The Office Action mailed on June 17, 2026 is herewith WITHDRAWN.
DETAILED ACTION
The Office Action is in response to the Applicant's reply filed June 23, 2026 to the office action made on filed on June 17, 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-15, 17, 19, 21, and 24-27 are currently pending and Claims 1-12 and 21, 24-27 are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This Application filed on 08/02/2022 is a 371 of PCT/EP2020/084783 filed on 12/06/2020, and claims priority to POLAND 432155 and EP 19461613.2 filed on 12/10/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
No new information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) filed.
Response to Arguments
The arguments over the rejection of claims 1-5, 8-12 and 20-25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Buchalova et al. (WO2018114749A1) is persuasive. The rejection is herewith withdrawn.
The rejections are as below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 21, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bespalov et al. (RU2593585C1).
Bespalov et al. teaches cytisine in the solution is 40 mg / ml comprising EDTA - 10 mg, Citric Acid - 30 mg, Sodium hydrogen phosphate - 600 mg, Sodium dihydrogen phosphate - 750 mg, Methylparaben - 300 mg, Propylparaben - 75 mg, Sodium chloride - 8400 mg, Polysorbate 800 mg, and Purified water - up to 1000 ml. Bespalov teaches the Citric Acid is an antioxidant, Sodium hydrogen phosphate and Sodium dihydrogen phosphate as acidity regulators (up to pH 5.0-8.0), and Polysorbate as a cosolvent.
While the reference teaches cystine; Bespalov does not teach the pH values between 3.0 and 7.5 as an example of a formulation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine cystine, at least one inorganic pH regulation agent, water, so the pH values between 3.0 and 7.5. The motivation to combine cystine, at least one inorganic pH regulation agent, water, and the pH values between 3.0 and 7.5, is because Bespalov et al. teaches acidity regulators (up to pH 5.0-8.0). Hence, a skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation to successfully achieve similar efficacy and results.
Claims 4-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bespalov et al. (RU2593585C1) as applied to claims 1-3, 8-9, 21, and 24-27 above, further in view of CN103960783A.
Bespalov et al. are as discussed above.
Bespalov et al. fails to specify sodium hyaluronate, a viscosity agent.
CN103960783A teaches gel matrix is poloxamer, carbomer, polyvinyl alcohol, povidone, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, methylcellulose, hydroxyethylcellulose, sodium hyaluronate, polyethylene glycol Glycols, a mixture of one or more of hypromellose.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the sodium hyaluronate as recited in the claims. The motivation to incorporate sodium hyaluronate is because CN103960783A teaches sodium hyaluronate as a matrix. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully achieving similar efficacy and results.
Claims 10-11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bespalov et al. (RU2593585C1) as applied to claims 1-3, 8-9, 21, and 24-27 above, further in view of Ivashchenko et al. (RU 2541312 C2).
Bespalov et al. are as discussed above.
Bespalov et al. discuss co-solvents, the reference fails to specify glycerol and propylene glycol or sweetners.
Ivashchenko et al. teaches examples 4-5 Propylene glycol 48.0, Cytisine: * = 1.3: 1, Glycerol 39.0, 0.1N aqueous HCl 10.5, Cytisine 2.5, Propylene glycol 48.0, Cytisine 3.5: 1, Glycerol 39.0, Water 5.5, and Lemon 5.0. (p10 table 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the glycerol and propylene glycol or sweetners as recited in the claims. The motivation to incorporate glycerol and propylene glycol or sweetners is because Ivashchenko teaches cytisine formulations having polyalcohols such as glycerol, flavorings, and other additives. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of success in incorporating a polyalcohols flavorings, and other additives in a cytisine containing formulation.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bespalov et al. (RU2593585C1) in view of Ivashchenko et al. (RU 2541312 C2) as applied to claims 1-3, 8-11, 21, and 24-27 above, further in view of Hugerth et al. (US 20100124560 A1).
Bespalov et al. are as discussed above.
Bespalov et al. discuss viscosity modifying agents, the references fail to specify sweeteners such as sugar alcohols, such as sorbitol, xylitol.
Hugerth et al. teaches [0106] Suitable sweeteners may be selected from the group consisting of sugar alcohols, such as sorbitol, xylitol, single sugars including sugars extracted from sugar cane and sugar beet (sucrose), dextrose (also called glucose), fructose (also called leavulose), and lactose (also called milk sugar); sorbitol, mannitol, glycerol, xylitol, erythritol, maltitol syrup (or hydrogenated starch hydrolyzate), isomalt, lactitol; and mixtures of sugars.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the mannitol, glycerol, xylitol, sucrose, maltitol syrup as recited in the claims. The motivation to incorporate mannitol, glycerol, xylitol, sucrose, maltitol syrup is because Hugerth et al. teaches they are suitable sweeteners. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully achieving similar efficacy and results.
Reference of relevance:
Gonzalez (ES2141024B1).
Lukasz et al. (WO2016060576A1).
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Contact Information
/LAYLA SOROUSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622