DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 53-59, 62-65, and 67-70, and the species of fusion protein comprising SEQ ID NO: 79, SEQ ID NO: 5, and an antagonistic PD-1 antibody comprising SEQ ID NOs: 113 and 114 in the reply filed on 6/30/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 60-61, 66, and 71-72 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/30/25.
Claims 53-59, 62-65, and 67-70 are under examination as they read on the elected species.
Specification
The use of the term TruStain FcX™, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 53-59, 62-65, and 67-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed. The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include “level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention.”
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, disclosure of drawings, or by disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics, for example, structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the Applicants were in possession of the claimed genus.
The instant claims are drawn to an isolated Interleukin-15 (IL-15) fusion protein complex comprising: (1) an IL-15 polypeptide (or variant thereof) linked to a heterologous protein; and (2) an IL-15 Receptor alpha ("IL-15Ra") domain noncovalently linked to the IL-15 polypeptide to form an IL- 15/IL-15Ra-heterologous protein fusion protein, wherein the IL-15 variant polypeptide is selected from the group of polypeptides having the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NOS: 56-63 and 66-81.
The specification teaches that variants (or mutants) of IL-15 binds the IL-15Rα polypeptide and functions as an IL-15 agonist or antagonists. The specification teaches that the IL-15 variant can function as an IL-15 agonist or antagonist independent of its association with IL-15Rα. IL-15 agonists are exemplified by comparable or increased biological activity compared to wild-type IL-15. The specification teaches that IL-15 antagonists are exemplified by decreased biological activity compared to wild-type IL-15 and by the ability to inhibit IL-15-mediated responses. The specification teaches that the IL-15 variant binds with increased or decreased activity to the UK-15Rβγc receptors. The specification teaches that the sequence of the IL-15 variant has at least one amino acid change, e.g., substitution, deletion, compared to the native IL-15 sequence; such changes resulting in IL-15 agonist or antagonist activity. The specification teaches that suitable amino acid substitutions/deletions can be conservative or non-conservative changes and insertions of additional amino acids.
The issue with regard to the written description provision is that the genus of recombinant proteins that are not adequately described. Although the claims are inclusive of the IL-15 fusion protein complex comprising an IL-15 having an amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 56-63 and 66-81 linked to the anti-PD1 antibody comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in SEQ ID NO: 113 and SEQ ID NO: 114, and an IL-15 Rα domain comprising the amino acid sequence from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 4-5, the claims also broadly encompass fusion proteins comprising functional fragments of the IL-15Rα domain set forth in SEQ ID NO: 4 or an IL-15Rα domain that comprises an amino acid sequence that is at least 90% homologous to the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 5. A variance of 90%, for example, in the polypeptide set forth in SEQ ID NO: 5 that is 77 amino acids in length translates into 7 residues that may be added, deleted, substituted, or otherwise mutated anywhere throughout the entire length of the 77-residue amino acid polypeptide. There is no limit in the claims, as written, that the variance be contiguous. Moreover, there is no limitation stating that the substitution, for example, be a conservative substitution. As a result, there are potentially thousands of variant permutations that could be made and still maintain a variance of 90%. Applicants have not described which domains or portions of SEQ ID NOs: 4-5 that are critical to the function of the protein. The specification provides limited guidance regarding which amino acids can be modified in the genus of polypeptides, while maintaining any given function. Therefore, these structures (i.e., functional fragments and sequence variants) are claimed only be their functional characteristics and the specification fails to provide sufficient correlation between the claimed functional characteristics and the necessary structural components (i.e., critical domains within the sequences). The claims also encompass an undefined heterologous protein. In some claim embodiments, the heterologous protein provides for half-life extension, provides an additive or synergistic effect with IL-15/IL-15Rα, is capable of binding to a tissue-specific antigen, or binding to a tumor associated antigen. However, the specification provides no guidance regarding the heterologous proteins that have the claimed functions.
Furthermore, Applicants have not shown possession of a representative number of species that have the claimed function(s). While the specification clearly sets forth a correlation between the fusion proteins comprising IL-15 fusion protein complex comprising an IL-15 having an amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 56-63 and 66-81 linked to the anti-PD1 antibody comprising the amino acid sequences set forth in SEQ ID NO: 113 and SEQ ID NO: 114, and the claimed functions, this correlation does not appear to be clearly present in the breadth of the claims. As noted above, the claims are not limited to the disclosed fusion proteins, and encompass fusion proteins comprising functional fragments and sequence variants, as well as undefined heterologous proteins. Thus, the genus has substantial variation because of the numerous alternatives and combinations permitted. There is no description of the structure common to the members of the genus such that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the members of the genus. Therefore, only a few species have been described and this is not considered to be representative of the breadth of the genus. Therefore, given the lack of structure function correlation and the lack of a representative number of species, the specification provides insufficient written description to support the genus encompassed by the claim.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.)
With the exception of the recombinant polypeptides set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1, SEQ ID NO: 2, and SEQ ID NO: 20 in combination with a TKI selected from the group consisting of gefitinib, erlotinib, AZD9291, and afatinib, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed combination therapies, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. The nucleic acid and/or protein itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. In Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481,1483, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found unpatentable due to lack of written description for the broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404. 1405 held that:
...To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and does so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines Inc., 107 F.3d 1565,1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (" [T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1966.
Protein chemistry is probably one of the most unpredictable areas of biotechnology. Consequently, the effects of sequence dissimilarities upon protein structure and function cannot be predicted. Punta et al. (PLoS Comput Biol 4(10): e1000160, 2008) teach that homology (both orthology and paralogy) does not guarantee conservation of function (See page 2). Punta et al. teach that relatively small difference in sequence can sometimes cause quite radical changes in functional properties, such as a change of enzymatic action, or even loss or acquisition of enzymatic activity itself (See page 2). Punta et al. teach that it is also apparent that there is no sequence similarity threshold that guarantees that two proteins share the same function (see page 2). Punta et al. teach that homology between two proteins does not guarantee that they have the same function, not even when sequence similarity is very high (including 100% sequence identity) (See page 2 and table 2). Punta et al. teach that proteins live and function in 3D, and therefore structural information is very helpful for predicating function (See page 4). However, as with sequence, two proteins having the same overall architecture, and even conserved functional residues, can have unrelated functions (See page 4). Punta et al. teach that still; structural knowledge is an extremely powerful tool for computational function prediction (See page 5).
Similarly, Whisstock et al. (Quarterly Reviews in Biophysics. 36(3):307-340, 2007) teach that the prediction of protein function from sequence and structure is a difficult problem (See abstract). Although many families of proteins contain homologues with the same function, homologous proteins often have different functions as the sequences progressively diverge (See page 309). Whisstock et al. teach that moreover, even closely related proteins can change function, either through divergence to a related function or by recruitment for a very different function (See page 309). Further, Whisstock et al. note that in some instances, even sequences that are the same can have different functions. For example, eye lens proteins in the suck are identical in sequence to active lactate dehydrogenase and enolase in other tissues, although they do not encounter the substrates in the eye (See page 310). Whisstock et al. teach that assigning a function to an amino acid sequence based upon similarity becomes significantly more complex as the similarity between the sequence and a putative homologue fall (See page 321). Whisstock et al. teach that while it is hopeful that similar proteins will share similar functions, substitution of a single, critically placed amino acid in an active-site may be sufficient to alter a protein’s role fundamentally (See pages 321-323).
The sensitivity of proteins to alterations of even a single amino acid in a sequence are exemplified by Burgess et al. (J. Cell Biol. 111:2129-2138, 1990) who teach that replacement of a single lysine reside at position 118 of acidic fibroblast growth factor by glutamic acid led to the substantial loss of heparin binding, receptor binding and biological activity of the protein and by Song et al. (Molecular Biology of the Cell, 15:1287–1296, March 2004) who teach that substitution of alanine for aspartate in survivin results in the conversion of survivins’ apoptotic function from anti-apoptotic to proapoptotic and changes in its subcellular localization (See page 1287-1289). Moreover, Defeo-Jones et al. (Molecular and Cellular Biology, Sept. 1989, p. 4083-4086) teach that the conservative substitution of lysine for arginine at position 42 completely eliminated biological activity (See abstract and pages 4084-4085). These references demonstrate that even a single amino acid substitution will often dramatically affect the biological activity and characteristics of a protein.
Additionally, Bork (Genome Research, 2000; 10:398-400) clearly teaches the pitfalls associated with comparative sequence analysis for predicting protein function because of the known error margins for high-throughput computational methods. Bork specifically teaches that computational sequence analysis is far from perfect, despite the fact that sequencing itself is highly automated and accurate (p. 398, column 1). One of the reasons for the inaccuracy is that the quality of data in public sequence databases is still insufficient. This is particularly true for data on protein function. Protein function is context dependent, and both molecular and cellular aspects have to be considered (p. 398, column 2). Conclusions from the comparison analysis are often stretched with regard to protein products (p. 398, column 3). Further, although gene annotation via sequence database searches is already a routine job, even here the error rate is considerable (p. 399, column 2). Most features predicted with an accuracy of greater than 70% are of structural nature and, at best, only indirectly imply a certain functionality (see legend for table 1, page 399). As more sequences are added and as errors accumulate and propagate it becomes more difficult to infer correct function from the many possibilities revealed by database search (p. 399, paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3). The reference finally cautions that although the current methods seem to capture important features and explain general trends, 30% of those features are missing or predicted wrongly. This has to be kept in mind when processing the results further (p. 400, paragraph bridging cols 1 and 2).
Given not only the teachings of Punta et al., Whisstock et al., Song et al., Burgess et al., and Defeo-Jones et al., but also the limitations and pitfalls of using computational sequence analysis and the unknown effects of alternative splicing, post translational modification and cellular context on protein function as taught by Bork, the claimed proteins having the required function(s) could not be predicted based on sequence identity. Clearly, it could not be predicted that polypeptide or a variant that shares only partial homology with a disclosed protein or that is a fragment of a given SEQ ID NO. will function in a given manner. Therefore, the state of the art supports that even the skilled artisan requires guidance on the critical structures of the agent per se and thereby does not provide adequate written description support for which structural features of any given polypeptide would predictably retain their functional activities.
Applicant is reminded that generally, in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus (Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen- Probe Inc., 323 F.3d 956 (Fed. Cir. 2002); Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343 (Fed. Cir. 2004); Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly Co., 119 F.3d 1559 (Fed. Cir. 1997)). A patentee must disclose “a representative number of species within the scope of the genus of structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus” (see Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017) at page 1358). An adequate written description must contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products — “a precise definition, such as structure, formula, chemic name, physical properties of other properties, of species falling with the genus sufficient to distinguish the gene from other materials”, which may be present in “functional terminology when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” (Amgen page 1361).
Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that is part of the invention. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chungai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. In Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found unpatentable due to lack of written description for the broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
The University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404, 1405 held that: ...To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and does so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that “the inventor invented the claimed invention.” Lockwood v. American Airlines Inc. 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) ("[T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus an Applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2dat1966.
MPEP § 2163.02 states, “[a]n objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, ‘does the description clearly allow person of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed’”. The courts have decided: the purpose of the “written description" requirement is broader than to merely explain how to "make and use"; the Applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art, that as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is for purposes of the “written description” inquiry, whatever is now claimed. See Vas-Cath, Inc v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Federal Circuit, 1991).
Furthermore, the written description provision of 35 USC §112 is severable from its enablement provision; and adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993). And Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. Moreover, an adequate written description of the claimed invention must include sufficient description of at least a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. However, factual evidence of an actual reduction to practice has not been disclosed by Applicant in the specification; nor has Applicant shown the invention was “ready for patenting” by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete; nor has the Applicant described distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant were in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed. Therefore, for all these reasons the specification lacks adequate written description, and one of skill in the art cannot reasonably conclude that Applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the instant application was filed.
Claims 53-59, 62-65, and 67-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 53, 62, and 67 recite “IL-15 polypeptide (or variant thereof). Although parenthesis may be appropriate when defining an abbreviation or acronym, (see proper use in claim 53, line 1), the inclusion of parentheses for anything else, raises uncertainty as to whether the feature in the parentheses is optional or always present. In the instant case, it is unclear if the IL-15 polypeptide is limited to only the wild-type IL-15 polypeptide, or variants indicated in the parentheses. Further adding confusion to the claim is that the claim list sequences for the variants, but not the wild-type IL-15. Thus, clarification throughout the claim is required to ascertain their metes and bounds. Claims 54-59, 63-65 and 68-70 do not cure the deficiencies of the independent claims, and thus, are included in the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 53-55 and 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bernett et al. (WO 2018071919A1, published April 19, 2018).
The instant claims are drawn to an isolated Interleukin-15 (IL-15) fusion protein complex comprising: (1) an IL-15 polypeptide (or variant thereof) linked to a heterologous protein; and (2) an IL-15 Receptor alpha ("IL-15Ra") domain noncovalently linked to the IL-15 polypeptide to form an IL- 15/IL-15Ra-heterologous protein fusion protein, wherein the IL-15 variant polypeptide is selected from the group of polypeptides having the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NOS: 56-63 and 66-81.
Bernett et al. teach an IL-15/IL-15Rα complex comprising an IL-15 protein and IL-15Rα (See paragraphs 0011, 00219-00222 and figure 9). Bennet et al. teach that the IL-15 protein comprises the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 205, which shares 100% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 77 of the instant claims (See paragraph 00221). Bennet et al. teach that the complex comprises an Fc region linked to the IL-15 protein (See paragraphs 0159-0164 and figure 9 and SEQ ID NO: 234 below). Bennet et al. teach that the IL-15 and IL-15Rα are not covalently attached (See paragraphs 0011 and 00219 and figure 9). Bernett et al. teach a heterodimeric protein comprising: a) a fusion protein comprising a first protein domain and a first Fc domain, wherein the first protein domain is covalently attached to the N-terminus of the first Fc domain using a domain linker; b) a second Fc domain; and c) a second protein domain noncovalently attached to the first protein domain, wherein the first protein domain comprises an IL-15R and the second domain comprises and IL-15 protein (See paragraph 0011). Bernett et al. teach that the IL-15Rα comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 8, which 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 5 (See Figure 2a). Bernett et al. teach that that heterologous protein is a Fc domain, wherein the IL-15 peptide is covalently attached to an Fc domain by a peptide linker, wherein the peptide linker is GGGGSGGGGS (SEQ ID NO: 15), which is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 10 of the instant claims (See paragraphs 00165 and 0219 and figure 7). Bernett et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising the IL-15/IL-15Rα heterologous fusion protein and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (See paragraph 0358). Thus, Bernett et al. anticipate the claims.
Claim(s) 53-57 and 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bernett et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0140512 A1, published May 7, 2020).
The instant claims are drawn to an isolated Interleukin-15 (IL-15) fusion protein complex comprising: (1) an IL-15 polypeptide (or variant thereof) linked to a heterologous protein; and (2) an IL-15 Receptor alpha ("IL-15Ra") domain noncovalently linked to the IL-15 polypeptide to form an IL- 15/IL-15Ra-heterologous protein fusion protein, wherein the IL-15 variant polypeptide is selected from the group of polypeptides having the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NOS: 56-63 and 66-81.
Bernett et al. teach a targeted IL-15/Rα heterodimeric Fc fusion protein comprising a) a first monomer comprising, from N- to C-terminal: i) a IL-15 Rα sushi domain protein; ii) a first domain linker; iii) An IL-15 protein; and iv) a first variant Fc domain; and b) a second monomer comprising a heavy chain comprising VH-CH1-hinge-CH2-CH3, wherein said CH2-CH3 is a second variant Fc domain; c) a third monomer comprising a light chain comprising VL-CL; wherein said VH and VL domains form an antigen binding domain that binds to human PD-1 and does not compete for said human PD-1 with nivolumab and/or pembrolizumab (See claim 1). Bernett et al. teach the IL-15 polypeptide comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2, which is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 66 of the instant claims (See paragraph 0231). Bernett et al. teach that the IL-15Rα comprises SEQ ID NO:3, which is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 5 of the instant claims (See paragraph 0227). Bernett et al. teach that the linker is GGGGSn as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 10, which is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 15 of the instant claims (See paragraph 0352). Bernett et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising the IL-15/Rα heterodimeric Fc fusion protein and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (See paragraphs 0025 and 0521). Thus, Bernett et al. anticipate the claims.
Claim Status
No claims are allowed.
Conclusion
/SANDRA CARTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1674
/VANESSA L. FORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1674