Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3, 9, 11-14, 17, 18, 119-120, 123, 132, 136-138, 163, 164 and 166 are pending in a Response of 12/31/2025. Claims 119-120, 123, 132, 136-138, 163, 164 and 166 have been withdrawn. Accordingly, claims 1-3, 9, 11-14, 17 and 18 are being examined.
Withdrawn rejections:
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 12/31/2025 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below are herein withdrawn.
The following rejection and/or objection are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejection and/or objection presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As indicated above, the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claims 1-3, 9, 11-14, 17 and 18 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (WO2018/081757, IDS of 12/14/2022) in view of Forooshani et al., “Recent approaches in designing bio-adhesive materials inspired by mussel adhesive protein” (IDS of 12/14/2022).
Claims 1-3, 9, 11-12, 14, 17 and 18 are rejected by Guo; and
Claims 12-13 (elected species of macromer) are rejected by Guo in view of Forooshani.
Applicant claims the below claim 1 filed on 12/31/2025:
Level of Ordinary Skill in the Art
(MPEP 2141.03)
MPEP 2141.03 (I) states: “The “hypothetical ‘person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988). The level of skill is that of a medical/pharmaceutical/cosmetic research scientist, as is the case here, then one can assume comfortably that such an educated artisan will draw conventional ideas from medicine, pharmacy, physiology, cosmetics and chemistry— without being told to do so.
In addition, the prior art itself reflects an appropriate level (MPEP 2141.03(II)).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art (MPEP 2141.01); Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims (MPEP 2141.02); and Finding of prima facie obviousness Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
Guo teaches rapid polymerization of polyphenols (title) and a method for polymerizing polyphenols to provide polyphenol polymers using peroxidase and similar catalysis and a method for depositing a polyphenol polymer including providing, at a target site, an enzyme having peroxidase-like activity immobilized at the surface, and polymerizing, at the target site, a polyphenol in the presence of an oxidant and the enzyme to provide the polyphenol polymer, deposited on the surface (abstract and [0089]) wherein the polyphenol can be dopamine (elected species) or its derivative (abstract) which reads on the claimed single species of monomer, and its derivatives may read on the claimed dopamine derivatives including levodopa, methyldopa, levodopa methyl ester, levodopa ethyl ester; the oxidant is hydrogen peroxide ([0102]) which reads on the claimed oxygen source; the enzyme peroxidase includes horseradish peroxidase (HRP) (e.g., [0089]) which reads on the claimed endogenous catalyst for polymerizing monomer. That is, Guo teaches a method for polymerization in-situ of a polyphenol (e.g., dopamine or its derivatives) in the presence of oxygen source such as hydrogen peroxide, the method comprising contacting the dopamine or its derivatives and hydrogen peroxide with the enzyme having peroxidase-like activity in order to form in situ a coating film on a surface such as a cell surface or a microsphere, suitable for capturing an analyte e.g., antigen (e.g., [0102]-[0103] and [0138], Example 7, [0144] and [0155]). Guo does not expressly teach the oxygen source contacts a catalyst in a tissue of the subject, and however, when the composition is applied, the oxygen source contacts the exogenous catalyst but also any catalyst in the tissue as well. Although Guo does not expressly teach administering to a subject of subject, the skilled artisan would reasonably expect that such administration would result in formation of the polymer on the tissue of the subject. This is because Guo teaches providing a polyphenol, providing an enzyme having peroxidase-like activity; contacting the polyphenol and an oxidant with the enzyme having peroxidase-like activity, under conditions sufficient to polymerize the polyphenol to form a polyphenol polymer, resultingly in forming the polyphenol polymer forms a surface coating on a surface (claims 1 and 4 of prior art), and thus, when the prior art method applies to certain surface such as organs, tissues, cells, the method provides a polymer coating on e.g., the tissue surface by implicitly and necessarily releasing oxygen from hydroxide peroxide oxygen source (instant claims 1-3, 9, 11 and 14); the polyphenol used in the method can further contain polyethylene glycol (PEG) ([0084]) (instant claim 12); the preparation in the method further contains detection reagent, antibodies, imaging agents, etc. ([0007], [0088] and the Examples including [0144] and [0155]) (instant claim 17); and the polymerization is in a buffer solution ([00104]) (instant claim 18).
However, Guo does not expressly teach hyaluronic acid (elected species of macromolecule) of claims 12-13. The deficiency is cured by Forooshani.
Forooshani discloses a method for the polymerization in-situ of dopamine in the presence of H2O2, the method comprising the steps of contacting the dopamine, H2O2 with peroxidase or a catalase, and the composition may further comprise a macromolecule such as hyaluronic acid (HA), PEG, alginate, chitosan, etc. which is used for forming in situ curable bio-adhesive hydrogels (pages 14-20 and 25-28) (instant claims 12-13), and the bio-adhesives are well suited for tissue engineering and drug-delivery applications and hydrogels are highly hydrated three dimensional polymer networks and can be used in various biomedical applications, including drug-delivery vehicles, actuators, and tissue adhesives (page 19, right column); HA grafted with dopamine demonstrated excellent biocompatibility with enhanced wet adhesive properties, and the HA-based bioadhesive successfully encapsulated two types of cells (i.e., human adipose-derived stem cells and hepatocytes) and demonstrated the potential for minimally invasive cell transplantation, and encapsulated cell demonstrated increased viability and functionality when compared to those encapsulated in conventional hydrogels crosslinked through photopolymerization (page 25, right column).
It would have been obvious to modify monomer of Guo such as dopamine derivatives with hyaluronic acid, alginate, chitosan or its combination of Forooshani as a matter of choice or design because such compounds of the applied art are used for the same purpose of biomedical applications.
The claimed monomers and macromolecule species other than those of Guo and/or Forooshani would also have equivalent function/properties for the same purpose, and thus selecting one of such monomers/macromolecules would be obvious in the biomedical application field.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the combined teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the combined references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Gao fails to disclose any polymerization methods that occur in a subject and that rely on a catalyst in a tissue of the subject (i.e., endogenous to the subject) to form polymer and Gao references only the formation of polymer ex vivo/in vitro and relies on that the addition of an exogenous catalyst, horseradish peroxidase, which is endogenous only to a horseradish plant, not a subject as claimed; Forooshani also fails to disclose the same as claimed; and the claimed invention demonstrated unexpected results from presence of an endogenous catalyst.
The Examiner responds that when the composition comprising a monomer and an oxygen source is administered to a subject, the oxygen source not only contacts the exogenous catalyst but also contacts any catalyst in the tissue as well, and it cannot control what it contacts, and that is, when any tissue has catalysts, the oxygen source will contact them because all that is required is to apply composition containing the oxygen source to the tissue, and thus the oxygen source of Gao also will contact that endogenous catalyst in a tissue of the subject; the claimed “subject” can be anything including plant because the claimed subject is not limited to human and/or animal; Forooshani discloses that bioadhesives are applied to tissue or cell and therefore, the claimed administration step would be obvious; and as noted above, since the oxygen source upon administration also contacts catalyst in the tissue as well, the alleged unexpected results would be expected, and the tested data in [0244] and [0246] of the instant application is not commensurate with the scope of instant claim 1 because the data requires specific dopamine monomer, oxygen source, and catalyst and their amounts, and even further the combination of exogenous catalyst of the applied art and endogenous catalyst may enhance intended polymerization.
In light of the foregoing, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-3, 9-14, 17 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8 and 11-15 of patent 12,016,901.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets require a method of forming a polymer comprising administering to the subject a composition comprising contacting monomer such as dopamine and oxygen source such as H2O2 in the presence of catalase. The difference between them is that patent ‘901 requires a plurality of dopamine and the claimed invention recites monomer. However, the claimed monomer recites the combination of the monomers and/or macromolecule (instant claims 9-13) and thus a plurality of dopamine would be obvious. Further, the claimed invention does not recite forming a polymer on a surface of tissue, and however it would be implicit from the claimed method using forming a polymer in situ in a subject in vivo.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the copending subject matter.
Claims 1-3, 9-14, 17 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 166-189 of copending application no. 18/596376.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets require a composition comprising contacting monomer such as dopamine and oxygen source such as H2O2 in the presence of catalase. The difference between them is that copending ‘376 requires macromer and the claimed invention recites monomer. However, the claimed monomer recites the combination of the monomers and/or macromolecule (instant claims 9-13 and copending claims 166, 176 and 177). Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the copending subject matter ‘376.
Claims 1-3, 9-14, 17 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 113, 116, 117, 122, 125-131, 149-153, 155-158 of copending application no. 18/660924.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets require a composition comprising contacting dopamine and oxygen source such as H2O2 in the presence of catalase. The difference between them is that instant invention requires monomer including dopamine and release oxygen source on the tissue while copending ‘924 refers to dopamine only and release oxygen source on the lumen of the small intestine. However, such difference is not makes the instant invention non-obvious over copending ‘924 because the instant invention encompasses such specific monomer and tissue of copending ‘924. Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over the copending subject matter ‘924.
Response to Arguments
For the reasons set forth above, this double patenting rejections have maintained as Applicant has deferred to rebut the rejection under Rejection, Obviousness Type Double Patenting.
Conclusion
All examined claims are rejected.
/KYUNG S CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613