DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Pending:
1-6, 8-15, 17-21, 25-26, 30-32
Withdrawn:
9-15, 17-21
Rejected:
1-6, 8, 25-27, 30
Amended:
1-6, 8, 9, 17, 18, 21, 25-26, 30-31
Objected to/ allowable:
31
New:
32
Independent:
1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 25-26, 30, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Platek et al. (US 2009/0159160), cited herein, in view of Vernam et al (US 4,412,870), previously cited.
Platek teaches an Al-Mg-Mn alloy composition comprising (in wt%):
Claim 1
Dependent claims
Platek (abstract)
Mg
1.0-2.0
1.2-1.9 (cl. 3)
1.3-2.8
Mn
0.2-0.95
0.4-0.9 (cl. 4)
0.5-1.2
0.2-0.7 (cl. 25)
Cr
0.05-0.35
0.05-0.3 (cl. 5)
-0.2
Ti
0.00-0.1
0.00-0.05 (cl. 2)
-
Sr
0.005-0.08
-0.3
Cu
0.00-0.05
-0.3
Si
0.01-0.2 (cl. 6)
-0.7
Fe
<0.07% (cl. 30)
<0.03% (cl. 31)
-0.8
balance
Aluminum+ impurities
Impurities ≤0.05% each
<0.1% total (cl. 8)
balance Al and impurities ≤0.05% each
≤0.15% total (cl. 1)
Table 1: instant claims vs. prior art of Platek
which overlaps the claimed alloying ranges of Mg, Mn, Cr, Ti, Cu, and Si in instant claims 1-6, 8. Concerning the Ti range of claim 1, Platek does not mention the presence of Ti and therefore negligible/substantially no Ti is held to be present for the Al-Mg alloy of Platek, which meets the Ti amount of 0.00-0.1% as claimed. Concerning the Cu content of claim 1, a maximum of 0.3% Cu taught by Platek overlaps the claimed amount of 0.00-0.05% Cu, and therefore meets said limitation. Further, the presence (or absence) of an alloying element stated in the instant claims to be “inevitable” in a given amount (by itself) does not patentably distinguish from the presence of the same alloying element (in said given amount) as “intentional”.
Concerning the amendment to claim 1 of “an armored electrical cable comprising an aluminum alloy…” Platek teaches said Al-Mg alloy is suitable to be formed into wire and cables, including metal clad cable (see Fig. 12-14)- which meets the instant electrical cable limitation of instant claim 1, as well as cable wrap limitation of new claim 32.
Platek teaches Sr is present in the amount of -0.3% maximum, which broadly overlaps the claimed range. Further, Vernam teaches addition of 0.01-0.25 Sr to similar Al-Mg-Mn-Cr alloys for the predictable purpose of refining the Fe containing intermetallic phases (column 6, lines 6-7, 40-41). More particularly, Fe is in solid solution in aluminum up to Fe amounts of about 0.04-0.05% (column 5 line 6), and forms insoluble Al-Fe-Mn and Al-Fe-Mn-Si intermetallic phases above said solid solution amount (column 5 lines 7-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to have included 0.01-0.25% Sr, as taught by Vernam, to the Al-Mg alloy of Platek in order to provide the predictable purpose of refining the intermetallic phases (taught by Vernam col. 6, lines 6-7, 40-41).
Overlapping ranges have been held to establish a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP § 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the range, including the claimed range, from the broader ranges disclosed in the prior art, because the prior art finds that said composition in the entire disclosed ranges has a suitable utility. Additionally, "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages," In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d at 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Concerning claim 8, Platek teaches the balance of the alloy is aluminum and unavoidable impurities ≤0.05% each and ≤0.15% total (see Platek at claim 1), which overlaps the claimed impurity limits and meets said limitation.
Concerning claim 26, as discussed above, Platek teaches a broadly overlapping Sr range, and Vernam teaches motivation to add/include 0.01-0.25% Sr to the Al-Mn alloy of Platek. Further, the presence (or absence) of an alloying element stated in the instant claims to be “inevitable” in a given amount (by itself) does not patentably distinguish from the presence of the same alloying element (in said given amount) as “intentional”.
Concerning claim 30, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to have added 0.01-0.25% Sr, as taught by Vernam, to the Al-Mg alloy of Platek with Fe amounts such that intermetallic phases form (i.e. Fe > 0.04-0.05%, Vernam at column 5 line 6, which overlaps and therefore meets the claimed <0.07% Fe) in order to provide the predictable purpose of refining the intermetallic phases (taught by Vernam col. 6, lines 6-7, 40-41).
Concerning new claim 32, as set forth above, Platek teaches said Al-Mg alloy is suitable to be formed into wire and cables, including metal clad cable (see Fig. 12-14)- which meets the instant cable wrap limitation of new claim 32.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 31 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the closest prior art of (JP’458 or Legresy) and Vernam do not teach or suggest adding 0.005-0.08% Sr to the claimed alloy, complete with a Fe content of <0.03% (as set forth in dependent claim 31). Fe is expected to be in solid solution when present in small amounts <0.03% (rather than present in intermetallic/insoluble form), and Vernam does not teach or suggest adding Sr to alloys with soluble Fe.
Response to Amendment
In the response filed on 5/6/26 applicant amended claims 1-6, 8, 9, 17, 18, 21, 25, 26, 30, 31 and added new claim 32. No new matter has been added.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of the instant claims in view of JP’458 in view of Vernam (or Legresy combined with Vernam) have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection herein does not rely on JP’458 or Legresy. See below with respect to applicant’s arguments in view of Vernam as a secondary reference. The closest prior art to the instantly amended claims is held to be Platek in view of Vernam, as set forth supra.
Applicant’s argument that the prior art of Vernam does not teach or suggest adding Sr to the Al-Mg alloy of the prior art, or that Vernam teaches away from the alloy recited in amended claim 1, has not been found persuasive. As set forth above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to have added 0.01-0.25% Sr, as taught by Vernam, to the Al-Mg alloy of Platek with Fe amounts such that intermetallic phases form (i.e. Fe > 0.04-0.05%, Vernam at column 5 line 6) in order to provide the predictable purpose of refining the intermetallic phases (taught by Vernam col. 6, lines 6-7, 40-41).
Conclusion
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/J.C.M/Examiner, Art Unit 1733