DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to amendments and remarks filed on 03/09/2026. Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-13, and 15 are considered in this office action. Claims 1-2, 7, 10-11, 13, and 15 have been amended. Claims 5 and 14 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-13, and 15 are pending examination. Objections to claim 15, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 12 and 15, and the 35 U.S.C. 112(d) rejection of claim 2 have been withdrawn in light of the instant amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant presents the following arguments regarding the previous office action:
“…Applicant submits that the feature reciting that "wherein, when the determined EPB is operated alone, the controller is configured to: determine a clamping force required when the first and second EPBs are simultaneously operated for parking, and operate the determined EPB based on the determined clamping force" is not disclosed by Kinder.”
“Kinder does not disclose, nor provide any teaching from which it could be derived, a feature corresponding to "operating additionally an EPB that has not been operated from among the first and second EPBs in response to an ignition switch being off while the determined EPB is operated alone."”
Applicant's arguments A.-B. have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument A. that “…Applicant submits that the feature reciting that "wherein, when the determined EPB is operated alone, the controller is configured to: determine a clamping force required when the first and second EPBs are simultaneously operated for parking, and operate the determined EPB based on the determined clamping force" is not disclosed by Kinder,” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kindler teaches based on the road inclination being smaller than a threshold value, a single EPB actuator is selected and a clamping force is defined for the selected EPB actuator (Kindler, Par. [0066]). The clamping force would be defined in such a way as to ensure the design incentive that the vehicle would not experience rollback and would be held stationary. Kindler also teaches defining a clamping force when both EPBs are operated (Kindler, Par. [0067]). One of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the above stated design incentives, could have implemented claimed variation of defining the clamping force for an EPB when a single EPB is used based on the clamping force when both EPBs are used and the variation would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, Examiner maintains that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found the above stated limitation obvious in view of the teachings of Kindler.
Regarding Applicant’s argument B. that “Kindler does not disclose or suggest Applicant's claimed feature of: " Kinder does not disclose, nor provide any teaching from which it could be derived, a feature corresponding to "operating additionally an EPB that has not been operated from among the first and second EPBs in response to an ignition switch being off while the determined EPB is operated alone",” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kindler teaches when a driver enters an activation command for a “park” mode in order to stop the vehicle permanently, the ECU evaluates the command (typically “close parking brake”) and both EPB actuators are then actuated by the control unit (Kinley, Par. [0044]). This ensures the design incentive of preventing the vehicle from moving when parked by utilizing both EPBs. Kinley also teaches that indications that a “park” mode (thus a conventional activation of the EPB actuators 13,43 for permanent stoppage of the vehicle) is not intended include when the ignition is switched on (Kinley, Par. [0056]), thus implying that an intention for permanent stoppage of the vehicle with both EPBs activated is indicated when the ignition is switched off. One of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the above stated design incentives, could have implemented claimed variation of operating additionally an EPB that has not been operated from among the first and second EPBs in response to an ignition switch being off and the variation would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, Examiner maintains that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found the above stated limitation obvious in view of the teachings of Kindler.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinder et al. (US 2018/0215355 A1) in view of Forster et al. (US 2016/0355165 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kinder teaches “An electronic parking brake (EPB) system (Fig. 1 and Par. [0035] teach a motor vehicle braking system comprising at least two EPB actuators), comprising:
a first EPB provided on a left wheel of a vehicle (Fig. 1 and Par. [0043] teach EPB actuator 13 assigned to front left wheel VL);
a second EPB provided on a right wheel of the vehicle (Fig. 1 and Par. [0043] teach EPB actuator 43 assigned to front right wheel VR); and
a controller (Fig. 2 shows ECU comprising processor 70 and memory 72) configured to:
determine an EPB that is to be operated alone from among the first and second EPBs in response to a gear being shifted (Fig. 3 and Par. [0062]-[0063] teach if it is determined by the intention to start sensor system 84 in step S160 that no start-up of the vehicle is intended, an activation of a single one of the two EPB actuators 13, 43 takes place in step S180; Par. [0052] teaches the intention to start sensor system 84 detects an actuation of a gear level or automatic gear selection device), and
operate the determined EPB alone (Fig. 3 and Par. [0064] teach in step S180 the control unit EUC selects the one of the two EPB actuators 13, 43 that is to be activated),
wherein, when the determined EPB is operated alone, the controller is configured to:
determine a clamping force required when the first and second EPBs are simultaneously operated for parking,
operate the determined EPB based on the determined clamping force (Kinder, Fig. 3 and Par. [0066]-[0067] teach generating different clamping forces according to the actuation of the two EPB actuators 13, 43 when actuated alone or together; One of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the design incentives that the vehicle would not experience rollback and would be held stationary, could have implemented claimed variation of defining the clamping force for an EPB when a single EPB is used based on the clamping force when both EPBs are used and the variation would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.), and
operate additionally an EPB that has not been operated from among the first and second EPBs in response to an ignition switch being off while the determined EPB is operated alone (Par. [0044] teaches when a driver enters an activation command for a “park” mode in order to stop the vehicle permanently, the ECU evaluates the command (typically “close parking brake”) and both EPB actuators are the actuated by the control unit; Par. [0056] teaches indications that a “park” mode (thus a conventional activation of the EPB actuators 13,43 for permanent stoppage of the vehicle) is not intended include when the ignition is switched on (implying that an intention for permanent stoppage of the vehicle with both EPBs activated is indicated when the ignition is switched off); This ensures the design incentive of preventing the vehicle from moving when parked by utilizing both EPBs, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the design incentive, could have implemented claimed variation of operating additionally an EPB that has not been operated from among the first and second EPBs while the determined EPB is operated alone in response to an ignition switch being off and the variation would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art).”
However, Kinder does not explicitly teach determining an EPB is to be operated in response to a gear being shifted “to a P-stage.”
From the same field of endeavor regarding activating a vehicle braking system, Forster teaches determining an EPB is to be operated in response to a gear being shifted “to a P-stage (Fig. 2 shows service brake and parking brake being activated in response to the driver selecting parking position P).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to modify the teachings of Kinder to incorporated the teachings of Forster with a reasonable expectation of success to determine an EPB is to be operated as taught by Kinder in response to a gear being shift to a P-stage as taught by Forster.
The motivation for doing so would be to secure a parked vehicle against rolling away (Forster, Par. [0003]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kinder and Forster above teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches “wherein the controller is configured to stop a previously operated EPB among the first and second EPBs, and operate a previously non-operated EPB (Kinder, Par. [0064]-[0065] teaches selecting one of the two EPB actuators 13, 43 based on the history of the two EPB actuators 13, 43 and can be specifically selected alternately, for example).”
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kinder and Forster above teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches “wherein the controller is configured to, in response to that a driver shifts the gear to the P-stage, determine whether a gradient of the vehicle is lower than a predetermined angle and a driver’s continuous driving intention exists, and determine the EPB that is to be operated alone from among the first and second EPBs in response to determining that the gradient of the vehicle is lower than the predetermine angle and the driver’s continuous driving intention exists (Kinder, Fig. 1 and 3 and Par. [0052]-[0053], [0056], and [0058]-[0059] teaches the ECU selects one of the two EPB actuators 13, 43 to be operated if there is an intention to start (or the absence of an intention to start), the service brake is in an actuation state, the vehicle is in a stationary state (i.e., indications of whether a driver’s continuous driving intention exists), and a road inclination (vehicle gradient) is lower that a first threshold value) (Forster, Fig. 2 shows service brake and parking brake being activated in response to the driver selecting parking position P).”
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kinder and Forster above teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches “wherein the controller is configured to operate additionally an EPB that has not been operated from among the first and second EPBs in response to occurrence of a vehicle slip or an EPB switch being on while the determined EPB is operated alone (Kinder, Fig. 6 and Par. [0072]-[0074] teach after activation of one of two EPB actuators 13, 43, determining if rolling or sliding away of the vehicle is detected and if so, both EPB actuators 13, 43 are activated).”
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kinder and Forster above teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches “wherein the controller is configured to store identification information of the EPB operated alone in a memory (Kinder, Par. [0064] teaches storing actuation history of the two EPB actuators 13, 43 in memory 72).”
Regarding claim 9, Kinder teaches “An electronic parking brake (EPB) system of a vehicle equipped with an electronic transmission system (Fig. 1 and Par. [0035] teach a motor vehicle braking system comprising at least two EPB actuators), comprising:
a first EPB provided on a left wheel of a vehicle (Fig. 1 and Par. [0043] teach EPB actuator 13 assigned to front left wheel VL);
a second EPB provided on a right wheel of the vehicle (Fig. 1 and Par. [0043] teach EPB actuator 43 assigned to front right wheel VR); and
a controller (Fig. 2 shows ECU comprising processor 70 and memory 72) configured to:
when a gear of the electronic transmission system is shifted, determine whether a gradient of the vehicle is lower than a predetermined angle and a driver’s continuous driving intention exists,
operate alone one of the first and second EPBs in response to determining that the gradient of the vehicle is lower than the predetermined angle and the driver’s continuous driving intention exists (Fig. 1 and 3 and Par. [0052]-[0053], [0056], and [0058]-[0059] teaches the ECU selects one of the two EPB actuators 13, 43 to be operated if there is an intention to start (or the absence of an intention to start), the service brake is in an actuation state, the vehicle is in a stationary state (i.e., indications of whether a driver’s continuous driving intention exists), and a road inclination (vehicle gradient) is lower that a first threshold value); Par. [0052] teaches the intention to start sensor system 84 detects an actuation of a gear level or automatic gear selection device), and
operate additionally an EPB that has not been operated from among the first and second EPBs in response to an ignition switch being off while the one of the first and second EPBs is operated alone (Par. [0044] teaches when a driver enters an activation command for a “park” mode in order to stop the vehicle permanently, the ECU evaluates the command (typically “close parking brake”) and both EPB actuators are the actuated by the control unit; Par. [0056] teaches indications that a “park” mode (thus a conventional activation of the EPB actuators 13,43 for permanent stoppage of the vehicle) is not intended include when the ignition is switched on (implying that an intention for permanent stoppage of the vehicle with both EPBs activated is indicated when the ignition is switched off); This ensures the design incentive of preventing the vehicle from moving when parked by utilizing both EPBs, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the design incentive, could have implemented claimed variation of operating additionally an EPB that has not been operated from among the first and second EPBs while the determined EPB is operated alone in response to an ignition switch being off and the variation would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art).”
However, Kinder does not explicitly teach determining an EPB is to be operated in response to a gear being shifted “to a P-stage.”
From the same field of endeavor regarding activating a vehicle braking system, Forster teaches determining an EPB is to be operated in response to a gear being shifted “to a P-stage (Fig. 2 shows service brake and parking brake being activated in response to the driver selecting parking position P).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to modify the teachings of Kinder to incorporated the teachings of Forster with a reasonable expectation of success to determine an EPB is to be operated as taught by Kinder in response to a gear being shift to a P-stage as taught by Forster.
The motivation for doing so would be to secure a parked vehicle against rolling away (Forster, Par. [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kinder and Forster above teaches all the limitations of claim 9 above, and further teaches “wherein the controller is configured to operate the EPB that has not operated among the first and second EPBs when shifting a previous P-stage (Kinder, Par. [0063] teaches if it is determined that no start-up of the vehicle is intended (e.g., when shifting a P-stage), an activation of a single one of the two EPB actuators 13, 43 takes place; Par. [0064]-[0065] teaches selecting one of the two EPB actuators 13, 43 based on the history of the two EPB actuators 13, 43 and can be specifically selected alternately, for example) (Forster, Fig. 2 shows service brake and parking brake being activated in response to the driver selecting parking position P).”
Regarding claim 11, Kinder teaches “A method of controlling an electronic parking brake (EPB) system (Fig. 1 and Par. [0035] teach a motor vehicle braking system comprising at least two EPB actuators), the EPB system comprising a first EPB provided on a left wheel of a vehicle (Fig. 1 and Par. [0043] teach EPB actuator 13 assigned to front left wheel VL) and a second EPB provided on a right wheel of the vehicle (Fig. 1 and Par. [0043] teach EPB actuator 43 assigned to front right wheel VR), the method comprising:
determining an EPB that is to be operated alone from among the first and second EPBs in response to that a gear is shifted (Fig. 3 and Par. [0062]-[0063] teach if it is determined by the intention to start sensor system 84 in step S160 that no start-up of the vehicle is intended, an activation of a single one of the two EPB actuators 13, 43 takes place in step S180; Par. [0052] teaches the intention to start sensor system 84 detects an actuation of a gear level or automatic gear selection device);
operating the determined EPB alone (Fig. 3 and Par. [0064] teach in step S180 the control unit EUC selects the one of the two EPB actuators 13, 43 that is to be activated); and
operating additionally an EPB that has not been operated from among the first and second EPBs in response to an ignition switch being off while the determined EPB is operated alone (Par. [0044] teaches when a driver enters an activation command for a “park” mode in order to stop the vehicle permanently, the ECU evaluates the command (typically “close parking brake”) and both EPB actuators are the actuated by the control unit; Par. [0056] teaches indications that a “park” mode (thus a conventional activation of the EPB actuators 13,43 for permanent stoppage of the vehicle) is not intended include when the ignition is switched on (implying that an intention for permanent stoppage of the vehicle with both EPBs activated is indicated when the ignition is switched off); This ensures the design incentive of preventing the vehicle from moving when parked by utilizing both EPBs, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the design incentive, could have implemented claimed variation of operating additionally an EPB that has not been operated from among the first and second EPBs while the determined EPB is operated alone in response to an ignition switch being off and the variation would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art).
wherein operating the EPB alone comprises:
determining a clamping force required when the first and second EPBs are simultaneously operated for parking, and
operating the determined EPB based on the determined clamping force (Kinder, Fig. 3 and Par. [0066]-[0067] teach generating different clamping forces according to the actuation of the two EPB actuators 13, 43 when actuated alone or together; One of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the design incentives that the vehicle would not experience rollback and would be held stationary, could have implemented claimed variation of defining the clamping force for an EPB when a single EPB is used based on the clamping force when both EPBs are used and the variation would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.).”
However, Kinder does not explicitly teach determining an EPB is to be operated in response to a gear being shifted “to a P-stage.”
From the same field of endeavor regarding activating a vehicle braking system, Forster teaches determining an EPB is to be operated in response to a gear being shifted “to a P-stage (Fig. 2 shows service brake and parking brake being activated in response to the driver selecting parking position P).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to modify the teachings of Kinder to incorporated the teachings of Forster with a reasonable expectation of success to determine an EPB is to be operated as taught by Kinder in response to a gear being shift to a P-stage as taught by Forster.
The motivation for doing so would be to secure a parked vehicle against rolling away (Forster, Par. [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kinder and Forster above teaches all the limitations of claim 11 above, and further teaches “wherein determining an EPB that is to be operated alone further comprises:
determining whether a gradient of the vehicle is lower than a predetermined angle and a driver’s continuous driving intention exists, and
determining the EPB that is to be operated alone from among the first and second EPBs in response to determining that the gradient of the vehicle is lower than the predetermined angle and the driver’s continuous driving intention exists (Kinder, Fig. 1 and 3 and Par. [0052]-[0053], [0056], and [0058]-[0059] teaches the ECU selects one of the two EPB actuators 13, 43 to be operated if there is an intention to start (or the absence of an intention to start), the service brake is in an actuation state, the vehicle is in a stationary state (i.e., indications of whether a driver’s continuous driving intention exists), and a road inclination (vehicle gradient) is lower that a first threshold value); Par. [0052] teaches the intention to start sensor system 84 detects an actuation of a gear level or automatic gear selection device).”
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kinder and Forster above teaches all the limitations of claim 11 above, and further teaches “wherein determining the EPB that is to be operated alone further comprises stopping a previously operated EPB among the first and second EPBs, and determining the EPB to be operated alone for operating a previously non-operated EPB (Kinder, Par. [0064]-[0065] teaches selecting one of the two EPB actuators 13, 43 based on the history of the two EPB actuators 13, 43 and can be specifically selected alternately, for example).”
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kinder and Forster above teaches all the limitations of claim 11 above, and further teaches “operating additionally the EPB that has not been operated from among the first and second EPBs in response to occurrence of a vehicle slip or an EPB switch being on while the determined EPB is operated alone (Kinder, Fig. 6 and Par. [0072]-[0074] teach after activation of one of two EPB actuators 13, 43, determining if rolling or sliding away of the vehicle is detected and if so, both EPB actuators 13, 43 are activated).”
Conclusion
/K.M.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665