally related to Alzheimer’s disease. The MPEP states that A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In rePayne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See MPEP 2144.09(I). Further, the claims do not reflect any critical ranges that would separate the instant claims in terms of criticality from the prior art. Therefore, the 103 rejection is maintained. See below.
MAINTAINED REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graaf, A. et al. (WO2014098586A1; cited in the IDS filed 9/29/2022; “Graaf”) in view of Cai, P. et al. (ACS Chem. Neurosci. 2017, 8, 11, 2496–2511; cited in the IDS filed 9/29/2022; “Cai”). .
Graaf teaches an overlapping genus of a Trolox core structure, including the elected specie SUL-109 (Claim 1 and Page 11, Table 1). Graaf also teaches the compounds for use in treating neurodegenerative diseases, such as Alzheimer’s disease (Claim 3).
Graaf fails to explicitly teach that the compounds improve memory function or reduce plaque load in an Alzheimer’s patient.
Cai teaches compounds with an overlapping genus of a Trolox core structure for use in Alzheimer’s disease. Cai does not explicitly teach the elected specie, however, Cai does teach that the Trolox compounds used in Alzheimer’s disease improve cognition and memory (Abstract).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person skilled in the art that using SUL-109 for the treatment of Alzheimer’s, as taught by Graaf, would include the improvement of cognition and memory, as seen with the Trolox core compounds taught by Cai.
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Applying KSR example rationale (A), it would have been prima facie obvious to extract the compounds and methods of use for using SUL-109 in the treatment of Alzheimer’s, as taught by Graaf, and apply it to specifically improve symptoms of Alzheimer’s such as cognition and memory improvement. A person skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so because Trolox-based compounds for treating Alzheimer’s have been shown to do so, as taught by Cai. Therefore, claims 1-15 would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-15 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621