Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the applicant’s remarks filed 01/08/26.
The applicant submits that the amendments overcome the previous rejection.
The examiner agrees, and the previous rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 – 19, 21, 33 – 34, and 36 - 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, US20130071753A1, and Choi, US20240088347A1, and OH, US20140322605A1.
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches a lithium-ion battery [0002] comprising:
a cathode comprising a composite cathode active material including at least one first cathode active material and at least one second cathode active material (cathode comprising olivine and over-lithiated cathode materials)[0005]; and
an anode comprising an anode active material selected from the group consisting of carbon-containing material, silicon, silicon suboxide, silicon alloy, aluminum alloy, indium, indium alloy, tin, tin alloy, cobalt alloy and mixtures thereof [0100 - 0103],
wherein the second cathode active material comprises a compound with olivine structure [0044],
wherein the first cathode active material (over-lithiated material) has a degree a of lithiation [0047 – 0051] and the second cathode active material (olivine material) has a degree b of lithiation [0053 – 0055],
wherein, before a first discharging and/or charging of the lithium-ion battery, the degree b of lithiation of the second cathode active material is lower than the degree a of lithiation of the first cathode active material (over-lithiated material having a higher degree of lithiation)[0047 - 0055],
wherein a weight fraction of the second cathode active material is in a range from 5 to 25 wt % based on a total weight of the composite cathode active material (20 – 80%)[examples 1 – 8][0122 – 0129]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. [MPEP 2144.05 I].
Kim does not teach wherein, before the first discharging and/or charging of the lithium-ion battery, the anode active material is prelithiated and where 0 < b < 0.5.
Choi teaches a lithium ion battery [0005] comprising a cathode comprising a first and second cathode material [0094] wherein, before the first discharging and/or charging of the lithium ion battery, the anode active material is prelithiated [0008][0051], and wherein prelithtiating an anode improves capacity and cycle characteristics [00082]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the prelithiated anode of Choi into the battery of Kim to improve battery performance.
OH teaches a lithium ion battery comprising a cathode comprising a first and second cathode material [0001] wherein the cathode material comprises a layered and olivine structure [0013] wherein the degree b of lithiation of the second cathode active material (formula 1)[0037] is lower than the degree a of lithiation of the first cathode active material (formula 2)[0028] where 0 < b < 0.5 (0≦a<0.5)[0037]. Further, OH teaches that the mixed cathode material significantly improves power characteristics [0015]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the lithium content of formula 1 of OH into the cathode material of Kim to improve power characteristics.
Regarding claim 13, combined Kim teaches the lithium-ion battery according to claim 12.
Further, Kim teaches wherein the first cathode active material is selected from the group consisting of: a layered oxide, including an over-lithiated oxide (OLO)[0005].
Regarding claim 14, combined Kim teaches the lithium-ion battery according to claim 12.
Further, Kim teaches wherein a difference between the degree of lithiation of the first cathode active material and the degree of lithiation of the second cathode active material is 0.1 or more [0048][0054]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05 I].
Regarding claim 15, combined Kim teaches the lithium-ion battery according to claim 14.
Further, Kim teaches wherein the difference is 0.5 or more [0048][0054]. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of Americav.Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) [MPEP 2144.05 I].
Regarding claim 16, combined Kim teaches the lithium-ion battery according to claim 13.
Further, Kim teaches wherein the layered oxide comprises nickel and cobalt [0051].
Regarding claim 17, combined Kim teaches the lithium-ion battery according to claim 16.
Further, Kim teaches wherein the layered oxide comprises a nickel-cobalt-manganese compound or a nickel-cobalt-aluminum compound [0051]
Regarding claim 18, combined Kim teaches the lithium-ion battery according to claim 12.
Further, Kim teaches wherein the compound with the olivine structure comprises: a compound including iron; a compound including iron and manganese; or a compound including cobalt and/or nickel [0053 – 0055].
Regarding claim 19, combined Kim teaches the lithium-ion battery according to claim 12.
Further, Kim teaches wherein a weight fraction of the second cathode active material is lower than a weight fraction of the first cathode active material, based on a total weight of the composite cathode active material [0046][examples 1 – 8].
Regarding claim 21, combined Kim teaches the lithium-ion battery according to claim 12,
Further, Kim teaches wherein the anode active material is selected from the group consisting of: synthetic graphite, natural graphite, graphene, mesocarbon, hard carbon, soft carbon, silicon- carbon composite, silicon, silicon alloy, aluminum alloy, indium, tin alloy, cobalt alloy, and mixtures thereof [0100 - 0103].
Regarding claim 33, combined Kim teaches the lithium-ion battery according to claim 32.
Further, Chae teaches wherein 0.05<y<0.3 [0021]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exist [MPEP 2144.05 I].
Regarding claim 34, combined Kim teaches lithium-ion battery according to claim 12.
Further, OH teaches wherein the compound with the olivine structure is LibMPO4, where M is selected from the group consisting of iron, cobalt, nickel, manganese, and combinations thereof (formula 1)[0037].
Regarding claim 36, combined Kim teaches lithium-ion battery according to claim 12.
Further, OH teaches wherein 0 < b <0.5 (formula 1)[0037].
Regarding claim 37, combined Kim teaches lithium-ion battery according to claim 12.
Further, Kim teaches wherein 0.8< a<1.15, and the first cathode active material is selected from the group consisting of LiaNixMnyCozO2 with x+y+z=1, and LiaCo2 or LiaNixCoyO2 with x+y=1 (formula 3)[0012]
Regarding claim 38, combined Kim teaches lithium-ion battery according to claim 35.
Further, OH teaches wherein the degree a of lithiation of the first cathode active material is a >= 1 (formula 2)[0028], and wherein the degree b of lithiation of the second cathode active material is b = 0 (formula 1)[0037].
Claims 22 – 24 and 32 – 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, US20130071753A1 and Choi, US20240088347A1 as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Chae, US20220006065A1 (previously cited).
Regarding claim 22, combined Kim teaches the lithium-ion battery according to claim 12,
Combined Kim does not teach wherein the anode active material before the first discharge and/or charging of the lithium-ion battery is prelithiated to an extent such that the lithium ion battery before the first discharging and/or charging has a state of charge (SoC) in a range from 1% to 30%.
Chae teaches a lithium secondary battery [0003] wherein the anode active material before the first discharge and/or charging of the lithium ion battery is prelithiated to an extent such that the lithium ion battery before the first discharging and/or charging has a state of charge (SoC) in a range from 1% to 30% [0013]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exist [MPEP 2144.05 I]. Further, Chae teaches pre-lithiation performed within the claimed range allows for a more stable passivation layer to be formed on the surface of the negative electrode which improves battery cycling performance [0014]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the teachings for SOC from Chae with the pre-lithiatiated material of combined Kim to improve battery performance.
Regarding claim 23, combined Kim teaches the lithium-ion battery according to claim 22,
Further, Chae teaches wherein the SoC is in the range from 3% to 25% [0013]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exist [MPEP 2144.05 I].
Regarding claim 24, combined Kim teaches the lithium-ion battery according to claim 23,
Further, Chae teaches wherein the SoC is in the range from 5% to 20% [0013]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exist [MPEP 2144.05 I].
Regarding claim 32, combined Kim teaches the lithium-ion battery according to claim 12.
Combined Kim does not teach wherein the anode active material is prelithiated substoichiometrically, wherein a degree of y of lithiation of the anode active material is 0.01 to 0.5.
Chae teaches a lithium secondary battery [0003] wherein the anode active material is prelithiated substoichiometrically, wherein a degree of y of lithiation of the anode active material is 0.01 to 0.5 (SOC is a measure of the intercalation/deintercalation of lithium in the active material)[0021]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exist [MPEP 2144.05 I]. Further, Chae teaches pre-lithiation performed within the claimed range allows for a more stable passivation layer to be formed on the surface of the negative electrode which improves battery cycling performance [0014]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the teachings from Chae with the pre-lithiated material of combined Kim to improve battery performance.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, US20130071753A1, and Choi, US20240088347A1, and OH, US20140322605A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi II, US20130260244A1.
Regarding claim 35, combined Kim teaches lithium-ion battery according to claim 12.
Combined Kim does not teach wherein the second cathode active material has a particle size in a range from 0.2 micron to 5 microns.
Choi II teaches a lithium ion battery comprising a cathode comprising a first and second cathode material [0003][0011] wherein the second cathode active material has a particle size in a range from 0.2 micron to 5 microns (5 microns or greater/ 1 micron or less)[0011]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exist [MPEP 2144.05 I]. Further, Choi II teaches that cathode particles within this size range improve energy density of the cathode material [0009]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the particle size of Choi II into the cathode material of combined Kim to improve energy density.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724