DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application/Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-11, 13-16 and 18-19 are canceled. Claims 1-7, 12, 17 and 20-35 are pending in this application and under examination in this office action.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The use of the term “XENOMOUSETM” ([0045]), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 12, 17 and 20-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1-7, 12, 17 and 20-35 are indefinite because:
i. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the progression…" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
ii. The limitation “at least about” is recited in claims 1, 12, 17 and 20. Claim 1 recites “at least about 1.6mg/kg”. Claim 12 recites “at least about 70%”. Claim 17 recites “at least about 17 days…”. Claim 20 recites “at least about 56 days…”. The recitation of “at least” implies a lower limit but this conflicts with the recitation “about”, which implies that there is no set lower limit. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
iii. Claim 12 recites the limitation "the cell surface level of CD33…" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
iv. Claims 25-26 recite the limitation "the terminal half-life …" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
v. Claim 34 recite the limitation "the rs12459419 allele " in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
vi. The rest of claims are indefinite as depending from indefinite claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 12, 17, 20-29 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Culp et al. (US2019/0040131, published Feb 7, 2019, priority May 4, 2018, as in IDS)
Claims 1-7, 12, 17, 20-29 and 34 are drawn to a method of treating and/or delaying the progression of a disease or injury in an individual, comprising administering to the individual an anti-CD33 antibody intravenously at a dose of at least about 1.6 mg/kg, wherein the antibody is administered about once every twelve weeks or more frequently; and wherein the antibody comprises: a heavy chain variable region (VH) that comprises an HVR-H1 comprising the amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO: 105, an HVR-H2 comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 119, and an HVR-H3 comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 122; and a light chain variable region (VL) that comprises an HVR-L1 comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 127, an HVR-L2 comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 135, and an HVR-L3 comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 146. Dependent claims are directed to different dose ranges including a dose between about 1.6-15mg/kg, about 1.6, 5, 7.5, 10 or 15 mg/kg (claims 2-3), different frequencies including once every two week, once every four weeks….once every twelve weeks (claim 4), once every two weeks at a dose of about 1.6mg/kg (claim 5), once every four weeks at a dose of 1.6 mg/kg or 15mg/kg (claims 6-7), wherein the surface level of CD33 is reduced by at least 70% compared to prior to administration (claim 12), the reduction of surface level of CD33 is present for at least 17 days or 56 days (claims 17 and 20), the reduction of CD33 is on peripheral blood monocytes (claim 21), wherein the antibody comprises a VH comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:59 and a VL comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:86 or a heavy chain (HC) comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:180 or 201 and a light chain (LC) comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:185 (claims 22 and 24) or has an IgG2 isotype (claim 23), the terminal half-life of the anti-CD33 in plasma is about 4,5, 6…12 days or about 10 days (claims 25-26), wherein the disease or injury includes different diseases including dementia, frontotemporal dementia (FTD), Alzheimer’s disease (AD), vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease, infections and cancer (claims 27-28), the individual is diagnosed with AD or probable AD dementia (claim 29), does not carry two copies of rs12459419 allele (claim 34).
Culp et al. (US2019/0040131) teaches a method of treating and/or delaying the progression of a disease or injury in an individual, comprising intravenously administering (see para [00380]) to the individual an anti-CD33 antibody at different dose ranges including about 10ng/kg up to 100mg/kg, 1-10mg/kg, 3ug/kg-2mg/kg or an initial dose 2mg/kg followed by about 1mg/kg every other week (see para [0382]) and different frequencies including once weekly, once every two weeks, once every four weeks…once every three months (12 weeks) (see [0382]-[0383]), wherein the disease or injury includes dementia, frontotemporal dementia (FTD), Alzheimer’s disease (AD), vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease, infections and cancer in claims 27-28 or diagnosed with AD or probable AD dementia with different clinical assessments including MMSE of 16-28 points, CDR-GS of 0.5,1 or 2 or positive-amyloid-PET scan in claims 28-33 and 35 (see para [0047]; [0141]; [0146]; [0210]; [0257]; [0261]; 384]; [0387]-[0389]; [0403]-[0414]; [0427]-[0429]; [0434]-[0440]; [0446]; claims 62-64) or does not carry two copies of rs12459419 allele in claim 34 (see para [0391]; [0395]-[0396]), wherein the anti-CD33 antibody comprises HCDRs1-3 of instant SEQ ID NOs:105, 119 and 122 and LCDRs1-3 of instant SEQ ID NOs:127, 135 and 146 or a VH of instant SEQ ID NO: 59 and a VL of instant SEQ ID NO: 86 or a heavy chain of instant SEQ ID NO:180 or 2011 and a light chain of instant SEQ ID NO:185 in claims 1, 22-24 (see the sequence alignment below; [0030]-[0034]; [0040]) or has an IgG2 isotype (see para [0033]; [0066]; [0098]-[0099]).
The dose ranges including disclosed by Culp meets the limitation “a dose of at least about 1.6 mg/kg” or “a dose between about 1.6-15mg/kg, about 1.6, 5, 7.5, 10 or 15 mg/kg in claims 2-3 because based on paragraph [0072] of the published specification, the term “about” refers to “the usual error range for the respective value readily known to the skilled person in this technical field”.
Culp also teaches the limitations “wherein the surface level of CD33 is reduced by at least 70% compared to prior to administration” in claim 12, “the reduction of surface level of CD33 is present for at least 17 days or 56 days” in claims 17 and 20, “the reduction of CD33 is on peripheral blood monocytes” in claim 21, “the terminal half-life of the anti-CD33 in plasma is about 4,5, 6…12 days or about 10 days” in claims 25-26 (see para [0393]-[0394]) because these limitations are inherent features of administration of the claimed anti-CD33 antibody and the Culp’s method uses the same active step (intravenous administration), the same anti-CD33 antibody having the same sequences for HCDRs1-3 and LCDRs1-3 or VH and VL or HC and LC in the same patient populations including dementia, FTD, AD, vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease, infections and cancer and as also evidenced by Monroe et al. (WO2016/201388; see para. [0175]-[0177]). Thus, claims 1-7, 12, 17, 20-29 and 34 anticipated by Culp et al. (US2019/0040131).
SEQ ID NO:59
BGB47831
(NOTE: this sequence has 7 duplicates in the database searched.
See complete list at the end of this report)
ID BGB47831 standard; protein; 117 AA.
XX
AC BGB47831;
XX
DT 21-MAR-2019 (first entry)
XX
DE Anti-CD33 antibody heavy chain variable region, SEQ 59.
XX
KW CD33; Siglec-3; alzheimers disease; antibody; antibody production;
KW antibody therapy; antimicrobial-gen.; cancer; cerebroprotective;
KW cytostatic; dementia; frontotemporal dementia;
KW heavy chain variable region; infectious disease;
KW myeloid cell surface antigen CD33; neuroprotective; nootropic;
KW prophylactic to disease; therapeutic; vascular dementia; vasotropic.
XX
OS Mus sp.
XX
CC PN US2019040131-A1.
XX
CC PD 07-FEB-2019.
XX
CC PF 03-AUG-2018; 2018US-00054840.
XX
PR 03-AUG-2017; 2017US-0541024P.
PR 04-MAY-2018; 2018US-0667388P.
XX
CC PA (ALEC-) ALECTOR LLC.
XX
CC PI Culp P, Lam H, Rosenthal A, Lee S, Nielson NP, Pejchal R;
XX
DR WPI; 2019-13815J/15.
XX
CC PT New antibody useful in pharmaceutical composition for preventing,
CC PT reducing risk, or treating disease, disorder, or injury, preferably
CC PT cancer e.g. bladder cancer, brain cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, or
CC PT rectal cancer.
XX
CC PS Claim 10; SEQ ID NO 59; 208pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel anti-myeloid cell surface
CC antigen CD33 precursor (CD33, Siglec-3) antibody useful in a
CC pharmaceutical composition for preventing, reducing risk, or treating
CC disease, disorder, or injury, preferably dementia, frontotemporal
CC dementia, Alzheimer's disease, vascular dementia, mixed dementia,
CC tauopathy disease, infections, and cancer. The invention also provides:
CC an isolated nucleic acid comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding the
CC antibody; a vector comprising the nucleic acid; an isolated host cell
CC comprising the vector; and a method for producing an antibody that binds
CC to CD33. The cancer includes bladder cancer, brain cancer, breast cancer,
CC colon cancer, rectal cancer, endometrial cancer, kidney cancer, renal
CC cell cancer, renal pelvis cancer, leukemia, lung cancer, melanoma, non-
CC Hodgkin's lymphoma, pancreatic cancer, prostate cancer, ovarian cancer,
CC fibrosarcoma, acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL), acute myeloid leukemia
CC (AML), chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL), chronic myeloid leukemia
CC (CML), and multiple myeloma. The present sequence represents an anti-CD33
CC antibody heavy chain variable region, where the antibody can be useful
CC for preparing the pharmaceutical composition of the invention.
XX
SQ Sequence 117 AA;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 618; Length 117;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 117; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKISCKASGYTFTDYNLHWVRQAPGQGLEWIGFIYPSNRITGY 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKISCKASGYTFTDYNLHWVRQAPGQGLEWIGFIYPSNRITGY 60
Qy 61 AQKFQGRATLTVDNSTSTAYMELSSLRSEDTAVYYCARSDVDYFDYWGQGTLLTVSS 117
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 AQKFQGRATLTVDNSTSTAYMELSSLRSEDTAVYYCARSDVDYFDYWGQGTLLTVSS 117
SEQ ID NO:180
BGB47952
(NOTE: this sequence has 5 duplicates in the database searched)
ID BGB47952 standard; protein; 443 AA.
XX
AC BGB47952;
XX
DT 21-MAR-2019 (first entry)
XX
DE Anti-CD33 antibody heavy chain, SEQ 180.
XX
KW CD33; Siglec-3; alzheimers disease; antibody; antibody production;
KW antibody therapy; antimicrobial-gen.; cancer; cerebroprotective;
KW cytostatic; dementia; frontotemporal dementia; heavy chain;
KW infectious disease; myeloid cell surface antigen CD33; neuroprotective;
KW nootropic; prophylactic to disease; therapeutic; vascular dementia;
KW vasotropic.
XX
OS Mus sp.
XX
CC PN US2019040131-A1.
XX
CC PD 07-FEB-2019.
XX
CC PF 03-AUG-2018; 2018US-00054840.
XX
PR 03-AUG-2017; 2017US-0541024P.
PR 04-MAY-2018; 2018US-0667388P.
XX
CC PA (ALEC-) ALECTOR LLC.
XX
CC PI Culp P, Lam H, Rosenthal A, Lee S, Nielson NP, Pejchal R;
XX
DR WPI; 2019-13815J/15.
XX
CC PT New antibody useful in pharmaceutical composition for preventing,
CC PT reducing risk, or treating disease, disorder, or injury, preferably
CC PT cancer e.g. bladder cancer, brain cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, or
CC PT rectal cancer.
XX
CC PS Claim 54; SEQ ID NO 180; 208pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel anti-myeloid cell surface
CC antigen CD33 precursor (CD33, Siglec-3) antibody useful in a
CC pharmaceutical composition for preventing, reducing risk, or treating
CC disease, disorder, or injury, preferably dementia, frontotemporal
CC dementia, Alzheimer's disease, vascular dementia, mixed dementia,
CC tauopathy disease, infections, and cancer. The invention also provides:
CC an isolated nucleic acid comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding the
CC antibody; a vector comprising the nucleic acid; an isolated host cell
CC comprising the vector; and a method for producing an antibody that binds
CC to CD33. The cancer includes bladder cancer, brain cancer, breast cancer,
CC colon cancer, rectal cancer, endometrial cancer, kidney cancer, renal
CC cell cancer, renal pelvis cancer, leukemia, lung cancer, melanoma, non-
CC Hodgkin's lymphoma, pancreatic cancer, prostate cancer, ovarian cancer,
CC fibrosarcoma, acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL), acute myeloid leukemia
CC (AML), chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL), chronic myeloid leukemia
CC (CML), and multiple myeloma. The present sequence represents an anti-CD33
CC antibody heavy chain, where the antibody can be useful for preparing the
CC pharmaceutical composition of the invention.
XX
SQ Sequence 443 AA;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 2373; Length 443;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 443; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKISCKASGYTFTDYNLHWVRQAPGQGLEWIGFIYPSNRITGY 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKISCKASGYTFTDYNLHWVRQAPGQGLEWIGFIYPSNRITGY 60
Qy 61 AQKFQGRATLTVDNSTSTAYMELSSLRSEDTAVYYCARSDVDYFDYWGQGTLLTVSSAST 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 AQKFQGRATLTVDNSTSTAYMELSSLRSEDTAVYYCARSDVDYFDYWGQGTLLTVSSAST 120
Qy 121 KGPSVFPLAPCSRSTSESTAALGCLVKDYFPEPVTVSWNSGALTSGVHTFPAVLQSSGLY 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 KGPSVFPLAPCSRSTSESTAALGCLVKDYFPEPVTVSWNSGALTSGVHTFPAVLQSSGLY 180
Qy 181 SLSSVVTVPSSNFGTQTYTCNVDHKPSNTKVDKTVERKCCVECPPCPAPPVAGPSVFLFP 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 SLSSVVTVPSSNFGTQTYTCNVDHKPSNTKVDKTVERKCCVECPPCPAPPVAGPSVFLFP 240
Qy 241 PKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVQFNWYVDGVEVHNAKTKPREEQFNSTFRVVS 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 PKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVQFNWYVDGVEVHNAKTKPREEQFNSTFRVVS 300
Qy 301 VLTVVHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKGLPAPIEKTISKTKGQPREPQVYTLPPSREEMTKNQVS 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 VLTVVHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKGLPAPIEKTISKTKGQPREPQVYTLPPSREEMTKNQVS 360
Qy 361 LTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPMLDSDGSFFLYSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFS 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 LTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPMLDSDGSFFLYSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFS 420
Qy 421 CSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPGK 443
|||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 CSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPGK 443
SEQ ID NO:201
BGB47973
(NOTE: this sequence has 5 duplicates in the database searched)
ID BGB47973 standard; protein; 442 AA.
XX
AC BGB47973;
XX
DT 21-MAR-2019 (first entry)
XX
DE Anti-CD33 antibody heavy chain, SEQ 201.
XX
KW CD33; Siglec-3; alzheimers disease; antibody; antibody production;
KW antibody therapy; antimicrobial-gen.; cancer; cerebroprotective;
KW cytostatic; dementia; frontotemporal dementia; heavy chain;
KW infectious disease; myeloid cell surface antigen CD33; neuroprotective;
KW nootropic; prophylactic to disease; therapeutic; vascular dementia;
KW vasotropic.
XX
OS Mus sp.
XX
CC PN US2019040131-A1.
XX
CC PD 07-FEB-2019.
XX
CC PF 03-AUG-2018; 2018US-00054840.
XX
PR 03-AUG-2017; 2017US-0541024P.
PR 04-MAY-2018; 2018US-0667388P.
XX
CC PA (ALEC-) ALECTOR LLC.
XX
CC PI Culp P, Lam H, Rosenthal A, Lee S, Nielson NP, Pejchal R;
XX
DR WPI; 2019-13815J/15.
XX
CC PT New antibody useful in pharmaceutical composition for preventing,
CC PT reducing risk, or treating disease, disorder, or injury, preferably
CC PT cancer e.g. bladder cancer, brain cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, or
CC PT rectal cancer.
XX
CC PS Claim 54; SEQ ID NO 201; 208pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel anti-myeloid cell surface
CC antigen CD33 precursor (CD33, Siglec-3) antibody useful in a
CC pharmaceutical composition for preventing, reducing risk, or treating
CC disease, disorder, or injury, preferably dementia, frontotemporal
CC dementia, Alzheimer's disease, vascular dementia, mixed dementia,
CC tauopathy disease, infections, and cancer. The invention also provides:
CC an isolated nucleic acid comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding the
CC antibody; a vector comprising the nucleic acid; an isolated host cell
CC comprising the vector; and a method for producing an antibody that binds
CC to CD33. The cancer includes bladder cancer, brain cancer, breast cancer,
CC colon cancer, rectal cancer, endometrial cancer, kidney cancer, renal
CC cell cancer, renal pelvis cancer, leukemia, lung cancer, melanoma, non-
CC Hodgkin's lymphoma, pancreatic cancer, prostate cancer, ovarian cancer,
CC fibrosarcoma, acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL), acute myeloid leukemia
CC (AML), chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL), chronic myeloid leukemia
CC (CML), and multiple myeloma. The present sequence represents an anti-CD33
CC antibody heavy chain, where the antibody can be useful for preparing the
CC pharmaceutical composition of the invention.
XX
SQ Sequence 442 AA;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 2368; Length 442;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 442; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKISCKASGYTFTDYNLHWVRQAPGQGLEWIGFIYPSNRITGY 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKISCKASGYTFTDYNLHWVRQAPGQGLEWIGFIYPSNRITGY 60
Qy 61 AQKFQGRATLTVDNSTSTAYMELSSLRSEDTAVYYCARSDVDYFDYWGQGTLLTVSSAST 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 AQKFQGRATLTVDNSTSTAYMELSSLRSEDTAVYYCARSDVDYFDYWGQGTLLTVSSAST 120
Qy 121 KGPSVFPLAPCSRSTSESTAALGCLVKDYFPEPVTVSWNSGALTSGVHTFPAVLQSSGLY 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 KGPSVFPLAPCSRSTSESTAALGCLVKDYFPEPVTVSWNSGALTSGVHTFPAVLQSSGLY 180
Qy 181 SLSSVVTVPSSNFGTQTYTCNVDHKPSNTKVDKTVERKCCVECPPCPAPPVAGPSVFLFP 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 SLSSVVTVPSSNFGTQTYTCNVDHKPSNTKVDKTVERKCCVECPPCPAPPVAGPSVFLFP 240
Qy 241 PKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVQFNWYVDGVEVHNAKTKPREEQFNSTFRVVS 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 PKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVQFNWYVDGVEVHNAKTKPREEQFNSTFRVVS 300
Qy 301 VLTVVHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKGLPAPIEKTISKTKGQPREPQVYTLPPSREEMTKNQVS 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 VLTVVHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKGLPAPIEKTISKTKGQPREPQVYTLPPSREEMTKNQVS 360
Qy 361 LTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPMLDSDGSFFLYSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFS 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 LTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPMLDSDGSFFLYSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFS 420
Qy 421 CSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPG 442
||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 CSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPG 442
SEQ ID NO:86
BGB47858
(NOTE: this sequence has 7 duplicates in the database searched)
ID BGB47858 standard; protein; 111 AA.
XX
AC BGB47858;
XX
DT 21-MAR-2019 (first entry)
XX
DE Anti-CD33 antibody light chain variable region, SEQ 86.
XX
KW CD33; Siglec-3; alzheimers disease; antibody; antibody production;
KW antibody therapy; antimicrobial-gen.; cancer; cerebroprotective;
KW cytostatic; dementia; frontotemporal dementia; infectious disease;
KW light chain variable region; myeloid cell surface antigen CD33;
KW neuroprotective; nootropic; prophylactic to disease; therapeutic;
KW vascular dementia; vasotropic.
XX
OS Mus sp.
XX
CC PN US2019040131-A1.
XX
CC PD 07-FEB-2019.
XX
CC PF 03-AUG-2018; 2018US-00054840.
XX
PR 03-AUG-2017; 2017US-0541024P.
PR 04-MAY-2018; 2018US-0667388P.
XX
CC PA (ALEC-) ALECTOR LLC.
XX
CC PI Culp P, Lam H, Rosenthal A, Lee S, Nielson NP, Pejchal R;
XX
DR WPI; 2019-13815J/15.
XX
CC PT New antibody useful in pharmaceutical composition for preventing,
CC PT reducing risk, or treating disease, disorder, or injury, preferably
CC PT cancer e.g. bladder cancer, brain cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, or
CC PT rectal cancer.
XX
CC PS Claim 10; SEQ ID NO 86; 208pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel anti-myeloid cell surface
CC antigen CD33 precursor (CD33, Siglec-3) antibody useful in a
CC pharmaceutical composition for preventing, reducing risk, or treating
CC disease, disorder, or injury, preferably dementia, frontotemporal
CC dementia, Alzheimer's disease, vascular dementia, mixed dementia,
CC tauopathy disease, infections, and cancer. The invention also provides:
CC an isolated nucleic acid comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding the
CC antibody; a vector comprising the nucleic acid; an isolated host cell
CC comprising the vector; and a method for producing an antibody that binds
CC to CD33. The cancer includes bladder cancer, brain cancer, breast cancer,
CC colon cancer, rectal cancer, endometrial cancer, kidney cancer, renal
CC cell cancer, renal pelvis cancer, leukemia, lung cancer, melanoma, non-
CC Hodgkin's lymphoma, pancreatic cancer, prostate cancer, ovarian cancer,
CC fibrosarcoma, acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL), acute myeloid leukemia
CC (AML), chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL), chronic myeloid leukemia
CC (CML), and multiple myeloma. The present sequence represents an anti-CD33
CC antibody light chain variable region, where the antibody can be useful
CC for preparing the pharmaceutical composition of the invention.
XX
SQ Sequence 111 AA;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 579; Length 111;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 111; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 DIVLTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCRASQSVSTSTYSYMHWYQQKPGQPPKLLIKYASNLES 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 DIVLTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCRASQSVSTSTYSYMHWYQQKPGQPPKLLIKYASNLES 60
Qy 61 GVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAEDVAVYYCQHSWEIPLTFGQGTKLEIK 111
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAEDVAVYYCQHSWEIPLTFGQGTKLEIK 111
SEQID NO:185
BGB47957
(NOTE: this sequence has 5 duplicates in the database searched)
ID BGB47957 standard; protein; 218 AA.
XX
AC BGB47957;
XX
DT 21-MAR-2019 (first entry)
XX
DE Anti-CD33 antibody light chain, SEQ 185.
XX
KW CD33; Siglec-3; alzheimers disease; antibody; antibody production;
KW antibody therapy; antimicrobial-gen.; cancer; cerebroprotective;
KW cytostatic; dementia; frontotemporal dementia; infectious disease;
KW light chain; myeloid cell surface antigen CD33; neuroprotective;
KW nootropic; prophylactic to disease; therapeutic; vascular dementia;
KW vasotropic.
XX
OS Mus sp.
XX
CC PN US2019040131-A1.
XX
CC PD 07-FEB-2019.
XX
CC PF 03-AUG-2018; 2018US-00054840.
XX
PR 03-AUG-2017; 2017US-0541024P.
PR 04-MAY-2018; 2018US-0667388P.
XX
CC PA (ALEC-) ALECTOR LLC.
XX
CC PI Culp P, Lam H, Rosenthal A, Lee S, Nielson NP, Pejchal R;
XX
DR WPI; 2019-13815J/15.
XX
CC PT New antibody useful in pharmaceutical composition for preventing,
CC PT reducing risk, or treating disease, disorder, or injury, preferably
CC PT cancer e.g. bladder cancer, brain cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, or
CC PT rectal cancer.
XX
CC PS Disclosure; SEQ ID NO 185; 208pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel anti-myeloid cell surface
CC antigen CD33 precursor (CD33, Siglec-3) antibody useful in a
CC pharmaceutical composition for preventing, reducing risk, or treating
CC disease, disorder, or injury, preferably dementia, frontotemporal
CC dementia, Alzheimer's disease, vascular dementia, mixed dementia,
CC tauopathy disease, infections, and cancer. The invention also provides:
CC an isolated nucleic acid comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding the
CC antibody; a vector comprising the nucleic acid; an isolated host cell
CC comprising the vector; and a method for producing an antibody that binds
CC to CD33. The cancer includes bladder cancer, brain cancer, breast cancer,
CC colon cancer, rectal cancer, endometrial cancer, kidney cancer, renal
CC cell cancer, renal pelvis cancer, leukemia, lung cancer, melanoma, non-
CC Hodgkin's lymphoma, pancreatic cancer, prostate cancer, ovarian cancer,
CC fibrosarcoma, acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL), acute myeloid leukemia
CC (AML), chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL), chronic myeloid leukemia
CC (CML), and multiple myeloma. The present sequence represents an anti-CD33
CC antibody light chain, where the antibody can be useful for preparing the
CC pharmaceutical composition of the invention.
XX
SQ Sequence 218 AA;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1132; Length 218;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 218; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 DIVLTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCRASQSVSTSTYSYMHWYQQKPGQPPKLLIKYASNLES 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 DIVLTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCRASQSVSTSTYSYMHWYQQKPGQPPKLLIKYASNLES 60
Qy 61 GVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAEDVAVYYCQHSWEIPLTFGQGTKLEIKRTVAAPSVF 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAEDVAVYYCQHSWEIPLTFGQGTKLEIKRTVAAPSVF 120
Qy 121 IFPPSDEQLKSGTASVVCLLNNFYPREAKVQWKVDNALQSGNSQESVTEQDSKDSTYSLS 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 IFPPSDEQLKSGTASVVCLLNNFYPREAKVQWKVDNALQSGNSQESVTEQDSKDSTYSLS 180
Qy 181 STLTLSKADYEKHKVYACEVTHQGLSSPVTKSFNRGEC 218
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 STLTLSKADYEKHKVYACEVTHQGLSSPVTKSFNRGEC 218
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12, 17, 20-29 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Culp et al. (US2019/0040131, as in IDS) in view of Monroe et al. (WO2016/201388, published Dec 15, 2016, priority Jun 12, 2015, as in IDS).
Even if Culp does not a dose range that is exactly identical to the claimed range of at least about 1.6 mg/kg, a dose between about 1.6-15mg/kg, about 1.6, 5, 7.5, 10 or 15 mg/kg in claims 2-3 or once every two weeks at a dose of about 1.6mg/kg in claim 5 or once every four weeks at a dose of 1.6 mg/kg or 15mg/kg in claims 6-7, Monroe et al. (WO2016/201388) teach the use an anti-CD33 antibody at the claimed dose ranges and regimens recited in claims 1-3 and 5-7 for treatment of different diseases including dementia, FTD, AD, vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease, infections and cancer.
Monroe teaches a method of treating different diseases including dementia, FTD, AD, vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease, infections and cancer in a subject in need thereof, comprising intravenously administering to the subject an anti-CD33 antibody at a dose range including at least about 1.6 mg/kg, a dose between about 1.6-15mg/kg, about 1.6, 5, 7.5, 10 or 15 mg/kg in claims 2-3 or once every two weeks at a dose of about 1.6mg/kg in claim 5 or once every four weeks at a dose of 1.6 mg/kg or 15mg/kg (see para [0019]-[0023]; [0056]; [0357]; [0376]; [0378]; [0402]-[0406]; [0408]-[0409]; [0523]; [0176]-[0177]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that selecting and applying the known dose ranges including at least about 1.6 mg/kg, a dose between about 1.6-15mg/kg, about 1.6, 5, 7.5, 10 or 15 mg/kg, or once every two weeks at a dose of about 1.6mg/kg or once every four weeks at a dose of 1.6 mg/kg or 15mg/kg for an anti-CD33 antibody in treatment of different diseases including dementia, FTD, AD, vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease, infections and cancer and the known method disclosed by Monroe to the Culp’s method would have yielded the predictable result of treating different diseases including dementia, FTD, AD, vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease, infections and cancer, and resulted in an improved method for treating different diseases including dementia, FTD, AD, vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease, infections and cancer using an anti-CD33 antibody.
Using the known dose ranges including at least about 1.6 mg/kg, a dose between about 1.6-15mg/kg, about 1.6, 5, 7.5, 10 or 15 mg/kg, or once every two weeks at a dose of about 1.6mg/kg or once every four weeks at a dose of 1.6 mg/kg or 15mg/kg for an anti-CD33 antibody in treatment of different diseases including dementia, FTD, AD, vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease, infections and cancer in the Culp’s method would treat the recited diseases and expand application of the Culp’s method, and would increase patient’s satisfaction with treatment of different diseases including dementia, FTD, AD, vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease, infections and cancer using an anti-CD33 antibody.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select and apply the known dose ranges including at least about 1.6 mg/kg, a dose between about 1.6-15mg/kg, about 1.6, 5, 7.5, 10 or 15 mg/kg, or once every two weeks at a dose of about 1.6mg/kg or once every four weeks at a dose of 1.6 mg/kg or 15mg/kg for an anti-CD33 antibody in treatment of different diseases including dementia, FTD, AD, vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease, infections and cancer and the known method disclosed by Monroe to the Culp’s method, and yield the predictable result of treating different diseases including dementia, FTD, AD, vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease, infections and cancer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30-33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Culp et al. (US2019/0040131) in view of Monroe et al. (WO2016/201388) as applied to claims 1-7, 12, 17, 20-29 and 34 above, and further in view of Novak et al. (US2018/0142007, published May 24, 2018, priority Nov 19, 2014), Perneczky et al. (Am J. Geri. Psy, 2006; 14:139-144. Doi.org/10.1097/01.JGP.0000192478.82189.a8) and Hoover (Neurology, 2010; 82:1146-1147. www.neurology.org/cgi/content/full/74/16/1316).
Culp and Monroe are set forth above but fail to teach that the individual has a MMSE score of between about 16-28 points in claim 30, a CDR-GS of about 0.5, 1, or 2 in claim 31, a positive amyloid-PET scan in claim 32, taking a stable dose of a cholinesterase inhibitor and/or a memantine therapy for AD as in claim 33, AD assessed using one or more clinical assessment including BRANS, CDR, PE, TSPO-PET imaging or any combination thereof in claim 35.
Novak et al. (US2018/0142007) teaches a method of treating dementia or AD using an anti-tau antibody in a subject in need thereof, wherein the subject with dementia or AD is evaluated as having a MMSE score of 15-26 (see para [0772], which is within the claimed range of 16-28 points in claim 30) or evaluated with a CDR-GS as in claim 31, a positive amyloid-PET scan in claim 32 or AD assessed using one or more clinical assessment including BRANS, CDR, PE, TSPO-PET imaging or any combination thereof as in claim 35 (see para [0432] [0774]-[0776]); or taking a stable dose of a cholinesterase inhibitor and/or a memantine therapy for AD as in claim 33 (see para [0446]-[0447]; [0462]; [0469]; [0752]-[0754]),
Perneczky et al. teach that patients with probable dementia or AD have a MMSE score of ranging from 26–29, patients with mild dementia or AD have a MMSE score of 21–25, patients with moderate dementia or AD have a MMSE score of 11–20 and patients with severe dementia or AD have a MMSE score of 0-10 (see p. 2).
Hoover et al. teaches that patients with dementia or AD have a CDR-GS of about 0.5, 1, or 2 as in claim 31 (see p. 1146, table 1)
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that selecting and treating the AD/dementia patients having the known MMSE score of between about 16-28 points, the AD/dementia patients having the known CDR-GS score of about 0.5, 1, or 2, the AD/dementia patients having the known positive amyloid-PET scan, the AD/dementia patients taking a stable dose of a cholinesterase inhibitor and/or a memantine therapy for AD or assessing AD/dementia patients using one or more clinical assessment including BRANS, CDR, PE, TSPO-PET imaging or any combination thereof to the Culp’s method would have yielded the predictable result of treating patients with different forms of dementia including FTD, AD, vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease, and resulted in an improved method for treating dementia, FTD, AD, vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease using an anti-CD33 antibody.
Selecting and treating the AD/dementia patients having the known MMSE score of between about 16-28 points, the AD/dementia patients having the known CDR-GS score of about 0.5, 1, or 2, the AD/dementia patients having the known positive amyloid-PET scan, the AD/dementia patients taking a stable dose of a cholinesterase inhibitor and/or a memantine therapy for AD or assessing AD/dementia patients using one or more clinical assessment including BRANS, CDR, PE, TSPO-PET imaging or any combination thereof to the Culp’s method would treat different forms of dementia including FTD, AD, vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease and expand application of the Culp’s method, and would increase patient’s satisfaction with treatment of different diseases including dementia, FTD, AD, vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease using an anti-CD33 antibody because dementia or AD patients with different degrees or stages of severity can be diagnosed and evaluated or assessed by using a MMSE score of between about 16-28 points, having a CDR-GS score of about 0.5, 1, or 2, having a positive amyloid-PET scan, taking a stable dose of a cholinesterase inhibitor and/or a memantine therapy for AD or using one or more clinical assessment including BRANS, CDR, PE, TSPO-PET imaging or any combination thereof.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select and treat the AD/dementia patients having the known MMSE score of between about 16-28 points, the AD/dementia patients having the known CDR-GS score of about 0.5, 1, or 2, the AD/dementia patients having the known positive amyloid-PET scan, the AD/dementia patients taking a stable dose of a cholinesterase inhibitor and/or a memantine therapy for AD or assessing AD/dementia patients using one or more clinical assessment including BRANS, CDR, PE, TSPO-PET imaging or any combination thereof to the Culp’s method, and yield the predictable result of treating different forms of dementia at different stages including FTD, AD, vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 12, 17 and 20-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 33-34 and 36-77 of U.S. Patent No. 10711062 or claims 1-17 and 19-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11254743 in view of Culp et al. (US2019/0040131), Monroe et al. (WO2016/201388), Novak et al. (US2018/0142007), Perneczky et al. (2006) and Hoover (2010).
Claims 33-34 and 36-77 of US10711062 (the ‘062 patent) claim a method of treating different diseases including Alzheimer’s disease (AD) using an anti-CD33 antibody including the claimed anti-CD33 antibody having the recited SEQ ID NOs: for HCDRs1-3 and LCDRs1-3, VH and VL or HC and LC (see the sequence alignment below).
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 of U.S11254743 (the ‘743 patent) claim a method of treating different diseases including Alzheimer’s disease (AD) using an anti-CD33 antibody including the claimed anti-CD33 antibody having the recited SEQ ID NOs: for HCDRs1-3 and LCDRs1-3, VH and VL or HC and LC (see the sequence alignment below).
While the ‘062 patent's claims or the ‘743 patent’s claims do not recite a specific dose range of at least about 1.6 mg/kg, a dose between about 1.6-15mg/kg, about 1.6, 5, 7.5, 10 or 15 mg/kg in claims 2-3 or once every two weeks at a dose of about 1.6mg/kg in claim 5 or once every four weeks at a dose of 1.6 mg/kg or 15mg/kg in claims 6-7, or wherein the AD has a MMSE score of between about 16-28 points in claim 30, a CDR-GS of about 0.5, 1, or 2 in claim 31, a positive amyloid-PET scan in claim 32, taking a stable dose of a cholinesterase inhibitor and/or a memantine therapy for AD as in claim 33, AD assessed using one or more clinical assessment including BRANS, CDR, PE, TSPO-PET imaging or any combination thereof in claim 35, Culp, Monroe, Novak, Perneczky and Hoover teach these limitations and provide motivation and an expectation of success for the reasons set forth above under the 103 rejections.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select and treat the AD/dementia patients having the known MMSE score of between about 16-28 points, the AD/dementia patients having the known CDR-GS score of about 0.5, 1, or 2, the AD/dementia patients having the known positive amyloid-PET scan, the AD/dementia patients taking a stable dose of a cholinesterase inhibitor and/or a memantine therapy for AD or assessing AD/dementia patients using one or more clinical assessment including BRANS, CDR, PE, TSPO-PET imaging or any combination thereof by using the claimed dose range in the method of the ‘062 patent or the ‘743 patent, and yield the predictable result of treating different forms of dementia at different stages including FTD, AD, vascular dementia, mixed dementia, tauopathy disease.
SEQ ID NO:180
US-16-054-840-180
(NOTE: this sequence has 1 duplicate in the database searched)
Sequence 180, US/16054840
Patent No. 10711062
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: ALECTOR LLC
APPLICANT: CULP, Patricia
APPLICANT: LAM, Helen
APPLICANT: ROSENTHAL, Arnon
APPLICANT: LEE, Seung-Joo
APPLICANT: NIELSON, Nels P.
APPLICANT: PEJCHAL, Robert
TITLE OF INVENTION: ANTI-CD33 ANTIBODIES AND METHODS OF USE THEREOF
FILE REFERENCE: 73502-20017.00
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/16/054,840
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2018-08-03
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/667,388
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-05-04
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/541,024
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-08-03
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 205
SEQ ID NO 180
LENGTH: 443
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Artificial Sequence
FEATURE:
OTHER INFORMATION: Synthetic Construct
Query Match 100.0%; Score 2373; Length 443;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 443; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKISCKASGYTFTDYNLHWVRQAPGQGLEWIGFIYPSNRITGY 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKISCKASGYTFTDYNLHWVRQAPGQGLEWIGFIYPSNRITGY 60
Qy 61 AQKFQGRATLTVDNSTSTAYMELSSLRSEDTAVYYCARSDVDYFDYWGQGTLLTVSSAST 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 AQKFQGRATLTVDNSTSTAYMELSSLRSEDTAVYYCARSDVDYFDYWGQGTLLTVSSAST 120
Qy 121 KGPSVFPLAPCSRSTSESTAALGCLVKDYFPEPVTVSWNSGALTSGVHTFPAVLQSSGLY 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 KGPSVFPLAPCSRSTSESTAALGCLVKDYFPEPVTVSWNSGALTSGVHTFPAVLQSSGLY 180
Qy 181 SLSSVVTVPSSNFGTQTYTCNVDHKPSNTKVDKTVERKCCVECPPCPAPPVAGPSVFLFP 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 SLSSVVTVPSSNFGTQTYTCNVDHKPSNTKVDKTVERKCCVECPPCPAPPVAGPSVFLFP 240
Qy 241 PKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVQFNWYVDGVEVHNAKTKPREEQFNSTFRVVS 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 PKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVQFNWYVDGVEVHNAKTKPREEQFNSTFRVVS 300
Qy 301 VLTVVHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKGLPAPIEKTISKTKGQPREPQVYTLPPSREEMTKNQVS 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 VLTVVHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKGLPAPIEKTISKTKGQPREPQVYTLPPSREEMTKNQVS 360
Qy 361 LTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPMLDSDGSFFLYSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFS 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 LTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPMLDSDGSFFLYSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFS 420
Qy 421 CSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPGK 443
|||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 CSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPGK 443
SEQ ID NO:185
US-16-054-840-185
(NOTE: this sequence has 1 duplicate in the database searched)
Sequence 185, US/16054840
Patent No. 10711062
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: ALECTOR LLC
APPLICANT: CULP, Patricia
APPLICANT: LAM, Helen
APPLICANT: ROSENTHAL, Arnon
APPLICANT: LEE, Seung-Joo
APPLICANT: NIELSON, Nels P.
APPLICANT: PEJCHAL, Robert
TITLE OF INVENTION: ANTI-CD33 ANTIBODIES AND METHODS OF USE THEREOF
FILE REFERENCE: 73502-20017.00
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/16/054,840
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2018-08-03
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/667,388
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-05-04
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 62/541,024
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-08-03
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 205
SEQ ID NO 185
LENGTH: 218
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Artificial Sequence
FEATURE:
OTHER INFORMATION: Synthetic Construct
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1132; Length 218;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches