DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5, 11-13, 16, and 18-20 have been cancelled. Claims 21-23 have been newly added.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered.
The rejection of claims 2-3, 6-8, 10, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Der Vliet et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,501,540) is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments. Van Der Vliet et al. discloses an ISVD (also referenced as a VHH) of SEQ ID NO: 50. This sequence has an asparagine (N) (i.e. a glycosylation acceptor site) at AHo position 97. An asparagine at this position is no longer encompassed by independent claim 10.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 8/4/2025 is again acknowledged.
Claims 14-15 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/4/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 is confusing in reciting “the amino e acids” in multiple places. It is unknown what this means and may have been a word processing error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-8, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated b Buyse et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0044407, of record).
Buyse et al. discloses a heavy chain immunoglobulin single variable domain (ISVD) (that has been modified to have a glycosylation site. (SEQ ID NO: 99 unmodified sequence, SEQ ID NO: 101 modified sequence.) The glutamate (E) at Kabat position 85 (corresponding to Aho position 99) is substituted with an asparagine (N) to form an N-linked glycosylation site. See Examples 1 and 2 and Table 1 of Buyse et al. This polypeptide meets the limitations of instant claim 10. Expression vectors and host cells for recombinant production of the glycosylated ISVD are disclosed. Host cells such as mammalian cells and yeast cells are disclosed that will attach glycans to the recombinant ISVDs. See at least paragraphs [0049-54]. Pharmaceutical compositions are disclosed. See at least paragraph [0015].
Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 101 (Qy) and SEQ ID NO: 99 (Db) (NDT glycosylation site underlined below, where N is at Kabat position 85 (corresponding to Aho position 99) of Buyse et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0044407).
Qy 1 HHHHHHEVQLVESGGGLVQPGNSLRLSCAASGFTFSSFGMSWVRQAPGKGLEWVSSISGS 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 HHHHHHEVQLVESGGGLVQPGNSLRLSCAASGFTFSSFGMSWVRQAPGKGLEWVSSISGS 60
Qy 61 GSDTLYADSVKGRFTISRDNAKTTLYLQMNSLRPNDTAVYYCTIGGSLSRSSQGTLVTVS 120
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GSDTLYADSVKGRFTISRDNAKTTLYLQMNSLRPEDTAVYYCTIGGSLSRSSQGTLVTVS 120
Qy 121 S 121
|
Db 121 S 121
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6-10, 17, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buyse et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0044407, of record) as applied to claims 6-8, 10, and 17 above, and further in view of Callewaert et al. (WO 2018/206734, of record).
Buyse et al. is applied above but does not disclose the limitations of instant claims 9 and 21-23.
Callewaert et al. discloses recombinantly producing proteins in glyco-engineered cells, including those with engineered glycosylation sites. See at least abstract and claims. In particular, at least claim 9 discloses the limitations of instant claim 9. At least claims 1 and 4-5 of Callewaert et al. discloses limitations in instant clam 21. Claim 4 discloses the glycosylation motifs recited in instant claim 10 as amended. At least claims 11-12 disclose limitations in instant claims 22-23. Modification of ISVDs with glycans is useful to prevent binding by pre-existing autoantibodies. See at least page 2.
It would have been obvious to produce the ISVD of SEQ ID NO: 101 of Buyse et al. recombinantly (i.e. using a polynucleotide and expression vector) in a glyco-engineered cell as taught by Callewaert et al., with or without adding additional glycosylation sites as taught by Callewaert et al. as recited in instant claim 21, in order to produce ISVD having glycans as recited in instant claims 22-23, as taught by Callewaert et al. One would have been motivated to do so for the advantages taught by Callewaert et al. with respect to pre-existing autoantibodies.
Double Patenting
Claims 6-10, 17, and 21-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,891,451 in view of Buyse et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0044407, of record)
The issued claims disclose the limitations of instant claim 21 (see issued claim 1) Issued claim 2 permits an additional glycosylation site. Expression vectors as in instant claim 6 are disclosed in issued claim 3. Cells as in instant claims 7-9 are disclosed in issued claims 4-6. The characteristics of instant claims 22-23 are disclosed in issued claims 8-9. The issued claims do not disclose an asparagine at Aho position 50 and/or position 52 and/or position 99.
Buyse et al. is applied as above and discloses a heavy chain immunoglobulin single variable domain (ISVD) (that has been modified to have a glycosylation site. (SEQ ID NO: 99 unmodified sequence, SEQ ID NO: 101 modified sequence.) The glutamate (E) at Kabat position 85 (corresponding to Aho position 99) is substituted with an asparagine (N) to form an N-linked glycosylation site. See Examples 1 and 2 and Table 1 of Buyse et al. Expression vectors and host cells for recombinant production of the glycosylated ISVD are disclosed. Host cells such as mammalian cells and yeast cells are disclosed that will attach glycans to the recombinant ISVDs. See at least paragraphs [0049-54]. Pharmaceutical compositions are disclosed. See at least paragraph [0015].
It would have been obvious to produce the ISVD of SEQ ID NO: 101 of Buyse et al. recombinantly (i.e. using a polynucleotide and expression vector) in a glyco-engineered cell as claimed by Callewaert et al., with the glycosylation sites as taught by issued claim 1. One would have been motivated to do so as issued claim 2 suggests adding an additional glycosylation site. The issued claims encompass modifying any ISVD, including that of Buyse et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Marianne P Allen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647
mpa