Claim 54, 60, 62 and 66 have been amended.
Claims 54-60, 62-64 and 66-73 are pending.
Claims 67-73 are withdrawn.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 54, 55, 60, 62, and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRYZA (Granulocyte-Colony Stimulating Factor Nanocarriers for Stimulation of the Immune System (Part II): Dose-Dependent Biodistribution and In Vivo Antitumor Efficacy in Combination with Rituximab. Bioconjugate Chemistry. 2018.) in view of LIMASALE (Epidermal growth factor receptor-targeted immunoliposomes for delivery of celecoxib to cancer cells. International Journal of Pharmaceutics. 2015.).
Regarding claim 54 and 66, KRYZA teaches a nanoparticle conjugated to a granulocyte-colony stimulating factor (G-CSF) (abstract and page 805, paragraph 6), which reads on a immunosuppressive myeloid cell (isMC) targeting moiety. The nanoparticle further comprises rituximab (abstract), which is an immunosuppressant drug. The composition is for cancer therapy (abstract).
KRYZA does not teach adding an isMC metabolism disrupting drug, such as celecoxib.
Regarding claims 54 and 66, LIMASALE teaches a nanoparticle composition comprising celecoxib, which is a isMC metabolism-disrupting drug, and a targeting agent, such as anti-epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) monoclonal antibody (abstract). The composition is for cancer therapy (abstract). LIMASALE teaches celecoxib (abstract), which is a isMC metabolism-disrupting drug, specifically nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug as taught by Applicant’s specification (Applicants specification, page 16, paragraph 1). Celecoxib is known to help in the treatment of cancer and have a high therapeutic effect in cancer cells lines (page 364, paragraph 1-2).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate an isMC metabolism disrupting drug, such as celecoxib. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because celecoxib is used as a treatment for cancer that has high therapeutic effect in cancer cell lines, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as nanoparticles for use in cancer therapy that involve multiple components involving a drug and a targeting agent.
Regarding claim 55, KRYZA teaches the nanoparticle had a dimeter of 154 nm (page806, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 60 and 62, KRYZA teaches a nanoparticle conjugated to a granulocyte-colony stimulating factor (G-CSF) (abstract and page 805, paragraph 6), which is a polypeptide.
Claims 54-60, 62-64, and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRYZA (Granulocyte-Colony Stimulating Factor Nanocarriers for Stimulation of the Immune System (Part II): Dose-Dependent Biodistribution and In Vivo Antitumor Efficacy in Combination with Rituximab. Bioconjugate Chemistry. 2018.) and LIMASALE (Epidermal growth factor receptor-targeted immunoliposomes for delivery of celecoxib to cancer cells. International Journal of Pharmaceutics. 2015.) in view of MARGEL (US 2013/0030282 A1).
KRYZA and LIMASALE teach Applicant’s invention as discussed above.
Regarding claim 56-59 and 63-64, KRYZA and LIMASALE do not teach using a protein nanoparticle, such as human serum albumin (HSA) nanoparticles or adding a near-infrared imaging agent.
Regarding claim 56-59, MARGEL teaches a nanoparticle for use in cancer therapy (abstract). The nanoparticle comprises albumin nanoparticles (abstract), specifically human serum albumin (HSA) nanoparticles (page 13, paragraph 0212). The nanoparticle can further comprise a drug (page 2, paragraph 0035) and a targeting agent (page 13 paragraph 0217). HSA nanoparticles are already commercially available (page 1, paragraph 0009), readily available, biodegradable, have a long half-life in vivo and lack toxicity and immunogenicity (page 1, paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 63-64, MARGEL further teaches adding an Near-infrared (NIR) imaging agent (abstract), which allows the cancerous tissue to be identified in imaging (abstract image). NIR imaging achieves the highest tissue penetration due to minimal absorbency of the surface tissue in this spectral region (page 1, paragraph 0004).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate HSA nanoparticles. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because HSA nanoparticles are already commercially available, biodegradable, have a long half-life in vivo and lack toxicity and immunogenicity, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as nanoparticles for use in cancer therapy that involve a drug and a targeting agent.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate an NIR imaging agent. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it allows the cancerous tissue to be imaged and NIR imaging achieves the highest tissue penetration due to minimal absorbency of the surface tissue in this spectral region, and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as nanoparticles for use in cancer therapy that involve a drug and a targeting agent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 54-60, 62-64, and 66-73 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/S.L.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 1618 /JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618